December 10, 2010

Review: Solofill Cup Refillable Single Serve Coffee Filter for Keurig Brewers

Review Single Serve Coffeesolofill_packaging.jpg

The Solofill Cup Refillable Single Serve Coffee Filter for Keurig Brewers is like the My K-Cup reusable filter or EZ Cup that allows you to use your own coffee instead of using just K-Cups. Using the Solofill is really easy, because unlike the My K-Cup reusable coffee filter, you do not have to take out the brew sleeve in your Keurig brewer. Like a K-Cup the Solofill Cup Refillable Single Serve Coffee Filter for Keurig Brewers fits in the brew slot where you'd normally put a K-Cup.

Key Features of the Solofill Cup:

  • No need to remove or swap out the filter holder.
  • No filter to replace!
  • Reusable - Environmentally friendly.
  • Save money while reducing our environmental impact!
  • Use your own favorite gourmet coffee.
  • Easy to use - Simple 2 steps process.
  • Innovative Octaflo-Plus hot water distribution system for a superior tasting cup of gourmet coffee.
  • Easy clean up - Unique one piece design with integrated hinged lid and stainless steel micro mesh filter for easy clean-up.
ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Solofill Cup Refillable Single Serve Coffee Filter for Keurig Brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (16) | social bookmarking

December 8, 2010

Review: Wolfgang Puck Vienna Coffee House K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve Coffee

IMGP4016[1].JPG

Our ongoing series of Wolfgang Puck K-Cup reviews continues today with their Wolfgang Puck Vienna Coffee House K-Cups. While billed as a blend that had Chef Wolfgang going back to his Austrian roots, a quick gander at the Wiki article for Vienna coffee reveals that it’s a “traditional cream based coffee beverage made by preparing two shots of strong black espresso in a standard sized coffee cup and infusing the coffee with whipped cream (as a replacement for milk and sugar) until the cup is full. Then the cream is twirled and optionally topped off with chocolate sprinklings”. Hmm… ok, so this K-Cup should possibly taste like an extra bold with hints of cream & chocolate? Let’s find out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Wolfgang Puck Vienna Coffee House K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 3, 2010

Review: Bunn My Cafe MC Model Pour Over Single Serve Coffee Pod Brewer

Review Single Serve Coffee bunnmycafe_model_mc.jpg

The BUNN MC My Cafe Home Pod Brewer is a modified single cup pour over brewer with a reservoir refreshed with each cup you brew by adding from 4 to 14 ozs of water each time you brew. The Bunn My Cafe MC Model coffee pod brewer uses coffee pods and tea pods and features both a standard brew mode and a pulse brew mode for tea and darker coffees. The BUNN MC My Cafe Home Pod Brewer is also very compact and has a stainless steel exterior. Unlike the older Bunn My Cafe this brewer comes with one pod drawer for brewing that can be used for tea and coffee.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Bunn My Cafe MC Model Pour Over Single Serve Coffee Pod Brewer"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (23) | social bookmarking

November 24, 2010

Review: Wolfgang Puck Sorrento Fair Trade K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee

IMGP4057.JPG

Today we continue reviewing the Wolfgang Puck K-Cup series with the Wolfgang Puck Sorrento Fair Trade K-Cups. Sorrento is a small town in the Campania region of Southern Italy, so does this coffee offer a bold Italian roast flavor associative of its namesake? Let's find out.

Brewing these K-Cups result in earthy notes of (yep, you guessed it) smoky molasses and is quite similar to the Wolfgang Puck Vienna Coffee House & Sumatra Kopi Raya K-Cups we recently reviewed.

Billed as an extra bold, flavor had faint hints of dark chocolate and smoky notes, but to be honest, this tasted quite similar to the Vienna Coffee House K-Cups and we were having quite the difficulty in determining any differences between the two. We suppose there was more of an earthy flavor overall yet they still seemed pretty similar.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Wolfgang Puck Sorrento Fair Trade K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

November 16, 2010

Review: Wolfgang Puck Chef's Reserve Colombian Decaf K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve Coffee

IMGP4014.JPG

We continue our series of Wolfgang Puck K-Cup reviews with the Wolfgang Puck Chef's Reserve Colombian Decaf K-Cups in today's review. It should be noted that there's actually one major difference between the regular & decaf versions of the Chef Reserve Colombian flavor (no, it's not the obvious lack of caffeine)... the decaf is a medium roast while the regular is a dark roast. We can't recall the last time we saw a K-Cup manufacturer use a different roast for their decaf version, so this should make for some interesting nuances.

Upon brewing, we got a small waft of your typical medium roasts but then it quickly disappeared. We had to stop and check that our Keurig hadn't crapped-out half way through the brew... that's how bizarre it was. Once the brewing was over, we took our time to try and discern any outstanding scents but couldn't really smell anything other than a rather weak standard Arabica scent. There were no dark chocolate notes of the regular Colombian version here, nor any of the earthiness. A really weak & lacking aroma overall.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Wolfgang Puck Chef's Reserve Colombian Decaf K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 4, 2010

Review: Starbucks VIA Caramel and Mocha Instant Coffee

Review Single Serve Coffeestarbucks__via_Packaging.JPG

Upon a recent stop at our local Starbucks, we decided to try-out 2 of the new flavored VIA varieties which had piqued our interest the most... their Caramel & Mocha flavors. Here's a quick review of both touching on a few key points.

First impressions

By now, anyone who's tried previous incarnations of VIA realize what it's "known for"... the residual microgrit of the undiluted coffee grounds left at the bottom of your cup. We were expecting more of the same and yes, such was the case but not as bad as before. We think Starbucks might be listening to customer complaints and are likely working on reducing the amount of undiluted solids in their mixes since we experienced far less than with their previous unflavored varieties.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Starbucks VIA Caramel and Mocha Instant Coffee"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 22, 2010

Review: Wolfgang Puck Breakfast In Bed K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4015.JPG

Next up in our series of Wolfgang Puck K-Cup reviews are the Wolfgang Puck Breakfast In Bed K-Cups for today's review. Labeled as a medium roast, we wondered if Van Houtte decided to name this flavor based on the comforting qualities one finds in their own bed when they wake up each morning. While that remains to be seen, let's just hope this flavor doesn't make us want to hit the snooze button and go back to sleep like their Colombian Decaf did recently.

Upon brewing, typical aromas of Arabica were present, but appeared to border on a light dark roast in regards to earthiness. Flavor was surprisingly the same... which led us to believe this was more of a medium-bold blend than a lighter medium. Will be interesting to see how some of the other K-Cups in the Wolfgang Puck line-up turn out as there's some which are in fact listed as medium-bolds. We detected faint nutty notes in the background along with some mild earthy notes found in the regular Chef's Reserve Colombian we reviewed a while back.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Wolfgang Puck Breakfast In Bed K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 6, 2010

Review: Celestial Seasonings Half & Half Perfect Iced Tea K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4002.JPG

We continue our iced beverage reviews with one of the latest “Brew Over Ice” K-Cups to hit the market… Celestial Seasonings Half and Half Perfect Iced Tea K-Cups. Their “half & half” consists of half lemonade (made with real lemon, or “true lemon” as they claim on the packaging) along with half black tea. As is now common with the entire Brew Over Ice lineup, these K-Cups are designed to be used with either the 6oz or 8oz settings on your Keurig brewer (which makes us wonder if the 4oz iced beverage setting on certain models will ever be used again)

Upon brewing, strong aromas of lemon quickly emerged and became the primary scent. At least now we know what the whole “true lemon” signage on the packaging was about since the aroma really is that of real fresh-cut lemons & not something artificial. Taste was what surprised us the most. We kept thinking of our less than ideal experience with Celestial Seasonings Unsweetened Black Iced Tea K-Cups and were afraid that this would just be that K-Cup with “more lemon” dumped-in.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Celestial Seasonings Half & Half Perfect Iced Tea K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 24, 2010

Review: Tassimo Pro T65 CUL Single Serve Coffee Maker and Hot Beverage System

Review Single Serve Coffee tassimo_pro_review_shot.jpg

We've been fortunate enough here at Single Serve Coffee to test and review every single serve coffee maker for consumers, but we've often not tested many of the professional offerings for small business. We're pleased to say the folks over at Tassimo sent us the Tassimo Pro T65 CUL Single Serve Coffee Maker and Hot Beverage system to review.

That being said we think reading our reviews of the consumer models will give you the larger background on the machine, system, and how it works, along with a familiarity of the features the Pro models use as well.

Tassimo Professional Brewer Lineup

The Tassimo Professional line of brewers include the T65 CUL and the T-300. The T65 is designed for use with small office and requires the coffee drinker to dispose of each T-Disc as they brew cups of coffee, where as the T300 is designed for a larger office with a 20 T-Disc bin capacity. The T65 is also not able to be plumbed, but the T300 Tassimo professional brewer is.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Tassimo Pro T65 CUL Single Serve Coffee Maker and Hot Beverage System"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 22, 2010

Review: Wolfgang Puck Chef’s Reserve Colombian K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve Coffee

IMGP4012.JPG

Many of you know Wolfgang Puck as a World-famous chef with his own line of restaurants and retail food items, so when a chef of his stature decided to enter the K-Cup scene, we got really interested, really fast (after all, some of Emeril’s K-Cups weren’t too shabby). Distributed by Van Houtte (a recent acquisition which was the final card in GMCR’s royal flush poker hand of K-Cup manufacturers), we attended different events surrounding the launch of these K-Cups and decided it was about time we started reviewing the line-up. As a result, we kick things off today with the Wolfgang Puck Chef’s Reserve Colombian K-Cups.

Upon brewing, strong aromas of earthiness & dark chocolate fill the room although that’s no surprise since this is billed as a dark roast. We’ll admit the scent was a bit more balanced than what we’ve seen in other dark roasts since we got the earthy notes of the beans but no overbearing burnt notes of the actual roasting process or any hickory smoke characteristics seen in a few other dark roast varieties on the market.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Wolfgang Puck Chef’s Reserve Colombian K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Jamey Hinds: There is nothing beneficial for the consumer with this new read more
Thomas Davie: One of the reasons (or selling points) for me to read more
Thomas Davie: What benefit do I get from the Keurig 2.0 that read more
AO: No thanks. read more
Gary: Hope the new 2.0 machine does not have the troubles read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy