K Cup Reviews

November 10, 2014

GMCR Wellness Collection Coffee K-Cups Review

Wellness kcups gmcr 2014

A few years ago, Green Mountain Coffee Roasters (GMCR) decided to release a new line-up of products which they dubbed their Wellness Collection. The collection was made up of coffees, teas and Brew Over Ice drinks which had vitamins added in. We already reviewed the 2 Vitamin Burst K-Cup flavors and unfortunately, the 2 Celestial Seasonings teas which were part of the collection have now been discontinued. The 2 coffees are still being sold and have even been made Keurig 2.0-compatible, but we never really got a chance to review them until now. As a result, today we're checking out GMCR's Focus Blend K-Cups and their Defend Blend K-Cups.

ArrowContinue reading: "GMCR Wellness Collection Coffee K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 29, 2014

Cafe Bustelo Espresso Style K-Cups Review

Reviewcafebusteloespressostylekcups kcup shot

Cafe Bustelo is a brand which, until recently, was a brand mainly known only to the latin community as it’s been a staple in bodegas for about the past 80 years or so. The brand had hit a slump until it underwent a rebranding a few years ago which aimed new products such as canned iced coffee (Bustelo Cool) as well as the brand itself towards a younger generation. Today the brand is popular amongst hipsters & those who simply enjoy a good, strong coffee. It’s also been gaining popularity in Hollywood with the brand appearing at various events from Coachella to the Oscars. 

The brand got its start when its founder, Gregorio Bustelo moved from Spain to Cuba in the 1920s & got hooked on the coffee style popular in the region. He decided to take up the practice of coffee roasting and later moved to Puerto Rico. Once US Congress passed the Jones-Shafroth Act which granted people of Puerto Rico US citizenship, Gregorio moved his family to the East Harlem region of New York City and used the last of his savings to buy a coffee roaster after falling on hard times trying to find work. As luck would have it, his home was located near a theatre and he would start roasting coffee around the time patrons would be let out each night after the end of each show. The smell lured people to his home and he started selling coffee each night. By 1931, the first Bustelo Coffee Roasters shop opened up on 5th Avenue between 113th & 114th streets as the business took off. Today, the brand is owned by Rowland Coffee Roasters Inc. based out of Miami, Florida. The rest, as they say, is history.

ArrowContinue reading: "Cafe Bustelo Espresso Style K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 20, 2014

Lavazza Perfetto Coffee K-Cups Review

Keurig lavazza perfetto kcups brewer kcups

 

We conclude our series of Lavazza K-Cup reviews today with the final flavor in their line-up… Lavazza Perfetto K-Cups. This is apparently the strongest roast & strongest tasting coffee of the line-up. Given how disappointed we were with their Gran Selezione K-Cups last time, we’re truly hoping for a return to form this time. Lets see if Lavazza strike out or knock it out of the park. 

Brewing the Lavazza Perfetto K-Cups resulted in aromas of smoky hickory tinged with notes of dark chocolate throughout with a very mild earthiness underneath. Billed as an espresso roast, flavor seemed more akin to a dark roast and wasn’t anywhere as strong as what we were expecting. We did however notice a nice blend of chocolate flavors with caramel notes hiding underneath near the end of each sip.

ArrowContinue reading: "Lavazza Perfetto Coffee K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 14, 2014

Lavazza Gran Selezione Coffee K-Cups Review

 

Gran selection lavazza kcup

We continue our series of Lavazza K-Cup reviews today with the next flavor in the line-up… Lavazza Gran Selezione K-Cups. This is billed as dark roast and is supposed to be Rainforest Alliance Certified while having intense flavor and chocolate undertones. Let’s see how things go, shall we?

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in mild smoky & earthy aromas which weren’t anywhere as strong as what we were expecting given the fact that this is a dark roast. Flavor was a mix of astringent smoky notes up front followed by some hits of smoke, very mild hints of molasses and mild chocolate notes in the background. Things were rounded-off with some faint berry notes hiding underneath near the end of each sip.

ArrowContinue reading: "Lavazza Gran Selezione Coffee K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 6, 2014

Lavazza Classico K-Cups Review

Lavazza classico kcups

We continue our series of Lavazza K-Cup reviews today with the next flavor in the line-up… Lavazza Classico K-Cups. This is billed as medium roast and is supposed to be suited as an everyday coffee which can be enjoyed at any time. Let’s see how this one turns out, shall we?

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in light aromas of smoky hickory tinged with very mild hints of dates & raisins as the coffee cools off. Keurig & Lavazza describe the coffee as having an aroma of dried fruits and while it may not have been evident at first, we did eventually start getting some mild notes after a while.

ArrowContinue reading: "Lavazza Classico K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 9, 2014

The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf Toasted Amaretto K-Cups

 

ReviewcbtltoastedamarettokcupsIMGP5832

In a move that only serves to reinforce the idea that they’re after just about every coffee chain & coffee manufacturer on the market, KGM decided to form a partnership with The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf (CBTL) chain of coffee shops to introduce some of their signature coffees into the K-Cup format several months ago. Now that those flavors are starting to trickle through the retail market, we decided to try their first flavored variety: CBTL Toasted Ameretto K-Cups.

The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf (for brevity sake, we’ll just call them CBTL) got their start in 1963 when they opened their first coffee shop/cafe in Brentwood, California. Billing themselves as the oldest & largest privately held specialty coffee and tea retailer in the United States, the company has since opened stores in many different states and internationally as well. While they may not be that well known on the East Coast, they’re popular on the West Coast and have gained quite the fan following over the years. 

ArrowContinue reading: "The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf Toasted Amaretto K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 2, 2014

Newman’s Own Organics Cafe Almond Biscotti K-Cups Review

Newmansownbiscotti

From time to time, we stumble across K-Cup flavors which either aren’t widely advertised or were never announced on the Keurig or GMCR/KGM websites, flavors which appear out of nowhere or are only retailer exclusives (i.e. Only sold at one specific retailer) and other odd situations similar to the above. Such was the case with a flavor we first discovered about a year ago. It appeared briefly at Target & Wal-Mart stores then disappeared soon after. We eventually managed to track a box down at a local Target several months ago and are only getting around to reviewing things today. What is this elusive flavor? Newman’s Own Organics Cafe Almond Biscotti K-Cups. Let’s have at ‘er and see if this flavor was worth the hunt.

ArrowContinue reading: "Newman’s Own Organics Cafe Almond Biscotti K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

May 27, 2014

Starbucks Bright Sky Blend K-Cups Review

ReviewstarbucksbrightskyblendkcupsIMGP5806

When Starbucks promised to expand their line-up a few months ago, they opted to go different routes and one of those routes was to introduce 2 new Blonde Roast K-Cup flavors which would be sold only at select retailers & various grocery stores. We already reviewed the first flavor, Starbucks Willow/Aria Blend, and today we managed to finally track down the 2nd… Starbucks Bright Sky Blend K-Cups. Will these be any different than the 1st flavor? Let’s find out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Starbucks Bright Sky Blend K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

May 19, 2014

Counting Sheep Coffee Lights Out! Single Cups Review

ReviewcountingsheepcoffeelightsoutsinglecupsIMGP5795

 

When you think of coffee, you usually associate it with something that keeps you awake, right? What if we were to tell you that there’s coffee which can put you to sleep? Before you think we’ve finally gone off the deep end, hear us out. We recently found out about a new startup company named Counting Sheep Coffee. They’re based out of Vancouver BC in Canada and they’ve created the world’s first sleep aid coffee. You’re familiar with the dozens of sleep aid teas on the market and there’s even Celestial Seasonings Sleepytime Herbal Tea K-Cups & Vue Packs which have been out for years. We’ve never seen (until now) a coffee which supposedly does the same trick. The company recently gained fame when they appeared on Dragon’s Den* (the Canadian predecessor to ABC’s Shark Tank). We were a bit surprised to learn that the deal didn’t close* after the show aired, but it doesn’t seem to have hindered sales since our local Bed Bath & Beyond was almost sold-out when we visited.

ArrowContinue reading: "Counting Sheep Coffee Lights Out! Single Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

April 28, 2014

ECS Coffee Maple Cinnamon French Toast Decaf Single Cups Review

ReviewecscoffeemaplecinnamonfrenchtoastdecafsingleIMGP5783

We all know that folks who enjoy decaf coffees (or those who are required to drink it due to caffeine sensitivity/headaches) are unfortunately a target demographic which has been ignored for far too long. Just because you can drink regular coffee doesn't mean you should have to suffer with bland offerings and unflavored choices. Well, our friends at ECS Coffee Inc. thought so as well and decided to fix the problem with the first specialty flavored DECAF Single Cup on the market. They even created their own cheeky commercial for the flavor (check the video at the bottom of the product page on their site, link at end of review)

Sure, there may be a few flavored decafs on the market, but they're mostly staple flavors like French Vanilla or Hazelnut... they're ok, but... well, kind of meh. Where's the sense of adventure? Where's the innovative combination of various flavors? Why aren't limited edition K-Cups also sold in decaf versions? How about Maple Cinnamon French Toast? Is that adventurous enough of a decaf flavor for ya? Now that we've got your attention, let's put this flavor through its paces and see if ECS have created something worthy of celebration for decaf fans.

ArrowContinue reading: "ECS Coffee Maple Cinnamon French Toast Decaf Single Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

April 22, 2014

Folgers Gourmet Selections French Roast K-Cups Review

ReviewfolgersgourmetselectionsfrenchroastkcupsIMGP5773

It’s been a while since we’ve seen any new K-Cups from Folgers, so we were caught a bit off guard recently when when stumbled across this new flavor on Keurig’s site a few days ago. While it may not be a flavored variety this time around and while it may seem a bit redundant given their Black Silk flavor is already a pretty strong dark roast coffee, we were curious to see what these new Folgers Gourmet Selections French Roast K-Cups would be like. Let’s find out.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in strong smoky hickory notes with some very mild peppery notes lurking underneath. Oddly enough though, aroma didn’t seem as strong as what we’re used to with typical French Roast coffees. This carried through in the flavor as we also got smoky notes up front blended with dark cocoa and some faint citrus notes as things faded into a peppery finish near the end of each sip. It’s been a while since we had the Black Silk K-Cups but we’re a bit surprised that this flavor is turning out to be a bit lighter than that. Definitely not what we were expecting. Give us a second while we check the packaging again… nope, it says French Roast. Hmmm… strange.

ArrowContinue reading: "Folgers Gourmet Selections French Roast K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 24, 2014

Dunkin Donuts Peppermint Mocha K-Cups Review

 

ReviewdunkindonutspeppermintmochakcupsIMGP5716

With major donut shop chains such as Krispy Kreme entering the K-Cup scene in recent months, we decided we’d check in on America’s largest and one of the first to create licensed Keurig Brewed K-Cups… Dunkin Donuts. We haven’t seen too many new K-Cup flavors as they seem focused on creating new varieties mainly in their ground coffee format sold through various grocery stores across the nation, so when we saw they released their new Peppermint Mocha K-Cups a few months ago, we decided to grab a box and check things out. We thought their regular Mocha K-Cups weren’t too bad, so lets see what the addition of peppermint does to the mix.

ArrowContinue reading: "Dunkin Donuts Peppermint Mocha K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 10, 2014

Gevalia Cappuccino Single Cups for K-Cup Brewers Review

ReviewgevaliacappuccinosinglecupsIMGP5638

 

We were surprised to see Gevalia introduce frothy drinks for Keurig K-Cup brewers when we checked out their Gevalia Mocha Latte Single Cups recently and we enjoyed the results so much that we decided to try the next flavor in their frothy line-up... Gevalia Cappuccino Single Cups. Once again, the froth is achieved via a 2-step process where you dump froth mix powder into the cup, then brew an espresso Single Cup over the top of it. The blending of both creates a chemical reaction which results in bubbly froth being produced. Stir the final cup once done brewing and you get an impressively thick froth layer on top. Will these cappuccino Single Cups be as good as the Mocha Latte Single Cups turned out to be? Let's find out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Gevalia Cappuccino Single Cups for K-Cup Brewers Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 4, 2014

Lipton Soothe Smooth Green Tea K-Cups Review

IMGP5529 green tea

In what seems to be a never-ending quest for Keurig to secure just about every major coffee & tea brand on the market, they’ve managed to secure yet another one this year and it’s a big one. We’re talking about the partnership between Keurig and Lipton Teas to produce Liption Tea K-Cups. We heard news that Tetley would release K-Cups around the same time as their T-Disc releases, but that never materialized, so on a rare trip to a local Wal-Mart (we can already hear some Tar-jay fans getting nauseated at the thought) we couldn’t resist to pick-up a box of the only Lipton flavor they had available… Lipton Soothe Smooth Green Tea K-Cups.

ArrowContinue reading: "Lipton Soothe Smooth Green Tea K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
elizabeth : my k cup Cuisinart leaks water read more
Scott Glenn: My Keurig 2.0 brewer will finally be as good as read more
AO: The name of the company is actually Grindmaster. Or more read more
Fred: Actually a company called Grandmaster just came out with a read more
Linda Neal: i have the Keurig B130 and i would like to read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy