January 29, 2010

Review: MyPressi Twist Portable Single Serve Espresso and Coffee Maker

Review Single Serve Coffee 41+TxTZ-yML._SL500_AA280_.jpg

Portable and easy to use espresso machines are all the rage, and the MyPressi Twist is the latest in this growing category of single serve coffee and espresso. The folks behind MyPressi Twist lent us one for just over a week to try and use for this review. It's very much like the Handpresso, except it uses N02 cartridges instead of a built in pump. We've been big users of our Handpresso over the past year, and having seen the MyPressi was hoping for an improvement over the Handpresso or perhaps something different that it would offer. What did we find?

SDC11028.jpg
The MyPressi is on the left and the Handpresso is on the right.
The MyPressi is much heavier and larger.

What we found compared to the Handpresso is a much more complicated device that essentially does the same job. There are 5x the amount of parts and things to make the same shot of espresso and the Handpresso is much lighter and more environmentally friendly requiring only a little muscle to pump it versus using NO2 cartridges in the MyPressi Twist - but more on that later.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: MyPressi Twist Portable Single Serve Espresso and Coffee Maker"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

January 15, 2010

Review: EZ-Cup for Keurig Single-Cup Machines - Make Your Own K-Cups and Use Your Own Coffee

Review Single Serve Coffeeezcupsystem.jpg

The EZ-Cup and EZ-Cup Filters allow you to make refillable K-Cups with a filter sleeve that fits inside the EZ-Cup, and then fits into the brewing slot in your Keurig Brewer. Unlike the Perfect Pod Holster which allows you to use coffee pods in your Keurig brewer, the EZ-Cup allows you to use any ground coffee in your Keurig Brewer.

IMG_8331.jpg
The EZ-Cup filter paper.

Update: Many readers have written in asking if you could use your Perfect Pod Holster with the filters. We have tried this and the spring inside the two different products is well - different. The Perfect Pod Holster has a very strong longer spring and the EZ-Cups is shorter to make room for the filter sleeve. We recommend buying the EZ-Cup and not trying to make the Perfect Pod Holster work. We did not get good results if we used the Perfect Pod Holster - it's for coffee pods not for use with the new EZ-Cup filter sleeve.

It's different from the My K-Cup reuseable K-Cup because you don't have to wash out a filter basket, after you're done filling the EZ-Cup and brewing, you simple open the top and pop out the spent filter basket made of paper. This makes disposing of the coffee grounds really easy, and the entire popped out coffee filter and coffee are able to be composted.

We've had the EZ-Cup now for a few weeks thanks to the folks at As Seen on TV Products sending us one to review, and we have tried a variety of coffee grounds with various success - all of the coffee produced being really quite good. We find the darker finer ground roasts to be our favorites.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: EZ-Cup for Keurig Single-Cup Machines - Make Your Own K-Cups and Use Your Own Coffee"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (25) | social bookmarking

January 8, 2010

Review: Nespresso CitiZ Automatic Espresso Maker and Milk Frother

Review Single Serve Coffeenespresso_citiz_frothercombo.jpg

Nespresso has continued to expand it's single serve espresso and coffee offerings this year with the CitiZ line, and we're kind enough to send us along a test unit to review here at Single Serve Coffee. CitiZ Nespresso machines are sleek and have modern colors along with exceptional design lines that enhance not only your kitchen, but your coffee morning. We reviewed the CitiZ stand alone machine earlier this year, and we we're impressed. How much does the milk frother add to the equation and footprint?


SDC11013.jpg

We think if you're going to be using the Aeroccino a ton for making lattes and cappuccinos, having it integrated with the machine gives you a larger footprint, but the aesthetic is killer. It was hard to let this one go off the test kitchen counter, and the powder coated black frother blends nicely into the landscape of the coffee base.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nespresso CitiZ Automatic Espresso Maker and Milk Frother"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

December 21, 2009

Review: Van Houtte Winter Blend K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP3714.JPG

Van Houtte decided to follow-up their Pink Ribbon K-Cups with another unflavored variety, this time it's their Winter Blend K-Cups which were recently released last month. Billed as a "rich and flavorful blend, with intense woodsy notes and subtle acidity", we decided to give this flavor a try and purchased a box during a recent trip to Tweed & Hickory for the purposes of this review.

Upon brewing, we noticed typical earthy Arabica aromas common with a medium roast & a quick glance at the packaging confirmed this was indeed a medium roast. As noted earlier, this is not a flavored coffee nor is it considered a single origin. Flavor was more on the smoky/hickory side (maybe that's what they meant by "woodsy"?) and we couldn't help but imagine brewing a pot of this stuff over a campfire.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte Winter Blend K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 17, 2009

Review: Van Houtte Candy Cane K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve Coffee

IMGP3709.JPG

Van Houtte is back in the flavored K-Cup market with a rather unique entry for the Holidays... candy cane. Yes, you read that correctly. On a recent trip to a local Tweed & Hickory store, we decided to purchase a box of Van Houtte Candy Cane K-Cups for the purpose of this review (although we have to admit, our curiosity was the main reason of purchase)

Upon brewing, you get a scent of peppermint and oddly enough, hints of chocolate. Flavor is definitely "minty" & even lingers throughout the finish while hints of chocolate are again present in the taste. We won't exactly call this a bold blend, but rather more like a medium roast which was left in the roaster a bit too long. We found the experience rather surprising as the minty sensation made it feel like we had just munched on some candy canes after each sip. Some people might be put off by this, but we found it was a rather cool feature, literally. Bonus points to Van Houtte for making this coffee somewhat "feel" like you're eating actual candy canes.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte Candy Cane K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

December 16, 2009

Review: Nespresso Variations 2009 Ginger, Apricot, and Chesnut Cream Coffee Capsules

Review Single Serve CoffeeVariations_2009_Collection.jpg

As Nespresso Club members are aware, each year around this time marks the release of 3 flavored espresso varieties known as the Nespresso "Variations" collection. These flavors are available for a limited time only and once Nespresso stops selling them, that's it... they're gone until further notice, sometimes never to be seen again. So we decided to order a bunch this year, and try and review them before they're gone.

This year's flavors are apricot, chestnut cream & gingerbread. The coffee base for each flavor is the Livanto capsule which ranks in at a strength of 6 on the packaging sleeves. We have to admit, we went into this order thinking that we'd only love 1 flavor while hating another & "maybe" liking the 3rd. Little did we know how surprised we'd be by what would emerge as our favorite & least favorite flavors of the bunch.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nespresso Variations 2009 Ginger, Apricot, and Chesnut Cream Coffee Capsules"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

December 8, 2009

Review: Indian Mysore Coffee Pods from The Coffee Artisan

Review Single Serve Coffee IMG_1927.JPG

In August the Coffee Artisan launched its own house brand of premium 10-gram coffee pods, and we have to say we're impressed. Owner Chad Elliott has gone to great lengths to use high-quality beans roasted in small batches so as to showcase the unique character of each variety. The full line-up includes an Italian Roast blend, the Dark Side, along with excellent and affordably priced 100% Kona and Jamaican Blue Mountain light roasts, but we'll save those for future posts. To begin with, we'd like to focus on the more exotic single-origin coffees that Chad has brought to market, in particular the Coffee Artisan's Indian Mysore pod.

Indian coffee is not well-known in the U.S. Nevertheless, coffee has been grown in India since the 17th century, when it was imported from Yemen. The beans used in the Coffee Artisan's Indian Mysore pods are 100% Arabica, harvested in the Mysore district of Karnataka state in southern India, and almost certainly wet-processed. Generally speaking, Indian coffees are often described as having "pronounced body, low acidity, and subtle spicy notes" (e.g.). The official description of this pod hits similar notes: "Exceptionally well balanced with moderate acidity, full body, and a fruity-nutty flavor."

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Indian Mysore Coffee Pods from The Coffee Artisan"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 4, 2009

Review: Tassimo T65 Single Serve Coffee Maker - T-Disc Brewer

Review Single Serve Coffee

tassimot65brewerreview.jpg

Tassimo has launched a new Tassimo T65 Single Serve Coffee Maker that features a new Multilingual LC display. The multi-lingual display will help Tassimo launch into new and existing markets without the need to localize the machines for each market thus saving money. There's also a new set of lights for cup stand illumination.

SDC10933.jpg

The illuminated cup stand of the Tassimo T65 Brewer.

After a few weeks with this Tassimo model what stands out? Is it a better brewer overall? We have to say the addition of the illuminated cup stand and the LCD display does set this brewer apart but at a cost.

Update: Tassimo is now calling this system a "brewbot". What's a brew bot? The Brewbot (BROO·bot) is an advanced brewing machine programmed to make over seven different varieties of beverages. Brewbots can create coffees, lattes, cappuccinos, espressos, hot chocolates and coffee cremas all at the touch of a button. a.k.a. Roboticus Brewtus. The machines are the same as earlier Tassimo Bosch models above but being marketed as brewbots.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Tassimo T65 Single Serve Coffee Maker - T-Disc Brewer"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (12) | social bookmarking

November 23, 2009

Review: Van Houtte Pink Ribbon K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP3689.JPG

Van Houtte recently decided to promote breast cancer research & awareness by releasing their new Pink Ribbon K-Cups. Billed as a medium roast "with good acidity, slight floral flavor & no bitterness", Van Houtte goes on to note that all funds raised through the purchase of these K-Cups will go towards their goal of donating $50,000 per year to breast cancer research. Logos in promotional material have even been redesigned to replace Van Houtte's white ribbon with a flowing pink ribbon design.

We decided to support the cause & purchase a box for the purpose of this review from a local Van Houtte supplier and although we're sure most coffee roasters have some sort of charity donation program in place, this is the first time in recent memory we've noticed a K-Cup dedicated solely for this purpose. Hats off to Van Houtte for taking this initiative.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte Pink Ribbon K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 11, 2009

Review: Timothy's Winter Carnival K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP3312.jpg

We recently dug through our K-Cup stash and decided to revisit some Pumpkin Spice K-Cups we had left-over from a previous season, so we figured why not review another seasonal K-Cup which has been hiding in our ever-growing repertoire? This time around, it's Timothy's Winter Carnival K-Cups which grabbed our attention. We purchased these K-Cups for our own review purposes last season during a trip to Tweed & Hickory, and since Timothy's has yet to officially announce this flavor's re-launch this year, we decided to review what we had on-hand.

Upon brewing, you're greeted with a refreshing aroma of maple syrup and butter toffee which lingers in the room. Tasting notes yielded hints of caramel as well and had us wishing we hadn't ravaged our Spring supply of maple candies earlier this year. We can only imagine this coffee + a slice of maple butter pie would be nothing short of pure bliss. Please pardon us as our minds wander for a bit... mmm, maple butter pie (insert Homer Simpson drooling sound here). Timothy's also notes some "custard notes" in the flavoring, but we didn't really notice any during our tests.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Timothy's Winter Carnival K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
AO: The Aeropress was my best single serve maker purchase ever!It read more
Thomas Davie: I'll always have 2 cups n the morning at home read more
Heather: I've used my frother for a few years now with read more
Joe Bacon: Jay, I bought the VertuoLine and Aeroccino yesterday based on read more
Todd E.: It's nice to see a green option in K-Cups. read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy