April 17, 2009

Review: Timothy’s Sugar Bush Maple K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP3246.jpg

With the introduction of Spring comes a tradition in the North-Eastern corners of the country known as visits to local maple sugar camps where one can enjoy all sorts of treats. We’ve seen everything from maple peanut brittle to maple caramel popcorn, but until recently we had yet to see any maple flavored coffees. Thankfully, Timothy’s noticed this as well and have been introducing their Sugar Bush Maple K-Cups each year as a result. We love anything maple around the Single Serve Coffee test kitchen and couldn’t wait to give this coffee a try since the maple scent was permeating through the unopened box.

We chose the 5.25oz brew size to extract the full flavors and were pleased to see the maple aroma fill the room (fond memories of the maple camp came flooding back). We were expecting a very sweet maple taste and were surprised by the initial bite of the acidity then somewhat disappointed to find that the maple flavoring was not as strong as we had hoped. We tore into another box only to find the same thing. Always willing to try anything with our coffees, we found a quick fix to this dilemma by adding a half-ounce shot of pure maple syrup to the bottom of the glass before brewing our next cup and were immediately pleased with the results.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Timothy’s Sugar Bush Maple K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 10, 2009

Review: Southern Pecan K-Cups from Green Mountain Coffee

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP3194.jpg

With the sheer multitude of K-Cup varieties on the market today, it’s almost impossible for us to review every single one (despite our best efforts), so we decided to follow-up our recent GMCR Wild Mountain Blueberry review with another one of Green Mountain’s classic flavored K-Cups... Southern Pecan.

We chose the 5.25oz brew size to extract the full flavors and it didn’t take long for the room to fill up with a strong scent of sweet buttered praline pecans. We could almost taste the real thing just by inhaling the scent, amazing. This was by far one of the best scented coffees we’d tried in a while and it had us wishing that Glade would make this scent as one of their scented candles or plug-ins. Hmm… maybe that’s a market GMCR could explore?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Southern Pecan K-Cups from Green Mountain Coffee"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 27, 2009

Review: Green Mountain Fair Trade Wild Mountain Blueberry K-Cups

IMGP3189.jpg

We decided to give some of our old favorites another try as we wait for newer seasonal varieties to arrive, so our first pick was Green Mountain’s Fair Trade Wild Blueberry K-Cups. A quick look on Green Mountain’s website reveals that the company got its start in 1981 when they opened a small café in Waitsfield, Vermont and roasted their coffee on-site. Some of their first commercial clients were restaurants & inns within the area, but shortly thereafter, skiers from neighboring states started asking the café if they could have its coffee shipped to their homes. This growing demand would eventually give birth to the company’s first mail-order business. As of 1993, the company has been publicly traded on NASDAQ and has quickly established itself as one of the nation’s leading specialty coffee companies not to mention the pioneering force partnering behind the introduction of the Keurig single serve coffee system. Today the company also sells many other coffee & tea brands including Newman’s Own, Caribou and Celestial Seasonings.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Green Mountain Fair Trade Wild Mountain Blueberry K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 21, 2009

Review: Emeril's Organic French Quarter Roast K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsIMGP3143.jpg

Distributed by Timothy's World Coffees, Emeril's Organic French Quarter Roast is one of the company's latest offerings in the K-Cup market. As noted in a recent review, Emeril is known mostly for his cooking shows on the Food Network and various food products available at most grocery stores. The coffee scene is a relatively new one for him, but he's quickly gaining recognition amongst Keurig users across the nation.

As usual, we decided to choose the 5.25oz brew size to extract the full flavors of this dark roast using our Keurig brewer. The scent reveals hints of hickory and chocolate while its appearance (when held up to a light source) reveals a surprisingly clear, crimson red tint. This is almost ironic as the French Vanilla BAM! K-Cups we reviewed earlier were a medium roast yet had a much darker color. Maybe this color difference has something to do with this coffee's organic nature? Speaking of which, sometimes it's difficult to tell the difference between organic and non-organic products… certain organic baked goods yield obvious differences in taste while organic fruits & vegetable often times taste identical to their non-organic brethren.

ArrowContinue reading: " Review: Emeril's Organic French Quarter Roast K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

January 7, 2009

Review: Emeril's Vanilla Bean BAM! K-Cups for Keurig

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

IMGP3131.jpg

Distributed by Timothy's World Coffees, Emeril's Vanilla Bean BAM! is one of 2 new Emeril's K-Cup flavors recently introduced to the single serve coffee market (we'll be reviewing Emeril's Organic French Quarter Roast in the coming weeks). Known mostly for his cooking shows on the Food Network and various food products available at most grocery stores, the coffee scene is a relatively new one for Emeril and his goal was to introduce a coffee which stood out among the rest as having a richer, heartier taste & character. This new vanilla flavor marks the first time he's gone with a medium roast vs. his usually darker varieties.

IMGP3133.jpg

We chose the 5.25oz brew size on our Keurig one cup coffee maker to extract the full flavors, and were greeted with a strong French vanilla scent which seemed stronger than any other vanilla K-Cup we'd tried before. As a result, we were expecting a stronger vanilla flavor from this smaller brew size but were surprised at how subdued & mild it was. The sweet taste of vanilla was present but was struggling to balance the sour nature of the acidity. We thought there would have been more "BAM!" (so to speak) in the flavoring overall and it left us wanting to throw in a few dashes of vanilla extract. We understand some people will likely prefer less flavorings in their coffee, but when a product is marketed as "having enough BAM! for Emeril himself", the final result is rather disappointing.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Emeril's Vanilla Bean BAM! K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 30, 2008

Review: Timothy's Perfectly Pumpkin K-Cups for Keurig

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

IMGP3002.jpg

S.H. continues his quest to find the perfect K Cup. Will he enjoy the pumpkin spice K Cups from Timothy's World Coffee?

With the opening of their first store in 1975, Timothy's World Coffee set out to become one of Canada's premier coffee houses. The company operates over 100 coffee/bakery restaurants across Canada under 3 distinct brands: Timothy's World Coffee, Mmmarvellous Mmmuffins & Michel's Baguette. In addition, the company operates a 35000 sq. ft. coffee roasting facility in the Toronto region and a bakery commissary; these guarantee the superior quality and freshness of all the coffee and bakery products served both in their retail stores and by co-branded partners.

Timothy's source pure origin coffee from countries around the world that grow specialty grade Arabica beans and only the top 5% of any harvest will meet their strict standards for quality. Over the years, the company has developed over 35 blends, various flavored coffees, teas and decaffeinated coffees. To ensure freshness, all coffee beans are brewed or sold in their retail locations within 20 days of roasting. They also service & supply offices, hotels, theatres and hospitals.

With Halloween just around the corner, I decided to review Timothy's Perfectly Pumpkin limited-edition K-Cups. These K-Cups will only be available during the Fall season, so now's the time to grab some if you want to try them out. When brewing, familiar scents of pumpkin pie start to emerge… all-spice, nutmeg & hints of pumpkin are all present. The body is medium with a usual brown/amber color.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Timothy's Perfectly Pumpkin K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 15, 2008

Review: Van Houtte Apple Crumble K-Cups for Keurig

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsIMGP2906.jpg

Our K Cup correspondent S.H. of the wild white north has managed to get his hands on Van Houtte's Apple Crumble K Cups. Does he enjoy them? Do they have the taste of apple with all the crumble?

Headquartered in Montreal, Canada, Van Houtte have been pioneers in European-style coffee since 1919. Today, they're involved in almost every aspect of the coffee industry. They select and buy their own beans, roast and package their coffees, manufacture state-of-the-art single cup vending machines and market a wide range of unique products to retail, office, café and online customers. They even operate the largest coffee services network in North America serving more than 71000 workplaces in most major cities.

When brewing these Apple Crumble K-Cups, you're greeted with the warm aroma of cinnamon & apples plus very subtle undertones of dark chocolate. The body is medium, with a somewhat dark color usually seen in most flavored coffees but if held in front of a light source, hints of crimson red shine through. At first I thought this was the natural color but later learned some K-Cup manufacturers color their coffees to match the flavors (something I hadn't been used to with Tassimo T-Discs).

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte Apple Crumble K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

February 1, 2008

Review: Wicked Winter Blend Extra Bold K Cups for Keurig

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewswickedwinterkcups_review.jpg

We've been sampling the Wicked Winter Blend Extra Bold K Cups for Keurig over the past week. These K Cups are not only extra bold - but extra sweet in flavor and profile. The Wicked Winter Blend Extra Bold K Cup brings together Indonesian coffee with Central and South American beans. The result is a toasty, very caramelly cup with a chocolate body, and an explosion of nutty sweetness in the finish.

What we like? This is Green Mountain's first-ever seasonal coffee offered as an Extra Bold, with 20% more coffee in every K-Cup, and it' Fair Trade too. And you can really taste the difference in each cup.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Wicked Winter Blend Extra Bold K Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 14, 2007

Review: Hazelnut Dark Roast Extra Bold K Cups from Green Mountain

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

We're not the biggest flavored coffee drinkers here at Single Serve Coffee, but every once in awhile a flavored coffee comes into our lives and can change our coffee drinking habits. Hazelnut Dark Roast Extra Bold is just such a flavored K Cup coffee.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Hazelnut Dark Roast Extra Bold K Cups from Green Mountain"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

October 19, 2007

Review: Coffee People Donut Shop Coffee K Cups for Keurig

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 5024

We can remember our first cup of Donut Shop coffee at the Northeastern Hotel and Diner in Northern Maine. It was nutty, sweet, and had a bit of a raspy feel to it in the throat. We'll also never forget how wired we felt after consuming nearly 5 cups. Coffee People makes great coffees (we really like their Black Tiger Bold), and most of them are on the extra-bold side. We were surprised to hear about the Donut Shop Coffee K Cups coming from Coffee People, because we think of Donut Shop coffee as a bit on the milder side, and very rich with Arabica infused taste.

How does Coffee People tackle this cup of classic american coffee? Is it mild? Or is it bold? How does it stack up against the other Coffee People K Cups out there?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Coffee People Donut Shop Coffee K Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
lou: hello mccafe regular blend,goodbye folgers after 20 years,love mccafe. read more
VASHNI NAIDOO: require instruction manual for the lavazza blue coffee machine getting read more
Glen S: Walmart's k-cups used to be good up until recently. The read more
Judy Apisdorf: My daughter-in-law brought a Vue Keurig with her when they read more
Lori Troutman: Where in or near Concord, NC 28025 can I purchase read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy