April 28, 2010

Review: Keurig B155 Single Cup Small Office Coffee Brewer


Review Single Serve Coffee
b155-brewer.jpg

It's no surprise we've had a B155 Small to Medium office brewer for over a month here at Single Serve Coffee (and it just got replaced by a Keurig Mini Plus which we'll review this week too). We have to say a 90oz reservoir, and the touchscreen LCD display are things every single serve coffee drinker would love, and we really love this brewer not just for a home office but also for any home.

IMG_8361.jpg
Take that K-cup! How about some 198F water?

The brewer footprint is also not as big as you would imagine, and yes unlike any home brewer you can crank the temperature up to 198 degrees F instead of a home brewer's limit of 192F. Other than that - it's a very well designed good looking brewer. Because of the LCD touch screen - you will also see various pictures flash by like coffee plantations etc. as it brews.

IMG_8350.jpg

Not as big s you'd think.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Keurig B155 Single Cup Small Office Coffee Brewer"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (9) | social bookmarking

April 27, 2010

Review: Mocha Capsules for Nescafé Dolce Gusto Single Serve Coffee and Hot Beverage System

Review Single Serve Coffeemocha_img.jpg

What do you get when you mix espresso, hot chocolate and milk together? You get a caffè mocha and the subject of our next review in the Dolce Gusto capsule series... their Mocha capsules. You first start with a mocha capsule which contains dark roast coffee and cocoa powder, then top everything off with a milk capsule. Yes, you read that correctly... Nescafé have apparently decided to use dark roast coffee instead of traditional espresso for these capsules and as for why, your guess is as good as ours. As in past reviews, we had to use the supplied cappuccino cup which came with our machine since we didn't have the clear mocha cup shown on the packaging.

The Mocha Capsules billed by Nescafé as an "Ultimate mix of coffee & dessert", they go on to describe "Hot chocolate and dark roasted coffee do a delicious duet. Full intensity of roasted coffee in a delightfully sweet chocolaty treat. A nice way to welcome in the morning or unwind after work". They go on to mention some crazy bit about "sharing with friends" but when we make single serve coffee drinks, we prefer to quote Family Guy's Peter Griffin by saying "Nyeh!! It's mine!!" (Besides, that would take the fun out of preparing our guests a full drink of their very own).

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Mocha Capsules for Nescafé Dolce Gusto Single Serve Coffee and Hot Beverage System"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 20, 2010

Review: Chococino Capsules for Nescafé Dolce Gusto Single Serve Coffee Maker

Review Single Serve Coffee 51DKSxK4lkL._SS500_.jpg

In the past few weeks, we've been reviewing some of the different flavors available for the Dolce Gusto and decided to see what kind of hot chocolate drinks it could produce, hence this review of Nescafé's Chococino capsules. So just what the heck is a "chococino" anyway? Well, we couldn't find any "official" description on Wikipedia or Dictionary.com, but Nescafé's site describes it as follows: "Replace coffee beans with a cocoa bean topped off with steamed milk and you have this deliciously velvet hot chocolate. Chococino is hot chocolate heaven". Hot chocolate heaven, eh? We'll be the judge of that.

We're no strangers to hot chocolate and have tried various incarnations and homebrews in the past where we added hot milk, syrups, etc. to enhance the drink's flavor but it never occurred to us that adding a cappuccino creamer to the drink might create an entirely different result. So it was with curious anxiety that we popped these capsules in our machine and set forth on our highway to hot chocolate heaven (somewhere, Robert Plant is cringing). According to the box, you start off with the hot cocoa capsule followed by the milk capsule to finish it off. We decided to use our cappuccino cup which came with the machine since Nescafé don't appear to be selling their color-coded cups online or elsewhere (we're still waiting for them to magically appear on our doorstep though... *cough*)

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Chococino Capsules for Nescafé Dolce Gusto Single Serve Coffee Maker"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 12, 2010

Review: Cappuccino Coffee Capsules for Nescafé Dolce Gusto Single Serve Coffee Maker

Review Single Serve Coffee

dolcegutsocap2010.jpg
We continue our Dolce Gusto review series (read our review of the Dolce Gusto here) with their Cappuccino capsules. Out of the entire flavor line-up, this is one of our favorites. Billed by Nescafé as "A top layer of frothy steamed milk which leads to a full-bodied espresso", this flavor is exactly that. Each box comes with 16 capsules (8 espresso + 8 milk) to yield a total of 8 cappuccinos per box. You start with the milk capsule to build-up the froth layer, then finish with the espresso capsule to add the bold coffee flavor to your drink.

Aroma of the final drink is somewhat muted by the crema, but you can still make out typical earthy undertones of the Arabica underneath with even a slight hint of oily characteristics. As for the milk itself, it has a sweet aroma of hot steamed milk with a slight touch of butter which becomes more present as you work your way to the bottom of the cup. The aroma itself keeps evolving as you go through the layers of the drink. Speaking of milk, the Dolce Gusto's 15-bar pressure created one of the BEST milk froth cremas we have ever witnessed from a single-serve coffee machine.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Cappuccino Coffee Capsules for Nescafé Dolce Gusto Single Serve Coffee Maker"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

March 26, 2010

Review: Nabob Skinny Latte T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP3785.JPG

Nabob uses a combination of their espresso T-Discs and the usual latte milk creamer T-Discs which are common among most latte varieties such as those offered by Maxwell House & Gevalia... only this time, they've decided to follow suit and give people a healthier choice with their own Nabob Skinny Latte T-Discs. These have apparently just been released on the Canadian market within the past few weeks.

The skinny latte creamer is now composed of skim milk concentrate which Nabob claims has 56% fewer calories than their regular latte creamer (packaging shows 35 calories total & 0g of fat). We found it lost most of its buttery taste and seemed more akin to evaporated skim milk. As we've reported in the past, we don't personally dislike the taste of the original creamers, but thought Kraft still had some room for improvement. The same holds even more true with this "skinny" version, but more on that later.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nabob Skinny Latte T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

March 12, 2010

Review: Caffè Americano capsules for Nescafé Dolce Gusto

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP3772.JPG

It had never dawned on us that we reviewed the Nescafé Dolce Gusto system a while back but had completely forgotten to follow-up with reviews of the individual capsules which were available for it. Well readers, rest assured that glaring omission has now been resolved starting with this very review. From its quirky "alien duck thingy" looks to its professional quality 15-bar pressure (which produces incredibly rich, frothy drinks) to its fully manual controls & 100% no-mess cleanup... we love just about everything on this machine and we love the variety of its coffee capsules even more.

We decided to start with the most basic of all capsules, Nescafé's Caffè Americano, which is actually a recent addition to the lineup as it appeared online & in stores only within the past several months. A quick gander at Wikipedia reveals that an Americano is "a style of coffee prepared by adding hot water to espresso, giving a similar strength but different flavor from regular drip coffee". We didn't have any of the cool Nescafé color-coded mugs seen on the packaging and certainly wouldn't mind if the kind folks at Nescafé would send a few our way the next time they have an overstock *cough*. So, all shameless begging aside, pardon us for using a plain 12oz glass mug instead. We decided to limit the amount of water to approx. 8 or 10oz as to not dilute the coffee too much.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Caffè Americano capsules for Nescafé Dolce Gusto"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

March 4, 2010

Review: Milka Hot Chocolate T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve Coffeemilka.jpg

After our recent battle with a frozen downspout, we didn't quite feel like getting a coffee buzz once back inside the house, so instead, we started craving some good old-fashioned hot chocolate. This got us to thinking, it's been ages since we reviewed any hot chocolate T-Discs for the Tassimo system and there hasn't been anything available to our liking... until the introduction of Milka Hot Chocolate T-discs on tassimo.com several months ago.

More common to the European market than on "this side of the pond", Milka Hot Chocolate is a combination of chocolate syrup T-Discs blended with European milk creamer T-Discs. The goal is to create a creamier version of hot chocolate than what we're used to with the Tassimo system. We've tried to enjoy the only other option, Suchard T-Discs, through their original version to their larger creamer-sized version and back to their recent "European Recipe" version, but they're just too watery for our liking and left a lot to be desired.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Milka Hot Chocolate T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

February 26, 2010

Review: Cuisinart SS700 Single Serve Coffee K-Cup Brewing System

Review Single Serve Coffee

CUSSS700_review.jpg

The Cuisinart SS700 Single Serve Coffee Brewing System is the first Cuisinart coffee brewer to use K-Cups for making tea, hot chocolate, and of course coffee. The Cuisinart SS700 Single Serve Coffee Brewing System features a very large 80 oz water reservoir, iced and regular coffee brewing settings, along with storage of a My K-Cup resusable coffee filter. It also features a very fresh yet angular Cuisinart industrial design, along with a very easy to read blue LCD display. We've been looking forward to more options in K-Cup brewers, and it's really nice to have a brewer from a major brand like Cuisinart.

Update: The Cuisinart Keurig Single-Cup Brewer SS-700 and SS-780 is available direct at Green Mountain Coffee and is also under the model number SS-780. The SS-780 will come with a selection of K-Cups but the brewer is the same.

If you want to compare exhaustively the features of other Keurig Brewers we suggest reading the following Single Serve Coffee reviews, however we'll do our best to cover all the differences and innovations we find in this review as well.


SDC11207.jpg
The SS700 has an 80 oz water reservoir. Yes - we said 80.

There is also a ton of info and reviews in our Reviews, Keurig & K-Cups, Keurig Reviews, and K-Cup reviews categories of entries. That's just the prep - now on with the review.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Cuisinart SS700 Single Serve Coffee K-Cup Brewing System"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (80) | social bookmarking

February 9, 2010

Review: Nescafé Taster's Choice Single Serve Instant Coffee Packs

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP3746.JPG

With the recent arrival of some new Nescafé Taster's Choice Single Serve Instant Coffee Packs, it can only mean it's time for another one of our "mega reviews". Apologies in advance to our readers if this article seems rather long, but we're reviewing over 6 different flavors at once, so keep that in mind.

As we had previously noted, we always thought of Taster's Choice coffees as being something along the lines of our parents' bland freeze-dried crystals and the brand itself has been around since forever, but it appears they've taken a new competitive approach towards Starbucks' VIA instant coffees as they claim the samples they sent us were made from 100% pure coffee beans and their marketing is obviously aimed against Starbucks.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nescafé Taster's Choice Single Serve Instant Coffee Packs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

January 29, 2010

Review: MyPressi Twist Portable Single Serve Espresso and Coffee Maker

Review Single Serve Coffee 41+TxTZ-yML._SL500_AA280_.jpg

Portable and easy to use espresso machines are all the rage, and the MyPressi Twist is the latest in this growing category of single serve coffee and espresso. The folks behind MyPressi Twist lent us one for just over a week to try and use for this review. It's very much like the Handpresso, except it uses N02 cartridges instead of a built in pump. We've been big users of our Handpresso over the past year, and having seen the MyPressi was hoping for an improvement over the Handpresso or perhaps something different that it would offer. What did we find?

SDC11028.jpg
The MyPressi is on the left and the Handpresso is on the right.
The MyPressi is much heavier and larger.

What we found compared to the Handpresso is a much more complicated device that essentially does the same job. There are 5x the amount of parts and things to make the same shot of espresso and the Handpresso is much lighter and more environmentally friendly requiring only a little muscle to pump it versus using NO2 cartridges in the MyPressi Twist - but more on that later.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: MyPressi Twist Portable Single Serve Espresso and Coffee Maker"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Joe Bacon: Jay, I bought the VertuoLine and Aeroccino yesterday based on read more
Todd E.: It's nice to see a green option in K-Cups. read more
Thomas Davie: Have been drinking this interchangeably with Gastown Grind for about read more
marlene cignetti: bought this keurig pot at tj max; and then we read more
Mary Ann: I do not drink Nabob coffee any longer. It gives read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy