May 1, 2005

Gevalia French Roast Coffee Pods Review

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsGevaliaJim Evans at Coffee Whiz.com was kind enough to send along a whole set of coffee pods from Gevalia for me to review.

I have tried for no less than 4 months to get Gevalia themselves to send me something, but have gotten caught up in customer service, or told to write a letter to the corporate headquarters for anything marketing related. OMG. It enrages me in these internet driven times that you would have to actually write a piece of mail to get a sample. What enrages me even more, is the fact that Gevalia constantly sends me email about their pod brewer - so - if they have a killer internet division - why can't I contact them on their website about marketing matters?

Okay - moving on. I have tried over the last few weeks the following from Gevalia:

  • Gevalia Columbia Pods
  • Gevalia French Roast Pods
  • Gevalia Columbia Decaf. Pods
ArrowContinue reading: "Gevalia French Roast Coffee Pods Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (14) | social bookmarking

April 27, 2005

Coffee Pod Review Roundup

Csiro-09-CowboyThe readers spoke earlier this year and asked for more reviews and we've tried to deliver each and every week. We also implemented the Single Serve Coffee review badge to make it easier to quickly get an overall ranking of any coffee pod or item reviewed.

Everyone here at Single Serve Coffee.com is dedicated to more reviews of coffee pods over the next few months and we are excited to have the following pods queued up to review!

If you haven't read our set of current pod reviews, here's our current list for 2005:

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

April 21, 2005

Aloha Island Kona-Pods Dark Roast Review

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsKp205.250
The folks at Aloha Island Coffee sent along a sampler pack of their new pods and roasts for us to try at Single Serve Coffee.com. I enjoyed the pods just close to a year ago when Single Serve Coffee.com got started.

The pods back then were packed more like an espresso ESE pod, and now they are packed more like a Senseo/Home Cafe style pod.

ArrowContinue reading: "Aloha Island Kona-Pods Dark Roast Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

March 22, 2005

Baronet Coffee Pods for Senseo Fair Trade Coffee Pod Review

topnav_logo.gifI've been sampling all of the Baronet pods over the last couple of weeks and I have to say - I am really enjoying all of the pod flavors they offer.

The Fair Trade Pods though hit a very near and dear note on the coffee pod front. If you don't know what Fairtrade coffee is then you're missing out on an opportunity to buy coffee that supports small coffee farmers the world over.

"Fair Trade means an equitable and fair partnership between consumers in North America and producers in Asia, Africa, Latin America, and the Caribbean. The chief concern of the Fair Trade movement has been to ensure that the vast majority of the world's coffee farmers (who are small holders) get a fair price for their harvests in order to achieve a decent living wage. Fair Trade guarantees to poor farmers organized in cooperatives around the world: a living wage (minimum price of $1.26/pound regardless of the volatile market); much needed credit at fair prices; and long term relationships.

I'm not going to go on and on - but I care about the people that produce the coffee that I make. Starbucks participates in brewing and providing Fair Trade coffee - and when I go to Starbucks I insist on Fair Trade coffee for any of the barista beverages they make for me. It's nice to know the folks at Baronet have provided a Fair Trade blend to brew in our single serve coffee makers.

ArrowContinue reading: "Baronet Coffee Pods for Senseo Fair Trade Coffee Pod Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

March 2, 2005

Cool Beans Pods French Roast "Home Style Pods" Review

Coolbean LogoWe're very happy French Roast Senseo drinking coffee pod loving people at Single Serve Coffee.com! Cool Beans Pods have changed the size of their coffee pods and they now work great with Senseo & Home Cafe!

ArrowContinue reading: "Cool Beans Pods French Roast "Home Style Pods" Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (23) | social bookmarking

February 21, 2005

JavaPodz Coffee Pods Review

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsJavapodzlogoJavaPodz was kind enough to send us an extensive sampler pack of all of their pods. We decided this morning to fire up the Senseo and have a go with the new pods. JavaPodz are compatible with the following systems (mostly of the 62mm variety):

  • Philips Senseo™
  • B&D® Home Cafe™
  • Mr.Coffee® Home Cafe™
  • Melitta One: One Pod Brewing System
  • Bunn® MyCafe™
  • AquaBrew® Cafejo™
  • Grindmaster® PrecisionBrew™
  • Juan Valdez Pod Brewing System

The pods came packed in a coffee bag with a JavaPodz logo applied with a sticker on the front of the bag. Inside each JavaPodz pod is individually wrapped in a silver foil bag with black printing. Like Baronet, JavaPodz pods are:

** Each 10gram Java Pod brews a full 8 oz cup of coffee**

ArrowContinue reading: "JavaPodz Coffee Pods Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (11) | social bookmarking

February 13, 2005

More Reader Pod Reviews

Home Javaone

From Andy J:

"I'll review the JavaOne pods, the Baronet pods, and the podhead.com pods.

PodHead.com Thoughts

All pods came individually wrapped. In brief, I'd reccommend any one of them. Ordered some pods from podhead.com a few months ago 10 double pods for $7, received the shipment in about 4 days along with 4 free samples, 2 Kenya and 2 Milano. Bought the Colombian, Arabica Mix, Brasil, Kenya, and Mexico. The pods are a little small, 55mm, an included note informs you that for best results you should run some water through the large pod holder before inserting the pod. They're a little loose in the large holder, but I haven't had any problems with weak coffee. I've also wet the pod and used the small holder with good results, takes a little extra force to close it, but it works. Each variety was very good, the Brasil was my personal favorite, Arabica Mix my least favorite.

Bdbpodbx ThumbBaronet and JavaOne Thoughts

Since I was starting to run low, I ordered some JavaOne Kona(12 pods) and Costa Rican(14 pods) for $4.99 each, and Baronet Izzy's Blend(18 pods) for $6.29 from acsjava.com on Monday night. Came home Thursday night and they were waiting for me on my doorstep. The Kona is very good, nice light flavor, thick crema layer, pod is a little thicker than the Senseo pods, one pod in the small holder for an 8oz cup. Haven't tried the Costa Rican yet. The Baronet pods seem to be single pods, about the same size as the Senseo pods. No instructions on the box or their website as to how many to use. Again, a very good cup of coffee, nice crema layer. But since you need 2 pods per cup, I think they're a little on the expensive side.

Update: Why would you need 2 pods when our pods our 10 grams each? Writes in Joe Smalley from Baronet coffee. Good question! If Baronet pods are indeed 10g each - that should brew up a very nice cup of coffee with a single pod. Anyone else tried these?

The podhead pods contain 10gr of coffee, JavaOne are 9gr, and no idea about the Baronet. Also noticed that Maxwell House and Yuban are now making pods, although I haven't seen any in stores yet.

- Later. AndyJ"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

February 9, 2005

JavaOne Pods - Reader Reports

Home Javaone
Scott writes in:

"Received of the coffee yesterday and had to try a cup of each... Here is what I found:

Java One Costa Rican - Excellent coffee, very smooth fresh taste. I highly recommend it for the Senseo and would definitely purchase again. I might be a little biased because Costa Rican coffee is my absolute favorite. The crema layer was better then the actual Senseo pods by DE.

Java One Hazelnut Decaf - Bad news, stay away. Thought it might of been me so I had my wife try it as well. There is a bitter aftertaste, not much better then you would get at the local Circle-K. I will give it one more shot and report back.

Green Mountain French Roast - Very good, would also highly recommend. Makes a bold cup of coffee with a bright sweet finish. You have to use the double pod holder and make sure that the pod is positioned correctly.

All of the above mentioned pods fit well in the Senseo.. I would definitely go with the Java One Costa Rican as my top choice. I found the prices and service to be excellent at coffeegiant.com, order was shipped the same day it was received.

- Scott"

Check out more coffees at JavaOne!

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (7) | social bookmarking

January 28, 2005

Cool Bean Pods - French Roast Pod Review

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

Coolbean Logo
The folks over at Cool Bean Pods.com have sent us in a sample of each of their pod flavors to review. We decided to start with the French Roast flavor to get things rolling.

ArrowContinue reading: "Cool Bean Pods - French Roast Pod Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (11) | social bookmarking

November 21, 2004

Review: Home Café Cappuccino Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

When Home Café launched earlier this year, we did a review on the machine and thought the overall quality of the Black & Decker version might be offset with the “specialty pod holder” and what pods would work in it might forgive the lack of quality of the machine. Well - read on to see whether this feature redeems the machine and the coffee you can currently buy for it.

The Home Cafe Specialty Pods

Img 3343The Home Café Specialty Pod holder does in fact fit the newly released cappuccino pods from Folgers. The pods are nearly 4 times the size as a typical 62mm pod, and contain quite a few more calories as well. Each Cappuccino pod is 170 calories per cup and 9 grams of fat. So - if you are on a diet - you might want to stick with black coffee, but in its defense, this isn't a whole lot of calories for a 7oz cup of coffee with cream and sugar.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Home Café Cappuccino Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (6) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
James: EVIL COMPANY hates the environment and wants to make as read more
Hank: I have been using this machine for 2 months using read more
AO: I just took apart the Keurig we have here at read more
Thomas Davie: Perhaps because there is no need for this? 1) Rip read more
SH: There won't be any issues with "flavor remnants" transferring between read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy