K Cup Reviews

June 9, 2014

The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf Toasted Amaretto K-Cups

 

ReviewcbtltoastedamarettokcupsIMGP5832

In a move that only serves to reinforce the idea that they’re after just about every coffee chain & coffee manufacturer on the market, KGM decided to form a partnership with The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf (CBTL) chain of coffee shops to introduce some of their signature coffees into the K-Cup format several months ago. Now that those flavors are starting to trickle through the retail market, we decided to try their first flavored variety: CBTL Toasted Ameretto K-Cups.

The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf (for brevity sake, we’ll just call them CBTL) got their start in 1963 when they opened their first coffee shop/cafe in Brentwood, California. Billing themselves as the oldest & largest privately held specialty coffee and tea retailer in the United States, the company has since opened stores in many different states and internationally as well. While they may not be that well known on the East Coast, they’re popular on the West Coast and have gained quite the fan following over the years. 

ArrowContinue reading: "The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf Toasted Amaretto K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 2, 2014

Newman’s Own Organics Cafe Almond Biscotti K-Cups Review

Newmansownbiscotti

From time to time, we stumble across K-Cup flavors which either aren’t widely advertised or were never announced on the Keurig or GMCR/KGM websites, flavors which appear out of nowhere or are only retailer exclusives (i.e. Only sold at one specific retailer) and other odd situations similar to the above. Such was the case with a flavor we first discovered about a year ago. It appeared briefly at Target & Wal-Mart stores then disappeared soon after. We eventually managed to track a box down at a local Target several months ago and are only getting around to reviewing things today. What is this elusive flavor? Newman’s Own Organics Cafe Almond Biscotti K-Cups. Let’s have at ‘er and see if this flavor was worth the hunt.

ArrowContinue reading: "Newman’s Own Organics Cafe Almond Biscotti K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

May 27, 2014

Starbucks Bright Sky Blend K-Cups Review

ReviewstarbucksbrightskyblendkcupsIMGP5806

When Starbucks promised to expand their line-up a few months ago, they opted to go different routes and one of those routes was to introduce 2 new Blonde Roast K-Cup flavors which would be sold only at select retailers & various grocery stores. We already reviewed the first flavor, Starbucks Willow/Aria Blend, and today we managed to finally track down the 2nd… Starbucks Bright Sky Blend K-Cups. Will these be any different than the 1st flavor? Let’s find out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Starbucks Bright Sky Blend K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

May 19, 2014

Counting Sheep Coffee Lights Out! Single Cups Review

ReviewcountingsheepcoffeelightsoutsinglecupsIMGP5795

 

When you think of coffee, you usually associate it with something that keeps you awake, right? What if we were to tell you that there’s coffee which can put you to sleep? Before you think we’ve finally gone off the deep end, hear us out. We recently found out about a new startup company named Counting Sheep Coffee. They’re based out of Vancouver BC in Canada and they’ve created the world’s first sleep aid coffee. You’re familiar with the dozens of sleep aid teas on the market and there’s even Celestial Seasonings Sleepytime Herbal Tea K-Cups & Vue Packs which have been out for years. We’ve never seen (until now) a coffee which supposedly does the same trick. The company recently gained fame when they appeared on Dragon’s Den* (the Canadian predecessor to ABC’s Shark Tank). We were a bit surprised to learn that the deal didn’t close* after the show aired, but it doesn’t seem to have hindered sales since our local Bed Bath & Beyond was almost sold-out when we visited.

ArrowContinue reading: "Counting Sheep Coffee Lights Out! Single Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

April 28, 2014

ECS Coffee Maple Cinnamon French Toast Decaf Single Cups Review

ReviewecscoffeemaplecinnamonfrenchtoastdecafsingleIMGP5783

We all know that folks who enjoy decaf coffees (or those who are required to drink it due to caffeine sensitivity/headaches) are unfortunately a target demographic which has been ignored for far too long. Just because you can drink regular coffee doesn't mean you should have to suffer with bland offerings and unflavored choices. Well, our friends at ECS Coffee Inc. thought so as well and decided to fix the problem with the first specialty flavored DECAF Single Cup on the market. They even created their own cheeky commercial for the flavor (check the video at the bottom of the product page on their site, link at end of review)

Sure, there may be a few flavored decafs on the market, but they're mostly staple flavors like French Vanilla or Hazelnut... they're ok, but... well, kind of meh. Where's the sense of adventure? Where's the innovative combination of various flavors? Why aren't limited edition K-Cups also sold in decaf versions? How about Maple Cinnamon French Toast? Is that adventurous enough of a decaf flavor for ya? Now that we've got your attention, let's put this flavor through its paces and see if ECS have created something worthy of celebration for decaf fans.

ArrowContinue reading: "ECS Coffee Maple Cinnamon French Toast Decaf Single Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

April 22, 2014

Folgers Gourmet Selections French Roast K-Cups Review

ReviewfolgersgourmetselectionsfrenchroastkcupsIMGP5773

It’s been a while since we’ve seen any new K-Cups from Folgers, so we were caught a bit off guard recently when when stumbled across this new flavor on Keurig’s site a few days ago. While it may not be a flavored variety this time around and while it may seem a bit redundant given their Black Silk flavor is already a pretty strong dark roast coffee, we were curious to see what these new Folgers Gourmet Selections French Roast K-Cups would be like. Let’s find out.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in strong smoky hickory notes with some very mild peppery notes lurking underneath. Oddly enough though, aroma didn’t seem as strong as what we’re used to with typical French Roast coffees. This carried through in the flavor as we also got smoky notes up front blended with dark cocoa and some faint citrus notes as things faded into a peppery finish near the end of each sip. It’s been a while since we had the Black Silk K-Cups but we’re a bit surprised that this flavor is turning out to be a bit lighter than that. Definitely not what we were expecting. Give us a second while we check the packaging again… nope, it says French Roast. Hmmm… strange.

ArrowContinue reading: "Folgers Gourmet Selections French Roast K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 24, 2014

Dunkin Donuts Peppermint Mocha K-Cups Review

 

ReviewdunkindonutspeppermintmochakcupsIMGP5716

With major donut shop chains such as Krispy Kreme entering the K-Cup scene in recent months, we decided we’d check in on America’s largest and one of the first to create licensed Keurig Brewed K-Cups… Dunkin Donuts. We haven’t seen too many new K-Cup flavors as they seem focused on creating new varieties mainly in their ground coffee format sold through various grocery stores across the nation, so when we saw they released their new Peppermint Mocha K-Cups a few months ago, we decided to grab a box and check things out. We thought their regular Mocha K-Cups weren’t too bad, so lets see what the addition of peppermint does to the mix.

ArrowContinue reading: "Dunkin Donuts Peppermint Mocha K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 10, 2014

Gevalia Cappuccino Single Cups for K-Cup Brewers Review

ReviewgevaliacappuccinosinglecupsIMGP5638

 

We were surprised to see Gevalia introduce frothy drinks for Keurig K-Cup brewers when we checked out their Gevalia Mocha Latte Single Cups recently and we enjoyed the results so much that we decided to try the next flavor in their frothy line-up... Gevalia Cappuccino Single Cups. Once again, the froth is achieved via a 2-step process where you dump froth mix powder into the cup, then brew an espresso Single Cup over the top of it. The blending of both creates a chemical reaction which results in bubbly froth being produced. Stir the final cup once done brewing and you get an impressively thick froth layer on top. Will these cappuccino Single Cups be as good as the Mocha Latte Single Cups turned out to be? Let's find out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Gevalia Cappuccino Single Cups for K-Cup Brewers Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 4, 2014

Lipton Soothe Smooth Green Tea K-Cups Review

IMGP5529 green tea

In what seems to be a never-ending quest for Keurig to secure just about every major coffee & tea brand on the market, they’ve managed to secure yet another one this year and it’s a big one. We’re talking about the partnership between Keurig and Lipton Teas to produce Liption Tea K-Cups. We heard news that Tetley would release K-Cups around the same time as their T-Disc releases, but that never materialized, so on a rare trip to a local Wal-Mart (we can already hear some Tar-jay fans getting nauseated at the thought) we couldn’t resist to pick-up a box of the only Lipton flavor they had available… Lipton Soothe Smooth Green Tea K-Cups.

ArrowContinue reading: "Lipton Soothe Smooth Green Tea K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

March 3, 2014

Starbucks Willow/Aria Blend K-Cups Review

 

ReviewstarbuckswillowariablendkcupsIMGP5693

It’s been a while since we’ve seen any new K-Cups from Starbucks, but they did promise to expand their line-up and this appears to be the case as new flavors have started popping up on store shelves recently. All aimed at promoting the Blonde Roast (Starbucks’ lightest roast level), the newest flavor to appear is what we’re checking out today and it is also billed as thelightest of the blonde roast series: Starbucks Willow Blend K-Cups. You’re probably wondering what’s up with the Willow/Aria Blend review title, but more on that later.

ArrowContinue reading: "Starbucks Willow/Aria Blend K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

February 24, 2014

Cinnabon Classic Cinnamon Roll K-Cups Review

ReviewcinnabonclassiccinnamonrollkcupsIMGP5684

With the recent news that Cinnabon was the ONLY dining choice at the Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics, we figured now was the time to write up a review for the recently introduced Cinnabon Classic Cinnamon Roll K-Cups. We have no idea if any of the Olympic venues or the athlete's village had Keurig single serve brewers installed but we thought it would be interesting to see if our athletes were getting a decent quality coffee at the only dining facility which was open on-site. Will this coffee end up with the gold or go home with a bronze? Lets find out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Cinnabon Classic Cinnamon Roll K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

February 18, 2014

Brooklyn Beans Oh Fudge! Single Cups Review

ReviewbrooklynbeanroasteryohfudgesinglecupsIMGP5703

We continue our look at recent BBR (Brooklyn Bean Roastery) Single Cups today with a review of their Oh Fudge! Single Cups. With an image of a spilled bowl of pudding? (we're not quite sure what that is) and the Oh Fudge! wording on the lid of these Single Cups, we can see that BBR are taking a light-hearted approach towards the naming conventions on their new flavors. It just remains to be seen if this will be a serious contender in the flavor arena or if the name is the only thing we enjoy. Lets get started.

ArrowContinue reading: "Brooklyn Beans Oh Fudge! Single Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

February 10, 2014

Brooklyn Beans Coney Island Caramel Single Cups Review

ReviewbrooklynbeanroasteryconeyislandcaramelsingleIMGP5670

We continue our look at recent BBR (Brooklyn Bean Roastery) Single Cups today with a review of their Coney Island Caramel Single Cups. After a pleasant performance from their Cinnamon Subway flavor recently, we were interested to see if the other flavored varieties in their line-up were just as good. BBR can make custom-flavored coffees for anyone who wants to enter the single serve coffee market, so we suspect they have some master coffee roasters who know a thing or two about how to properly flavor coffees. Lets find out if this flavor will have us soaring like a roller coaster or waiting in line for the excitement to start.

ArrowContinue reading: "Brooklyn Beans Coney Island Caramel Single Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

February 3, 2014

Brooklyn Beans Cinnamon Subway Single Cups Review

ReviewbrooklynbeanroasterycinnamonsubwaysinglecupsIMGP5655

When Keurig’s K-Cup patents expired a while back, we saw all sorts of third-party companies create various forms of K-Cup knock-offs and new formats of Keurig-compatible single serve options hit the market. Some were truly horrendous (freeze-dried coffee crystals in a K-Cup capsule) while others were outstanding (Marley’s Real Cups line-up). One of the first companies that came out with their own take on the K-Cup aftermarket was Brooklyn Bean Roastery back in 2010. Through a combination of proprietary tension-based filters and the familiar K-Cup capsule & lid format, they managed to achieve the look, feel & quality that most K-Cup consumers were already familiar with.

ArrowContinue reading: "Brooklyn Beans Cinnamon Subway Single Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Thomas Davie: What benefit do I get from the Keurig 2.0 that read more
AO: No thanks. read more
Gary: Hope the new 2.0 machine does not have the troubles read more
Jay Brewer: Yep. You are correct. We were fooled by the fancy read more
M: I've seen the Millstone a lot around Seattle. (Drinking a read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy