August 7, 2012

Review: Club Coffee 100% Colombian Single Cup Capsules

Review Single Serve Coffee reviewclubcoffee100colombians100_colombian.jpg

We continue our review series of Club Coffee Single Cup Capsules today with their Club Coffee 100% Colombian Single Cup Capsules.

Brewing these Single Cup Capsules resulted in faint notes of hickory blended with even fainter notes of mild spices underneath with a bit of earthiness in the background. Once again, the past few Club Coffee offerings we've tried have had rather weak aromas, so we hope such won't be the case with their darker roasts once we give those a try.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Club Coffee 100% Colombian Single Cup Capsules"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 2, 2012

Review: Club Coffee Breakfast Supreme Single Cup Capsules

Review Single Serve Coffee breakfast_supreme.jpg

After seeing the simplicity & success other companies have had with pod/K-Cup hybrids (i.e. Rogers Family Coffee Company's San Fransisco Bay One Cups), other coffee roasters are taking note and starting to follow suit. Such is the case with a new Canadian product which recently started appearing online. Today we review a new coffee brand with the Club Coffee Breakfast Supreme Single Cup Capsules.

Club Coffee is based out of Toronto in Ontario Canada. They've been in the coffee roasting business for over 100 years and got their start in 1906. They were acquired by Standard Brands' Food Service division which added a few more coffee brands to their lineup before merging with Nabisco in 1985. They remained part of RJR-Nabisco until being sold to Nestle in 1987 at which point they became part of Nestle FoodServices and remained in that position until being sold to Morrison Lamothe Inc. in 2007.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Club Coffee Breakfast Supreme Single Cup Capsules"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

July 25, 2012

Review: Café Escapes Café Caramel Vue Packs for Keurig Vue Brewing Systems

Review Single Serve CoffeereviewcafeescapescafecaramelvuepacksIMGP4702.JPG

Up next in our line of Vue Pack reviews are the Café Escapes Café Caramel Vue Packs. These are billed in the specialty drink category and are the first powdered ingredient Vue Pack we've tried so far. On top of that, we're total suckers for anything caramel-flavored, so we grabbed a box of these as soon as we could. We were curious to see how the blending of 3 separate powdered ingredients would mesh together... powdered milk creamer, caramel flavoring and instant coffee (yes, you read that correctly... INSTANT coffee). For those of you who haven't run out of the room screaming in terror yet, we'll get started now.

Brewing these Vue Packs resulted in rich scents of caramel along with faint butterscotch notes hiding underneath. As for the coffee, we only got faint notes of it here. We were glad the predominant scent here was caramel instead of coffee since we feel this is a specialty drink with hints of coffee, not a coffee with hints of caramel.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Café Escapes Café Caramel Vue Packs for Keurig Vue Brewing Systems"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

July 16, 2012

Review: Van Houtte French Vanilla Vue Packs for Keurig Vue Brewing Systems

Review Single Serve Coffee vanhoutte_vanilla_vue_IMGP4696.JPG

Our voyage through the wonderful world of Vue Packs brings us today to yet another flavored variety, Van Houtte French Vanilla Vue Packs. Van Houtte have been around in Canada for about as long as long as Marmite’s been around New Zealand and we’re sure if Kiwis had a chance to sample some (Van Houtte Coffee), they’d agree it tastes considerably better. We were again curious to see what kind of results we’d get with the strong button, so we forged ahead.

Brewing these Vue Packs resulted in warm aromas of vanilla blended with caramel throughout. Billed as a light roast, flavor revealed the same notes of vanilla & caramel with the caramel flavors almost outpacing the vanilla ones. Those were definitely the 2 predominant flavors here as we simply could not detect anything else.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte French Vanilla Vue Packs for Keurig Vue Brewing Systems"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 6, 2012

Review: Gloria Jean’s Hazelnut Vue Packs for Keurig Vue Brewing Systems

Review Single Serve Coffee ssc_brewer_hazelnutvueIMGP4688.JPG

We continue our Vue Pack reviews today with our first flavored variety, Gloria Jean’s Hazelnut Vue Packs. We already know what the strong button can do for regular coffees, so we were rather anxious to see what results a flavored coffee would yield.

Brewing these Vue Packs resulted in strong hazelnut aromas filling the room along with notes of cocoa and vanilla. Billed as a medium roast, flavor revealed more abundant notes of hazelnut & vanilla along with tinges of dark chocolate in the background. Overall, a nice mix of flavors that complimented one another.

Body was light to medium brown in color with sunburst shades of orange & yellow when held in front of a light source. Acidity was balanced but a tad on the light side of things. It didn’t impede the coffee too much but we wished it had been a bit stronger. Mouth feel was smooth but almost on the watery side while finish yielded notes of vanilla quickly followed-up with a hazelnut aftertaste.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Gloria Jean’s Hazelnut Vue Packs for Keurig Vue Brewing Systems"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (6) | social bookmarking

June 25, 2012

Review: Brewing Café Style Drinks with the Keurig Vue V700

Review Single Serve Coffee12-V700-Vue-Brewer-alt5.jpg

We continue our Keurig Vue V700 Brewing System review series today by taking a look at some of the new options which are now available when brewing café style drinks on this brewer. Unlike the older K-Cup brewers, you can now brew more elaborate milk-based drinks such as cappuccinos & lattes, so let's have a look at what's involved in this process.

NOTE: We are aware that the previously released Café Escapes K-Cups have a form of powdered milk in them, but we're talking about drinks that had the milk powder separate from the coffee, not all combined into one. That hasn't been done in K-Cup format yet.
ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Brewing Café Style Drinks with the Keurig Vue V700"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

June 19, 2012

Review: Caribou Coffee Daybreak Morning Blend Vue Packs

Review Single Serve Coffeecaribou_vue_packIMGP4680.JPG

We decided to kick-off our Vue Pack reviews with Caribou Coffee's Daybreak Morning Blend Vue Packs as they just recently became an addition to the Vue Pack line-up a few weeks ago. Caribou Coffee are based out of Minneapolis and are one of our favorite Keurig partners. We've enjoyed their various blends/flavors for years on K-Cup brewers, so let's have a look at what they can achieve on the Vue brewer, shall we?

So, before we get started, we'd like to outline a few key points for our future Keurig Vue Pack reviews just so you're aware of how we're using the Vue V700 brewer...

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Caribou Coffee Daybreak Morning Blend Vue Packs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 5, 2012

Review: San Francisco Bay Organic Rainforest Blend OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs

Review Single Serve Coffee

sanfranciscobayorganic_rainforest.JPG

We continue our series of San Francisco Bay OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs (a.k.a. “OneCups”) today with their San Francisco Bay Organic Rainforest Blend OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs.

Brewing these OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs resulted in mild notes of cocoa which seemed to be the only scent we could determine in the final cup. We had been getting used to the smoky aromas in the previous OneCup offerings and were a bit disappointed that the aroma here wasn’t more complex. Billed as a medium to dark roast, flavor revealed more cocoa/milk chocolate taste throughout and an almost woodsy character overall which yielded faint oily flavors on the finish. Very mild nutty notes were also hiding underneath.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: San Francisco Bay Organic Rainforest Blend OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

June 1, 2012

Review: Cadbury Hot Chocolate T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4479.JPG

We continue our reviews of Canadian T-Discs today with another submission from our Canadian Correspondent, SH. Today he’s reviewing the recent Cadbury Hot Chocolate T-Discs. Can they stand-up to what’s available this side of the border? Let’s find out.

Much like the Milka T-Discs available in America, Kraft have decided to introduce a Canadian version of sorts with their new Cadbury Hot Chocolate T-Discs. Each package comes with 8 chocolate syrup T-Discs and 8 concentrated milk T-Discs. Even though the packaging suggests that you brew the chocolate disc first, then the milk afterwards, we decided to start by brewing the milk disc followed by the chocolate disc. Once brewing is done, you need to stir everything together to achieve the final result.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Cadbury Hot Chocolate T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

May 29, 2012

Review: Brewing Coffees with the Keurig Vue V700 Brewing System

Review Single Serve Coffee12-V700-Vue-Brewer-lg_brewingcoffee.jpg

We've already taken a look at our likes/dislikes as well as a rundown of comparison features between the old K-Cup brewers and the newer Vue-Pack brewers. As a result, we're continuing our review series today by taking a look at some of the new options which are now available when brewing coffees on the Keurig Vue V700 brewer.

Unlike the older K-Cup brewers, you can now adjust a variety of options prior to brewing. Anything from water temperature to brew strength is now user-adjustable. Let's take a look at some of the new features and how they work, shall we?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Brewing Coffees with the Keurig Vue V700 Brewing System"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Greg Moore: The port is so the CEO who came up with read more
Thomas Davie: That's a pretty crap response on their part. What are read more
constance rogers: I just purchased the Costco Pacific Blend because in reading read more
Irv S: We've got a Starbucks 10 pack that has the Black read more
Geo: the 2.0 will brew other k cups. Take the foil read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy