February 4, 2013

Review: Swiss Miss Milk Chocolate Hot Cocoa K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee12 k cup swiss miss hot cocoa

For about as long as we can recall, Swiss Miss hot cocoas have been a staple in many American homes over the years and up until now, the most common format it came in was powder packets. Known for its smooth Swiss milk chocolate taste (think Milka), this has been one of our favorites for ages. A few months ago, Green Mountain decided they’d take a crack at things and introduced what we’re reviewing today: Swiss Miss Milk Chocolate Hot Cocoa K-Cups.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in the distinct aroma of Swiss milk chocolate with sweet cocoa notes filling the room. Flavor was a bit more hit or miss though. When we tried our first K-Cup, about half the powder remained stuck in the bottom of the K-Cup after brewing (despite having shaken the K-Cup beforehand) which resulted in a horrible-tasting “hint of cocoa” flavored water. We had to dump the cup since it tasted so watery.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Swiss Miss Milk Chocolate Hot Cocoa K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

January 29, 2013

Review: Carte Noire Caramel Latte Macchiato T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeCn latte macchiato reg pack 4

Today we decided to review a recent (well, recent on this side of the pond) new flavor from one of our favorite Tassimo brands, namely the Carte Noire Caramel Latte Macchiato T-Discs. Carte Noire has produced some superb products in the past and their espresso was always one of our favorites for quite a while.

Brewing these T-Discs unfortunately did not result in any caramel notes whatsoever which left us a bit perplexed since we were certain the word caramel was surely on the label. When the espresso T-Disc was popped in, we noted the characteristic smoky notes of the espresso along with some earthy notes in the background, but that was it. Odd... where the heck did the caramel go?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Carte Noire Caramel Latte Macchiato T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

January 22, 2013

Review: Starbucks Guatemala Casi Cielo K-Cups

ReviewstarbucksguatemalacasicielokcupsIMGP5135

When Starbucks started releasing some of their seasonal coffees in K-Cup format last year, it got our hopes up that they’d eventually release ALL of their seasonal coffees as K-Cups. First came the excellent Anniversary Blend K-Cups quickly followed a few months later by the equally magnificent Christmas Blend K-Cups and our recent discovery during an in-shop visit proves that Starbucks Seasonals are going to be a common occurrence in the land of Keurig. This past week (Jan 14-18, 2013) saw the release of what we’re reviewing today: Starbucks Guatemala Casi Cielo K-Cups.

This is great news for Starbucks K-Cups fans and we couldn’t be happier. With a total of 3 seasonals within the past 4 or 5 months, it truly appears that Starbucks have decided to make their entire seasonal series in K-Cup format which means we’re in for some cups of awesome in the coming months ahead. Spanish for almost heaven, Casi Cielo has remained a favorite amongst fans and is a premium coffee harvested from the Antigua region of Guatemala. Billed by Starbucks as a medium roast & having hints of lemon with satisfying dark cocoa notes, we couldn’t wait to give this one a try. Lemon & dark cocoa? Not exactly 2 flavors you’d expect would pair well together, but Starbucks claims it’ll work for virtually any dish from the main meal to desserts.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Starbucks Guatemala Casi Cielo K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 15, 2013

Review: Gevalia Mocha T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeMocha g 1

Tassimo users have been making their own for ages via using Suchards & various espresso T-Discs, but now there’s finally a dedicated mocha flavor in the Tassimo line-up. Today we review the Gevalia Mocha T-Discs. Have they found caffeinated chocolaty bliss or created something similar to soaking a Hershey bar in a glass of instant coffee? Let’s find out.

Brewing these T-Discs resulted in mild cocoa aromas when brewing the syrup followed by smoky aromas with hints of molasses when brewing the espresso. The combined aroma of both was mostly light cocoa with very faint oily notes of the espresso. A neat aroma morphing effect occurred as we got to the bottom of the cup as we started with light cocoa, then stronger espresso notes, then stronger cocoa notes again.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Gevalia Mocha T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

January 9, 2013

Review: Green Mountain Naturals Hot Apple Cider Vue Packs

Review Single Serve CoffeeReviewgreenmountainnaturalshotapplecidervuepacksIMGP4902

Let’s step back a few years ago, when there were many K-Cup flavors that fans had been begging for over and over again. As the years passed and as contracts/agreements between manufacturers & brand owners were made, we slowly started seeing fan demand being answered. Several years ago, nobody would have ever dreamed that Dunkin Donuts coffee would be available in K-Cup format, but now not only do we have that, we have limited edition Dunkins flavors that are exclusivelybeing released in K-Cup format (i.e. Dunkins Mocha). Well, another item that was sorely missed & much demanded in K-Cup format was apple cider.

We’ve seen many companies release a multitude of flavors in instant powder mix format, but we had never seen an apple cider K-Cup before. Again, Green Mountain listened and decided “You know what? If we’re going to make an apple cider K-Cup, screw this powdered artificial stuff… let’s make REAL cider with REAL natural ingredients!” and so, thus was born the new Green Mountain Naturals brand and the world’s first single serve apple cider K-Cup. It became a massive hit, selling-out so quickly & regularly that Green Mountain were forced to change it from a seasonal product to a permanent product and it’s remained a fan favorite ever since.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Green Mountain Naturals Hot Apple Cider Vue Packs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

January 7, 2013

Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Morning Cafe K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeReviewfolgersgourmetselectionsmorningcafekcupsIMGP4841

Every once in a while, we stumble across something unexpected and discover rarities in the world of Single Serve Coffee like the Folgers Gourmet Selections Morning Cafe K-Cups we found recently at our local Target.

Brewing the Folgers Gourmet Selections Morning Cafe K-Cups  resulted in very mild woodsy notes with faint hints of chocolate throughout. Compared to their Lively Colombian K-Cups, aroma was considerably weaker overall. Flavor yielded more notes of chocolate with slight notes of berries buried underneath. We were expecting some of the usual smoky or hickory notes, but we suppose we shouldn't have looked for them since there weren't any in the aroma. We can't help but feel things seemed rather flat and could have been perked up a bit by slightly stronger acidity.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Morning Cafe K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

January 3, 2013

Review: Club Coffee Inca Trail Single Cup Capsules

Review Single Serve CoffeeInca trail

We continue our review series of Club Coffee Single Cup Capsules today with their Club Coffee Inca Trail Single Cup Capsules.

Brewing these Single Cup Capsules resulted in mild smoky notes at first gave way to mild earthy notes tinged with faint cocoa hiding underneath. Things were starting to slightly deviate from the norm with previous Club Coffee flavors we've tried to date, so we started hoping flavor would yield something slightly different as well.

Despite being billed as a medium roast, body was dark reddish-brown & almost wine-like in color with small hues of yellow & orange which had a hard time piercing through when held in front of a light source. Acidity was pleasantly balanced and was smooth overall with light spikes of sour notes in the middle.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Club Coffee Inca Trail Single Cup Capsules"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 2, 2013

Review: Vitamin Burst Strawberry Pomegranate K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeReviewvitaminburststrawberrypomegranatekcupsIMGP4866

We continue our Vitamin Burst review series today with the 2nd flavor in their lineup... Vitamin Burst Strawberry Pomegranate K-Cups. We were absolutely floored with their Acai Berry flavor last time, so we can't wait to see if these K-Cups are just as mind-blowing or not.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in LOADS of strawberry aromas filling the room with hints of pomegranate slightly present in the background, but it was almost buried by the massive strawberry scent. Flavor was thankfully PACKED full of huge strawberry notes up front with a nice mild tartness of the pomegranate underneath. Again, the main notes were strawberries and we had to really search around a bit to find the mild pomegranate notes hiding in the cup. We were also detecting some other berry notes but couldn't quite put our finger on what it was until we checked the packaging and noticed dried black currant puree was listed in the ingredients. If we had to pick between these K-Cups and the Acai K-Cups, we'd say we probably enjoy the strawberry flavors a bit more than the acai, but just barely.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Vitamin Burst Strawberry Pomegranate K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 24, 2012

Review: King of Joe Dark Roast T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve Coffee

ReviewkingofjoedarkroasttdiscsIMGP4777

Our journey through Joe’s kingdom continues today with the King of Joe Dark Roast T-Discs. One thing we forgot to point out in previous reviews was the work that went into designing the logos on each T-Disc. The subtle use of a coffee bean for the letter o in Joe, the different silhouette head/face shapes for each flavor, etc. All little touches that make us like the brand even more, so hats off to the designers/artists who worked on that.

Brewing these T-Discs resulted in notes of molasses with faint tinges of hickory hiding underneath along with very faint oily notes as well. Flavor was again dominated with notes of molasses & hickory but we also detected very faint bread/grain notes similar to their espresso T-Discs. It’s interesting to see the genesis of a flavor note just starting to emerge here and the longer the beans are roasted, the more the note develops since we know for sure it’s more pronounced in the espresso T-Discs.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: King of Joe Dark Roast T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 21, 2012

Review: King of Joe Cappuccino T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeReviewkingofjoecappuccinotdiscsreviewkingofjoecappuccinotdiscsIMGP4779

We continue our review series of T-Discs today with the King of Joe Cappuccino T-Discs. Now, keep in mind that we’ve already reviewed the King of Joe Espresso T-Discs which are what’s being used here, so all the key points noted below are for the COMBINED aroma, acidity, flavor, etc. of BOTH the espresso and milk T-Discs, not just the espresso T-Discs.

Brewing these T-Discs resulted in smoky notes which were somewhat subdued by the milk creamer’s almost buttery aroma. Things were a lot more toned down compared to the espresso T-Disc alone as we weren’t getting all the original notes as before. Flavor had the same smoky notes with strong oils present, but they were again less prevalent this time around due to the addition of the milk creamer.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: King of Joe Cappuccino T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Marie Ziemski: I bought Breakfast Blend Decaf Coffee and although the coffee read more
Donna Loy: I would like one of the clips that I can read more
Becca Howard: Hi, I was looking at the Hey Joe Coffee mug, read more
AO: LOVE this thing! One of my best coffee purchases ever! read more
Rodney Phinney: Have been trying to find this coffee at Sam's Club read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy