June 9, 2014

The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf Toasted Amaretto K-Cups

 

ReviewcbtltoastedamarettokcupsIMGP5832

In a move that only serves to reinforce the idea that they’re after just about every coffee chain & coffee manufacturer on the market, KGM decided to form a partnership with The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf (CBTL) chain of coffee shops to introduce some of their signature coffees into the K-Cup format several months ago. Now that those flavors are starting to trickle through the retail market, we decided to try their first flavored variety: CBTL Toasted Ameretto K-Cups.

The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf (for brevity sake, we’ll just call them CBTL) got their start in 1963 when they opened their first coffee shop/cafe in Brentwood, California. Billing themselves as the oldest & largest privately held specialty coffee and tea retailer in the United States, the company has since opened stores in many different states and internationally as well. While they may not be that well known on the East Coast, they’re popular on the West Coast and have gained quite the fan following over the years. 

ArrowContinue reading: "The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf Toasted Amaretto K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 2, 2014

Newman’s Own Organics Cafe Almond Biscotti K-Cups Review

Newmansownbiscotti

From time to time, we stumble across K-Cup flavors which either aren’t widely advertised or were never announced on the Keurig or GMCR/KGM websites, flavors which appear out of nowhere or are only retailer exclusives (i.e. Only sold at one specific retailer) and other odd situations similar to the above. Such was the case with a flavor we first discovered about a year ago. It appeared briefly at Target & Wal-Mart stores then disappeared soon after. We eventually managed to track a box down at a local Target several months ago and are only getting around to reviewing things today. What is this elusive flavor? Newman’s Own Organics Cafe Almond Biscotti K-Cups. Let’s have at ‘er and see if this flavor was worth the hunt.

ArrowContinue reading: "Newman’s Own Organics Cafe Almond Biscotti K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

May 27, 2014

Starbucks Bright Sky Blend K-Cups Review

ReviewstarbucksbrightskyblendkcupsIMGP5806

When Starbucks promised to expand their line-up a few months ago, they opted to go different routes and one of those routes was to introduce 2 new Blonde Roast K-Cup flavors which would be sold only at select retailers & various grocery stores. We already reviewed the first flavor, Starbucks Willow/Aria Blend, and today we managed to finally track down the 2nd… Starbucks Bright Sky Blend K-Cups. Will these be any different than the 1st flavor? Let’s find out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Starbucks Bright Sky Blend K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

May 19, 2014

Counting Sheep Coffee Lights Out! Single Cups Review

ReviewcountingsheepcoffeelightsoutsinglecupsIMGP5795

 

When you think of coffee, you usually associate it with something that keeps you awake, right? What if we were to tell you that there’s coffee which can put you to sleep? Before you think we’ve finally gone off the deep end, hear us out. We recently found out about a new startup company named Counting Sheep Coffee. They’re based out of Vancouver BC in Canada and they’ve created the world’s first sleep aid coffee. You’re familiar with the dozens of sleep aid teas on the market and there’s even Celestial Seasonings Sleepytime Herbal Tea K-Cups & Vue Packs which have been out for years. We’ve never seen (until now) a coffee which supposedly does the same trick. The company recently gained fame when they appeared on Dragon’s Den* (the Canadian predecessor to ABC’s Shark Tank). We were a bit surprised to learn that the deal didn’t close* after the show aired, but it doesn’t seem to have hindered sales since our local Bed Bath & Beyond was almost sold-out when we visited.

ArrowContinue reading: "Counting Sheep Coffee Lights Out! Single Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

May 12, 2014

Nespresso VertuoLine Single Serve Coffee and Espresso Maker Review

Vertuo experience about machine

We really love single serve coffee so, when we found out Nespresso was jumping into the dual coffee and espresso wagon we we’re beyond excited. Sure we love a cup of espresso, but we often like a shot of espresso in our single serve cup of coffee. The Nespresso VertuoLine Single Serve Coffee and Espresso Maker is the first Nespresso machine that makes a great cup of coffee or espresso. Each capsule is perfectly measured so that you get a uniformed brew each and every time, and when you put an espresso capsule in the Vertuo it will make espresso. If you use a larger coffee capsule it will make a larger cup of coffee.

ArrowContinue reading: "Nespresso VertuoLine Single Serve Coffee and Espresso Maker Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

May 5, 2014

Tetley Orange Pekoe Tea T-Discs Review

Reviewtetleyorangepekoeteatdiscs discs

Canada recently experience something it hadn’t seen for quite a while in the retail scene… a deluge of new T-Disc flavors for the Tassimo system. Today we take a look at the 1st of 2 new flavors that were introduced, namely the Tetley Orange Pekoe Tea T-Discs.

Tetley got its start as a tea merchant business founded in Yorkshire, England back in 1837 by brothers Joseph & Edward Tetley. They later relocated to London and by 1953, the company became the first to sell their tea in tea-bag format in the UK. Fast forward to present day and Tetley is now owned by Tata Global Beverages of India, the 2nd largest tea-producing company world-wide. This has ensured that Tetley has become a household name in many countries.

ArrowContinue reading: "Tetley Orange Pekoe Tea T-Discs Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 28, 2014

ECS Coffee Maple Cinnamon French Toast Decaf Single Cups Review

ReviewecscoffeemaplecinnamonfrenchtoastdecafsingleIMGP5783

We all know that folks who enjoy decaf coffees (or those who are required to drink it due to caffeine sensitivity/headaches) are unfortunately a target demographic which has been ignored for far too long. Just because you can drink regular coffee doesn't mean you should have to suffer with bland offerings and unflavored choices. Well, our friends at ECS Coffee Inc. thought so as well and decided to fix the problem with the first specialty flavored DECAF Single Cup on the market. They even created their own cheeky commercial for the flavor (check the video at the bottom of the product page on their site, link at end of review)

Sure, there may be a few flavored decafs on the market, but they're mostly staple flavors like French Vanilla or Hazelnut... they're ok, but... well, kind of meh. Where's the sense of adventure? Where's the innovative combination of various flavors? Why aren't limited edition K-Cups also sold in decaf versions? How about Maple Cinnamon French Toast? Is that adventurous enough of a decaf flavor for ya? Now that we've got your attention, let's put this flavor through its paces and see if ECS have created something worthy of celebration for decaf fans.

ArrowContinue reading: "ECS Coffee Maple Cinnamon French Toast Decaf Single Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

April 22, 2014

Folgers Gourmet Selections French Roast K-Cups Review

ReviewfolgersgourmetselectionsfrenchroastkcupsIMGP5773

It’s been a while since we’ve seen any new K-Cups from Folgers, so we were caught a bit off guard recently when when stumbled across this new flavor on Keurig’s site a few days ago. While it may not be a flavored variety this time around and while it may seem a bit redundant given their Black Silk flavor is already a pretty strong dark roast coffee, we were curious to see what these new Folgers Gourmet Selections French Roast K-Cups would be like. Let’s find out.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in strong smoky hickory notes with some very mild peppery notes lurking underneath. Oddly enough though, aroma didn’t seem as strong as what we’re used to with typical French Roast coffees. This carried through in the flavor as we also got smoky notes up front blended with dark cocoa and some faint citrus notes as things faded into a peppery finish near the end of each sip. It’s been a while since we had the Black Silk K-Cups but we’re a bit surprised that this flavor is turning out to be a bit lighter than that. Definitely not what we were expecting. Give us a second while we check the packaging again… nope, it says French Roast. Hmmm… strange.

ArrowContinue reading: "Folgers Gourmet Selections French Roast K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 10, 2014

Nespresso Lattissima Pro from De'Longhi - One-touch Cappuccino and Latte Review

 

Lattissima pro 2014

If you've been searching for a quality latte, espresso and cappuccino maker, you couldn't get any better than the De'Longhi's Lattissima Pro. This amazing machine comes with tons of features packed into a sturdy design that has very little plastic to it. With a stainless steel frame and the ability to make custom or automatic drinks with the press of a button, you'll be under the impression that you're drinking a barista made drink every time.

ArrowContinue reading: "Nespresso Lattissima Pro from De'Longhi - One-touch Cappuccino and Latte Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 7, 2014

Nabob Bold Midnight Eclipse T-Discs for Tassimo Review

ReviewnabobboldmidnighteclipsetdiscsIMGP5755

Named after a lunar eclipse, Nabob intended for this coffee to be as dark and mysterious as its lunar namesake and while we won’t throw in as much of a kitsch factor as they decided to, we’ll admit that this particular flavor piqued our curiosity after we read that the regular ground coffee version won the 2012 International Taste & Quality Institute’s Superior Taste Award (then again, their Gastown Grind flavor also won the same award last year in 2013 and we rather enjoyed its T-Disc version). Today we continue our Nabob Bold series reviews by checking out their Nabob Bold Midnight Eclipse T-Discs. Lets see if this flavor performs as well as the hype that surrounds it. 

ArrowContinue reading: "Nabob Bold Midnight Eclipse T-Discs for Tassimo Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
elizabeth : my k cup Cuisinart leaks water read more
Scott Glenn: My Keurig 2.0 brewer will finally be as good as read more
AO: The name of the company is actually Grindmaster. Or more read more
Fred: Actually a company called Grandmaster just came out with a read more
Linda Neal: i have the Keurig B130 and i would like to read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy