November 5, 2009

Review: Senseo 10 Percent Kona Coffee Blend Pods

Review Single Serve Coffee senseo_kona_pods.jpg

Senseo was kind enough to send over a sample bag of their new 10% Kona Coffee Blend coffee pods to review, and we're glad they did. We've been anticipating how good these coffee pods would and could be, and are pleased to say up front - pretty darn good (think Larry David saying that). Kona Coffee tends to be milder and easier on the stomach and palette, and the 10% Kona Coffee blend coffee pods are no exception.

SDC10916.jpg

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Senseo 10 Percent Kona Coffee Blend Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

October 26, 2009

Review: Jacobs Monarch T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP3521.jpg

We’ve been sampling some of the European T-Discs which started appearing on www.tassimo.com these past few months and decided to continue our tour of Europe with one of Austria’s preferred brands of coffee: Jacobs. As a result, today we’ll be reviewing the new Jacobs Monarch T-Discs which you’ll see are not that different from their previous Kroenung T-Discs.

Upon brewing, faint hints of caramel start to emerge from your typical aroma of medium-roasted Arabica beans. Billed as having an irresistible “verwohnaroma” (aroma) with “citrusy notes”, we can’t say we found any of that present except for the taste which had the characteristics of your average medium roast with the exception of the faintest caramel notes and, we could be mistaken here, perhaps a tiny hint of lemon as well. It seems most European T-Discs have profiles that are becoming more and more identical, so we had a bit of a difficult time differentiating this T-Disc from its Kroenung counterpart or other competitors such as Kenco’s medium roast and Carte Noire’s Petit Dejeuner had it not been for some key factors such as acidity and aroma.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Jacobs Monarch T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 12, 2009

Review: Timothy's Kahlua Original K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve Coffee

IMGP3675.jpg

A sector which had only casually been explored in the past by other manufacturers has now seen full-fledged acceptance in the single serve coffee scene with the introduction of Timothy's Kahlua Original K-Cups. The sector in question is of course liquor-flavored coffees and this marks the first time a brand-name liquor flavor is introduced on the K-Cup market (previous versions only alluded to the brand, but never had its logo displayed). Seeing as how Kahlua is coffee-flavored liquor, it only makes sense to add it to coffee itself. For those of you who are still wondering, no... there's no alcohol content in this product.

Timothy's was kind enough to send us these K-Cups for our review, but despite them describing this as a K-Cup that combines "delicious notes of rum, vanilla and caramel", we were hard pressed to find any presence of vanilla and only noticed faint traces of rum in the aroma. It reminded us somewhat of Kahlua's scent, but the one note which stuck out above all else was the strong & unexpected scent of toffee. It filled the room and was quite pleasant. The same could be said of the taste which once again, yielded strong toffee & caramel flavors rather than the namesake taste of Kahlua coffee liquor.

ArrowContinue reading: " Review: Timothy's Kahlua Original K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

October 2, 2009

Review: Van Houtte Macadamia Nut K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP3664.jpg

We've been going through quite a few flavors in Van Houtte's flavored K-Cup line-up the past few weeks and decided it was time to review their Macadamia Nut K-Cups. A quick look at the Wikipedia entry reveals that macadamias are native mostly to Eastern Australia, an area which is typically warm year-round. As a result, we figured we'd take one last shot at something which reminded us of warmer climates before Summer completely fades away & the cool chilly nights of Fall start to appear.

Upon brewing, an exotic scent of macadamias along with hints of coconut & hazelnut filled the room. Taste was on-par with aroma as we immediately noticed macadamia nut flavoring throughout although there were still notes of hazelnut lingering underneath. Come to think of it, the taste of macadamias & hazelnuts aren't too different to begin with, so perhaps it wouldn't be too far of a stretch to wonder if Van Houtte modified their basic hazelnut flavoring in order to create this more exotic variety. Regardless, they succeeded in achieving the namesake flavor and the results are rather good.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Van Houtte Macadamia Nut K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 25, 2009

Review: Carte Noire Kenya T-Discs for Tassimo

IMGP3522.jpg

As we've reported in the past, Carte Noire is quickly becoming one of France's preferred coffee brands and have always sourced the finest Arabica beans available worldwide. They also produce our 2nd favorite espresso T-Disc, so when we heard they were starting to introduce various single-origin flavors in Europe, we quickly ordered their Carte Noire Kenya T-Discs... the first one available "ce côté de l'étang" (this side of the pond) as the French would say.

Upon brewing, we were greeted with a unique mix of aromas which included predominantly dark chocolate with faint hints of molasses (what is it with coffee companies and dark chocolate lately?). The taste was just as unexpected with notes of what can only be described as bittersweet Baker's dark chocolate that contained at least 80% cocoa. Wow, talk about "exotic"... this caught us off guard and left our taste buds rather confused.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Carte Noire Kenya T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 14, 2009

Review: Bellaccino Blueberry Cobbler Extra Bold K-Cups from Tully's

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP3612.jpg

As was reported in the past, Tully’s was acquired by Green Mountain Coffee Roasters and in the process, Green Mountain also obtained any other brands which were under Tully’s lineup. One of these brands was Bellaccino which Tully’s had introduced last year. Unfortunately, Green Mountain decided to discontinue the brand a few months ago in an effort to “replace slow sellers”. We’ve yet to see a decent selection of flavored extra-bolds from other manufacturers, so Green Mountain’s decision came as quite the disappointment. We can only hope more flavored extra-bolds are introduced in the future.

We realize that we’re reviewing something which our readers may not be able to easily purchase, however, there may still be some online coffee retailers that still have some back-stock available. As a matter of fact, we noticed Amazon was still selling 2-box packs of this flavor (48 K-Cups total) but at a rather steep price (more on that further below). May this review serve as a guide in your purchasing decision should you decide to go ahead with an order.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Bellaccino Blueberry Cobbler Extra Bold K-Cups from Tully's"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

September 11, 2009

Review: Solobrew - The French Press to Go

Review Single Serve Coffee French-Press-To-Go-hi.jpg

We've seen a lot of portable single serve coffee makers in our time, including the Handpresso, My Pressi Twist, Starbucks Via Mug, and Jetboil for hiking. Well - they're a mixed bag of tricks with some making better coffee than others. We've like the Handpresso so far, but the Handpresso also costs $99+ dollars and requires ESE pods, hot water, and some pumping power in that arm of yours. So along comes the Solobrew - basically a mini-french press that is both portable and disposable after you use the 4 refills it comes with, and we have to say we're impressed.

Step-1234.gif
You can see here - fill with water, insert the plunger, and then steep and plunge.
Totally french press like.

The SoloPress, also known as French Press To-Go is a disposable and refillable single serve French Press (Press Pot). The SoloPress is conveniently pre-packaged with easy to use disposable plunger units, and the SoloPress brews quickly with some preparation and has a bit of a wet mess to clean up. Well - not a huge mess really - just a rather large wet coffee pod like bad that contains the plunger - but if you're brewing coffee - it's acceptable.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Solobrew - The French Press to Go"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

September 4, 2009

Review: Cafe Escapes Milk Chocolate and Dark Chocolate Hot Cocoa K-Cups

Review Single Serve Coffee Milk_Dark_K-Cups.jpg

One of the things that always bugged us about Keurig brewers was the lack of selection when it came to hot chocolate/cocoa choices. We guess our gripes (and yours) have been heard by the powers that be since we recently saw the introduction of the Cafe Escapes hot beverage line-up on the K-Cup scene. A quick look around the Cafe Escapes K-Cups for Keurig website reveals that they've sourced their various ingredients from Europe (the companies/suppliers in question are not named), so this might reveal why these K-Cups appear creamier/richer than what's currently on the market.

Green Mountain Coffee Roasters is distributing this brand, so there shouldn't be any problems getting your hands on a box whenever you so desire. For the purpose of this review, we decided to try the 2 main flavors which are currently available: Milk Chocolate Hot Cocoa and Dark Chocolate Hot Cocoa. We also decided not to bother with our usual scoring system since these are hot cocoa drinks which don't have acidity or some of the other characteristics we base points on. Instead, we'll describe tasting notes and whether or not we recommend these selections or not.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Cafe Escapes Milk Chocolate and Dark Chocolate Hot Cocoa K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

August 27, 2009

Review: Trung Nguyen G7 Instant Coffees & Cappuccinos

Review Single Serve Coffee 3-in-1_Coffee.jpg
The G7 Instant Coffee 3 in 1

It's been a while since we've done a "mega review", so we apologize in advance to our readers if this article seems excessively long. Just keep in mind that we're reviewing over FIVE different products at once. So if you're ok with that, grab a cup (or 2) of your favorite single-serve coffee and read along.

A quick look on Trung Nguyen's website reveals that the company has been around since 1996 (possibly longer) and started off as a small business processing coffee in Ban Me Thuoc city, Vietnam. What was unique at the time was that Vietnam was one of the world's leading coffee producers but only of green, unroasted coffee beans that were sold primarily on the commodity market. This would result in no control over the final coffee quality or overall prices.

Soon afterwards, the company's owners realized the best way to be independent of the world commodity markets was to control every aspect of the growing & processing techniques and follow-through all the way to the final packaged product. They later launched Vietnamese coffee houses throughout Vietnam and a number of other countries. Today, Trung Nguyen is one of the most established, respected and successful producers of branded coffee in Vietnam.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Trung Nguyen G7 Instant Coffees & Cappuccinos"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

August 20, 2009

Review: Green Mountain Pumpkin Spice K-Cups for Keurig

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP3193.jpg

Although we've reviewed it in the past, we decided to revisit what is normally a traditional flavor found around Thanksgiving and decided to try some leftover 2008 Green Mountain Pumpkin Spice K-Cups on a lazy Sunday afternoon while digging around our ever-growing coffee stash. We had second thoughts about drinking a decidedly non-Summer flavor but seeing as how there was nothing good on TV and nothing else to do around the Single Serve Coffee kitchens, we figured why the heck not? The fact that we noticed there was still a few months left before the expiry date also "helped" us in our decision.

Green Mountain will once again make these K-Cups available on September 1st of this year, so unless you've got a stockpile stash like we do, you'll have to wait until then to get some. As with the plethora of pumpkin-flavored coffees on the market each year, familiar scents of pumpkin pie started to emerge during brewing... all-spice, nutmeg & very faint hints of pumpkin were present. The body was medium with a usual brown/amber color.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Green Mountain Pumpkin Spice K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Bill: Incorrect Tom. You don't get 2.0. To Jay Brewer: The read more
Thomas Davie: This granting of Keurig licensed to previously unlicensed (and I'll read more
Jean Smith: I am sorry to report I will no longer byuy read more
AO: I would probably stick to a Java Stout or maybe read more
DAngel: Has anyone tried the new Target Market Pantry Classic coffee read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy