March 27, 2012

SunCana Single Serve Coffee Pod Brewer Improvements Impress

Review Single Serve Coffeebrewing_suncana_coffee.jpg
Brewing a cup of French Roast coffee from La Pod coffee pods.

The SunCana (formerly SunCafe) coffee pod brewer has recently received several upgrades. Though coffee pod brewers using this design have have failed to impress us in the past, the current iteration of the SunCana coffee pod brewer impresses us with 3 key upgrades that make the coffee produced excellent.

The SunCana brewer improvements include:

  • Brew Temp
  • Coffee Pod Drawer
  • Better pre-wetting cycle
ArrowContinue reading: "SunCana Single Serve Coffee Pod Brewer Improvements Impress"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

March 7, 2012

Review: Keurig VUE V700 Single Cup Brewing System Makes Amazing Coffee, Tea, and Café Style Drinks

Review Single Serve Coffee12-V700-Vue-Brewer-alt5.jpg

The Keurig Vue V700 Single Cup Brewing System uses Keurig's Vue Packs, and is a single cup brewing system capable of making coffee, tea, hot cocoa, and even lattes and cappuccinos. The Keurig VUE brewer can only use Keurig Vue Packs, and not K-Cups, which are meant for older Keurig systems. Also unlike the older K-Cups, pulling off the top of the foil lid with the filter attached to a VUE Pack one can recycle the cup part of a VUE pack.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Keurig VUE V700 Single Cup Brewing System Makes Amazing Coffee, Tea, and Café Style Drinks"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (23) | social bookmarking

February 23, 2012

Review: Carte Noire Long Espresso T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4465_tassimoreview_022312.JPG

We continue our reviews of new Canadian T-Discs today with another entry submitted by our Canadian Correspondent, SH. Today he reviews the recent Carte Noire Long Espresso T-Discs. A "long espresso" is pretty much similar to a "lungo" whereby you use the same amount of coffee at the same extraction level but increase the final amount of drink volume in the cup. As a result, you get a super-sized espresso with all the same amount of kick. Sign us up!

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Carte Noire Long Espresso T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

January 18, 2012

Review: CBTL Americano Single Serve Coffee, Espresso, and Hot Beverage System

Review Single Serve Coffee Americano_Black_Medium.jpg

CBTL has introduced the Americano single serve coffee, espresso, and hot beverage system recently, and it's packed with features you'll love in a single serve coffee maker. We received the CBTL system from them (thanks for sending) a few weeks ago and have been using it daily since. The machine look and feel is modern, and there's even an adjustable cup stand that just makes sense when you make coffee, espresso, and also hot chocolate with such a machine. We also really love the fact you can use a really tall travel mug to make coffee to go.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: CBTL Americano Single Serve Coffee, Espresso, and Hot Beverage System"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

January 12, 2012

Review: Carte Noire Americano T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4471.JPG

The Canadian T-Disc retail scene has been... well, let's just say "unappealing" for the past number of years with only a few minor updates here and there in an mild effort to match what was already being sold in American retail stores. As is usually the case, competition is good and with Starbucks jumping the sinking ship over to Keurig, Kraft finally got the swift kick in the arse it needed to inspire a massive campaign that at long last introduced brand new T-Disc flavors across many countries.

Unfortunately, the powers that be at Kraft still refuse to abandon their country-centric methodology and certain brands remain "geo-blocked" only for sale in their respective countries of origin. It's too bad to see that in an effort to save their sinking ship, they chose to retain the boat anchor that had been weighing them down instead. All gripes aside, our Canadian Correspondent, SH, received a shipment of the new Canadian T-Disc flavors recently and provided us today with the first of many reviews by covering the new Carte Noire Americano T-Discs.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Carte Noire Americano T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

January 3, 2012

Review: Van Houtte JavaNation Vanilla Cupcake K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4224.JPG

Today we review a new concept on the Canadian K-Cup scene that Van Houtte have decided to test out recently… creating a “brand within a brand” and passing it off as something which is completely unrelated to its parent company. When we first heard of JavaNation, we thought this was a new brand acquired by Van Houtte. We dug further and discovered that this was rather a new brand created by Van Houtte in order to introduce some rather unconventional K-Cup flavors. Case in point? Their JavaNation Vanilla Cupcake K-Cups.

Brewing these K-Cups result in strong notes of caramel (wait… what?). Yes, you read that correctly. A caramel scent during brewing which slowly morphs into a vanilla cake scent with sweet tinges of sugary white frosting lingering in the background once the coffee is sitting in the cup. The whole “aromatic musical chairs” bit was rather strange, but hey, the final scent was more or less spot-on. The only reason for point loss here is that we kept thinking this was a caramel coffee instead of vanilla at first. Not too good when the coffee initially doesn’t smell anything like its namesake. It’s almost like brewing a blueberry coffee and having it smell like bananas for the first 5 minutes.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte JavaNation Vanilla Cupcake K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 14, 2011

Review: Celestial Seasonings Honey Lemon Ginseng Green Tea K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4328.JPG

Here at the Single Serve Coffee kitchens, we're always keeping an eye open for the latest innovations in single serve products and a while back, Green Mountain decided to do something which had never been attempted before... they manufactured the World's first "all-paper' K-Cup. Made from a special combination of printed cardboard & paper lined with a special film (to prevent a soggy mess during brewing), this K-Cup marks a manufacturing milestone for Green Mountain and opens up the door to future innovations. Today we review Celestial Seasonings Honey Lemon Ginseng Green Tea K-Cups.

While we realize this review is LONG overdue (this product was introduced around Sept. 2010 and has since been discontinued) & apologize for the delay, we figured we would at least give our readers an idea of what the product was like. There's always a chance that another flavor may be introduced using this new paper K-Cup format sometime in the future. You can even read our earlier review of the packaging we did last year. As you can see in the photos, the things that stand out the most are the floral design & Celestial Seasonings logo printed on the side of the K-Cup (marks the first time print/artwork has been able to appear on a K-Cup) as well as the unique paper crimping process used underneath. You keep thinking the thing will blow apart inside your machine, but it's surprisingly well designed to withstand the water pressure. Did we mention this thing was made entirely of fricking PAPER? Amazing.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Celestial Seasonings Honey Lemon Ginseng Green Tea K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 5, 2011

Review: Millstone Hazelnut Cream K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4441.JPG

We continue our Millstone reviews today by checking out their Millstone Hazelnut Cream K-Cups.

Brewing the Millstone Hazelnut Cream K-Cups resulted in creamy hazelnut notes with hints of vanilla when smelled from up close, yet when we brewed one of these K-Cups at work recently, some of our co-workers complained that the nearby corridor smelled as if someone had smoked a cigarette. Wait... what?!? We thought they needed to get their olfactory senses checked since we didn't notice this ourselves and certainly couldn't reproduce the effect at the Single Serve Coffee kitchens here today. Just to be sure, we had a few other staff members walk by the room afterwards and they did not notice anything out of the ordinary either. Jim Morrison was right when he said "People Are Strange".

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Millstone Hazelnut Cream K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 22, 2011

Review: Millstone Breakfast Blend Fair Trade Coffee K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4433.JPG

With all the news about Barista Prima K-Cups back at the time and the recent news about Starbucks K-Cups finally hitting select retail stores recently, it's easy to overlook a K-Cup brand that slipped "under the radar" a while back. Today we address that oversight by reviewing Millstone's Breakfast Blend Fair Trade K-Cups.

According to the wiki article, Millstone was founded in Everett, Washington in 1981. Founder Phil Johnson sold 100lb sacks of Arabica beans to high-end coffee shops in the greater Seattle area & pioneered the idea of selling whole-beaned coffees to supermarkets. Johnson sold Millstone to Procter & Gamble in 1996 which closed down most of the operation in Everett and now run the company out of Ohio.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Millstone Breakfast Blend Fair Trade Coffee K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

November 14, 2011

Dunkin' Donuts Hazelnut K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4367.JPG

We continue our review of Dunkin Donuts’ series of K-Cups today with their Dunkin Donuts Hazelnut K-Cups.

Upon brewing these K-Cups, you get a hazelnut aroma but it just doesn’t seem… natural. Unlike some of the other hazelnut-flavored K-Cups we’ve had in the past from competitors (trust us, there’s many), we’d have to say this just doesn’t have a normal hazelnut aroma. Dunkins doesn’t hide the fact that they’re using artificial flavoring in this K-Cup, but unlike their French Vanilla, there’s just something off-putting by this scent. The best we can describe it is coffee that’s been spiked with a few shots of Torani hazelnut syrup. It just had us somewhat weirded-out. Not the best first impression to make, but we’ll still give this K-Cup a chance to redeem itself in other categories. Let’s push-forward & see how it holds up.

ArrowContinue reading: "Dunkin' Donuts Hazelnut K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
elizabeth : my k cup Cuisinart leaks water read more
Scott Glenn: My Keurig 2.0 brewer will finally be as good as read more
AO: The name of the company is actually Grindmaster. Or more read more
Fred: Actually a company called Grandmaster just came out with a read more
Linda Neal: i have the Keurig B130 and i would like to read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy