June 5, 2006

Review: Timothy's Coffee Sugar Bush Maple K-Cups for Keurig B40, B50, & B60 Brewers

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 2533It's spring and the sap is running and just in time for the limited edition Sugar Bush Maple K-Cups from Timothy's Coffee. These flavored K-Cups have an over the top maple flavor but different than some of the other maple infused flavored k-cups and coffee pods we've tasted.

Img 2535What's different? The Timothy's Sugar Bush Maple K-Cups are full on maple and not a mixture of cinnamon and maple flavors making them different from the French Toast blends. We also find the aroma produced is almost like maple infused bacon or the smell of maple syrup over really hot pancakes.

As we stated earlier these k-cups are for a limited time only - much like the limited time the sap runs in the Spring that makes maple syrup. Having grown up in Northern Maine, we've actually all made maple syrup by carrying buckets of sap to a large boiling cauldron and then watching the sap boil down into yummy maple syrup, so our standards are high when it comes to a maple syrup anything. We also think you might want to know how to make Maple Syrup yourself and How Stuff Works has a great article.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Timothy's Coffee Sugar Bush Maple K-Cups for Keurig B40, B50, & B60 Brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

May 9, 2006

Review: Coffee People Black Tiger Extra Bold K-Cups for Keurig B40, B50, & B60 Single Serve Coffee Brewers

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 2471Full bodied, earthy, and dark does actually describe the Black Tiger Blend K-Cups from Coffee People. We've been drinking several of their blends over the past few days thanks to Jim Evans from CoffeeWhiz.com. We have found the Black Tiger - GRRR!!! to be quite good and very different. These new K-Cups will work in the Keurig B40, B50, and B60 brewers.

If you aren't familiar with Coffee People we wouldn't be surprised. Coffee People coffee shops mostly reside in the Oregon. It's really nice to see these K-Cups as they're a much smaller coffee company, however they were bought by Diedrich in 1999 so that may shed some light on how these K-Cups came to market.

Coffee People’s roots in Oregon can be traced to the Saturday Market in Eugene Oregon. Small amounts of specialty grade coffee were roasted and offered it for sale at the Saturday Market. The first Coffee People Coffeehouse was opened in 1983 on NW 23 Street in Portland.

In July 1999, Coffee People became part of the Diedrich Coffee Family. The rich authentic coffee heritage of Diedrich Coffee and the product portfolio of Coffee People have proved to be a perfect match. While Coffee People continues its creative, local, and innovative approach to coffee service, Diedrich Coffee, a high end specialty coffee roaster, now expertly roasts Coffee People’s special blends according to traditional Coffee People recipes to honor the heritage of this concept, pioneered in Portland.

What did we think of the Black Tiger coffee from Coffee People?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Coffee People Black Tiger Extra Bold K-Cups for Keurig B40, B50, & B60 Single Serve Coffee Brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

April 19, 2006

Review: Heifer Hope Blend K-Cups from Green Mountain Coffee

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews No LimitsWe've been drinking the Heifer Hope Blend K-Cups from Green Mountain Coffee over the past two weeks and think these new k-cups are delicious, complex, and have a very long lasting finish. These new K-Cups will work in your in your Keurig B40, B50, and B60 brewers.

Heifer Hope Blend was created to support Heifer International’s fight against world hunger. Green Mountain sourced coffee for this blend from the La Voz Cooperative in Guatemala. While Heifer teaches La Voz farmers ways to diversify their income, Green Mountain helps to supply a stable market for their coffee.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Heifer Hope Blend K-Cups from Green Mountain Coffee"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

March 30, 2006

Review: Green Mountain Coffee Roasters Fair Trade Island Coconut™ K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews T4039 Large-1We've spent the last day drinking the new Fair Trade Island Coconut from Green Mountain Coffee Roasters. This new Fair Trade K-Cup for is for your Keurig brewer and we're quite impressed. This is the first coconut flavored coffee we've had here at SingleServeCoffee.com and we think it's quite yummy.

Green Mountain describes this coffee as:

Indulge your senses with this delightfully fragrant, tropical taste treat. We've captured the lush aroma of freshly grated coconut — fruity, fresh, exotic — and blended it with the subtle sweetness of a lightly-roasted, Central American coffee. The result is as refreshing as it is unexpected. Be transported to your own private island paradise with our Fair Trade Island Coconut... it's one sweet destination!

It's a light refreshing cup of coffee. You can almost feel the coconut oil on your tongue after each sip. The coffee has a wonderful aroma of coconut as well - almost hypnotic. Though the coffee is considered light and flavored, we also found the coffee to be bold in the taste category.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Green Mountain Coffee Roasters Fair Trade Island Coconut™ K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 23, 2006

Review: Newman's Own Special Blend Extra Bold K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 2324We first heard about these new K-Cups just over a month ago and we were pretty excited to try out a medium/dark extra bold K-Cup from Green Mountain Coffee and Newman's Own. It's really nice to know Paul Newman donates all of the proceeds after taxes to the products he sells to various charities. What's even better? Drinking a cup of great coffee and knowing you are helping out as well.

The story behind this K-Cup blend of dark and medium roast coffees?

Img 2328"Did we mention that Paul likes his coffee roasted dark? Or that Nell prefers a lighter touch? Put 'em both together and this is what you get... a study in contrasts that satisfies everybody. This inspired blend of medium roasted Central American coffees and darker-roasted Indonesians is rich and robust, with ample body to stand up to all the cream and sugar that you might want to add to the party. Which is precisely how Pa takes his... this is his favorite blend, after all. "For fans of both dark and light roasts."

We fired up our trusty Keurig B60 (these K-Cups will work in your Keurig B40, B50, and B60 brewers, and sat down with a little cream and sugar shots to make a nice hot cup of Newman's Own Special Blend Extra Bold K-Cups. The initial brew before cream and sugar was very dark with a spicy nose.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Newman's Own Special Blend Extra Bold K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

February 27, 2006

Review: Diedrich Morning Edition K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 2236Everyone here at Single Serve Coffee.com is always looking for that perfect breakfast blend cup of coffee, because sometimes in the morning you don't want some super heavy cup of coffee but you might want something full and complex. Jim Evans at CoffeeWhiz.com sent us a set of Diedrich K-Cups for the Keurig B-40 Elite, Keurig B50 Gourmet, Keurig B-60 Special Edition brewers and we have been enjoying the Diedrich Morning Edition K-Cups over the past week.

382934But let's talk a little about Diedrich first. The Diedrich Story is as rich as the flavor of their coffee. It all started in 1916, when Charlotte Diedrich inherited a coffee plantation in Costa Rica. The coffee knowledge from owning the plantation passed down the different generations of Diedrichs until they opened a coffeehouse in the 1960s followed by many more. They now have over 30+

Now Diedrich describes their Morning Edition K-Cups as:

A full-bodied, full roast with creamy vanilla sweetness, aromas of leather and spice and a hearty satisfying finish.

What did we think? How satisfying is the finish? We can tell you right now this is a very full bodied cup of coffee that has a sweet yet satisfying finish.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Diedrich Morning Edition K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

February 16, 2006

Review: Tully's French Roast & Kona Blend K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 2211 If you own a Keurig B-40 Elite, Keurig B50 Gourmet, Keurig B-60 Special Edition brewer then very soon you're going to be able to get your hands on some of this amazing French Roast & Kona blends coffee in K-cups from Tully's Coffee.

We received this coffee earlier in the week and have been sampling through both the Kona Blend and the French roast - what can we say? The Tully's French Roast knocked us down dead in our coffee drinking tracks and the Kona blend? A very interesting medium roast coffee that also is very good.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Tully's French Roast & Kona Blend K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

February 1, 2006

Review: Green Mountain Coffee Fair Trade Winter Classic Blend K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews T4031 Large-1Winter is upon us and so our various coffees for our single serve coffee machines touting they'll be perfect for a nice cozy cup of coffee. Fair Trade Winter Classic blend from Green Mountain coffee is just such a coffee for your K-Cup single serve brewer. We fired up our trusty Keurig B60 and sat back hoping this Winter blend would do the trick.

The Winter Classic Blend brings together Indonesian coffee with Central and South American beans. The resulting coffee is intended to bring about a very caramel like coffee with a smooth round taste and finish. We used the 7.25 oz setting on the B60 with water temperature coming out in the 188-189 degrees F range. We also sat back in our big easy chair, put a blanket over us, and proceeded to see how much the Winter Classic Blend improved our "coziness".

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Green Mountain Coffee Fair Trade Winter Classic Blend K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 20, 2006

Review: Gloria Jean's Black Gold K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 2044Jim Evans from CoffeeWhiz.com was kind enough to send us a sampling of Gloria Jean's K-Cups to review. Gloria Jean's has 12 coffees including flavored, plus origins and blends in both regular and decaffeinated, as well as a selection of 7 teas that can be used in Keurig B-40 Elite, Keurig B50 Gourmet, Keurig B-60 Special Edition brewers.

Img 2045We honestly expected to focus our first review on more of their flavored coffees but Gloria Jean's Black Gold K-Cups took us by surprise. Gloria Jean's Black Gold K-Cups are made from a blend of 3 darker roasts coffee (we really wish we knew what all three roasts were) and it comes off as a more medium dark coffee with a very refined finish. This gem of a coffee is nothing short of smoky, interesting, not too dark, and great tasting until the last sip - hot or cold.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Gloria Jean's Black Gold K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 5, 2006

Review: My K-Cup Keurig Reusable Filter

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews MykcupWant to use your own coffee in your Keurig home brewer? Look no further than the My K-Cup Keurig Reusable Filter filter. The reusable K-Cup® filter assembly allows you to use your own gourmet ground coffee in your Keurig® brewer. The My K-Cup Keurig Reusable Filter will work in your Keurig Elite B40 Brewer, Keurig B50, Keurig Special Edition Ultra Elite B60, Keurig B70 Brewer, and the Breville BKC600XL Gourmet Single Cup Brewer.

Images-1-5The reusable K-Cup filter is also now available to the general public via Green Mountain Coffee's web site. You can purchase both the reusable K-Cup assembly and extra filters. We received just an assembly and one filter for testing but can tell if you really wanted to enjoy this for a couple of cups of coffee in the morning having an extra filters will make repeat cups of coffee much easier.

Img 2011We embarked on our first round of testing using Pete's House Blend coffee. We frequent Pete's Coffee Shop in Harvard Square here in Cambridge, MA all the time and know that special flavor you get from any Pete's Coffee. How would the My K-Cup Keurig Reusable Filter do when brewing up a cup of coffee? How hard would it be to fill? What would the mess be like? How hard would the clean up be?

Update: You can now purchase the My K-Cup Keurig Reusable Filter at Green Mountain Coffee Roaster's web site.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: My K-Cup Keurig Reusable Filter"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (98) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Nate: After 3 Keurigs we have given up on Keurig and read more
Michele: My Keurig 2.0 bottom needle won't pierce the bottom of read more
Jacobo Bemaras: Friends: I wanth to now if you can sell me read more
Bill Hawkins: I purchased a SS700 that was refurbished and it stopped read more
Bruce M: I've had a Keurig K75 Platinum for more than three read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy