October 19, 2011

Review: Dunkin Donuts Dunkin’ Dark Coffee K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4365.JPG

We continue our review of Dunkin Donuts’ series of K-Cups today with their Dunkin Donuts Dunkin’ Dark K-Cups.

Upon brewing these K-Cups, strong earthy notes fill the room and are much akin to the Dunkins Original Blend K-Cups we reviewed recently. Similar notes of molasses were hiding underneath but weren’t as prevalent as in the Original Blend. We also noted very faint hints of dark chocolate too. It was like a slightly stronger version of the Original Blend’s aroma and reminded us once again of stepping into our local Dunkins shop. Spot-on.

Acidity was much more pleasing this time around. It’s amazing to see how much of a difference a change in a roast profile can make. Say goodbye to the strong sour notes of the Original Blend and hello to the silky smooth, well-balanced notes of Dunkin’ Dark coffee. You won’t find anything getting in your way of enjoying the richer flavor this time around. We are very, VERY pleased at how this K-Cup turned out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Dunkin Donuts Dunkin’ Dark Coffee K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 14, 2011

Review: Dunkin Donuts Original Blend K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4364.JPG

We’ve all seen the commercials & the ads plastered everywhere from bus stops to taxi cabs and newspapers… America runs on Dunkins. Well, after years of waiting, you can now enjoy a “leisurely jog” to your kitchen since Dunkin Donuts K-Cups are finally being sold in most Dunkins shops across the country. Today we’re reviewing Dunkin Donuts Original Blend K-Cups.

What sets Dunkins K-Cups apart from others? Well, they come in 14-packs instead of your usual 12 or 24-pack varieties but the most obvious difference is that you can ONLY buy them in-person at a Dunkins coffee shop. They’re not being sold anywhere online (not even via Dunkins’ own online shop) and you won’t find them anywhere at a Wal-Mart or grocery store. Dunkins has effectively ensured that you’ll be tempted to buy their other in-store products by being forced to visit one of their shops in order to pick-up a box. Annoying? Yes. Clever sales approach? You bet’cha.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Dunkin Donuts Original Blend K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

October 4, 2011

Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Black Silk K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4313.JPG

Today we decided to continue our review of the recent Folgers K-Cups with one of our favorites… Folgers Gourmet Selections Black Silk K-Cups. Now, it’s been a while since we had the regular grind version, but from what we can recall, this single serve variety seemed on-par with the regular version.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in rich woodsy notes filling the room with a hint of dark chocolate & smoky hickory in the background. There were also faint notes of spices in the finish.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Black Silk K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

September 28, 2011

Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Vanilla Biscotti K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4312.JPG

Today we continue our series of Folgers K-Cup reviews with their first flavored variety… Folgers Gourmet Selections Vanilla Biscotti K-Cups. We have to admit that we missed this flavor when it came out in regular grind format, so we can’t really compare how accurate of a reproduction this is… however, if it’s anything like the previous Folgers K-Cups we reviewed, the contents of this K-Cup should be the same thing you get in the Gourmet Selections foil bags at your local grocery store. So how does the coffee itself stand up? Let’s have at it and see, shall we?

Brewing the Folgers Gourmet Selections Vanilla Biscotti K-Cups resulted in strong aromas of not only vanilla but caramel as well. The scent quickly filled the room and had us captivated from the start. While Folgers doesn’t list what kind of roast this is, they do note that it’s made from 100% Arabica, so if we had to guess, we’d bill this as a light roast. Flavor was spot-on with aroma as smooth waves of vanilla flowed through to notes of caramel in the finish. We’re thinking they should have named this K-Cup "Caramel-Vanilla Biscotti" instead.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Vanilla Biscotti K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 21, 2011

Review: Wolfgang Puck Rodeo Dr Blend K-Cups for Keurig Brewers

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4309.JPG

Today we’re reviewing a K-Cup which "fell through the cracks", so to speak, back when we were doing our Wolfgang Puck K-Cup reviews. Sticking with our "better late than never" mantra, today we’re reviewing Wolfgang Puck Rodeo Dr Blend K-Cups. Note we did review the coffee pod version of this way back in 2005 and it was called Rodeo Light.

Brewing these K-Cups did not really result in much of an aroma. There was a bit of subdued earthiness at first, then once the brewing process was over, any note of an aroma vanished. We found that even the brewed cup itself didn’t have much of a residual aroma to it and were really forcing ourselves to find anything of note. Rather disappointing to be honest.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Wolfgang Puck Rodeo Dr Blend K-Cups for Keurig Brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 15, 2011

Review: Van Houtte Cottage Blend K-Cups for Keurig Brewers

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4291.JPG

Much like Green Mountain does each year, we noticed that Van Houtte have started releasing seasonal K-Cups lately. So today, we decided to review one of their Summer seasonals: Van Houtte Cottage Blend K-Cups. Unfortunately, Van Houtte have since removed the listing from both their American & Canadian websites, so we’re guessing the window for these K-Cups is very limited… likely June-July only. We did however manage to find them still listed on Keurig.com (USA only).

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in nice woodsy notes with a hint of smokiness in the background. The woodsy notes paired well with the image of being at a cottage in the forest, so we can see what Van Houtte were trying to achieve here.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte Cottage Blend K-Cups for Keurig Brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 7, 2011

Review: Van Houtte Cherry Chip Swirl K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4290.JPG

We continue our reviews of Van Houtte's recent seasonal K-Cups today with yet another new Summer seasonal: Van Houtte Cherry Chip Swirl K-Cups. Unfortunately, Van Houtte have since removed the listing from both their American & Canadian websites, so we're guessing the window for these K-Cups is very limited... likely June-July only when we received them. We did however manage to find them still listed on Keurig.com (USA only).

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in amazingly rich bursts of cherry aroma laced with chocolate throughout. We had our doubts that any scent of chocolate would be washed-away by foreboding cherry aromas, but our doubts were unfounded as this K-Cup nailed the aroma perfectly. This was absolutely spot-on. Definitely one of the best aromas we've experienced in a while and it immediately had us thinking of cherry cordials. Had there been hints of coconut present, we would have dared claim that this was a coffee'd (is that even a word?) version of Lowney's Cherry Blossom confectionaries.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte Cherry Chip Swirl K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 26, 2011

Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Lively Colombian K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4310.JPG

You’ve seen the TV commercials over the years, you’ve seen the old magazine ads and for most of us, our parents lived off of this brand and still do to this day. We’re sure you remember the iconic jingle too… “The best part of waking up… is Folgers in your cup”. Indeed, today we’re finally reviewing the new Folgers K-Cups and decided to kick things off with their Folgers Gourmet Selections Lively Colombian K-Cups.

According to the wiki article about the company, Folgers started out way back in 1850 as the Pioneer Steam Coffee and Spice Mills Company which was based out of San Francisco and was later acquired and renamed by James A. Folger in 1872.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Lively Colombian K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 3, 2011

Review: GMCR Vermont Country Blend Fair Trade K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4220.JPG

Today we review one of the more popular flavors in Green Mountain’s line-up: GMCR’s Vermont Country Blend Fair Trade K-Cups. This coffee has been around for quite a while and is apparently a fan favorite. Let’s find out why.

Brewing these K-Cups result in strong smoky notes with a blend of chocolate & faint molasses tones underneath. It reminded us of setting up camp in a Vermont forest and brewing up a pot of coffee over an open campfire. A quick look on GMCR’s site reveals that this coffee is a blend of dark roast & light roast beans which would explain its strong scent yet light body.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: GMCR Vermont Country Blend Fair Trade K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 18, 2011

Review: GMCR Our Blend Fair Trade Coffee K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4215.JPG

Today we review Green Mountain's first coffee they introduced to the market: GMCR's Our Blend Fair Trade K-Cups. This coffee was the first blend produced by the company and is currently in use at various dining establishments across the East Coast of USA.

Brewing these K-Cups result in rich notes of dark chocolate and hints of earthiness in the background. Further investigation of GMCR's website reveal that they've blended beans from 6 different regions of Guatemala to create this particular blend.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: GMCR Our Blend Fair Trade Coffee K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
MTNFUN: Given the DRM I will not upgrade..look at what happened read more
C.Scheets: I recieved the Keurig 2.0 for free from a site, read more
Andy D: EPIC FAIL Keurig! I bought the older version online at read more
Thomas Davie: As a review, this is not a ringing endorsement. Tom read more
Steve: So, the purpose of the DRM, according to Keurig, is read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy