Keurig Reviews

May 29, 2012

Review: Brewing Coffees with the Keurig Vue V700 Brewing System

Review Single Serve Coffee12-V700-Vue-Brewer-lg_brewingcoffee.jpg

We've already taken a look at our likes/dislikes as well as a rundown of comparison features between the old K-Cup brewers and the newer Vue-Pack brewers. As a result, we're continuing our review series today by taking a look at some of the new options which are now available when brewing coffees on the Keurig Vue V700 brewer.

Unlike the older K-Cup brewers, you can now adjust a variety of options prior to brewing. Anything from water temperature to brew strength is now user-adjustable. Let's take a look at some of the new features and how they work, shall we?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Brewing Coffees with the Keurig Vue V700 Brewing System"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

April 30, 2012

Review: The Original Donut Shop Coffee Vue Pack from Coffee People

Review Single Serve Coffee theoriginaldonutshopcoffee_vuepack.jpg

We often wonder how much coffee can be improved when you brew it with a new system or different method. Back in 2007 we had our first cup of The Original Donut Shop Coffee in K-Cup form from Coffee People and thought it was good - but not great. Oh how things have changed with this medium roast coffee using the new Vue system from Keurig and Vue pack.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: The Original Donut Shop Coffee Vue Pack from Coffee People"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

top_dots.jpg

SPONSORSHIP

Single Serve Coffee brings a focused and influential audience to brand advertisers. Click here to find out more about sponsorship opportunities.

Single Serve Coffee.com posts continue below...

March 7, 2012

Review: Keurig VUE V700 Single Cup Brewing System Makes Amazing Coffee, Tea, and Café Style Drinks

Review Single Serve Coffee12-V700-Vue-Brewer-alt5.jpg

The Keurig Vue V700 Single Cup Brewing System uses Keurig's Vue Packs, and is a single cup brewing system capable of making coffee, tea, hot cocoa, and even lattes and cappuccinos. The Keurig VUE brewer can only use Keurig Vue Packs, and not K-Cups, which are meant for older Keurig systems. Also unlike the older K-Cups, pulling off the top of the foil lid with the filter attached to a VUE Pack one can recycle the cup part of a VUE pack.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Keurig VUE V700 Single Cup Brewing System Makes Amazing Coffee, Tea, and Café Style Drinks"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (23) | social bookmarking

November 24, 2010

Review: Wolfgang Puck Sorrento Fair Trade K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee

IMGP4057.JPG

Today we continue reviewing the Wolfgang Puck K-Cup series with the Wolfgang Puck Sorrento Fair Trade K-Cups. Sorrento is a small town in the Campania region of Southern Italy, so does this coffee offer a bold Italian roast flavor associative of its namesake? Let's find out.

Brewing these K-Cups result in earthy notes of (yep, you guessed it) smoky molasses and is quite similar to the Wolfgang Puck Vienna Coffee House & Sumatra Kopi Raya K-Cups we recently reviewed.

Billed as an extra bold, flavor had faint hints of dark chocolate and smoky notes, but to be honest, this tasted quite similar to the Vienna Coffee House K-Cups and we were having quite the difficulty in determining any differences between the two. We suppose there was more of an earthy flavor overall yet they still seemed pretty similar.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Wolfgang Puck Sorrento Fair Trade K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

May 7, 2010

Review: Keurig MINI Plus Personal Single Serve Coffee Brewer


Review Single Serve Coffee

b31-feature-default.jpg

The Keurig Mini Plus Personal single serve coffee brewer has all the features of a larger Keurig brewer packed into a mini form. In 2008 we saw the launch of the Keurig Mini B30 (read our full review here), and we were impressed, but even with a mini brewer there were some features missing.

SDC11316.jpg

One feature missing was the ability to know exactly how much water you were using. There was one other complaint too - the brew temp seemed a bit cooler than we would like with at the brew head temp lower than the 190F range. Well, that's all been fixed with the Keurig Mini Plus Personal brewer, and the brewer look and feel is much improved as well.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Keurig MINI Plus Personal Single Serve Coffee Brewer"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (8) | social bookmarking

April 28, 2010

Review: Keurig B155 Single Cup Small Office Coffee Brewer


Review Single Serve Coffee
b155-brewer.jpg

It's no surprise we've had a B155 Small to Medium office brewer for over a month here at Single Serve Coffee (and it just got replaced by a Keurig Mini Plus which we'll review this week too). We have to say a 90oz reservoir, and the touchscreen LCD display are things every single serve coffee drinker would love, and we really love this brewer not just for a home office but also for any home.

IMG_8361.jpg
Take that K-cup! How about some 198F water?

The brewer footprint is also not as big as you would imagine, and yes unlike any home brewer you can crank the temperature up to 198 degrees F instead of a home brewer's limit of 192F. Other than that - it's a very well designed good looking brewer. Because of the LCD touch screen - you will also see various pictures flash by like coffee plantations etc. as it brews.

IMG_8350.jpg

Not as big s you'd think.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Keurig B155 Single Cup Small Office Coffee Brewer"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (9) | social bookmarking

November 11, 2009

Review: Timothy's Winter Carnival K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP3312.jpg

We recently dug through our K-Cup stash and decided to revisit some Pumpkin Spice K-Cups we had left-over from a previous season, so we figured why not review another seasonal K-Cup which has been hiding in our ever-growing repertoire? This time around, it's Timothy's Winter Carnival K-Cups which grabbed our attention. We purchased these K-Cups for our own review purposes last season during a trip to Tweed & Hickory, and since Timothy's has yet to officially announce this flavor's re-launch this year, we decided to review what we had on-hand.

Upon brewing, you're greeted with a refreshing aroma of maple syrup and butter toffee which lingers in the room. Tasting notes yielded hints of caramel as well and had us wishing we hadn't ravaged our Spring supply of maple candies earlier this year. We can only imagine this coffee + a slice of maple butter pie would be nothing short of pure bliss. Please pardon us as our minds wander for a bit... mmm, maple butter pie (insert Homer Simpson drooling sound here). Timothy's also notes some "custard notes" in the flavoring, but we didn't really notice any during our tests.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Timothy's Winter Carnival K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 24, 2009

Review: Fair Trade The Perfect Peach K-Cups for Keurig

IMG_8315.jpg

There's something truly amazing about a coffee that has a peachy flavor, and a warm coffee finish. Sure we were skeptical at first when we thought about drinking the Fair Trade The Perfect Peach K-Cups coffee from Green Mountain, but after our second and third cup the skepticism turned into delight. This is a very interesting, and complex flavored coffee, and refreshing in both hot and iced coffee formats.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Fair Trade The Perfect Peach K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

May 8, 2009

Review: Keurig Water Filter Kit - Filter Water for Keurig Single-Cup K-Cup Brewers

Review Single Serve Coffee 09-accessories-keurig-water-filter-lg.jpg

Following up on our earlier article - Better Water = Better Single Serve Coffee, we wanted to let Keurig owners in on how they can make their water better. Did you know you can add a charcoal water filter to just about any Keurig single serve coffee maker K-Cup brewing system? We didn't until last month, when we saw you could order a filter pack and filter holder for any Keurig home model made after August 2007.

IMG_8172.jpg
We installed the water filter in our Keurig Platinum B70 in less than 2 minutes.

So how does it work? Well - for us it works great. We have town water that always has a tinge of treated taste to it, and after using the charcoal filter the coffee taste is much better. Now you combine this filter with filtered water - and bam - it's a double treat. The coffee is even crisper with more flavor. Whatever your situation is, it's probably a good idea to run a filter in your Keurig to reduce build up and the need to de-scale.

The kit comes with 1 water filter adapter and 2 filter cartridges, and is compatible with Keurig Single-Cup Brewers purchased after August 2007. Each filter lasts approx. 2 months, so you're going to need to eventually get Keurig Water Filter Cartridge Refills. Note that filter lifespan will vary depending on the hardness of your water, and we found ours lasted about 3 months instead of the two.

At Keurig Water Filter Starter Kit and Keurig Water Filter Cartridge Refills

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 26, 2008

Review: Keurig Mini B30 K-Cup Single Serve Coffee Maker

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewskeurigminib30brewers.jpg

The Keurig Mini B30 will come in white, black, and red.

Keurig recently introduced the Keurig B130 commercial hotel and office coffee brewer, and we were disappointed it would not be available for consumers to purchase. We are disappointed no longer, as Keurig has revealed the Keurig Mini B30 designed for home and commercial use. The Keurig Mini B30 is very much like the Keurig B130, but it comes in red, black, and white colored casings, and also is My K Cup compatible.

IMG_6227.jpg
We received a red Keurig Mini B30 - can you say hot!

Besides having the smallest footprint of all the Keurig brewers, the Keurig Mini B30 single serve coffee maker is also very quiet. And yes - it's compatible with all K Cup coffees, teas, and other hot beverages including hot cocoa. So are there any issues? Is this brewer priced at $79 for everyone, or should one purchase a larger Keurig brewer?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Keurig Mini B30 K-Cup Single Serve Coffee Maker"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (17) | social bookmarking

February 19, 2008

Review: Keurig B130 Single Serve Coffee Maker for Hotels and Small Businesses

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

b130brewer.jpg

The Keurig B130 is the most interesting Keurig single serve coffee maker we've reviewed to date. Right up front we want to make sure you know - the Keurig B130 is only available to hotels or similar businesses that want to offer the use of a single cup K Cup brewer to guests, and that's what makes it the most interesting. Getting rid of those terrible small coffee pots in hotels across the country, and having a perfect cup of single serve coffee simple thrills us.

The design is also really interesting. This Keurig brewer is the smallest Keurig available, and the footprint alone makes it perfect for your camp, camping, travel trailer, or at the office on your desk. That's if Keurig ever releases this brewer to the general public and not just hotels.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Keurig B130 Single Serve Coffee Maker for Hotels and Small Businesses"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

May 18, 2007

Keurig K Cup Single Serve Coffee Maker Reviews, News, and Info

B60-Kcupl-Web

The Keurig has been a staple of the single serve coffee world for over 5+ years. The staff here at Single Serve Coffee have featured many articles and reviews on the Keurig line of single serve coffee makers, and the k cups which deliver amazing single serve coffee each day. We've done a Review of the Keurig B50, B60, B70, and even the Keurig B100. We've also featured Keurig K Cup Reviews and News. We've even done an entire set of reviews for the Keurig Reuseable K Cup Filter where you can use your own coffee for the Keurig single serve coffee maker.

Here's a run down of the best Keurig articles, reviews, news, and links we've featured:

Must Read Keurig K Cup Single Serve Coffee Maker Reviews:

ArrowContinue reading: "Keurig K Cup Single Serve Coffee Maker Reviews, News, and Info"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

October 6, 2006

Review: Keurig Platinum B70 K Cup Single-Cup Brewer

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews T22126 Large

We've been testing the Keurig Platinum B70 K Cup Single-Cup Brewer along side it's older cousin the Keurig B60 brewer for over 2 weeks and find the two cousins to be refreshingly different. What's different from the Keurig Platinum B70 K Cup Single-Cup Brewer compared with the B40, B50, and comparable B60? Basically, a smaller footprint, larger reservoir and reduced noise during brewing. It also features 4 programmable cup sizes versus 3 on the Keurig B60, the largest topping out at a whopping 11.25 oz, which is enough to fill just about any travel mug with lots of coffee.

So readers had a bunch of questions we needed to answer:

  • Is it really more quiet than the older models?
  • How much of a difference does the larger reservoir make?
  • Were there other changes you like or didn't like?
  • How is the coffee compared to the B60 or B50?
  • Did you like the larger brew size option of 11.25 oz?

We answer all your questions and if you'd like to see how we rated the other Keurig brewers - for a full run down of our impressions of the B40 and B60, you can read a full review here. For a full review of the Keurig B50, you can read our full review here.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Keurig Platinum B70 K Cup Single-Cup Brewer"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (434) | social bookmarking

January 5, 2006

Review: My K-Cup Keurig Reusable Filter

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews MykcupWant to use your own coffee in your Keurig home brewer? Look no further than the My K-Cup Keurig Reusable Filter filter. The reusable K-Cup® filter assembly allows you to use your own gourmet ground coffee in your Keurig® brewer. The My K-Cup Keurig Reusable Filter will work in your Keurig Elite B40 Brewer, Keurig B50, Keurig Special Edition Ultra Elite B60, Keurig B70 Brewer, and the Breville BKC600XL Gourmet Single Cup Brewer.

Images-1-5The reusable K-Cup filter is also now available to the general public via Green Mountain Coffee's web site. You can purchase both the reusable K-Cup assembly and extra filters. We received just an assembly and one filter for testing but can tell if you really wanted to enjoy this for a couple of cups of coffee in the morning having an extra filters will make repeat cups of coffee much easier.

Img 2011We embarked on our first round of testing using Pete's House Blend coffee. We frequent Pete's Coffee Shop in Harvard Square here in Cambridge, MA all the time and know that special flavor you get from any Pete's Coffee. How would the My K-Cup Keurig Reusable Filter do when brewing up a cup of coffee? How hard would it be to fill? What would the mess be like? How hard would the clean up be?

Update: You can now purchase the My K-Cup Keurig Reusable Filter at Green Mountain Coffee Roaster's web site.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: My K-Cup Keurig Reusable Filter"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (97) | social bookmarking

 1  |  2 

next >>

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Heather: I've used my frother for a few years now with read more
Joe Bacon: Jay, I bought the VertuoLine and Aeroccino yesterday based on read more
Todd E.: It's nice to see a green option in K-Cups. read more
Thomas Davie: Have been drinking this interchangeably with Gastown Grind for about read more
marlene cignetti: bought this keurig pot at tj max; and then we read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy