February 4, 2013

Review: Swiss Miss Milk Chocolate Hot Cocoa K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee12 k cup swiss miss hot cocoa

For about as long as we can recall, Swiss Miss hot cocoas have been a staple in many American homes over the years and up until now, the most common format it came in was powder packets. Known for its smooth Swiss milk chocolate taste (think Milka), this has been one of our favorites for ages. A few months ago, Green Mountain decided they’d take a crack at things and introduced what we’re reviewing today: Swiss Miss Milk Chocolate Hot Cocoa K-Cups.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in the distinct aroma of Swiss milk chocolate with sweet cocoa notes filling the room. Flavor was a bit more hit or miss though. When we tried our first K-Cup, about half the powder remained stuck in the bottom of the K-Cup after brewing (despite having shaken the K-Cup beforehand) which resulted in a horrible-tasting “hint of cocoa” flavored water. We had to dump the cup since it tasted so watery.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Swiss Miss Milk Chocolate Hot Cocoa K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

January 22, 2013

Review: Starbucks Guatemala Casi Cielo K-Cups

ReviewstarbucksguatemalacasicielokcupsIMGP5135

When Starbucks started releasing some of their seasonal coffees in K-Cup format last year, it got our hopes up that they’d eventually release ALL of their seasonal coffees as K-Cups. First came the excellent Anniversary Blend K-Cups quickly followed a few months later by the equally magnificent Christmas Blend K-Cups and our recent discovery during an in-shop visit proves that Starbucks Seasonals are going to be a common occurrence in the land of Keurig. This past week (Jan 14-18, 2013) saw the release of what we’re reviewing today: Starbucks Guatemala Casi Cielo K-Cups.

This is great news for Starbucks K-Cups fans and we couldn’t be happier. With a total of 3 seasonals within the past 4 or 5 months, it truly appears that Starbucks have decided to make their entire seasonal series in K-Cup format which means we’re in for some cups of awesome in the coming months ahead. Spanish for almost heaven, Casi Cielo has remained a favorite amongst fans and is a premium coffee harvested from the Antigua region of Guatemala. Billed by Starbucks as a medium roast & having hints of lemon with satisfying dark cocoa notes, we couldn’t wait to give this one a try. Lemon & dark cocoa? Not exactly 2 flavors you’d expect would pair well together, but Starbucks claims it’ll work for virtually any dish from the main meal to desserts.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Starbucks Guatemala Casi Cielo K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 7, 2013

Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Morning Cafe K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeReviewfolgersgourmetselectionsmorningcafekcupsIMGP4841

Every once in a while, we stumble across something unexpected and discover rarities in the world of Single Serve Coffee like the Folgers Gourmet Selections Morning Cafe K-Cups we found recently at our local Target.

Brewing the Folgers Gourmet Selections Morning Cafe K-Cups  resulted in very mild woodsy notes with faint hints of chocolate throughout. Compared to their Lively Colombian K-Cups, aroma was considerably weaker overall. Flavor yielded more notes of chocolate with slight notes of berries buried underneath. We were expecting some of the usual smoky or hickory notes, but we suppose we shouldn't have looked for them since there weren't any in the aroma. We can't help but feel things seemed rather flat and could have been perked up a bit by slightly stronger acidity.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Morning Cafe K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

January 2, 2013

Review: Vitamin Burst Strawberry Pomegranate K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeReviewvitaminburststrawberrypomegranatekcupsIMGP4866

We continue our Vitamin Burst review series today with the 2nd flavor in their lineup... Vitamin Burst Strawberry Pomegranate K-Cups. We were absolutely floored with their Acai Berry flavor last time, so we can't wait to see if these K-Cups are just as mind-blowing or not.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in LOADS of strawberry aromas filling the room with hints of pomegranate slightly present in the background, but it was almost buried by the massive strawberry scent. Flavor was thankfully PACKED full of huge strawberry notes up front with a nice mild tartness of the pomegranate underneath. Again, the main notes were strawberries and we had to really search around a bit to find the mild pomegranate notes hiding in the cup. We were also detecting some other berry notes but couldn't quite put our finger on what it was until we checked the packaging and noticed dried black currant puree was listed in the ingredients. If we had to pick between these K-Cups and the Acai K-Cups, we'd say we probably enjoy the strawberry flavors a bit more than the acai, but just barely.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Vitamin Burst Strawberry Pomegranate K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 26, 2012

Review: Starbucks Christmas Blend Single Serve Coffee K-Cups

StarbucksxmaskcupsIMGP5082

 

When we first reviewed their Anniversary Blend K-Cups a few months ago, we were cautiously optimistic that those would be the first in a line-up of seasonal K-Cups and it turns out that we were correct. We really liked that previous K-Cup, so we couldn't wait to see what Starbucks Christmas Blend K-Cups (the 2nd flavor in the series) would be like. Once again, Starbucks have gone all-out by creating nicely decorated packaging with festive artwork as well as a bright red reflective foil K-Cup lid (Ooh, shiny!) which proved quite the difficult item to photograph.

We also liked the addition of the year on the foil lid. They did this with their Anniversary Blend as well and we think it adds a certain collector's appeal much like you'd get when collecting wine vintages. We can already foresee asking guests if they'd like a 2012 vintage Christmas Blend K-Cup a few years from now (providing we have any left by then).

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Starbucks Christmas Blend Single Serve Coffee K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 8, 2012

Review: Café Escapes Café Vanilla K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4935.JPG

We kick things off today by reviewing a recent K-Cup addition to the Café Escapes line-up... Café Escapes Café Vanilla K-Cups. We’ve come to expect pretty decent results from Café Escapes over the years and their hot cocoas remain some of our favorites to date. We were intrigued when we noticed some new flavors pop up on Green Mountain’s site as web-exclusives, so we decided to give this one a try.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in delicate notes of sweet vanilla filling the room with hints of coffee in the background. The main notes were vanilla with coffee aromas being pushed to the back, something you might see in a vanilla latte. Flavor was pretty much the same with sweet notes of vanilla flowing through at first sip with faint notes of coffee in the background. We were wondering why we weren’t getting more of a coffee flavor until we remembered that Café Escapes use instant coffee in their K-Cups/Vue Packs. While we’re not exactly fans of instant coffee, we can put up with it in this case since it didn’t seem to be impacting the main flavor of vanilla. Instead, things seemed a bit lighter than what we were expecting.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Café Escapes Café Vanilla K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

October 1, 2012

Review: Dunkin Donuts Mocha K-Cups for Keurig Brewers

Review Single Serve CoffeeDDMocha.jpg

It’s been a while since Dunkin Donuts released a new K-Cup and since some of their flavored varieties have been hit or miss in the past, we were cautiously optimistic when we heard they’d be coming out with a limited edition flavor during the summer months. Today we take a look at Dunkin Donuts Mocha K-Cups.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in strong blasts of chocolate aromas which quickly filled the room and quashed any doubt we had about these K-Cups being able to produce anything chocolaty. The weirdest thing though? We could have sworn we even detected faint notes of raisins hiding underneath. Yes, raisins! That has GOT to be a Single Serve Coffee first. Flavor was thankfully not raisin-like but moreso on-par with the aroma as we got the acidity’s sour notes which brought the coffee flavor to the foreground and then as we neared the end, we got a decent hit of chocolate flavor in the background.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Dunkin Donuts Mocha K-Cups for Keurig Brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

September 17, 2012

Review: Starbucks Anniversary Blend K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve Coffeestarbucks_anniversary_kcups_IMGP4913.JPG

Starbucks created their Anniversary Blend back in 1996 to celebrate their 25th anniversary and it was so popular that it remained a seasonal favorite which would be reintroduced each Fall. Starbucks claims the secret to the distinctive taste of this coffee is due to the use of aged Sumatran beans from Indonesia, but to the honest, the thing that had us jumping for joy was the recent introduction of what we're reviewing today: Starbucks Anniversary Blend K-Cups. We would like to note that we liked the artwork on the packaging & how the foil lid on the K-Cup gave a light gold appearance to the artwork as well. Since most K-Cups have pretty standardized artwork, this made for a nice difference.

Billed as one of the first seasonal Starbucks K-Cups (Hmm... could we be seeing Christmas Blend K-Cups in a few months?), brewing these K-Cups resulted in strong, almost wine-like aromas with smoky hickory tinged by mild notes of caramel in the background. Flavor was nicely presented with a huge amount of complex tastes swirling around in the cup. You start off with some of the smoky notes, but surprisingly, they're a lot smoother and not as intense as your typical Starbucks dark roast. You then notice some molasses flavors mingling around with more notes of sweet caramel and things are topped off by some dark chocolate flavors near the end with a light spicy kick in the finish. Outstanding & unlike anything we've seen before from Starbucks.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Starbucks Anniversary Blend K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 5, 2012

Review: The Original Donut Shop Coffee Sweet & Creamy Regular Iced Coffee K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee

sweetcreamyregularicedcoffeekcupsIMGP4759.JPG

We kick things off with what has to be the most ridiculously long name for a K-Cup we've seen in ages... wow... lots of words to try & cram into a title there, so we'll simply refer to them as "Sweet & Creamy Regular Iced Coffee K-Cups" for the remainder of this review. Most Brew Over Ice K-Cups recommend 6oz or 8oz settings but after noticing that this flavor used actual real ground coffee beans, we figured we'd go full tilt and use the larger 8oz setting to fill our iced beverage tumbler.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in light smoky notes of hickory during brewing which quickly faded away afterwards & we even noticed a few tiny flecks of coffee grounds in the cup which proved there was indeed real ground coffee present here instead of instant coffee. Chalk that up as a bonus for this flavor as we love getting the real deal vs. instant whenever possible.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: The Original Donut Shop Coffee Sweet & Creamy Regular Iced Coffee K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 27, 2012

Review: Vitamin Burst Acai Berry K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee

acaiberryIMGP4857.JPG

We have seen a virtual explosion of new products coming out of Keurig’s HQ lately and it looks like they have no intention of slowing down anytime soon (which is a good thing for our taste buds, but a painful thing for our wallets). Today we take a look at the first-ever single serve fruit drink for Keurig machines with the new Vitamin Burst Acai Berry K-Cups.

Much like the Green Mountain Naturals brand, Vitamin Burst is a new brand that Keurig created in-house and marks the first time a vitamin-enriched fruit drink has been made available for a mainstream single serve coffee machine (ok, there are probably competitors out there, but they’re not necessarily mainstream or commonly known yet). We like the concept & think it’s a category that’s long overdue for Keurig. Let’s find out how well this flavor stacks up.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Vitamin Burst Acai Berry K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Marie Ziemski: I bought Breakfast Blend Decaf Coffee and although the coffee read more
Donna Loy: I would like one of the clips that I can read more
Becca Howard: Hi, I was looking at the Hey Joe Coffee mug, read more
AO: LOVE this thing! One of my best coffee purchases ever! read more
Rodney Phinney: Have been trying to find this coffee at Sam's Club read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy