October 12, 2009

Review: Timothy's Kahlua Original K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve Coffee

IMGP3675.jpg

A sector which had only casually been explored in the past by other manufacturers has now seen full-fledged acceptance in the single serve coffee scene with the introduction of Timothy's Kahlua Original K-Cups. The sector in question is of course liquor-flavored coffees and this marks the first time a brand-name liquor flavor is introduced on the K-Cup market (previous versions only alluded to the brand, but never had its logo displayed). Seeing as how Kahlua is coffee-flavored liquor, it only makes sense to add it to coffee itself. For those of you who are still wondering, no... there's no alcohol content in this product.

Timothy's was kind enough to send us these K-Cups for our review, but despite them describing this as a K-Cup that combines "delicious notes of rum, vanilla and caramel", we were hard pressed to find any presence of vanilla and only noticed faint traces of rum in the aroma. It reminded us somewhat of Kahlua's scent, but the one note which stuck out above all else was the strong & unexpected scent of toffee. It filled the room and was quite pleasant. The same could be said of the taste which once again, yielded strong toffee & caramel flavors rather than the namesake taste of Kahlua coffee liquor.

ArrowContinue reading: " Review: Timothy's Kahlua Original K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

October 2, 2009

Review: Van Houtte Macadamia Nut K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP3664.jpg

We've been going through quite a few flavors in Van Houtte's flavored K-Cup line-up the past few weeks and decided it was time to review their Macadamia Nut K-Cups. A quick look at the Wikipedia entry reveals that macadamias are native mostly to Eastern Australia, an area which is typically warm year-round. As a result, we figured we'd take one last shot at something which reminded us of warmer climates before Summer completely fades away & the cool chilly nights of Fall start to appear.

Upon brewing, an exotic scent of macadamias along with hints of coconut & hazelnut filled the room. Taste was on-par with aroma as we immediately noticed macadamia nut flavoring throughout although there were still notes of hazelnut lingering underneath. Come to think of it, the taste of macadamias & hazelnuts aren't too different to begin with, so perhaps it wouldn't be too far of a stretch to wonder if Van Houtte modified their basic hazelnut flavoring in order to create this more exotic variety. Regardless, they succeeded in achieving the namesake flavor and the results are rather good.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte Macadamia Nut K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 14, 2009

Review: Bellaccino Blueberry Cobbler Extra Bold K-Cups from Tully's

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP3612.jpg

As was reported in the past, Tully’s was acquired by Green Mountain Coffee Roasters and in the process, Green Mountain also obtained any other brands which were under Tully’s lineup. One of these brands was Bellaccino which Tully’s had introduced last year. Unfortunately, Green Mountain decided to discontinue the brand a few months ago in an effort to “replace slow sellers”. We’ve yet to see a decent selection of flavored extra-bolds from other manufacturers, so Green Mountain’s decision came as quite the disappointment. We can only hope more flavored extra-bolds are introduced in the future.

We realize that we’re reviewing something which our readers may not be able to easily purchase, however, there may still be some online coffee retailers that still have some back-stock available. As a matter of fact, we noticed Amazon was still selling 2-box packs of this flavor (48 K-Cups total) but at a rather steep price (more on that further below). May this review serve as a guide in your purchasing decision should you decide to go ahead with an order.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Bellaccino Blueberry Cobbler Extra Bold K-Cups from Tully's"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

September 4, 2009

Review: Cafe Escapes Milk Chocolate and Dark Chocolate Hot Cocoa K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee Milk_Dark_K-Cups.jpg

One of the things that always bugged us about Keurig brewers was the lack of selection when it came to hot chocolate/cocoa choices. We guess our gripes (and yours) have been heard by the powers that be since we recently saw the introduction of the Cafe Escapes hot beverage line-up on the K-Cup scene. A quick look around the Cafe Escapes K-Cups for Keurig website reveals that they've sourced their various ingredients from Europe (the companies/suppliers in question are not named), so this might reveal why these K-Cups appear creamier/richer than what's currently on the market.

Green Mountain Coffee Roasters is distributing this brand, so there shouldn't be any problems getting your hands on a box whenever you so desire. For the purpose of this review, we decided to try the 2 main flavors which are currently available: Milk Chocolate Hot Cocoa and Dark Chocolate Hot Cocoa. We also decided not to bother with our usual scoring system since these are hot cocoa drinks which don't have acidity or some of the other characteristics we base points on. Instead, we'll describe tasting notes and whether or not we recommend these selections or not.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Cafe Escapes Milk Chocolate and Dark Chocolate Hot Cocoa K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

August 20, 2009

Review: Green Mountain Pumpkin Spice K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP3193.jpg

Although we've reviewed it in the past, we decided to revisit what is normally a traditional flavor found around Thanksgiving and decided to try some leftover 2008 Green Mountain Pumpkin Spice K-Cups on a lazy Sunday afternoon while digging around our ever-growing coffee stash. We had second thoughts about drinking a decidedly non-Summer flavor but seeing as how there was nothing good on TV and nothing else to do around the Single Serve Coffee kitchens, we figured why the heck not? The fact that we noticed there was still a few months left before the expiry date also "helped" us in our decision.

Green Mountain will once again make these K-Cups available on September 1st of this year, so unless you've got a stockpile stash like we do, you'll have to wait until then to get some. As with the plethora of pumpkin-flavored coffees on the market each year, familiar scents of pumpkin pie started to emerge during brewing... all-spice, nutmeg & very faint hints of pumpkin were present. The body was medium with a usual brown/amber color.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Green Mountain Pumpkin Spice K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 4, 2009

Review: Van Houtte Crème Brûlée K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP3432.jpg

This week, we continue our tour of Van Houtte's flavored coffee line-up by trying their Crème Brûlé K-Cups. Crème Brûlée (as described via its Wikipedia entry) is "a dessert consisting of a rich custard base topped with a layer of hard caramel, created by caramelizing sugar under a broiler, with a butane torch or other intense heat source, or by pouring sugar on top of the custard".

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte Crème Brûlée K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

July 28, 2009

Review: Van Houtte Pecan Praline K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP3421.jpg

Visit any Canadian grocery store and you're bound to see a huge Van Houtte display full of various flavored coffees where you can select the whole beans and grind them yourself right there in the store. They even have flavors which have yet to appear in K-Cup format and our past experience has shown that their flavored coffees usually have a decent, strong flavoring to them. We were hoping this would follow through to their K-Cups (their Apple Crumble K-Cup was rather good) but such was not to be the case.

We chose the 5.25oz brew size to extract the full flavors on our Keurig B70 and were wondering if perhaps we had forgotten to hit the brew button. Hmm... nope, the coffee's dispensing. Maybe we put in one of their unflavored K-Cups by mistake? Nope... so what the heck was going on here? We tried again with another K-Cup and soon realized that there was barely any scent coming from this flavored variety. Weird indeed. Using the "wine swirl" technique, we tried to uncover any hidden scents in the bottom of the glass but all we could detect was a very faint hint of pecans.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte Pecan Praline K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

July 21, 2009

Review: Van Houtte Sumatra Mandheling K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP3413.jpg

Van Houtte have started amassing a small collection of single-origin K-Cups over the past few years and have blended beans from these origin locations around the World with their own quality Arabica beans. This time, we decided to try a taste of Indonesia by sampling the Van Houtte Sumatra Mandheling K-Cups.

Upon brewing, you get the rich, earthy scent typical of a dark roast but closer inspection reveals ever the slightest hint of dark chocolate. Tasting was rather unique as there was some acidity present but it wasn't as strong as some other bold varieties we've tried in the past. This was almost bordering the beginnings of an espresso but without the harsh bitterness. Slightly tangy notes at times helped liven things up. You could tell this wasn't your average run of the mill dark roast.

ArrowContinue reading: " Review: Van Houtte Sumatra Mandheling K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

June 24, 2009

Review: Fair Trade The Perfect Peach K-Cups for Keurig

IMG_8315.jpg

There's something truly amazing about a coffee that has a peachy flavor, and a warm coffee finish. Sure we were skeptical at first when we thought about drinking the Fair Trade The Perfect Peach K-Cups coffee from Green Mountain, but after our second and third cup the skepticism turned into delight. This is a very interesting, and complex flavored coffee, and refreshing in both hot and iced coffee formats.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Fair Trade The Perfect Peach K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

May 4, 2009

Review: Green Mountain Fair Trade Golden French Toast K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP3213.jpg

This past Winter yielded the seasonal Fair Trade Golden French Toast K-Cup from Green Mountain and after several hectic weeks around the single serve coffee office, we finally got a chance to give this flavor a try. Green Mountain describes this K-Cup as having the flavors of “warm, buttered French Toast drizzled with sweet maple syrup”. After reading that, we couldn’t wait any longer to do a review.

We chose the 5.25oz brew size to extract the full flavors and were greeted with the pleasant scents of maple with an added hint of cinnamon lying underneath. First impressions when tasting this coffee are surprisingly enough quite the opposite of its scent… you taste the cinnamon first, then you taste the maple afterwards. The flavoring is right up there with the real thing and we’re sure this K-Cup would be great paired with it.

ArrowContinue reading: " Review: Green Mountain Fair Trade Golden French Toast K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Nate: After 3 Keurigs we have given up on Keurig and read more
Michele: My Keurig 2.0 bottom needle won't pierce the bottom of read more
Jacobo Bemaras: Friends: I wanth to now if you can sell me read more
Bill Hawkins: I purchased a SS700 that was refurbished and it stopped read more
Bruce M: I've had a Keurig K75 Platinum for more than three read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy