June 25, 2012

Review: Brewing Café Style Drinks with the Keurig Vue V700

Review Single Serve Coffee12-V700-Vue-Brewer-alt5.jpg

We continue our Keurig Vue V700 Brewing System review series today by taking a look at some of the new options which are now available when brewing café style drinks on this brewer. Unlike the older K-Cup brewers, you can now brew more elaborate milk-based drinks such as cappuccinos & lattes, so let's have a look at what's involved in this process.

NOTE: We are aware that the previously released Café Escapes K-Cups have a form of powdered milk in them, but we're talking about drinks that had the milk powder separate from the coffee, not all combined into one. That hasn't been done in K-Cup format yet.
ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Brewing Café Style Drinks with the Keurig Vue V700"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

June 19, 2012

Review: Caribou Coffee Daybreak Morning Blend Vue Packs

Review Single Serve Coffeecaribou_vue_packIMGP4680.JPG

We decided to kick-off our Vue Pack reviews with Caribou Coffee's Daybreak Morning Blend Vue Packs as they just recently became an addition to the Vue Pack line-up a few weeks ago. Caribou Coffee are based out of Minneapolis and are one of our favorite Keurig partners. We've enjoyed their various blends/flavors for years on K-Cup brewers, so let's have a look at what they can achieve on the Vue brewer, shall we?

So, before we get started, we'd like to outline a few key points for our future Keurig Vue Pack reviews just so you're aware of how we're using the Vue V700 brewer...

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Caribou Coffee Daybreak Morning Blend Vue Packs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 5, 2012

Review: San Francisco Bay Organic Rainforest Blend OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs

Review Single Serve Coffee

sanfranciscobayorganic_rainforest.JPG

We continue our series of San Francisco Bay OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs (a.k.a. “OneCups”) today with their San Francisco Bay Organic Rainforest Blend OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs.

Brewing these OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs resulted in mild notes of cocoa which seemed to be the only scent we could determine in the final cup. We had been getting used to the smoky aromas in the previous OneCup offerings and were a bit disappointed that the aroma here wasn’t more complex. Billed as a medium to dark roast, flavor revealed more cocoa/milk chocolate taste throughout and an almost woodsy character overall which yielded faint oily flavors on the finish. Very mild nutty notes were also hiding underneath.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: San Francisco Bay Organic Rainforest Blend OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

June 1, 2012

Review: Cadbury Hot Chocolate T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4479.JPG

We continue our reviews of Canadian T-Discs today with another submission from our Canadian Correspondent, SH. Today he’s reviewing the recent Cadbury Hot Chocolate T-Discs. Can they stand-up to what’s available this side of the border? Let’s find out.

Much like the Milka T-Discs available in America, Kraft have decided to introduce a Canadian version of sorts with their new Cadbury Hot Chocolate T-Discs. Each package comes with 8 chocolate syrup T-Discs and 8 concentrated milk T-Discs. Even though the packaging suggests that you brew the chocolate disc first, then the milk afterwards, we decided to start by brewing the milk disc followed by the chocolate disc. Once brewing is done, you need to stir everything together to achieve the final result.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Cadbury Hot Chocolate T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

May 29, 2012

Review: Brewing Coffees with the Keurig Vue V700 Brewing System

Review Single Serve Coffee12-V700-Vue-Brewer-lg_brewingcoffee.jpg

We've already taken a look at our likes/dislikes as well as a rundown of comparison features between the old K-Cup brewers and the newer Vue-Pack brewers. As a result, we're continuing our review series today by taking a look at some of the new options which are now available when brewing coffees on the Keurig Vue V700 brewer.

Unlike the older K-Cup brewers, you can now adjust a variety of options prior to brewing. Anything from water temperature to brew strength is now user-adjustable. Let's take a look at some of the new features and how they work, shall we?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Brewing Coffees with the Keurig Vue V700 Brewing System"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

May 24, 2012

Review: San Francisco Bay Fog Chaser OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs

Review Single Serve Coffee

sanfran_fog_chaser_IMGP4600.JPG

We continue our series of San Francisco Bay K-Cup Pods (a.k.a. "OneCups") today with their San Francisco Bay Fog Chaser OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs

Brewing these K-Cup Pods resulted in some faint smoky aromas during brewing, but once we inspected the final cup, we honestly couldn’t smell anything discernible. It’s like the aroma completely disappeared. Billed as a dark roast on the box (yet a light roast on their website… huh?), flavor was thankfully more robust than the scent with mostly notes of dark chocolate, some smoke & very faint nutty notes hiding underneath as well as some bread notes lurking near the finish.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: San Francisco Bay Fog Chaser OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 18, 2012

Review: San Francisco Bay French Roast OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4592.JPG

We continue our series of San Francisco Bay K-Cup Pods (a.k.a. "OneCups") today with their San Francisco Bay French Roast K-Cup Pods. Much like their decaf version, brewing these K-Cup Pods resulted in rich smoky aromas with notes of milk chocolate… yes, MILK chocolate. We were a bit surprised to see a deviation from the norm of dark chocolate aromas which seemed predominant in most dark roasts, so this was a nice & pleasant alternative. Billed as a dark roast, flavor was earthy & smoky with predominant dark chocolate notes up front with faint notes of molasses in the background. We also detected a slight oily taste near the finish, but it wasn’t distracting at all. We found it was kind of an odd pairing between aroma & flavor since we got scents of milk chocolate while having flavors of dark chocolate. Regardless, we liked this subtle nuance & found it make for an interesting cup.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: San Francisco Bay French Roast OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

May 14, 2012

Review: Nespresso Naora Limited Edition Coffee Capsules

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4613.JPG

It’s been a while since we’ve done a Nespresso capsule review here at Single Serve Coffee, but with this latest Limited Edition dubbed Naora (a combination of the English word "now" with the Spanish equivalent of the same word "ahora"), we just couldn’t pass it up. This Grand Cru is truly unique in that it marks the first time Nespresso have deviated from the norm and applied techniques from an entirely different industry during the harvesting process. Instead of using usual methods, they worked in close collaboration with Colombian coffee growers and employed harvesting techniques usually found in vineyards during wine production.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nespresso Naora Limited Edition Coffee Capsules"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 8, 2012

Review: Kienna Kup Coffee Pod Adapter for Keurig K-Cup brewers

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4630.JPG

Our Canadian correspondent SH recently reported that more and more pods are starting to make an appearance in specialty shops across Canada after the introduction of the original SunCafe pod brewer a year or 2 ago and one of the brands which quickly started popping up was Kienna.

They're a Canadian coffee roasting company based out of Calgary and since it's known that pod brewers aren't as common throughout Canada as they are in USA, the company decided to create their own pod adapter for machines which WERE widely available across Canada... Keurig K-Cup brewers. Dubbed the Kienna Kup, this adapter allows you to use any 8 gram pod (and MAYBE some 10 gram pods) with any Keurig K-Cup brewer. It should be noted that 12 gram pods & ESE espresso pods are NOT compatible with this adapter.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Kienna Kup Coffee Pod Adapter for Keurig K-Cup brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 7, 2012

Review: Keurig Vue V700 Brewing System vs. Keurig B70 Platinum Single-Cup Brewer

Review Single Serve Coffee keurig_brewer_vue_kcup_comparison.jpg

We recently started reviewing Keurig Vue-Cups and decided to take a step back and compare the new Keurig Vue V700 to one of our favorite K-Cup brewers which we've been using for years, the Keurig B70 Platinum. We thought it would be fun to do an informative comparison between the Keurig Brewers so that new users could get an idea of the major differences between both machines as well as some of our likes/dislikes between the two. We'll start things off with the Keurig B70 Platinum and follow-up with the Keurig Vue V700. Our apologies for the length of this article... you may want to grab a few cups of single serve coffee before reading this monster-sized "Mega Review" :-)

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Keurig Vue V700 Brewing System vs. Keurig B70 Platinum Single-Cup Brewer"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Thomas Davie: What benefit do I get from the Keurig 2.0 that read more
AO: No thanks. read more
Gary: Hope the new 2.0 machine does not have the troubles read more
Jay Brewer: Yep. You are correct. We were fooled by the fancy read more
M: I've seen the Millstone a lot around Seattle. (Drinking a read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy