September 15, 2010

Review: Celestial Seasonings Southern Sweet Perfect Iced Tea K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee

IMGP4008.JPG

Our quest to try every new “Brew Over Ice” K-Cup continues today with our review of Celestial Seasonings Southern Sweet Perfect Iced Tea K-Cups. These K-Cups combine traditional black tea and dump on a generous serving of cane sugar to add a touch of the South to this drink since after all; sweet tea did originate from the Southern states (as is described via this interesting Wikipedia entry). As a matter of fact, the first thing you’ll probably notice is the weight of these K-Cups… they are PACKED with cane sugar and weigh a few grams more than some other flavors in the lineup.

Upon brewing, mild aromas of black tea appear for a few minutes although overall, there’s not much of a scent present in the finished cup once all is said and done. We were expecting a bit more of a traditional orange pekoe scent but it’s always hard to get the same aromas as the hot version when you’re making iced tea. As a result, we’ll score this as average.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Celestial Seasonings Southern Sweet Perfect Iced Tea K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 7, 2010

Review: Green Mountain French Vanilla Iced Coffee K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee 10-K-Cup-French-Vanilla-Iced-lg.jpg

With Summer drawing to an end and Fall settling-in within the next few months, we decided to try beating yet another heat wave recently by reviewing one of this year's new "Brew Over Iced Coffee K-Cups". What's so new, you ask? Why this first official iced coffee K-Cup, that's what. More specifically, Green Mountain's French Vanilla Iced Coffee K-Cups.

Conceived especially for iced beverages, this K-Cup is a bit different than the previous generation of iced K-Cups since instead of using your Keurig's 4oz iced beverage setting (if it has one), you just brew the default 6oz size over ice (just remember to use a larger cup/mug accordingly). Aroma was as expected, light notes of French vanilla with a standard base of Arabica coffee in the background. So far, so good.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Green Mountain French Vanilla Iced Coffee K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 31, 2010

Review: Cappuccino Ice capsules for Nescafé Dolce Gusto

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP3957.JPG

With the end of Summer drawing closer, we continue our reviews of iced single serve beverages with another one of our favorites in the Dolce Gusto line-up… their Cappuccino Ice capsules. Most of you are likely used to making your own “iced caps” with a brew-over-ice K-Cup and adding your own sugar & cream or perhaps you’ve had a go at some of the new Gevalia iced coffee T-Discs for the Tassimo recently, but when we tried the first cold water drink for the Dolce Gusto (it’s been around since the machine’s launch this side of the pond) we were a bit skeptical. How much of a crema layer could powdered capsules create anyway & just what kind of espresso flavor would powdered coffee yield?

Well, lots it would seem. You get 8 coffee capsules and 8 milk capsules in each box and you start by prepping the milk capsule first, followed by the coffee capsule afterwards for a drink that’s roughly in the 10oz range. We didn’t notice much of the crema until we started adding the coffee and saw the various layers slowly build up from seemingly nowhere. Aromas kicked-in when brewing the coffee capsule to reveal very light, earthy, somewhat smoky notes of Arabica (not a small feat considering this is powdered coffee after all).

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Cappuccino Ice capsules for Nescafé Dolce Gusto"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 27, 2010

Review: Celestial Seasonings Sweet Peach Iced Tea K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee

10-K-Cups-celestial-sweet-peach-lg.jpg

We're going to feature a bunch of the brew over iced K-Cups over the next week, and we kick things off with the Celestial Seasonings Sweet Peach Iced Tea K-Cups and notice a light peach aroma filling our nose as the hot liquid melts over the ice. This aroma quickly becomes muted after the drink cools down a bit.

We didn't really notice much acidity as the ice cuts down on it somewhat. Things were smooth overall and there was barely any aftertaste. The thing which threw us off a bit was the initial punch to the face of bitter flavoring... we couldn't quite figure out what caused it. The peach flavoring? The cane sugar? (unlikely) or perhaps it was the hibiscus? Once we got accustomed, we started noticing more of the natural peach flavoring hiding below the light sweetness of the cane sugar. The longer we sipped on the drink, the more peach notes started coming through. A flavor score of 5 thankfully got changed to an 8 as a result.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Celestial Seasonings Sweet Peach Iced Tea K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 13, 2010

Review: Nestea Peach Iced Tea Capsules for Nescafé Dolce Gusto

Review Single Serve Coffee

dolcegustopeachCapsule.jpg d

With the recent heat wave occurring on the East coast these past several weeks, most of us here at the Single Serve Coffee kitchens have been ditching our usual hot coffee drinks for the iced variety instead and with the explosion of "brew over ice" K-Cups that have hit shelves for Keurig systems, it's nice to know that Nescafé wasn't asleep at the wheel as they also pushed out a new iced capsule of their own. Today we review their Nestea Peach Iced Tea capsules for the Dolce Gusto.

We've been fans of Nestea products and went through tons of various flavors in our lifetime, so we were anxious to see if these new capsules were on-par with what we've tried in the past. Little did we know that "on par" would be the biggest understatement of this review. Billed by Nescafé as "the perfect Summer drink", we were hard pressed to disagree as we used the supplied latte macchiato glass which came with our machine, popped in a few ice cubes and pulled about 6oz of cold water only to notice a Guinness-like froth effect which slowly started to build up to a frothy top layer. An iced tea that froths like a Guinness? All we can say is if Nescafé were going for visual "wow factor" they frickin achieved orbit!

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nestea Peach Iced Tea Capsules for Nescafé Dolce Gusto"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 3, 2010

Review: Francis Francis Y1 iperEspresso Machine

Review Single Serve Coffeeilly-machine_Y1full.jpg

Using iperEspresso capsules, the Francis Francis Y1 iperEspresso Machine is a new design from illy in the single serve coffee and espresso world. The Francis Francis Y1 iperEspresso Machine allows you to make shot of espresso or larger lungo cups of coffee to enjoy both hot and iced. We've been using the Francis Francis Y1 iperEspresso Machine over the past month since illy sent us a review model, and have to say this machine and system is nearly perfect.

SDC11553.jpg

Both espresso and lungo cups of coffee brewed hot or over ice have been excellent. There are 4 flavors of iperEspresso capsules available, but we've settled on a double shot of the medium roast over ice as our favorite. How does this system work? How is it different than other single serve coffee and espresso machines?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Francis Francis Y1 iperEspresso Machine"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (6) | social bookmarking

July 12, 2010

Review: Fratello Nicaraguan Los Placeres Single Serve Coffee Pods

Review Single Serve Coffee

Los-Placeres.jpg

The latest batch of Fratello pods arrived from Calgary recently, and they don't disappoint! Quite the contrary. You'll find a great new micro-lot from Guatemala, the Guatemala Montecristo, as well as their superb Tanzania Songea Peaberry, which recently became the highest-rated coffee ever to be offered in pod form when Kenneth Davids gave its whole-bean equivalent a 94, and this coffee in whole bean form a 90. And you'd certainly be missing out if you overlooked Fratello's Nicaraguan Los Placeres, perhaps our favorite of them all and our focus in today's review.

With this pod Fratello continues its tradition of offering fantastic single-serve Nicaraguan coffees. Part of their secret seems to be keeping it in the family, so to speak. The Los Placeres Estate is run by the award-winning Mierisch family, who own other estates such as Limoncillo, Mama Mina, and Los Milagros from which coffee for highly regarded pods has been harvested in the past. If you favor a more direct connection to where your morning cup has come from than the big chain roasters can offer, i.e. coffee with a story, look no further.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Fratello Nicaraguan Los Placeres Single Serve Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 9, 2010

Re-Review: Coffee People Original Donut Shop K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee

coffeepeople_donut_shop.jpg

According to Coffee People's website, they got their start at the Saturday Market in Eugene, Oregon back in the early '80s, selling small batches of roasted specialty coffee to market goers. Soon after in 1983, they opened their first coffeehouse in Portland, Oregon. Later in 1999, they were acquired by the Diedrich Coffee Family who in turn took over the roasting duties of their beans from them. The rest is history and has formed the Coffee People brand (now headquartered in Irvine, California) many people have come to know & love today.

We decided to revisit "the holy grail of K-Cups" which just about everyone & their grandma appear to adore (based on various forum comments & other site reviews): Coffee People Original Donut Shop K-Cups. Yes, before many competitors started releasing their own imitation versions, Coffee People were one of the 1st companies to release a donut shop coffee in K-Cup format, so they can be considered the pioneers in that sense and it's likely why their website shows "The Original" added to this K-Cup's name (the K-Cups we purchased didn't have this printed on them).

ArrowContinue reading: "Re-Review: Coffee People Original Donut Shop K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 2, 2010

Review: Green Mountain Donut House Chocolate Glazed Donut K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee

IMGP3863.JPG

We have to admit that when we first heard Green Mountain was introducing donut-flavored coffees in their recent Donut House series of K-Cups, the only thought that sprung to mind was "yeah, right". Could they really capture the taste experience of biting into the flavor's namesake donut? We set off to find out if this truly was the case and opted for their Donut House Blend Chocolate Glazed Donut K-Cups this time around.

As any Green Mountain K-Cup fan will know, they have a reputation for making some pretty spot-on flavorings when it comes to their flavored coffee K-Cups (Island Coconut, anyone?), so our hopes were set high right off the bat. Needless to say, we had nothing to worry about. Upon brewing, rich chocolate aromas filled the room and left us wondering just how the heck the flavor geniuses at GMCR managed to pull it off... the scent was exactly like fresh baked chocolate glazed donuts at our favorite local donut shop and it even had some of our staff fooled as they rushed the Single Serve Coffee kitchens looking for a box.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Green Mountain Donut House Chocolate Glazed Donut K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 24, 2010

Review: Café Escapes Chai Latte K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve Coffee

IMGP3854.JPG

It's been a while since we've reviewed anything in Green Mountain's Café Escapes lineup, so we decided to try one of their newer varieties... Café Escapes Chai Latte K-Cups. Although we briefly touched on these K-Cups several months ago, we wanted to give a more fleshed-out full review as we're sure some of you were waiting for us to do.

The Café Escapes Chai Latte K-Cups are billed as having "flavors of black tea and exotic spices, smoothed by a splash of milk and sugar", it should also be noted that traditional flavors of cinnamon, cloves & cardamom along with slight notes of honey are also present in this K-Cup. We were curious to see just how creamy this flavor was going to be since we're adding nothing but water here and unlike Tassimo's Twinings variety, there's no separate creamer disc/K-Cup. When comparing the two, they're pretty well even in terms of taste. Some may find that this K-Cup has a slightly stronger sucralose aftertaste than the T-Discs but we found it was about the same either way.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Café Escapes Chai Latte K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Jamey Hinds: There is nothing beneficial for the consumer with this new read more
Thomas Davie: One of the reasons (or selling points) for me to read more
Thomas Davie: What benefit do I get from the Keurig 2.0 that read more
AO: No thanks. read more
Gary: Hope the new 2.0 machine does not have the troubles read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy