Tassimo Tea Bar Peach Iced Tea T-Discs

ReviewtassimoteabarpeachicedteatdiscsIMGP4801

We posted this review back in August, and we thought we'd bring it back in time for the holidays to surprise you. :-) Well - it surprised us that we had posted it so we will now bring you the Raspberry review today instead. Our original review of the Tassimo Tea Bar Peached Iced Tea T-Discs is here.

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 6, 2012

Review: Club Coffee Imperial Blend Single Cup Capsules

Review Single Serve Coffee

Imperial blend

We continue our review series of Club Coffee Single Cup Capsules today with their Club Coffee Imperial Blend Single Cup Capsules.

Brewing these Single Cup Capsules resulted in faint notes of chocolate & molasses hiding underneath. We were starting to wonder if most of the Club Coffee lineup was using the same aroma or if our olfactory senses decided to go on vacation during the past few Club Coffee reviews.

Imperial blendIMGP4739

Body was medium reddish-brown in color with more shades of red when held in front of a light source. Acidity was slightly sour at first but disappeared shortly afterwards in to milder more citrusy notes throughout the cup. Flavor started off with faint notes of chocolate with more citrusy notes in the background. Very faint hints of smoke hiding underneath. Mouth feel seemed smooth with a slight oily feel in the finish but was borderline on the watery side. Aftertaste was rather dry with faint smoky notes.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Club Coffee Imperial Blend Single Cup Capsules"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

December 4, 2012

Review: Eco-Fill Reusable Coffee Filter for Single Serve K-Cup Coffee Brewers

Review Single Serve Coffee51ClE3vXyXL SL500 AA300

We received the Eco-Fill Reusable Coffee Filter for Single Serve K-Cup Coffee Brewers just over a week ago, and the resulting coffee and ease of use is excellent. The Eco-Fill allows you to use your favorite coffee with your Keurig, Cuisinart, Breville, Mr Coffee and other single serve Brewers that use K-Cups, by allowing you to fill the Eco-Fill filter with any coffee you choose. 

It's as easy as 2 simple steps:

  1. Fill with your favorite gourmet coffee
  2. Close the lid and brew. 
ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Eco-Fill Reusable Coffee Filter for Single Serve K-Cup Coffee Brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 27, 2012

Review: Verismo Single Serve Coffee and Espresso System by Starbucks

Review Single Serve CoffeeVerismo Matte Black 580 

Starbucks recently sent over the Verismo Single Serve Coffee and Espresso System which besides VIA instant coffee is their first single serve coffee and espresso system. Currently there are two models of the Verismo - the 580 and the V-585 larger model. The Verismo will make a variety of cafe beverages by using a combination of espresso Verismo pods and milk pods. You can also brew fresh coffee by using a Verismo coffee pod that has a freshness foil on the bottom of it you need to remove to reduce the pressure in the pod while brewing a single serve cup of coffee.

Versimo system machine

We received the Verismo 580 machine and it's very sleek and not very heavy. We like the fit and finish of the machine, and the overall design on the machine for us is one of it's strengths. If you're going to spend $199 for the 580 and $399 V-585 Verismo the machine had better be appealing. The water reservoir was easy to fill, and the lever to insert the Verismo pods was also easy to use repeatedly. We like the catch basin and multi-tier design of the cup stand allowing you to use larger or smaller cups, and you can even rise the cup stand high enough to use a shot glass for espresso shots.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Verismo Single Serve Coffee and Espresso System by Starbucks"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 26, 2012

Review: Starbucks Christmas Blend Single Serve Coffee K-Cups

StarbucksxmaskcupsIMGP5082

 

When we first reviewed their Anniversary Blend K-Cups a few months ago, we were cautiously optimistic that those would be the first in a line-up of seasonal K-Cups and it turns out that we were correct. We really liked that previous K-Cup, so we couldn't wait to see what Starbucks Christmas Blend K-Cups (the 2nd flavor in the series) would be like. Once again, Starbucks have gone all-out by creating nicely decorated packaging with festive artwork as well as a bright red reflective foil K-Cup lid (Ooh, shiny!) which proved quite the difficult item to photograph.

We also liked the addition of the year on the foil lid. They did this with their Anniversary Blend as well and we think it adds a certain collector's appeal much like you'd get when collecting wine vintages. We can already foresee asking guests if they'd like a 2012 vintage Christmas Blend K-Cup a few years from now (providing we have any left by then).

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Starbucks Christmas Blend Single Serve Coffee K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 19, 2012

Review: Nespresso Variations 2012 (Select Flavors)

Review Single Serve CoffeeVariations 2012 Sleeves

As Nespresso Club members are aware, each year around mid-November marks the release of 3 flavored espresso varieties known as the Nespresso Variations collection. These flavors are available for a limited time only and once Nespresso stops selling them, that's it... they're gone until further notice, sometimes never to be seen again.

This year, Nespresso decided that instead of creating 3 distinctly different flavors, they’d take a new approach and release 3 flavors which are all within the same flavor family. As a result, this year sees the release of 3 flavors which are based off of nuts… Hazelnut, Macadamia Nut and Coconut. The coffee base for each flavor is, as usual, their Livanto Grand Cru espresso which ranks in at a strength of 6 on their intensity scale.

Variations 2012 Intensity

It’s no secret that we are BIG fans of coconut coffee here at Single Serve Coffee and GMCR’s Seasonal Island Coconut K-Cups are our all-time #1 FAVORITE K-Cup on the market, so most staff were running around, hugging each other, yelling OMG! OMG! OMG! for about 5 solid minutes the moment we noticed the coconut flavor in the press release.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nespresso Variations 2012 (Select Flavors)"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 14, 2012

Review: Tim Hortons Latte T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeTimhortaonlatteeIMGP5033

A few years ago when Tim's first started selling lattes and cappuccinos in their coffee shops, the big thing they kept pushing in its ad campaigns were that the drinks were made with premium espresso. Well, after our rather dismal experience with the President's Choice Cappuccino T-Discs, we're hoping Tim's wouldn't allow Kraft to produce their namesake products with anything other than premium ingredients.

Brewing these T-Discs resulted in buttery aromas from the milk creamer blending with strong smoky & oily notes from the espresso while also revealing some faint cereal notes hiding underneath. At first we thought that Kraft had decided to use a European milk creamer T-Disc for this drink until we realized it had a buttermilk aroma. Closer inspection revealed that these are just the same latte creamer T-Discs with a new foil label. Acidity was surprisingly balanced given the propensity for espresso to be on the heartier side of the acidity scale. It helped the milk creamer flavors flow throughout the drink without masking anything up yet it was strong enough to keep things from going dull.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Tim Hortons Latte T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

October 31, 2012

Review: Green Mountain Caramel Vanilla Cream Vue Packs

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4892

We've been seeing most of our favorite K-Cups make the transition over to the newer Vue Pack format since Keurig started rolling-out the Vue V700 several months ago and there's been a slow but steady increase of new Vue Packs appearing on Keurig.com during that time. Today we look at one of the most recent additions by checking out the Green Mountain Caramel Vanilla Cream Vue Packs. This was one of our favorite flavors in K-Cup format, so we were interested to see how things would turn out using the Vue Packs.

Brewing these Vue Packs at regular strength resulted in massive aromas of caramel blended together with sweet brown sugar tinges and hints of vanilla in the background with very slight touches of hazelnut hiding underneath. All the scents quickly filled the room and had us seriously impressed. We've witnessed strong aromas before, but wow... this was crazy. Things smelled so deliciously good that we could have just stood there all morning sniffing in the aroma without even taking a sip while being perfectly content (although that wouldn't have made for much of a review). An interesting side-note, aromas were so strong that they even lingered in the EMPTY cup afterwards... which we had positioned on the OTHER SIDE of our desk a good 2 feet away from us! What the heck is in this stuff? Concentrated "this is frickin total awesomesauce" extract? The heck with Glade plug-ins, we're just gonna leave the empty cup on our desk all week.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Green Mountain Caramel Vanilla Cream Vue Packs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 22, 2012

Review: Café Escapes Dark Chocolate Hot Cocoa Vue Packs

Review Single Serve CoffeeReviewcafescapesdarkchocolatehotcocoavuepacksIMGP4940

Today we decided to take a look at an addition to the Vue Pack lineup from earlier this year... Café Escapes Dark Chocolate Hot Cocoa Vue Packs. We've already tried their K-Cup version, so we were interested to see how this version would stack-up in comparison.

Brewing these Vue Packs resulted in medium aromas of dark chocolate but it wasn't as strong as what we were expecting. At first we thought that maybe some of the powder got stuck inside the Vue Pack but we made sure to shake it and tilt it backwards (to free up any remaining powder from the outlet spout) prior to brewing and sure enough... when we checked the Vue Pack afterwards, it was clean as could be... no left-over powder whatsoever. Odd... you'd think for a dark chocolate, it would have had a richer scent.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Café Escapes Dark Chocolate Hot Cocoa Vue Packs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 16, 2012

Review: Corner Coffeehouse Sweet Vanilla Latte T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve Coffee

tassimo_sweet_vanilla_latte_IMGP4876.JPG

As we've been seeing with the recent Tea Bar & King of Joe T-Discs, Kraft decided it would be best to develop new in-house brands vs. trying to continue importing foreign T-Discs from other countries. While we wish they would have concentrated more on the latter, we're still glad that they're cranking out new products instead of sitting around doing nothing. Today we take a look at another new in-house brand with their Corner Coffeehouse Sweet Vanilla Latte T-Discs.

Brewing these T-Discs resulted in mild sweet vanilla notes during brewing along with some of the characteristic buttermilk notes from the creamer. We were hoping for a stronger aroma, but since it was being concentrated into a 2oz espresso shot, it's no wonder it didn't have time to fill the room. Flavor fared a bit better as we detected light tinges of vanilla quickly followed by some of the espresso notes, then a bit more vanilla flavors and a sweet buttermilk finish with the creamer at the bottom. As we neared the end of the cup, the sweet buttermilk flavor of the creamer became more intense as the vanilla flavors started disappearing.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Corner Coffeehouse Sweet Vanilla Latte T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
AO: I use their whole bean Guatemala in my Aeropress. 20 read more
AO: The list of reasons I gave up on Keurig years read more
MTNFUN: Given the DRM I will not upgrade..look at what happened read more
C.Scheets: I recieved the Keurig 2.0 for free from a site, read more
Andy D: EPIC FAIL Keurig! I bought the older version online at read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy