October 4, 2013

Marley Coffee Get Up, Stand Up Real Cups Review

Marley Coffee K Cups Get Up StandUP

Marley Coffee company got its start in 2007 when Rohan Marley (son of the late reggae musician Bob Marley) co-founded the company with Shane Whittle, a Canadian stock tycoon and organic food advocate. Together they ensured the company would remain sustainable, certified organic and practice safe environmentally-conscious practices to promote the coffee, the well-being of the land their coffee was being farmed on and the well-being of the coffee farmers themselves.

ArrowContinue reading: "Marley Coffee Get Up, Stand Up Real Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

September 30, 2013

Folgers Gourmet Selections Mocha Swirl Coffee K-Cups

Review folgers gourmet selections mocha swirl k cups box

It's been a while since we've seen any new K-Cups from Folgers, so you can image our surprise when we happened to stumble across not only a new Folgers K-Cup on a recent trip to a Target in NH, but we were a bit taken aback that it was a flavored variety since the last new offerings were unflavored only (Morning Café & Classic Roast). With a name like Mocha Swirl depicting a chocolate cupcake on the box and undoubtedly artificial flavoring present, we had our doubts that we'd get anything out of the ordinary (their Caramel Drizzle K-Cups were a bit lackluster in the flavor department if we recall correctly), but we figured we'd give them a try anyway. Will these new K-Cups be a hit or miss? Let's find out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Folgers Gourmet Selections Mocha Swirl Coffee K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 29, 2013

Dunkin Donuts Original Blend Iced Coffee K-Cups Review

 

Dunkin Iced Coffee K-Cups

A few months ago, Dunkin Donuts introduced a new iced version of their Original Blend by releasing Dunkin Donuts Original Blend Iced Coffee K-Cups. With the warmer weather of summer unfortunately coming to an end sooner than we'd like, we decided to check out these new K-Cups while they were still available during a recent stop at a local Dunkins shop.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in the same strong earthy & smoky notes of Dunkins Original Blend which reminded us of walking into a Dunkins shop. Flavor (when taken black) was pretty much the same as well except things seemed slightly stronger than the Original Blend K-Cups. We got the earthy & smoky notes from the aroma and this even remained once cream & sugar were added. While it's not exactly 100% like what you'd get in a Dunkins shop, it's a pretty close runner-up.

ArrowContinue reading: "Dunkin Donuts Original Blend Iced Coffee K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 20, 2013

Woodshed Roasting Company Single Serve Cups Review

WoodshedroastingcompanyIMGP5503

At Single Serve Coffee HQ, we're always on the lookout for local roasters/companies that are getting into the single serve market and often, we're contacted by companies who want us to review their products either before or after they've hit retail shelves. We were recently contacted by a micro roaster based out of Laconia, NH named Woodshed Roasting Company and they sent us some samples of their recent Single Serve Cups for use in Keurig K-Cup brewers. Rather than go with Real Cups or Rogers Family style soft-bottomed cups, they decided to try the new LBP UpShot Solution Cups. These cups are made from 100% recyclable materials and unlike K-Cups or Real Cups, the bottom piercing needle doesn't actually pierce the bottom of the cup as instead, water flows through the coffee and out the sides of the mesh filter.

ArrowContinue reading: "Woodshed Roasting Company Single Serve Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

August 9, 2013

Martinson Dark Roast Coffee Real Cups Review for Keurig K-Cup Brewers

 

ReviewmartinsondarkroastrealcupsIMGP5224

We continue our Martinson Real Cup review series today with their Martinson Dark Roast Real Cups. So far we've been reviewing mostly light & medium roast flavors in the line-up, so we were interested to see how their darker roasted flavors would turn out.

Brewing these Real Cups resulted in strong smoky aromas that quickly filled the room and upon closer inspection, we also noticed scents of dark chocolate with an earthy background. Flavor was again a nice mix of smoky flavors blended with dark chocolate notes throughout along with mild cereal notes hiding underneath. Acidity was a lot better balanced than previous offerings in the line-up as you get a very mild sour note on first sip which quickly gives way to the main flavors of the coffee. As a result, the main flavors don't get covered-up by the acidity yet there's enough liveliness going on in the background to prevent things from falling flat.

ArrowContinue reading: "Martinson Dark Roast Coffee Real Cups Review for Keurig K-Cup Brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 30, 2013

Seattle's Best Coffee Medium & Balanced and Smooth Roasted K-Cups Review

Seattlesbestkcups med light

Thanks to AB from Maine we were able to get our hands on Seattle's Best Coffee K-Cups currently being served at Subway. We got to try both the level 1 - Smooth Roasted and the Level 3 - Medium and Balanced Seattle's Best Coffee K-Cups. These K-Cups are Keurig Brewed and licensed for use with any K-Cup Brewer. Both K-Cups were quite good with the Medium and Balanced being the clear winner for us more bold coffee drinkers. 

ArrowContinue reading: "Seattle's Best Coffee Medium & Balanced and Smooth Roasted K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 18, 2013

Snapple Raspberry Iced Tea K-Cups Review

ReviewsnappleraspberryicedteakcupsIMGP5480

As the saying goes, all good things must come to an end and so, we finish our Snapple K-Cup review series today with their Snapple Raspberry Iced Tea K-Cups. We really enjoyed the other 2 flavors in the line-up but this particular flavor caught us off guard as Keurig & Snapple kept it a secret right up until launch date. We can't recall hearing anything about a 3rd flavor in the Snapple K-Cup series, so imagine our surprise when we saw 3 listings pop up on Keurig's site instead of 2.

The ingredients are much the same again with green & black tea leaves/extracts being present along with natural flavors plus the combination of sugar & aspartame. As we noted in our last 2 Snapple K-Cup reviews, aspartame is being used as an artificial sweetener here and thus it brings about a warning for people who are sensitive to phenylalanine (one of aspartame's ingredients) and more importantly, we'd like to warn people who have a genetic condition known as PKU since consuming phenylalanine can cause severe side effects for them. This essential amino acid doesn't pose any risk to people who don't have this condition or who aren't allergic to phenylalanine. We know there's only a small percentage of people who have this condition, but we owe it to them to post some form of advisory anyway just in case they happen to miss the warnings on the labeling/packaging.

ArrowContinue reading: "Snapple Raspberry Iced Tea K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 17, 2013

Snapple Peach Iced Tea K-Cups Review

ReviewsnapplepeachicedteakcupsIMGP5479

We continue our Snapple K-Cup reviews today with their Snapple Peach Iced Tea K-Cups. We quite enjoyed the results from their lemon flavor and thought it was a pretty good substitute for the bottled ready to drink version, so we're anxious to see if this peach flavor will be more of the same.

The ingredients show that again, green & black tea leaves/extracts are being used here along with natural flavors plus the combination of sugar & aspartame. As we noted in our last Snapple K-Cup review, these are the first K-Cups we've seen that use aspartame as an artificial sweetener and thus it brings about a warning for people who are sensitive tophenylalanine (one of aspartame's ingredients) and more importantly, we'd like to warn people who have a genetic condition known as PKU since consuming phenylalanine can cause severe side effects for them. This essential amino acid doesn't pose any risk to people who don't have this condition or who aren't allergic to phenylalanine. We know there's only a small percentage of people who have this condition, but we owe it to them to post some form of advisory anyway just in case they happen to miss the warnings on the labeling/packaging.

ArrowContinue reading: "Snapple Peach Iced Tea K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 16, 2013

Snapple Lemon Iced Tea K-Cups Review

ReviewsnapplelemonicedteakcupsIMGP5471

We’ve seen dozens of coffee brands fall under Keurig & GMCR’s ownership before and that’s nothing new, however, for an already-established ready to drink beverage manufacturer to enter into a partnership to produce their own licensed K-Cups? THAT is most definitely something new! We were shocked when Dr. Pepper Snapple Group announced several months ago that they would be releasing, in partnership with Keurig, new Snapple Iced Tea K-Cups during spring/summer 2013. The time has come and indeed, we’re seeing Snapple K-Cups popping up everywhere. We decided to kick things off today by checking out a classic iced tea flavor with their Snapple Lemon Iced Tea K-Cups.

ArrowContinue reading: "Snapple Lemon Iced Tea K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 26, 2013

GMCR Naturals Lemonade K-Cups Review

ReviewgmcrnaturalslemonadekcupsIMGP5462

GMCR Naturals is a line-up of K-Cups that take 1 thing in mind: Using 100% all-natural ingredients & derivatives. Their Apple Cider was outstanding as a hot drink and over the past several months, the folks at Green Mountain decided they'd try their hand at making an iced drink which was every bit as good. So what could be easily made as an iced drink with natural ingredients? Lemonade, of course! That (plus the recent warm weather) brings us to today's long overdue review of GMCR Naturals Lemonade K-Cups.

A quick look at the ingredients list reveals that they are indeed all-natural as we find Sugar, Lemon Juice Powder, Citric Acid, Reb A (Stevia Extract), Natural Flavor, Lemon Peel Powder & Lemon Fruit Powder. While we're wondering why BOTH sugar & stevia are being used here, we suppose the added sweetness of the stevia was used as a form of natural additive to offset the sour notes of the lemon ingredients while the sugar is what provides the natural background sweetness to the final drink and probably makes up the bulk of the sweetener ingredients.

ArrowContinue reading: "GMCR Naturals Lemonade K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Donna Loy: I would like one of the clips that I can read more
Becca Howard: Hi, I was looking at the Hey Joe Coffee mug, read more
AO: LOVE this thing! One of my best coffee purchases ever! read more
Rodney Phinney: Have been trying to find this coffee at Sam's Club read more
AO: This is good to see. However, I would be much read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy