January 27, 2014

Gevalia Mocha Latte Single Cups for K-Cup Brewers Review

 

ReviewgevaliamochalattesinglecupsIMGP5614

We never thought we’d see the day where Kraft would be going behind enemy lines and creating their own version of K-Cups using their existing coffee brands which they currently also produce for their own Tassimo system in T-Disc format but that’s exactly what occurred (much to Kraft’s delight, we’re sure) when Keurig’s patents expired several months ago. You can now get anything from Maxwell House to Yuban Single Cups which are all compatible with Keurig K-Cup brewers. It makes us wonder if someday we’ll see Keurig making Green Mountain T-Discs for the Tassimo system should Kraft let their own patent expire. The avalanche of T-Disc knock-offs which would result simply boggles the mind and causes our wallets to feel as if they were designed in Cupertino and just earned the Air moniker as we’re certain they’d suddenly feel a whole lot lighter than before. 

ArrowContinue reading: "Gevalia Mocha Latte Single Cups for K-Cup Brewers Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

January 21, 2014

Gloria Jeans Caramel Almond Torte K-Cups Review

ReviewgloriajeanscaramelalmondtortekcupsIMGP5585

Gloria Jeans is a brand that has stuck around and endured the years with Keurig ever since the company first started creating K-Cup brewers and for the longest time, we hadn't seen any new flavors emerge under the brand for just as long. Then a few years ago, we started getting tips from our readers that the brand was releasing new flavors but that they could only be purchased at select retailers. The same holds true today as we check out a flavor that was originally only available at Target stores across USA... Gloria Jeans Caramel Almond Torte K-Cups.

ArrowContinue reading: "Gloria Jeans Caramel Almond Torte K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 13, 2014

Archer Farms Caramel Macchiato Single Cups Review

ReviewarcherfarmscaramelmacchiatosinglecupsIMGP5607

Archer Farms is Target's own in-house brand for food products and we decided to continue checking out their single serve coffee line-up today by reviewing their Archer Farms Caramel Macchiato Single Cups. As we've noted in previous reviews, there's no indication or branding anywhere on the packaging to indicate that Real Cups are being used for Archer Farms single serve products, but given the similarities, we wouldn't be surprised if that turned out to be the case.

Typically a milk-based frothy drink, a conventional caramel macchiato this is not. We were wondering just what goal Archer Farms were trying to aim for here and could only come to the conclusion that they wanted to produce a regular coffee that had a similar taste as a macchiato. This would seem rather difficult given the fact that there's no milk ingredients present in these Single Cups and for the sake of not altering the final flavor, we decided not to add any milk creamer for this review although we can see how that might help move things more in line with the actual flavor of a macchiato-style drink.

ArrowContinue reading: "Archer Farms Caramel Macchiato Single Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 6, 2014

Archer Farms Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee Single Cups Review

 

ReviewarcherfarmsvanillabeancremebruleesinglecupsIMGP5594

Now that the patent is expired and we’ve been seeing just about every company imaginable get into the aftermarket knock-off K-Cup scene, it should come as no surprise that grocery stores and big box department stores would want their own in-house brand of coffee to be offered in Keurig-compatible single cup format as well. Such is the case this time around as Target decided to introduce the item we’re reviewing today… Archer Farms Vanilla Bean Crème Brûlée Single Cups.

As noted above, Archer Farms is Target’s own primary in-house food brand and you can get anything from Archer Farms cereals to salsas. While their coffees have always been available in whole bean & ground format before, this marks the first time they’ve made the transition to a single serve format. Although we couldn’t find any indication on the packaging, we’re going to take a guess and say that Target is using the Real Cup format or something very similar but since there’s no official branding anywhere, we’ll continue referring to them as Single Cups.

ArrowContinue reading: "Archer Farms Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee Single Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

December 10, 2013

Death Cups by Death Wish Coffee Review

Death wish kcups

After our trusted correspondent AB from Maine decided on buying some Death Wish Coffee, the Single Serve Coffee staff pleaded with him for a review of Death Cups by Death Wish Coffee - The World's Strongest Single Serve Coffee Capsules. If you're unfamiliar with Death Wish Coffee - it packs 20% more caffeine per cup. We think you’ll enjoy the results of his deadly pursuit of caffeine nirvana.

Last week for cyber Monday Death Wish coffee was running a deal free shipping and a free hat. Never being one to pass up a deal I decided it was time to try this coffee. Upon receiving my shipment, minus the hat, (GRRRRRR) I decided to try my first review for this website.

ArrowContinue reading: "Death Cups by Death Wish Coffee Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 5, 2013

Brown Gold 100% Brazilian Real Cups Review

 

100brazillian brown gold real cups

We finish off our Brown Gold Real Cup review series today by checking out the 5th & final flavor in their line-up that is compatible with all K-Cup Brewers… Brown Gold 100% Brazilian Real Cups. Much like their 100% Costa Rican & 100% Peruvian coffees, we can’t say we’ve ever had a 100% Brazilian coffee before and just the name alone would be enough to make anyone snicker or giggle given what it’s normally associated with, but all joking aside, we can’t recall having coffee that even used Brazilian coffee beans in a blend before, so this should be interesting (or so we hope).

Brewing these Real Cups resulted in a mild woodsy aroma blended with subtle notes of cocoa and very faint smoky hints in the background. There was also something else we couldn’t quite place which gave a bit of an odd musty scent off the top of the nose. Overall, things were a lot more muted than what we were expecting for Brown Gold’s self-proclaimedstrongest flavor.

ArrowContinue reading: "Brown Gold 100% Brazilian Real Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 25, 2013

Brown Gold 100% Ethiopian Real Cups Review

Brown Gold Ethiopian Real Cups

We continue our Brown Gold Real Cup review series today by checking out the 4th flavor in their line-up… Brown Gold 100% Ethiopian Real Cups.

Brewing these Real Cups resulted in rich earthy notes tinged with mild oily notes that revealed aromas of dark chocolate, smoke & some very faint hints of cinnamon & floral notes buried underneath. Billed as a dark roast, flavor yielded more robust notes that kicked off with some mild smoke up front followed by bursts of dark chocolate, molasses, bread notes in the background, some faint oily notes from the roasting process and a very mild (i.e. lightly sour) citrus flavor throughout. A very well-rounded performance so far which made for a pleasing experience.

ArrowContinue reading: "Brown Gold 100% Ethiopian Real Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 18, 2013

Jetsetter Red Eye Cups for Keurig K-Cup Brewers Review

Jetsetter coffee kcup

Back in the early 1950s, a term emerged to describe groups of socialites that travelled the World by jet… this term was dubbed Jetsetter and is the basis of the Jetsetter Coffee Company. Taking a classic aerial theme of that era, Jetsetter have named their flavors after aerial terminology and have created a rather unique branding overall. We have to admit we really like this approach as its attention to detail makes things all the more memorable.

ArrowContinue reading: "Jetsetter Red Eye Cups for Keurig K-Cup Brewers Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

November 11, 2013

Original Donut Shop Coffee - Sweet & Creamy Nutty Hazelnut Iced Coffee K-Cups Review

 

Sweet and Creamy K Cups Hazelnut

Last year, we reviewed a K-Cup that had the most ridiculously long name we've seen to date and at that time, we only had 1 flavor to review. Since then, Green Mountain Coffee has supplied us with the 2nd flavor in the line-up which is what we're checking out today. These K-Cups also have a ridiculously long name, so we'll simply refer to them as "Sweet & Creamy Nutty Hazelnut Iced Coffee K-Cups" for the remainder of this review. Most Brew Over Ice K-Cups recommend 6oz or 8oz settings but as with the 1st flavor, this one used actual real ground coffee beans, so we figured we'd use the larger 8oz setting to fill our iced beverage tumbler.

ArrowContinue reading: "Original Donut Shop Coffee - Sweet & Creamy Nutty Hazelnut Iced Coffee K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 29, 2013

Martinson French Roast Real Cups for K-Cup Brewers Review

 

Martinson French Roast Real Cups for K Cup Brewers

We come to an end of our Martinson Real Cup review series today with the last flavor in their current line-up… Martinson French Roast Real Cups. We really enjoyed their Dark Roast Real Cups so much so that they earned a perfect score. Will lightning strike twice or will it be a one-time only experience?

ArrowContinue reading: "Martinson French Roast Real Cups for K-Cup Brewers Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Greg Moore: The port is so the CEO who came up with read more
Thomas Davie: That's a pretty crap response on their part. What are read more
constance rogers: I just purchased the Costco Pacific Blend because in reading read more
Irv S: We've got a Starbucks 10 pack that has the Black read more
Geo: the 2.0 will brew other k cups. Take the foil read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy