August 27, 2012

Review: Vitamin Burst Acai Berry K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee

acaiberryIMGP4857.JPG

We have seen a virtual explosion of new products coming out of Keurig’s HQ lately and it looks like they have no intention of slowing down anytime soon (which is a good thing for our taste buds, but a painful thing for our wallets). Today we take a look at the first-ever single serve fruit drink for Keurig machines with the new Vitamin Burst Acai Berry K-Cups.

Much like the Green Mountain Naturals brand, Vitamin Burst is a new brand that Keurig created in-house and marks the first time a vitamin-enriched fruit drink has been made available for a mainstream single serve coffee machine (ok, there are probably competitors out there, but they’re not necessarily mainstream or commonly known yet). We like the concept & think it’s a category that’s long overdue for Keurig. Let’s find out how well this flavor stacks up.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Vitamin Burst Acai Berry K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

August 23, 2012

Review: Tassimo Tea Bar Peach Iced Tea T-Discs

Review Single Serve Coffee

teabarpeachIMGP4801.JPG

We decided it was time to review something which has long been missing for the Tassimo machine... iced teas. Today we check out the new Tassimo Tea Bar Peach Iced Tea T-Discs. Much like the King of Joe series, Tassimo Tea Bar appears to be a new in-house brand that Kraft created for the Tassimo. Since this is the first time the Tassimo has seen iced teas, we were interested to see how things would play out.

Brewing these T-Discs resulted in sweet, rich peach aromas quickly filling the room and there was no mistaking that you were brewing a peach flavored drink, plus you could also smell some of the black tea aromas in the background as well. Spot on so far. Flavor is where things went a bit sideways. The first thing you notice is the artificial sweetener taste which is almost to the point of being chemical-tasting. Then, once that dissipates, you finally get the peach flavoring and then the black tea notes buried underneath. We were a bit taken aback by the chemical taste which we were NOT expecting, so we checked out the packaging and found the culprit... sucralose, which is more commonly known as Splenda. Things improved a bit once the ice melted and diluted the drink, but we could still taste remnants of the sucralose anyway.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Tassimo Tea Bar Peach Iced Tea T-Discs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

August 16, 2012

Review: Club Coffee Swiss Water Decaf Single Cup Capsules

Review Single Serve Coffee

swisswaterdecafsinglecupcapsulesswiss_water_decaf.jpg

We continue our review series of Club Coffee Single Cup Capsules today with their Club Coffee Swiss Water Decaf Single Cup Capsules.

Brewing these Single Cup Capsules resulted in very mild smoky notes with hints of chocolate underneath. We’re still holding out hope that Club Coffee’s darker roasts will have more pronounced aromas, but man… so far, we’re rather disappointed with what we’ve seen in the lineup’s lighter roasts. It’s almost as if you need to be standing directly over your Keurig during brewing in order to get any aromas. This shouldn’t need to be the case.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Club Coffee Swiss Water Decaf Single Cup Capsules"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 7, 2012

Review: Club Coffee 100% Colombian Single Cup Capsules

Review Single Serve Coffee reviewclubcoffee100colombians100_colombian.jpg

We continue our review series of Club Coffee Single Cup Capsules today with their Club Coffee 100% Colombian Single Cup Capsules.

Brewing these Single Cup Capsules resulted in faint notes of hickory blended with even fainter notes of mild spices underneath with a bit of earthiness in the background. Once again, the past few Club Coffee offerings we've tried have had rather weak aromas, so we hope such won't be the case with their darker roasts once we give those a try.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Club Coffee 100% Colombian Single Cup Capsules"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 2, 2012

Review: Club Coffee Breakfast Supreme Single Cup Capsules

Review Single Serve Coffee breakfast_supreme.jpg

After seeing the simplicity & success other companies have had with pod/K-Cup hybrids (i.e. Rogers Family Coffee Company's San Fransisco Bay One Cups), other coffee roasters are taking note and starting to follow suit. Such is the case with a new Canadian product which recently started appearing online. Today we review a new coffee brand with the Club Coffee Breakfast Supreme Single Cup Capsules.

Club Coffee is based out of Toronto in Ontario Canada. They've been in the coffee roasting business for over 100 years and got their start in 1906. They were acquired by Standard Brands' Food Service division which added a few more coffee brands to their lineup before merging with Nabisco in 1985. They remained part of RJR-Nabisco until being sold to Nestle in 1987 at which point they became part of Nestle FoodServices and remained in that position until being sold to Morrison Lamothe Inc. in 2007.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Club Coffee Breakfast Supreme Single Cup Capsules"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

July 25, 2012

Review: Café Escapes Café Caramel Vue Packs for Keurig Vue Brewing Systems

Review Single Serve CoffeereviewcafeescapescafecaramelvuepacksIMGP4702.JPG

Up next in our line of Vue Pack reviews are the Café Escapes Café Caramel Vue Packs. These are billed in the specialty drink category and are the first powdered ingredient Vue Pack we've tried so far. On top of that, we're total suckers for anything caramel-flavored, so we grabbed a box of these as soon as we could. We were curious to see how the blending of 3 separate powdered ingredients would mesh together... powdered milk creamer, caramel flavoring and instant coffee (yes, you read that correctly... INSTANT coffee). For those of you who haven't run out of the room screaming in terror yet, we'll get started now.

Brewing these Vue Packs resulted in rich scents of caramel along with faint butterscotch notes hiding underneath. As for the coffee, we only got faint notes of it here. We were glad the predominant scent here was caramel instead of coffee since we feel this is a specialty drink with hints of coffee, not a coffee with hints of caramel.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Café Escapes Café Caramel Vue Packs for Keurig Vue Brewing Systems"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

July 16, 2012

Review: Van Houtte French Vanilla Vue Packs for Keurig Vue Brewing Systems

Review Single Serve Coffee vanhoutte_vanilla_vue_IMGP4696.JPG

Our voyage through the wonderful world of Vue Packs brings us today to yet another flavored variety, Van Houtte French Vanilla Vue Packs. Van Houtte have been around in Canada for about as long as long as Marmite’s been around New Zealand and we’re sure if Kiwis had a chance to sample some (Van Houtte Coffee), they’d agree it tastes considerably better. We were again curious to see what kind of results we’d get with the strong button, so we forged ahead.

Brewing these Vue Packs resulted in warm aromas of vanilla blended with caramel throughout. Billed as a light roast, flavor revealed the same notes of vanilla & caramel with the caramel flavors almost outpacing the vanilla ones. Those were definitely the 2 predominant flavors here as we simply could not detect anything else.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte French Vanilla Vue Packs for Keurig Vue Brewing Systems"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 6, 2012

Review: Gloria Jean’s Hazelnut Vue Packs for Keurig Vue Brewing Systems

Review Single Serve Coffee ssc_brewer_hazelnutvueIMGP4688.JPG

We continue our Vue Pack reviews today with our first flavored variety, Gloria Jean’s Hazelnut Vue Packs. We already know what the strong button can do for regular coffees, so we were rather anxious to see what results a flavored coffee would yield.

Brewing these Vue Packs resulted in strong hazelnut aromas filling the room along with notes of cocoa and vanilla. Billed as a medium roast, flavor revealed more abundant notes of hazelnut & vanilla along with tinges of dark chocolate in the background. Overall, a nice mix of flavors that complimented one another.

Body was light to medium brown in color with sunburst shades of orange & yellow when held in front of a light source. Acidity was balanced but a tad on the light side of things. It didn’t impede the coffee too much but we wished it had been a bit stronger. Mouth feel was smooth but almost on the watery side while finish yielded notes of vanilla quickly followed-up with a hazelnut aftertaste.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Gloria Jean’s Hazelnut Vue Packs for Keurig Vue Brewing Systems"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (6) | social bookmarking

June 25, 2012

Review: Brewing Café Style Drinks with the Keurig Vue V700

Review Single Serve Coffee12-V700-Vue-Brewer-alt5.jpg

We continue our Keurig Vue V700 Brewing System review series today by taking a look at some of the new options which are now available when brewing café style drinks on this brewer. Unlike the older K-Cup brewers, you can now brew more elaborate milk-based drinks such as cappuccinos & lattes, so let's have a look at what's involved in this process.

NOTE: We are aware that the previously released Café Escapes K-Cups have a form of powdered milk in them, but we're talking about drinks that had the milk powder separate from the coffee, not all combined into one. That hasn't been done in K-Cup format yet.
ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Brewing Café Style Drinks with the Keurig Vue V700"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

June 19, 2012

Review: Caribou Coffee Daybreak Morning Blend Vue Packs

Review Single Serve Coffeecaribou_vue_packIMGP4680.JPG

We decided to kick-off our Vue Pack reviews with Caribou Coffee's Daybreak Morning Blend Vue Packs as they just recently became an addition to the Vue Pack line-up a few weeks ago. Caribou Coffee are based out of Minneapolis and are one of our favorite Keurig partners. We've enjoyed their various blends/flavors for years on K-Cup brewers, so let's have a look at what they can achieve on the Vue brewer, shall we?

So, before we get started, we'd like to outline a few key points for our future Keurig Vue Pack reviews just so you're aware of how we're using the Vue V700 brewer...

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Caribou Coffee Daybreak Morning Blend Vue Packs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Thomas Davie: I'll always have 2 cups n the morning at home read more
Heather: I've used my frother for a few years now with read more
Joe Bacon: Jay, I bought the VertuoLine and Aeroccino yesterday based on read more
Todd E.: It's nice to see a green option in K-Cups. read more
Thomas Davie: Have been drinking this interchangeably with Gastown Grind for about read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy