May 14, 2012

Review: Nespresso Naora Limited Edition Coffee Capsules

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4613.JPG

It’s been a while since we’ve done a Nespresso capsule review here at Single Serve Coffee, but with this latest Limited Edition dubbed Naora (a combination of the English word "now" with the Spanish equivalent of the same word "ahora"), we just couldn’t pass it up. This Grand Cru is truly unique in that it marks the first time Nespresso have deviated from the norm and applied techniques from an entirely different industry during the harvesting process. Instead of using usual methods, they worked in close collaboration with Colombian coffee growers and employed harvesting techniques usually found in vineyards during wine production.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nespresso Naora Limited Edition Coffee Capsules"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 8, 2012

Review: Kienna Kup Coffee Pod Adapter for Keurig K-Cup brewers

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4630.JPG

Our Canadian correspondent SH recently reported that more and more pods are starting to make an appearance in specialty shops across Canada after the introduction of the original SunCafe pod brewer a year or 2 ago and one of the brands which quickly started popping up was Kienna.

They're a Canadian coffee roasting company based out of Calgary and since it's known that pod brewers aren't as common throughout Canada as they are in USA, the company decided to create their own pod adapter for machines which WERE widely available across Canada... Keurig K-Cup brewers. Dubbed the Kienna Kup, this adapter allows you to use any 8 gram pod (and MAYBE some 10 gram pods) with any Keurig K-Cup brewer. It should be noted that 12 gram pods & ESE espresso pods are NOT compatible with this adapter.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Kienna Kup Coffee Pod Adapter for Keurig K-Cup brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 7, 2012

Review: Keurig Vue V700 Brewing System vs. Keurig B70 Platinum Single-Cup Brewer

Review Single Serve Coffee keurig_brewer_vue_kcup_comparison.jpg

We recently started reviewing Keurig Vue-Cups and decided to take a step back and compare the new Keurig Vue V700 to one of our favorite K-Cup brewers which we've been using for years, the Keurig B70 Platinum. We thought it would be fun to do an informative comparison between the Keurig Brewers so that new users could get an idea of the major differences between both machines as well as some of our likes/dislikes between the two. We'll start things off with the Keurig B70 Platinum and follow-up with the Keurig Vue V700. Our apologies for the length of this article... you may want to grab a few cups of single serve coffee before reading this monster-sized "Mega Review" :-)

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Keurig Vue V700 Brewing System vs. Keurig B70 Platinum Single-Cup Brewer"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

April 30, 2012

Review: The Original Donut Shop Coffee Vue Pack from Coffee People

Review Single Serve Coffee theoriginaldonutshopcoffee_vuepack.jpg

We often wonder how much coffee can be improved when you brew it with a new system or different method. Back in 2007 we had our first cup of The Original Donut Shop Coffee in K-Cup form from Coffee People and thought it was good - but not great. Oh how things have changed with this medium roast coffee using the new Vue system from Keurig and Vue pack.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: The Original Donut Shop Coffee Vue Pack from Coffee People"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 27, 2012

Review: San Francisco Bay Decaf French Roast OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4578.JPG

We continue our series of San Francisco Bay K-Cup Pods (a.k.a. "OneCups") today with their San Francisco Bay Decaf French Roast K-Cup Pods.

Ok, first things first… this is a decaf coffee. It says so right on the box, yet we were hit by a blast of smoky aromas the moment we tore open the bag that these things came packaged in. Um… what the heck… this is a decaf? We checked the box again… yep, decaf. Wow… if they smell this good right out of the box, then this could be epic.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: San Francisco Bay Decaf French Roast OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 23, 2012

Review: San Francisco Bay Breakfast OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4574.JPG

Now that Keurig’s K-Cup patents are nearing ever so closer to their expiry date, we’ve been seeing more and more “knock-off” K-Cups hit the market. While we were a bit apprehensive at first due to the horrible quality of the first few products to hit the market (Freeze-dried instant coffee in a K-Cup? Blech!), we’ve been seeing an uptick in decent quality knock-offs over the past several months. One of the most popular knock-off products comes from Rogers Family Company Coffee Roasters.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: San Francisco Bay Breakfast OneCup Keurig Compatible Coffee Packs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

April 19, 2012

Review: Starbucks French Roast K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffeefrench_roast_kcups-starbucks_IMGP4568.JPG

French Roast. The first thing that comes to mind when coffee drinkers hear those words is "intense & smoky" and indeed, some of the coffees we've had over the years which employed this roast style have been quite intense and often smoky in nature. Billed as one of the strongest roasts in Starbucks' line-up, we continue our review series of Starbucks K-Cups today with their Starbucks French Roast K-Cups.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in rather strong aromas of smoky hickory nuanced by tinges of molasses & dark chocolate. After trying a greater portion of the line-up, we're starting to suspect they all have very similar aromas and just about every one we've tried had the "signature" Starbucks coffee shop aroma (the scent you get when you walk into one of their retail shops). We also detected faint oily aromas hiding underneath but the thing that was the most present was definitely smoky hickory.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Starbucks French Roast K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

April 18, 2012

Review: Starbucks Sumatra K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4562.JPG

The Sumatran region of Indonesia is famous for some of the dark roast coffees it produces and depending on how they're blended, the final results can be anywhere from earthy & herbal to sour & intense. We decided to see which route Starbucks decided to take and continue our Starbucks K-Cup reviews today with their Starbucks Sumatra K-Cups.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in aforementioned earthy notes with subtle hints of herbal and even floral notes in background. Once again, cocoa is present but oddly enough, the smoky hickory notes seem subdued. Seeing as how this is a dark roast, we were expecting the exact opposite. Hmm... strange.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Starbucks Sumatra K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 16, 2012

Review: Starbucks Pike Place Roast K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4550.JPG

Starbucks got their start back in 1971 in Seattle, Washington. Their first store opened on Western Ave. and was later relocated to Pike Place in 1976 where it remains to this day. Despite being the 2nd store to bear the name, many still consider this to be the 1st and longest-operating Starbucks location in the World. Today we continue our Starbucks K-Cups review series with a K-Cup which was named after this historic location: Starbucks Pike Place Roast K-Cups.

Something we've noticed with the Starbucks K-Cups is that the aroma during brewing seems fairly consistent with only intensity & some subtle nuances being the key differences. Such is the same here as brewing these K-Cups resulted in the signature Starbucks aroma filling the room once again. A closer inspection of the final brewed cup revealed smoky notes of hickory in the foreground with scents of cocoa underneath. We also detected a slight oily characteristic present in the aroma at times.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Starbucks Pike Place Roast K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 12, 2012

Review: Starbucks House Blend K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4542.JPG

We continue our Starbucks K-Cup reviews today with their Starbucks House Blend K-Cups.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted once again in the signature Starbucks aroma filling the room (we've been seriously considering installing a neon Starbucks logo sign in the Single Serve test kitchens lately). A closer look at the final cup reveals woodsy notes with faint hints of cocoa & hickory hiding underneath.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Starbucks House Blend K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
MTNFUN: Given the DRM I will not upgrade..look at what happened read more
C.Scheets: I recieved the Keurig 2.0 for free from a site, read more
Andy D: EPIC FAIL Keurig! I bought the older version online at read more
Thomas Davie: As a review, this is not a ringing endorsement. Tom read more
Steve: So, the purpose of the DRM, according to Keurig, is read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy