August 26, 2011

Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Lively Colombian K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4310.JPG

You’ve seen the TV commercials over the years, you’ve seen the old magazine ads and for most of us, our parents lived off of this brand and still do to this day. We’re sure you remember the iconic jingle too… “The best part of waking up… is Folgers in your cup”. Indeed, today we’re finally reviewing the new Folgers K-Cups and decided to kick things off with their Folgers Gourmet Selections Lively Colombian K-Cups.

According to the wiki article about the company, Folgers started out way back in 1850 as the Pioneer Steam Coffee and Spice Mills Company which was based out of San Francisco and was later acquired and renamed by James A. Folger in 1872.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Lively Colombian K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 3, 2011

Review: GMCR Vermont Country Blend Fair Trade K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4220.JPG

Today we review one of the more popular flavors in Green Mountain’s line-up: GMCR’s Vermont Country Blend Fair Trade K-Cups. This coffee has been around for quite a while and is apparently a fan favorite. Let’s find out why.

Brewing these K-Cups result in strong smoky notes with a blend of chocolate & faint molasses tones underneath. It reminded us of setting up camp in a Vermont forest and brewing up a pot of coffee over an open campfire. A quick look on GMCR’s site reveals that this coffee is a blend of dark roast & light roast beans which would explain its strong scent yet light body.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: GMCR Vermont Country Blend Fair Trade K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 18, 2011

Review: GMCR Our Blend Fair Trade Coffee K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4215.JPG

Today we review Green Mountain's first coffee they introduced to the market: GMCR's Our Blend Fair Trade K-Cups. This coffee was the first blend produced by the company and is currently in use at various dining establishments across the East Coast of USA.

Brewing these K-Cups result in rich notes of dark chocolate and hints of earthiness in the background. Further investigation of GMCR's website reveal that they've blended beans from 6 different regions of Guatemala to create this particular blend.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: GMCR Our Blend Fair Trade Coffee K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 6, 2011

Review: Green Mountain Gingerbread Fair Trade K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4118.JPG

Today we continue reviewing recent seasonal K-Cups from this past holiday season with Green Mountain’s Gingerbread Fair Trade K-Cups. This is, as noted, a seasonal flavor which is usually available in late November/early December but Amazon.com still has some 24-pack boxes in stock at the time of this review.

Brewing these K-Cups reveal strong aromas of gingerbread plus hints of vanilla hiding underneath. It reminded us of baking gingerbread cookies during the holidays. Perfect aroma so far.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Green Mountain Gingerbread Fair Trade K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 30, 2011

Review: Celestial Seasonings Sweet Tropical Breeze White Iced Tea K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4194.JPG

Summer is quickly approaching, so we decided to start reviewing some Brew-Over-Ice K-Cups we didn’t get a chance to check out last time around. Today, we’re reviewing one of last year’s new flavors: Celestial Seasonings Sweet Tropical Breeze White Iced Tea K-Cups. We love the subtle nuances & light flavor of white tea, so we were really interested to see how well this paired with tropical flavors in an iced tea format.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in rich tropical scents of passion fruit & papaya along with faint hints of pineapple & mango lurking in the background which had us dreaming of a nice tropical beach (somewhere we wish we could have been a few months ago).

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Celestial Seasonings Sweet Tropical Breeze White Iced Tea K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 23, 2011

Review: GMCR Donut House Vanilla Iced Coffee K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee< IMGP4201.JPG

We continue our series of Brew-Over-Ice reviews with a bit of an oddity. As some of you may recall, Caribou Coffee introduced a K-Cup version of their Obsidian coffee a few years ago which ended up being a Target exclusive which was only available in-store. You couldn’t find any listing posted anywhere on the GMCR or Caribou sites. Well, we have uncovered yet another in-store exclusive K-Cup during a trip to a Bed Bath & Beyond in NH last year. Although it’s a year late, today we review GMCR’s Donut House Vanilla Iced Coffee K-Cups.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in strong scents of vanilla which quickly filled the room and even though there was no indication on the packaging to state if this was a medium or dark roast, we thought it seemed more like a medium.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: GMCR Donut House Vanilla Iced Coffee K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

June 13, 2011

Review: Van Houtte Amazonia Blend Fair Trade Organic K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee

IMGP4173.JPG

Van Houtte have been building-up their flavor library with a variety of unique single-origin and fair trade blends over the years and thanks to a recent acquisition by Green Mountain, new flavors (or variations on existing flavors) are starting to appear on the market. We decided to try one of their latest, Van Houtte Amazonia Blend Fair Trade Organic K-Cups.

Brewing these K-Cups result in typical earthy notes common to your average Arabica, but there’s something else hiding underneath we quite couldn’t figure out… maybe hints of a darker roast?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte Amazonia Blend Fair Trade Organic K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

June 6, 2011

Review: Caribou Coffee Obsidian K-Cups - The X-Files of K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee

IMGP4176.JPG

Today we decided to review something truly unique... an unofficial K-Cup which neither the roaster, distributor nor retail outlet which sells it want to acknowledge in any way. Why can't we find any info online about this flavor? Just what the heck is this dark & mysteriously secretive K-Cup anyway? To answer the 1st question: We have no frickin idea... and it kind of creeps us out. To answer the 2nd question: Caribou Coffee's Obsidian K-Cups (insert X-Files theme here).

Brewing these K-Cups result in deep, woodsy notes with almost floral characteristics. We'd have to say the most predominant aroma was that of smoky molasses tinged with licorice hiding underneath, but the aroma almost seemed as if it kept changing every time we took a sniff.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Caribou Coffee Obsidian K-Cups - The X-Files of K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

May 16, 2011

Review: Van Houtte Mocha Java K-Cups for Keurig Brewers

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4168.JPG

As any Canadian who’s been out to a grocery store will notice lately, Van Houtte have been making a major push into the grocery retail market now that they’ve been acquired by Green Mountain. This is great news since new Van Houtte K-Cup flavors are popping up faster than we can keep track of them. While Americans are used to seeing K-Cup 12-packs everywhere from their grocery stores to Wal-Mart, this is a relatively new concept north of the border. We decided to review one of the last “new” flavors Van Houtte released prior to their acquisition, Van Houtte’s Mocha Java K-Cups.

Brewing these K-Cups result in rich earthy notes underlined with chocolate & faint notes of hickory. Billed as a medium roast, flavor was much on-par with the aroma as we detected faint smoky notes and dark chocolate lingering in the background.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte Mocha Java K-Cups for Keurig Brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 10, 2011

Review: Newman’s Own Organics Newman’s Special Blend Extra Bold K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4110.JPG

Today we decided to dig back in the archives and look at a K-Cup which has been LONG overdue of a proper review. How far back, you ask? Hmm… how about one of the first K-Cups that came out with the very first Keurig brewers? Yep, it’s finally time for us to review Newman’s Own Organics Newman’s Special Blend Extra Bold K-Cups. Not only does the Newman's Special Blend Extra Bold K-Cup hold a record as being one of the oldest/longest running K-Cup flavors in Keurig’s line-up, it probably also holds the record as having the longest K-Cup name.

Nell Newman decided to partner with Green Mountain Coffee Roasters and ever since, they’ve been in charge of sourcing & roasting the coffee beans which go into this coffee. As most of you are probably aware, Newman’s Own coffee is so popular that McDonalds USA decided to make it their official coffee brand several years ago and some locations in the New England area even had a special blend created just for them a few years ago, but enough about history… let’s get on to the review.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Newman’s Own Organics Newman’s Special Blend Extra Bold K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Richard: The idea of installing a DRM has to be one read more
AO: Nope, never, not even if it was 10 bucks. If read more
Thomas Davie: I am not buying the Keurig 2,9 unless and until read more
James: EVIL COMPANY hates the environment and wants to make as read more
Hank: I have been using this machine for 2 months using read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy