October 4, 2011

Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Black Silk K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4313.JPG

Today we decided to continue our review of the recent Folgers K-Cups with one of our favorites… Folgers Gourmet Selections Black Silk K-Cups. Now, it’s been a while since we had the regular grind version, but from what we can recall, this single serve variety seemed on-par with the regular version.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in rich woodsy notes filling the room with a hint of dark chocolate & smoky hickory in the background. There were also faint notes of spices in the finish.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Black Silk K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

September 28, 2011

Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Vanilla Biscotti K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4312.JPG

Today we continue our series of Folgers K-Cup reviews with their first flavored variety… Folgers Gourmet Selections Vanilla Biscotti K-Cups. We have to admit that we missed this flavor when it came out in regular grind format, so we can’t really compare how accurate of a reproduction this is… however, if it’s anything like the previous Folgers K-Cups we reviewed, the contents of this K-Cup should be the same thing you get in the Gourmet Selections foil bags at your local grocery store. So how does the coffee itself stand up? Let’s have at it and see, shall we?

Brewing the Folgers Gourmet Selections Vanilla Biscotti K-Cups resulted in strong aromas of not only vanilla but caramel as well. The scent quickly filled the room and had us captivated from the start. While Folgers doesn’t list what kind of roast this is, they do note that it’s made from 100% Arabica, so if we had to guess, we’d bill this as a light roast. Flavor was spot-on with aroma as smooth waves of vanilla flowed through to notes of caramel in the finish. We’re thinking they should have named this K-Cup "Caramel-Vanilla Biscotti" instead.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Vanilla Biscotti K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 21, 2011

Review: Wolfgang Puck Rodeo Dr Blend K-Cups for Keurig Brewers

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4309.JPG

Today we’re reviewing a K-Cup which "fell through the cracks", so to speak, back when we were doing our Wolfgang Puck K-Cup reviews. Sticking with our "better late than never" mantra, today we’re reviewing Wolfgang Puck Rodeo Dr Blend K-Cups. Note we did review the coffee pod version of this way back in 2005 and it was called Rodeo Light.

Brewing these K-Cups did not really result in much of an aroma. There was a bit of subdued earthiness at first, then once the brewing process was over, any note of an aroma vanished. We found that even the brewed cup itself didn’t have much of a residual aroma to it and were really forcing ourselves to find anything of note. Rather disappointing to be honest.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Wolfgang Puck Rodeo Dr Blend K-Cups for Keurig Brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 15, 2011

Review: Van Houtte Cottage Blend K-Cups for Keurig Brewers

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4291.JPG

Much like Green Mountain does each year, we noticed that Van Houtte have started releasing seasonal K-Cups lately. So today, we decided to review one of their Summer seasonals: Van Houtte Cottage Blend K-Cups. Unfortunately, Van Houtte have since removed the listing from both their American & Canadian websites, so we’re guessing the window for these K-Cups is very limited… likely June-July only. We did however manage to find them still listed on Keurig.com (USA only).

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in nice woodsy notes with a hint of smokiness in the background. The woodsy notes paired well with the image of being at a cottage in the forest, so we can see what Van Houtte were trying to achieve here.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte Cottage Blend K-Cups for Keurig Brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 7, 2011

Review: Van Houtte Cherry Chip Swirl K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4290.JPG

We continue our reviews of Van Houtte's recent seasonal K-Cups today with yet another new Summer seasonal: Van Houtte Cherry Chip Swirl K-Cups. Unfortunately, Van Houtte have since removed the listing from both their American & Canadian websites, so we're guessing the window for these K-Cups is very limited... likely June-July only when we received them. We did however manage to find them still listed on Keurig.com (USA only).

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in amazingly rich bursts of cherry aroma laced with chocolate throughout. We had our doubts that any scent of chocolate would be washed-away by foreboding cherry aromas, but our doubts were unfounded as this K-Cup nailed the aroma perfectly. This was absolutely spot-on. Definitely one of the best aromas we've experienced in a while and it immediately had us thinking of cherry cordials. Had there been hints of coconut present, we would have dared claim that this was a coffee'd (is that even a word?) version of Lowney's Cherry Blossom confectionaries.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte Cherry Chip Swirl K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 26, 2011

Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Lively Colombian K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4310.JPG

You’ve seen the TV commercials over the years, you’ve seen the old magazine ads and for most of us, our parents lived off of this brand and still do to this day. We’re sure you remember the iconic jingle too… “The best part of waking up… is Folgers in your cup”. Indeed, today we’re finally reviewing the new Folgers K-Cups and decided to kick things off with their Folgers Gourmet Selections Lively Colombian K-Cups.

According to the wiki article about the company, Folgers started out way back in 1850 as the Pioneer Steam Coffee and Spice Mills Company which was based out of San Francisco and was later acquired and renamed by James A. Folger in 1872.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Lively Colombian K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 8, 2011

Review: Tassimo Professional T-300 Single Serve Coffee System

Review Single Serve Coffeetass-1.jpg

Not too long ago I reviewed four different espresso capsule systems. One system that was not included was the Tassimo, so here is a look at the Tassimo Professional T-300 Office machine.

If I was reviewing steam locomotives then this would be the "Allegany 2-6-6-6" of the series, the biggest, heaviest, hardest working one of them all. If you have a larger office then this machine should be near the top of your list.

As mentioned, it is a BIG machine, 16.5" tall, even deeper at nearly two feet, and 8" wide. This machine has a serious foot print and the size and weight of this machine also makes it exceptionally stable and quiet. Only the Lavazza came close to the size of this machine.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Tassimo Professional T-300 Single Serve Coffee System"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 3, 2011

Review: GMCR Vermont Country Blend Fair Trade K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4220.JPG

Today we review one of the more popular flavors in Green Mountain’s line-up: GMCR’s Vermont Country Blend Fair Trade K-Cups. This coffee has been around for quite a while and is apparently a fan favorite. Let’s find out why.

Brewing these K-Cups result in strong smoky notes with a blend of chocolate & faint molasses tones underneath. It reminded us of setting up camp in a Vermont forest and brewing up a pot of coffee over an open campfire. A quick look on GMCR’s site reveals that this coffee is a blend of dark roast & light roast beans which would explain its strong scent yet light body.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: GMCR Vermont Country Blend Fair Trade K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 18, 2011

Review: GMCR Our Blend Fair Trade Coffee K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4215.JPG

Today we review Green Mountain's first coffee they introduced to the market: GMCR's Our Blend Fair Trade K-Cups. This coffee was the first blend produced by the company and is currently in use at various dining establishments across the East Coast of USA.

Brewing these K-Cups result in rich notes of dark chocolate and hints of earthiness in the background. Further investigation of GMCR's website reveal that they've blended beans from 6 different regions of Guatemala to create this particular blend.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: GMCR Our Blend Fair Trade Coffee K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 6, 2011

Review: Green Mountain Gingerbread Fair Trade K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4118.JPG

Today we continue reviewing recent seasonal K-Cups from this past holiday season with Green Mountain’s Gingerbread Fair Trade K-Cups. This is, as noted, a seasonal flavor which is usually available in late November/early December but Amazon.com still has some 24-pack boxes in stock at the time of this review.

Brewing these K-Cups reveal strong aromas of gingerbread plus hints of vanilla hiding underneath. It reminded us of baking gingerbread cookies during the holidays. Perfect aroma so far.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Green Mountain Gingerbread Fair Trade K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Joe Bacon: Jay, I bought the VertuoLine and Aeroccino yesterday based on read more
Todd E.: It's nice to see a green option in K-Cups. read more
Thomas Davie: Have been drinking this interchangeably with Gastown Grind for about read more
marlene cignetti: bought this keurig pot at tj max; and then we read more
Mary Ann: I do not drink Nabob coffee any longer. It gives read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy