May 5, 2014

Tetley Orange Pekoe Tea T-Discs Review

Reviewtetleyorangepekoeteatdiscs discs

Canada recently experience something it hadn’t seen for quite a while in the retail scene… a deluge of new T-Disc flavors for the Tassimo system. Today we take a look at the 1st of 2 new flavors that were introduced, namely the Tetley Orange Pekoe Tea T-Discs.

Tetley got its start as a tea merchant business founded in Yorkshire, England back in 1837 by brothers Joseph & Edward Tetley. They later relocated to London and by 1953, the company became the first to sell their tea in tea-bag format in the UK. Fast forward to present day and Tetley is now owned by Tata Global Beverages of India, the 2nd largest tea-producing company world-wide. This has ensured that Tetley has become a household name in many countries.

ArrowContinue reading: "Tetley Orange Pekoe Tea T-Discs Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 28, 2014

ECS Coffee Maple Cinnamon French Toast Decaf Single Cups Review

ReviewecscoffeemaplecinnamonfrenchtoastdecafsingleIMGP5783

We all know that folks who enjoy decaf coffees (or those who are required to drink it due to caffeine sensitivity/headaches) are unfortunately a target demographic which has been ignored for far too long. Just because you can drink regular coffee doesn't mean you should have to suffer with bland offerings and unflavored choices. Well, our friends at ECS Coffee Inc. thought so as well and decided to fix the problem with the first specialty flavored DECAF Single Cup on the market. They even created their own cheeky commercial for the flavor (check the video at the bottom of the product page on their site, link at end of review)

Sure, there may be a few flavored decafs on the market, but they're mostly staple flavors like French Vanilla or Hazelnut... they're ok, but... well, kind of meh. Where's the sense of adventure? Where's the innovative combination of various flavors? Why aren't limited edition K-Cups also sold in decaf versions? How about Maple Cinnamon French Toast? Is that adventurous enough of a decaf flavor for ya? Now that we've got your attention, let's put this flavor through its paces and see if ECS have created something worthy of celebration for decaf fans.

ArrowContinue reading: "ECS Coffee Maple Cinnamon French Toast Decaf Single Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

April 22, 2014

Folgers Gourmet Selections French Roast K-Cups Review

ReviewfolgersgourmetselectionsfrenchroastkcupsIMGP5773

It’s been a while since we’ve seen any new K-Cups from Folgers, so we were caught a bit off guard recently when when stumbled across this new flavor on Keurig’s site a few days ago. While it may not be a flavored variety this time around and while it may seem a bit redundant given their Black Silk flavor is already a pretty strong dark roast coffee, we were curious to see what these new Folgers Gourmet Selections French Roast K-Cups would be like. Let’s find out.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in strong smoky hickory notes with some very mild peppery notes lurking underneath. Oddly enough though, aroma didn’t seem as strong as what we’re used to with typical French Roast coffees. This carried through in the flavor as we also got smoky notes up front blended with dark cocoa and some faint citrus notes as things faded into a peppery finish near the end of each sip. It’s been a while since we had the Black Silk K-Cups but we’re a bit surprised that this flavor is turning out to be a bit lighter than that. Definitely not what we were expecting. Give us a second while we check the packaging again… nope, it says French Roast. Hmmm… strange.

ArrowContinue reading: "Folgers Gourmet Selections French Roast K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 10, 2014

Nespresso Lattissima Pro from De'Longhi - One-touch Cappuccino and Latte Review

 

Lattissima pro 2014

If you've been searching for a quality latte, espresso and cappuccino maker, you couldn't get any better than the De'Longhi's Lattissima Pro. This amazing machine comes with tons of features packed into a sturdy design that has very little plastic to it. With a stainless steel frame and the ability to make custom or automatic drinks with the press of a button, you'll be under the impression that you're drinking a barista made drink every time.

ArrowContinue reading: "Nespresso Lattissima Pro from De'Longhi - One-touch Cappuccino and Latte Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 7, 2014

Nabob Bold Midnight Eclipse T-Discs for Tassimo Review

ReviewnabobboldmidnighteclipsetdiscsIMGP5755

Named after a lunar eclipse, Nabob intended for this coffee to be as dark and mysterious as its lunar namesake and while we won’t throw in as much of a kitsch factor as they decided to, we’ll admit that this particular flavor piqued our curiosity after we read that the regular ground coffee version won the 2012 International Taste & Quality Institute’s Superior Taste Award (then again, their Gastown Grind flavor also won the same award last year in 2013 and we rather enjoyed its T-Disc version). Today we continue our Nabob Bold series reviews by checking out their Nabob Bold Midnight Eclipse T-Discs. Lets see if this flavor performs as well as the hype that surrounds it. 

ArrowContinue reading: "Nabob Bold Midnight Eclipse T-Discs for Tassimo Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

March 31, 2014

Nabob Bold Gastown Grind T-Discs Review

ReviewnabobboldgastowngrindtdiscsIMGP5742

While some folks would argue that Tassimo machines seem to be more popular north of the border in Canada, that wasn’t always the case. For the longest time, the T-Disc brands/flavors on shelves up there was a pathetic smattering at best. While American Tassimo users got to enjoy the ability to import select European T-Discs via the TassimoDirect.com website, the ability to do this on the Tassimo.ca site was greatly reduced. It appears Kraft has tried to even things out over the past few years, but they’ve unfortunately done so by removing most of the European T-Disc flavors from both sites and geoblocking them within their own respective countries instead while opting to let a few cross the pond only when they feel like doing so. Fans complained and while Kraft decided they’d keep enforcing their geoblocking policies, they did push out a compromise which (while not ideal) seemed acceptable: release new flavors within each country. 

ArrowContinue reading: "Nabob Bold Gastown Grind T-Discs Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

March 24, 2014

Dunkin Donuts Peppermint Mocha K-Cups Review

 

ReviewdunkindonutspeppermintmochakcupsIMGP5716

With major donut shop chains such as Krispy Kreme entering the K-Cup scene in recent months, we decided we’d check in on America’s largest and one of the first to create licensed Keurig Brewed K-Cups… Dunkin Donuts. We haven’t seen too many new K-Cup flavors as they seem focused on creating new varieties mainly in their ground coffee format sold through various grocery stores across the nation, so when we saw they released their new Peppermint Mocha K-Cups a few months ago, we decided to grab a box and check things out. We thought their regular Mocha K-Cups weren’t too bad, so lets see what the addition of peppermint does to the mix.

ArrowContinue reading: "Dunkin Donuts Peppermint Mocha K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 10, 2014

Gevalia Cappuccino Single Cups for K-Cup Brewers Review

ReviewgevaliacappuccinosinglecupsIMGP5638

 

We were surprised to see Gevalia introduce frothy drinks for Keurig K-Cup brewers when we checked out their Gevalia Mocha Latte Single Cups recently and we enjoyed the results so much that we decided to try the next flavor in their frothy line-up... Gevalia Cappuccino Single Cups. Once again, the froth is achieved via a 2-step process where you dump froth mix powder into the cup, then brew an espresso Single Cup over the top of it. The blending of both creates a chemical reaction which results in bubbly froth being produced. Stir the final cup once done brewing and you get an impressively thick froth layer on top. Will these cappuccino Single Cups be as good as the Mocha Latte Single Cups turned out to be? Let's find out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Gevalia Cappuccino Single Cups for K-Cup Brewers Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 4, 2014

Lipton Soothe Smooth Green Tea K-Cups Review

IMGP5529 green tea

In what seems to be a never-ending quest for Keurig to secure just about every major coffee & tea brand on the market, they’ve managed to secure yet another one this year and it’s a big one. We’re talking about the partnership between Keurig and Lipton Teas to produce Liption Tea K-Cups. We heard news that Tetley would release K-Cups around the same time as their T-Disc releases, but that never materialized, so on a rare trip to a local Wal-Mart (we can already hear some Tar-jay fans getting nauseated at the thought) we couldn’t resist to pick-up a box of the only Lipton flavor they had available… Lipton Soothe Smooth Green Tea K-Cups.

ArrowContinue reading: "Lipton Soothe Smooth Green Tea K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

March 3, 2014

Starbucks Willow/Aria Blend K-Cups Review

 

ReviewstarbuckswillowariablendkcupsIMGP5693

It’s been a while since we’ve seen any new K-Cups from Starbucks, but they did promise to expand their line-up and this appears to be the case as new flavors have started popping up on store shelves recently. All aimed at promoting the Blonde Roast (Starbucks’ lightest roast level), the newest flavor to appear is what we’re checking out today and it is also billed as thelightest of the blonde roast series: Starbucks Willow Blend K-Cups. You’re probably wondering what’s up with the Willow/Aria Blend review title, but more on that later.

ArrowContinue reading: "Starbucks Willow/Aria Blend K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Thomas Davie: That's a pretty crap response on their part. What are read more
constance rogers: I just purchased the Costco Pacific Blend because in reading read more
Irv S: We've got a Starbucks 10 pack that has the Black read more
Geo: the 2.0 will brew other k cups. Take the foil read more
Holly: I was able to get around this by taking a read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy