September 5, 2012

Review: The Original Donut Shop Coffee Sweet & Creamy Regular Iced Coffee K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee

sweetcreamyregularicedcoffeekcupsIMGP4759.JPG

We kick things off with what has to be the most ridiculously long name for a K-Cup we've seen in ages... wow... lots of words to try & cram into a title there, so we'll simply refer to them as "Sweet & Creamy Regular Iced Coffee K-Cups" for the remainder of this review. Most Brew Over Ice K-Cups recommend 6oz or 8oz settings but after noticing that this flavor used actual real ground coffee beans, we figured we'd go full tilt and use the larger 8oz setting to fill our iced beverage tumbler.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in light smoky notes of hickory during brewing which quickly faded away afterwards & we even noticed a few tiny flecks of coffee grounds in the cup which proved there was indeed real ground coffee present here instead of instant coffee. Chalk that up as a bonus for this flavor as we love getting the real deal vs. instant whenever possible.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: The Original Donut Shop Coffee Sweet & Creamy Regular Iced Coffee K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 27, 2012

Review: Vitamin Burst Acai Berry K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee

acaiberryIMGP4857.JPG

We have seen a virtual explosion of new products coming out of Keurig’s HQ lately and it looks like they have no intention of slowing down anytime soon (which is a good thing for our taste buds, but a painful thing for our wallets). Today we take a look at the first-ever single serve fruit drink for Keurig machines with the new Vitamin Burst Acai Berry K-Cups.

Much like the Green Mountain Naturals brand, Vitamin Burst is a new brand that Keurig created in-house and marks the first time a vitamin-enriched fruit drink has been made available for a mainstream single serve coffee machine (ok, there are probably competitors out there, but they’re not necessarily mainstream or commonly known yet). We like the concept & think it’s a category that’s long overdue for Keurig. Let’s find out how well this flavor stacks up.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Vitamin Burst Acai Berry K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

June 5, 2012

Review: San Francisco Bay Organic Rainforest Blend OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs

Review Single Serve Coffee

sanfranciscobayorganic_rainforest.JPG

We continue our series of San Francisco Bay OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs (a.k.a. “OneCups”) today with their San Francisco Bay Organic Rainforest Blend OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs.

Brewing these OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs resulted in mild notes of cocoa which seemed to be the only scent we could determine in the final cup. We had been getting used to the smoky aromas in the previous OneCup offerings and were a bit disappointed that the aroma here wasn’t more complex. Billed as a medium to dark roast, flavor revealed more cocoa/milk chocolate taste throughout and an almost woodsy character overall which yielded faint oily flavors on the finish. Very mild nutty notes were also hiding underneath.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: San Francisco Bay Organic Rainforest Blend OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

May 24, 2012

Review: San Francisco Bay Fog Chaser OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs

Review Single Serve Coffee

sanfran_fog_chaser_IMGP4600.JPG

We continue our series of San Francisco Bay K-Cup Pods (a.k.a. "OneCups") today with their San Francisco Bay Fog Chaser OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs

Brewing these K-Cup Pods resulted in some faint smoky aromas during brewing, but once we inspected the final cup, we honestly couldn’t smell anything discernible. It’s like the aroma completely disappeared. Billed as a dark roast on the box (yet a light roast on their website… huh?), flavor was thankfully more robust than the scent with mostly notes of dark chocolate, some smoke & very faint nutty notes hiding underneath as well as some bread notes lurking near the finish.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: San Francisco Bay Fog Chaser OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 18, 2012

Review: San Francisco Bay French Roast OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4592.JPG

We continue our series of San Francisco Bay K-Cup Pods (a.k.a. "OneCups") today with their San Francisco Bay French Roast K-Cup Pods. Much like their decaf version, brewing these K-Cup Pods resulted in rich smoky aromas with notes of milk chocolate… yes, MILK chocolate. We were a bit surprised to see a deviation from the norm of dark chocolate aromas which seemed predominant in most dark roasts, so this was a nice & pleasant alternative. Billed as a dark roast, flavor was earthy & smoky with predominant dark chocolate notes up front with faint notes of molasses in the background. We also detected a slight oily taste near the finish, but it wasn’t distracting at all. We found it was kind of an odd pairing between aroma & flavor since we got scents of milk chocolate while having flavors of dark chocolate. Regardless, we liked this subtle nuance & found it make for an interesting cup.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: San Francisco Bay French Roast OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

April 27, 2012

Review: San Francisco Bay Decaf French Roast OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4578.JPG

We continue our series of San Francisco Bay K-Cup Pods (a.k.a. "OneCups") today with their San Francisco Bay Decaf French Roast K-Cup Pods.

Ok, first things first… this is a decaf coffee. It says so right on the box, yet we were hit by a blast of smoky aromas the moment we tore open the bag that these things came packaged in. Um… what the heck… this is a decaf? We checked the box again… yep, decaf. Wow… if they smell this good right out of the box, then this could be epic.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: San Francisco Bay Decaf French Roast OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 23, 2012

Review: San Francisco Bay Breakfast OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4574.JPG

Now that Keurig’s K-Cup patents are nearing ever so closer to their expiry date, we’ve been seeing more and more “knock-off” K-Cups hit the market. While we were a bit apprehensive at first due to the horrible quality of the first few products to hit the market (Freeze-dried instant coffee in a K-Cup? Blech!), we’ve been seeing an uptick in decent quality knock-offs over the past several months. One of the most popular knock-off products comes from Rogers Family Company Coffee Roasters.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: San Francisco Bay Breakfast OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

April 19, 2012

Review: Starbucks French Roast K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffeefrench_roast_kcups-starbucks_IMGP4568.JPG

French Roast. The first thing that comes to mind when coffee drinkers hear those words is "intense & smoky" and indeed, some of the coffees we've had over the years which employed this roast style have been quite intense and often smoky in nature. Billed as one of the strongest roasts in Starbucks' line-up, we continue our review series of Starbucks K-Cups today with their Starbucks French Roast K-Cups.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in rather strong aromas of smoky hickory nuanced by tinges of molasses & dark chocolate. After trying a greater portion of the line-up, we're starting to suspect they all have very similar aromas and just about every one we've tried had the "signature" Starbucks coffee shop aroma (the scent you get when you walk into one of their retail shops). We also detected faint oily aromas hiding underneath but the thing that was the most present was definitely smoky hickory.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Starbucks French Roast K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

April 18, 2012

Review: Starbucks Sumatra K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4562.JPG

The Sumatran region of Indonesia is famous for some of the dark roast coffees it produces and depending on how they're blended, the final results can be anywhere from earthy & herbal to sour & intense. We decided to see which route Starbucks decided to take and continue our Starbucks K-Cup reviews today with their Starbucks Sumatra K-Cups.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in aforementioned earthy notes with subtle hints of herbal and even floral notes in background. Once again, cocoa is present but oddly enough, the smoky hickory notes seem subdued. Seeing as how this is a dark roast, we were expecting the exact opposite. Hmm... strange.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Starbucks Sumatra K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 16, 2012

Review: Starbucks Pike Place Roast K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4550.JPG

Starbucks got their start back in 1971 in Seattle, Washington. Their first store opened on Western Ave. and was later relocated to Pike Place in 1976 where it remains to this day. Despite being the 2nd store to bear the name, many still consider this to be the 1st and longest-operating Starbucks location in the World. Today we continue our Starbucks K-Cups review series with a K-Cup which was named after this historic location: Starbucks Pike Place Roast K-Cups.

Something we've noticed with the Starbucks K-Cups is that the aroma during brewing seems fairly consistent with only intensity & some subtle nuances being the key differences. Such is the same here as brewing these K-Cups resulted in the signature Starbucks aroma filling the room once again. A closer inspection of the final brewed cup revealed smoky notes of hickory in the foreground with scents of cocoa underneath. We also detected a slight oily characteristic present in the aroma at times.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Starbucks Pike Place Roast K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
annette: This is my second replacement Keurig 2.0, the first one read more
Thomas Davie: The Kold will hit a very limited number of shelves read more
Thomas Davie: I feel sorry for the people who are losing their read more
Greg Moore: The CEO should be replaced. Anyone who would come up read more
Luisa Signore: how do i get my free coffee? read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2015 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy