September 15, 2011

Review: Van Houtte Cottage Blend K-Cups for Keurig Brewers

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4291.JPG

Much like Green Mountain does each year, we noticed that Van Houtte have started releasing seasonal K-Cups lately. So today, we decided to review one of their Summer seasonals: Van Houtte Cottage Blend K-Cups. Unfortunately, Van Houtte have since removed the listing from both their American & Canadian websites, so we’re guessing the window for these K-Cups is very limited… likely June-July only. We did however manage to find them still listed on Keurig.com (USA only).

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in nice woodsy notes with a hint of smokiness in the background. The woodsy notes paired well with the image of being at a cottage in the forest, so we can see what Van Houtte were trying to achieve here.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte Cottage Blend K-Cups for Keurig Brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 7, 2011

Review: Van Houtte Cherry Chip Swirl K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4290.JPG

We continue our reviews of Van Houtte's recent seasonal K-Cups today with yet another new Summer seasonal: Van Houtte Cherry Chip Swirl K-Cups. Unfortunately, Van Houtte have since removed the listing from both their American & Canadian websites, so we're guessing the window for these K-Cups is very limited... likely June-July only when we received them. We did however manage to find them still listed on Keurig.com (USA only).

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in amazingly rich bursts of cherry aroma laced with chocolate throughout. We had our doubts that any scent of chocolate would be washed-away by foreboding cherry aromas, but our doubts were unfounded as this K-Cup nailed the aroma perfectly. This was absolutely spot-on. Definitely one of the best aromas we've experienced in a while and it immediately had us thinking of cherry cordials. Had there been hints of coconut present, we would have dared claim that this was a coffee'd (is that even a word?) version of Lowney's Cherry Blossom confectionaries.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte Cherry Chip Swirl K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 26, 2011

Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Lively Colombian K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4310.JPG

You’ve seen the TV commercials over the years, you’ve seen the old magazine ads and for most of us, our parents lived off of this brand and still do to this day. We’re sure you remember the iconic jingle too… “The best part of waking up… is Folgers in your cup”. Indeed, today we’re finally reviewing the new Folgers K-Cups and decided to kick things off with their Folgers Gourmet Selections Lively Colombian K-Cups.

According to the wiki article about the company, Folgers started out way back in 1850 as the Pioneer Steam Coffee and Spice Mills Company which was based out of San Francisco and was later acquired and renamed by James A. Folger in 1872.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Folgers Gourmet Selections Lively Colombian K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 8, 2011

Review: Tassimo Professional T-300 Single Serve Coffee System

Review Single Serve Coffeetass-1.jpg

Not too long ago I reviewed four different espresso capsule systems. One system that was not included was the Tassimo, so here is a look at the Tassimo Professional T-300 Office machine.

If I was reviewing steam locomotives then this would be the "Allegany 2-6-6-6" of the series, the biggest, heaviest, hardest working one of them all. If you have a larger office then this machine should be near the top of your list.

As mentioned, it is a BIG machine, 16.5" tall, even deeper at nearly two feet, and 8" wide. This machine has a serious foot print and the size and weight of this machine also makes it exceptionally stable and quiet. Only the Lavazza came close to the size of this machine.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Tassimo Professional T-300 Single Serve Coffee System"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 3, 2011

Review: GMCR Vermont Country Blend Fair Trade K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4220.JPG

Today we review one of the more popular flavors in Green Mountain’s line-up: GMCR’s Vermont Country Blend Fair Trade K-Cups. This coffee has been around for quite a while and is apparently a fan favorite. Let’s find out why.

Brewing these K-Cups result in strong smoky notes with a blend of chocolate & faint molasses tones underneath. It reminded us of setting up camp in a Vermont forest and brewing up a pot of coffee over an open campfire. A quick look on GMCR’s site reveals that this coffee is a blend of dark roast & light roast beans which would explain its strong scent yet light body.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: GMCR Vermont Country Blend Fair Trade K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 18, 2011

Review: GMCR Our Blend Fair Trade Coffee K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4215.JPG

Today we review Green Mountain's first coffee they introduced to the market: GMCR's Our Blend Fair Trade K-Cups. This coffee was the first blend produced by the company and is currently in use at various dining establishments across the East Coast of USA.

Brewing these K-Cups result in rich notes of dark chocolate and hints of earthiness in the background. Further investigation of GMCR's website reveal that they've blended beans from 6 different regions of Guatemala to create this particular blend.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: GMCR Our Blend Fair Trade Coffee K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 6, 2011

Review: Green Mountain Gingerbread Fair Trade K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4118.JPG

Today we continue reviewing recent seasonal K-Cups from this past holiday season with Green Mountain’s Gingerbread Fair Trade K-Cups. This is, as noted, a seasonal flavor which is usually available in late November/early December but Amazon.com still has some 24-pack boxes in stock at the time of this review.

Brewing these K-Cups reveal strong aromas of gingerbread plus hints of vanilla hiding underneath. It reminded us of baking gingerbread cookies during the holidays. Perfect aroma so far.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Green Mountain Gingerbread Fair Trade K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 30, 2011

Review: Celestial Seasonings Sweet Tropical Breeze White Iced Tea K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4194.JPG

Summer is quickly approaching, so we decided to start reviewing some Brew-Over-Ice K-Cups we didn’t get a chance to check out last time around. Today, we’re reviewing one of last year’s new flavors: Celestial Seasonings Sweet Tropical Breeze White Iced Tea K-Cups. We love the subtle nuances & light flavor of white tea, so we were really interested to see how well this paired with tropical flavors in an iced tea format.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in rich tropical scents of passion fruit & papaya along with faint hints of pineapple & mango lurking in the background which had us dreaming of a nice tropical beach (somewhere we wish we could have been a few months ago).

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Celestial Seasonings Sweet Tropical Breeze White Iced Tea K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 23, 2011

Review: GMCR Donut House Vanilla Iced Coffee K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee< IMGP4201.JPG

We continue our series of Brew-Over-Ice reviews with a bit of an oddity. As some of you may recall, Caribou Coffee introduced a K-Cup version of their Obsidian coffee a few years ago which ended up being a Target exclusive which was only available in-store. You couldn’t find any listing posted anywhere on the GMCR or Caribou sites. Well, we have uncovered yet another in-store exclusive K-Cup during a trip to a Bed Bath & Beyond in NH last year. Although it’s a year late, today we review GMCR’s Donut House Vanilla Iced Coffee K-Cups.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in strong scents of vanilla which quickly filled the room and even though there was no indication on the packaging to state if this was a medium or dark roast, we thought it seemed more like a medium.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: GMCR Donut House Vanilla Iced Coffee K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

June 13, 2011

Review: Van Houtte Amazonia Blend Fair Trade Organic K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee

IMGP4173.JPG

Van Houtte have been building-up their flavor library with a variety of unique single-origin and fair trade blends over the years and thanks to a recent acquisition by Green Mountain, new flavors (or variations on existing flavors) are starting to appear on the market. We decided to try one of their latest, Van Houtte Amazonia Blend Fair Trade Organic K-Cups.

Brewing these K-Cups result in typical earthy notes common to your average Arabica, but there’s something else hiding underneath we quite couldn’t figure out… maybe hints of a darker roast?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte Amazonia Blend Fair Trade Organic K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Greg Moore: The port is so the CEO who came up with read more
Thomas Davie: That's a pretty crap response on their part. What are read more
constance rogers: I just purchased the Costco Pacific Blend because in reading read more
Irv S: We've got a Starbucks 10 pack that has the Black read more
Geo: the 2.0 will brew other k cups. Take the foil read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy