February 2, 2007

Review: Perfect Pod Maker - Make Your Own Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Perfectpodmaker

Everyone always asks, "I like using coffee pods - but can I make my own? How do I use my own coffee?" Up until recently you had two options - the Ecopad, the Refillable Coffee Filter for the Senseo and T Sacs when using a single serve coffee pod brewer. Now there's a new coffee pod maker in town - Perfect Pod Coffee Pod Maker

We first heard about the Perfect Pod Maker last year when it was only available from Coffee Giant. Reviews were mixed at first, with some people loving it and some people sticking to using T-Sacs (disposable tea bags you can fill with coffee and make your own pods) instead. We decided at the beginning of this year that we'd pick a Perfect Pod Maker up, and see how it matched against T-Sacs, and how well the Perfect Pod Maker worked with the various single serve coffee pod machines.

We received the original Perfect Pod Coffee Pod Maker over 3 weeks ago, and have made just north of 30+ cups of single serve coffee with it. The Perfect Pod Maker can create any coffee pod you want from the "hot press" pod maker, using the 40 pod papers that come with it, and any ground coffee you want to put in each coffee pod. The Perfect Pod Maker will work with your Senseo, Melitta One:One, simplehuman, Juan Valdez, Bunn Home Cafe, Mr. Coffee, Hamilton Beach, and Black & Decker Home Cafe single serve coffee machines.

How does it work? Does it work well? Do the coffee pods made from the Perfect Pod Maker fit in most machines? What are the pros and cons of using the Perfect Pod Maker

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Perfect Pod Maker - Make Your Own Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (37) | social bookmarking

January 24, 2007

Review: Gourmet Café Limited Edition Ethiopia Sidamo Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Gclees-1

We've been sampling the Gourmet Café Limited Edition Ethiopia Sidamo from BetterCoffee.com over the past week. Part of the Goumet Cafe Limited Editions, these coffee pods offer any owner of Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, Melitta One:One, simplehuman, Krups Home Cafe, and other single serve coffee pod brewers something different.

The Sidamo growing region is in the southern part of Ethiopia, bordering Kenya. When brewed, these coffee pods produce a coffee that has a bright acidity and fruity flavor with berry notes. Slightly floral in character, it is full-bodied and complex.

What do we think? Are the Gourmet Café Limited Edition Ethiopia Sidamo coffee pods worth buying? We fired up our Bunn My Cafe to find out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Gourmet Café Limited Edition Ethiopia Sidamo Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

November 17, 2006

Review: Creative Pods Coffee Pod Sampler Pack

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 3236

We've recently been introduced to an amazing coffee pod from Creative Pods. The mission at Creative Pods is to provide their customers with the finest possible quality and variety in single serve coffee and tea pods, and a major component of this effort is the quality of the raw materials (coffee, tea, mate, etc) and the fact that they grind to order. Coupled with this goal is their pledge to use eco-friendly/organic materials whenever possible and to clearly identify any necessary deviations from this policy.

Img 3239Creative Pods is a small cottage business formed by two people (Carol and Tom Maziarz) that love coffee, tea and mate as well as traveling and meeting interesting people that grow or drink these hot beverages. Creative Pods has developed equipment and methods that allow them to package to order. This means processing very small (sometimes less than ¼ pound) batches that would be impossible with commercially available equipment.

“None of our pods are prepared ahead and stored. We want to ensure that our customers experience the same wonderful aroma and taste that they can receive from their local barista.”

Creative Pods has 5 main components to their philosophy of coffee pod creation for amazing single serve coffee:

1. Pods are custom made for each machine based on individual grind and quantity of coffee for each machine.
2. Highest quality coffee for the price.
3. Freshness is the key
4. Eco-friendly - unbleached cardboard boxes, work with native growers - foils are their only departure from "eco-friendly" and they plan to give customers a choice
5. innovation - tea pods, mushroom pods, mate

How do they stack up in the Creative Pods sampler pack? How good are their pods compared to shelf stored coffee pods for Senseo or Krups Home Cafe?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Creative Pods Coffee Pod Sampler Pack"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

October 20, 2006

Senseo Sumatra Blend Coffee Pods Review

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Sumatra_16ct.jpg

We've been trying various different coffee pods in our new Senseo Supreme single serve coffee maker, and we're very excited to get beyond the Senseo dark roast as our core Senseo coffee pod offering. The Senseo Sumatra blend claims to be a more bold and intense roast than it's counterparts and comes from a higher more mountainous Arabica bean. How does it stand up to it's older siblings?

ArrowContinue reading: "Senseo Sumatra Blend Coffee Pods Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

October 9, 2006

Review: Pumpkin Spice Coffee Pods and K Cup Madness!

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 3023

Yes. It's a mad mad mad world. We have received from our good friend Jim Evans at CoffeeWhiz.com - not one - not two - but six different pumpkin spice coffees to try. Three of the coffees are for your single serve coffee maker that uses coffee pods and will work in your Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, and Krups Home Cafesingle serve coffee pod brewers. The pumpkin spice coffee pods are from: Baronet Coffee, Reunion Island Coffee Pods, and Melitta's One: One JavaPods.

The other three are for your Keurig single serve coffee maker in K-Cup form and will work in your Keurig Elite B40 Brewer, Keurig B50, Keurig Special Edition Ultra Elite B60, and the newly released Keurig B70 Brewer. The k cup coffees are: Timothy's Pumpkin Spice K Cups, Green Mountain Pumpkin Spice K Cups, and Gloria Jean's Pumpkin Spice K Cups.

What did we ultimately think of each coffee? How did each of them taste?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Pumpkin Spice Coffee Pods and K Cup Madness!"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 13, 2006

Review: Aloha Island Coffee Private Estate Gold 100% Kona Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 2872We like our Kona coffee, but often find it comes in blends instead of being 100% pure uncut Kona coffee. Aloha Island Coffee has been making 100% pure Kona coffee pods for over 2+ years now. Back when we started SingleServeCoffee.com, the Kona Coffee Pods from Aloha Island Coffee were the only other coffee pods you could purchase for your Senseo single serve coffee maker at the time. Now you can purchase these coffee pods for your Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, and Krups Home Cafe single serve coffee pod brewers.

A little back story on Aloha Island 100% Pure Estate Kona Coffee:

When Jim Robinette and Anita Harrington retired to the Big Island of Hawaii a few years ago, little did they dream they would apply all the skills they had gained through careers in manufacturing and technology to the growing of the absolute best Kona coffee.

“We had always admired the flavor of pure Kona coffee on our many visits to Hawaii” says Jim. “But living here, we soon realized this is a very special product that would benefit from the application of time-honored methods of Total Quality Management”.


We love the story of buying some property on Hawaii and making the time honored tradition of making Kona Coffee even better, and we'd also like to point out the Kona coffee used in the Kona Coffee pods from Aloha Island is harvested entirely by hand and pesticide free. YES!

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Aloha Island Coffee Private Estate Gold 100% Kona Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

June 28, 2006

Review: Nescafe Cappuccino Coffee Pods for Senseo

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 2556Wendy from Typical Dutch Stuff has sent over the newly released Nescafe Coffee Pods with toppings. These new pods are a totally new concept because each box contains 8 individually wrapped coffee pods and 8 individually wrapped toppings. You place the pod in the machine and the topping in your cup. You then stir through the coffee when it is still brewing and enjoy a cappuccino, cafe au lait, or chocolate coffee, for only €0.62 or roughly 0.74 USD a cup before shipping. These coffee pods will work in your Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, Krups Home Cafe, and simplehuman single serve coffee pod brewers.

Img 2555There are four flavors available: Caffe Cioccolato (chocolate), Cappucino, Cappucino Decaf, and Cafe au Lait. The

We've been sampling the three different flavors over the past few weeks and have to say this is much better than the Senseo Cappuccino or the Home Cafe Cappuccino. The toppings are meant to be inserted into the cup prior to brewing. Putting them in at the end of a brew cycle produces less than stunning results. We often found that using the entire contents of the toppings bag was also too much.

We've provided several pictures and a video to show you how the mixture brews up in our Blue Senseo Coffee maker.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nescafe Cappuccino Coffee Pods for Senseo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

May 24, 2006

Review: Baronet Jamaican Blue Mountain Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 2522Straight from the magical beauty and lush vegetation of the Blue Mountain range to you comes this rarest of all coffees! Jamaican Blue Mountain and at $2.25 per pod - it had better be good. These limited edition Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee pods will work in your Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, Krups Home Cafe, and simplehuman single serve coffee pod brewers and are available for a limited time at CoffeeWhiz.com.

Img 2525Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee is famous for its clean, refined taste and hint of natural sweetness. It also tends to have an intensely bold aroma and excellent body. Where does Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee come from? This rare coffee pod's coffee from St. Andrews, Jamaica. Also did you know that the Jamaican Coffee grower gets a higher price for his coffee than any other coffee producing country? We're pretty sure we can tell given the price of these coffee pods.

How good was the coffee produced? How does $2.25 per pod coffee taste in your single serve coffee brewer?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Baronet Jamaican Blue Mountain Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

May 3, 2006

Review: Timothy's Rainforest Espresso Coffee Pods for Senseo, Home Cafe, & Other Single Serve Coffee Makers

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 2448Timothy's has been making great coffee in the US and Canada for quite awhile and last year we were very excited to be able to get their coffee at home using K-Cups and our Keurig B50 brewer. Now we're even more excited to be able to use their coffees in our coffee pod brewers. The new Timothy's coffee pods will work in your Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, Krups Home Cafe, and simplehuman single serve coffee pod brewers.

The coffee used in Timothy's Rainforest Espresso comes from 100% Rainforest Alliance certified beans, sourced from a farm in Brazil. Certification protects workers. Certified farms hire locally, pay fair wages, and ensure safe working conditions and access to clean drinking water and proper sanitary facilities. In all, more than 50,000 farm families are enjoying the benefits of the program.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Timothy's Rainforest Espresso Coffee Pods for Senseo, Home Cafe, & Other Single Serve Coffee Makers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

April 25, 2006

Review: Cafepods Buzz Coffee Pods for Senseo, Home Cafe, & Other Single Serve Coffee Makers

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 2425Cafepods is back in the US with a dedicated US store and we're pretty excited. It's been nearly 2 years since we've had many of the blends that we started our single serve coffee journey on. We think back foundly to our original reviews on their Italian roast coffee pods and wonder where all that time went.

We're very excited to have a steady supply of their Buzz coffee pods. Buzz offers a rich crema and more caffiene than their italian blend that we reviewed so long ago. It has a very snappy taste, with a hint of robusta and a very precise flavor that lingers on the sides of the tongue.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Cafepods Buzz Coffee Pods for Senseo, Home Cafe, & Other Single Serve Coffee Makers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
AO: Nope, never, not even if it was 10 bucks. If read more
Thomas Davie: I am not buying the Keurig 2,9 unless and until read more
James: EVIL COMPANY hates the environment and wants to make as read more
Hank: I have been using this machine for 2 months using read more
AO: I just took apart the Keurig we have here at read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy