April 7, 2009

Review: Terra Keramik Handcrafted 8oz Coffee Mugs

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewsgreenmug_terra.jpg

One might say it's hard to review a coffee mug, but after using the Terra Keramik Handcrafted 8oz Coffee Mugs for the past week - we think differently. These are not your average coffee mugs as each is handcrafted in Switzerland by Terra Keramik, handpainted, and rimmed with a platinum glaze. The large mug holds 8 ounces and can be used for coffee or tea.This mug is recommended for coffee, espresso-based milk beverages (such as lattes), hot chocolate, and steeping tea directly in the mug.

IMG_7883.jpg
A simply perfect coffee mug. We love the platinum
glaze and bright green color.

What we like is how each mug is characterized by a simple and clean design, and the large mug has beautifully glazed outside and inside surfaces in your choice of eight different colors (ours for the review was bright green). The mugs are also lead-free and cadmium-free glazes for an absolute food-safe finish, as well as dishwasher safe.

You can feel the quality, and workmanship in each mug. The size is just right to grip around the base, or you can pick it up by the ring. We found ourselves feeling like royalty after a week with ours.

At Terra Keramik Handcrafted 8oz Coffee Mugs

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 3, 2009

Review: Nespresso CitiZ Single Serve Coffee and Espresso Maker

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewsnespresso-citiz-machine.jpg

Nespresso was kind of enough to send us the new CitiZ brewer ahead of launch to review. The new Nespresso CitiZ Automatic Espresso Maker range takes its inspiration from the streets - literally - of major cities from around the globe. The colors of well-known focal points and objects, the design and shapes of buildings and landmarks, and the urban vibe and attitude of cities led Nespresso designers to create a new generation of Nespresso machines. The design is not only an improvement in looks but in the footprint of the machine as well. Compared to the Nespresso C100T Essenza - the Nespresso CitiZ takes up much less space in width, and has some new features that make it a standout.

This Nespresso CitiZ machines come in the following designs and feature sets:

  • Nespresso CitiZ - a single-head automatic espresso machine
  • Nespresso CitiZ & Milk - a single-head automatic espresso machine with a built-in fresh milk frother for cappuccinos and lattes
  • Nespresso CitiZ & Co. (not available in North America) - the first-ever double-head machine designed for at-home use

IMG_7843.jpg
The spent capsule storage is improved and see through.

We tested the Nespresso CitiZ single-head automatic single serve coffee and espresso machine for this review in a stunning red case.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nespresso CitiZ Single Serve Coffee and Espresso Maker"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (35) | social bookmarking

March 27, 2009

Review: Green Mountain Fair Trade Wild Mountain Blueberry K-Cups

IMGP3189.jpg

We decided to give some of our old favorites another try as we wait for newer seasonal varieties to arrive, so our first pick was Green Mountain’s Fair Trade Wild Blueberry K-Cups. A quick look on Green Mountain’s website reveals that the company got its start in 1981 when they opened a small café in Waitsfield, Vermont and roasted their coffee on-site. Some of their first commercial clients were restaurants & inns within the area, but shortly thereafter, skiers from neighboring states started asking the café if they could have its coffee shipped to their homes. This growing demand would eventually give birth to the company’s first mail-order business. As of 1993, the company has been publicly traded on NASDAQ and has quickly established itself as one of the nation’s leading specialty coffee companies not to mention the pioneering force partnering behind the introduction of the Keurig single serve coffee system. Today the company also sells many other coffee & tea brands including Newman’s Own, Caribou and Celestial Seasonings.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Green Mountain Fair Trade Wild Mountain Blueberry K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 4, 2009

Review: Paradise Blend Surf's Up Breakfast Blend Certified Organic Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

IMG_7770.jpg

Aloha Island Coffee has something no other coffee pod maker has - Certified Organic Coffee Pods. So if you're looking to make sure there is only natural goodness in your cup of single serve coffee, you're probably going to want to go organic. We've been drinking the Surf's Up Breakfast Blend for the past two weeks each morning, and without cutting to the chase - this is excellent coffee.


IMG_7772.jpg
The coffee pod weighs in at 8 grams.

The Paradise Blend Surf's Up Breakfast Blend Certified Organic Coffee Pods come packed in a 18 count box for $17.99. So expect to pay a little more for your cup of single serve coffee, but the results are worth it. That puts each 8 gram coffee pod at about $1.00 a cup, but as we all know - organic products typically cost a bit more. How does the Surf's Up Breakfast Blend hold up?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Paradise Blend Surf's Up Breakfast Blend Certified Organic Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

February 23, 2009

Review: Nabob Breakfast Blend 12oz T-Discs for Tassimo

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

IMGP2943.jpg

Nabob's latest Tassimo option is their new 12oz Breakfast Blend T-Discs which, according to the packaging, contains more than 30% Rainforest Alliance Certified content... something the company has been trying to achieve with all its discs recently, so hats off to them in that aspect. Any 16oz travel mug or coffee cup/glass should be enough to hold all 12 ounces (we chose a Bodum 16oz Pavina series double-wall glass) and needless to say, we were happy that the Bosch Tassimo didn't leak a small pond of water on the cup stand during the brew cycle (Braun users, we feel your pangs of annoyance as you'll surely be reaching for the paper towels).

Unlike the small variety of "morning blend" 12oz T-discs available on the American market, Canada had yet to see any 12oz discs until now and since Nabob is quickly becoming a top choice amongst coffee drinkers North of the border, we suppose it was only fitting that Nabob be the brand which was chosen to introduce this new size format (although we keep hoping to see a Dunkin Donuts or Tim Hortons disc on the horizon).

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nabob Breakfast Blend 12oz T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

February 4, 2009

Review: Kenco Medium Roast T-Discs for Tassimo

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

kenco.jpg

A quick view of the company's website reveals that Kenco was originally known as the Kenya Coffee Company which got its start in 1921 when they setup a shop in Mayfair (a district in the West end of London). They started selling roast & ground coffee locally from the shop although most of their sales were via mail orders through advertisements in magazines such as Tatler, Country Life and The Times. They would later be bought after the Second World War and diversified into several coffee shops across the UK by Gardiner Merchant, a food merchant company next door to the original shop. The name of the company was later changed to Kenco in 1962 when they stopped acquiring most of their beans from Kenya. The company would go on to change hands many times throughout the coming decades having such owners as Cadbury, Premier Foods and General Mills.

IMGP3061.jpg

Before we start, it should be noted that this variety of T-Disc comes in 2 different types of packaging. Some of the older Braun-style packages still have "Classic Blend" listed as the flavor while newer versions (as well as the current Bosch-style packages) now list "Medium Roast". This had always been a bit confusing since the older packages still listed "Medium Roast" on the foil of each disc and left us wondering if we were getting 2 different kinds of coffees. Well, you can rest assured you're getting the SAME coffee out of either package (despite Kraft still listing "Classic Blend" on their Tassimo site).

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Kenco Medium Roast T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 23, 2009

Review: Cafe Invento Single Serve Coffee Pod Brewer

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews10HK10Mg.jpg

The Cafe Invento is now available in Canada, and the US. You can make one or two delicious cups of coffee with a crema like layer, and the machine does this by using a Multiple podholders, for one or two coffee- or teapods. It has a large removable watertank, for approx. 10 cups of coffee. We are really taken back by the striking design, and found this coffee pod brewer to be unlike any other we've tested.

.IMG_7566.jpg
From the side - the reservoir is very COOL blue.

The Café Invento Single Serve Coffee Pod Maker also features the Tasteselector, allowing you to select your personal coffee taste - be it light, medium, or darker cups of coffee. Best of all - it has an auto-shut off that powers the machine down after approx. 2 hours. Very green.

The really interesting thing about this new unique coffee pod maker - it features a unique material to make cleaning it up a breeze called Protact. Protact has a synthetic layer which is easy to clean and leaves no fingerprints. Developed by Corus, the synthetic layers have a smooth and silky finish. Inventum is the first in the world to use this material in a product or single serve coffee maker.

What do we think of the Cafe Invento? Is it the best single serve coffee pod brewer we've ever used? How does it compare to the Senseo?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Cafe Invento Single Serve Coffee Pod Brewer"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (18) | social bookmarking

January 21, 2009

Review: Emeril's Organic French Quarter Roast K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsIMGP3143.jpg

Distributed by Timothy's World Coffees, Emeril's Organic French Quarter Roast is one of the company's latest offerings in the K-Cup market. As noted in a recent review, Emeril is known mostly for his cooking shows on the Food Network and various food products available at most grocery stores. The coffee scene is a relatively new one for him, but he's quickly gaining recognition amongst Keurig users across the nation.

As usual, we decided to choose the 5.25oz brew size to extract the full flavors of this dark roast using our Keurig brewer. The scent reveals hints of hickory and chocolate while its appearance (when held up to a light source) reveals a surprisingly clear, crimson red tint. This is almost ironic as the French Vanilla BAM! K-Cups we reviewed earlier were a medium roast yet had a much darker color. Maybe this color difference has something to do with this coffee's organic nature? Speaking of which, sometimes it's difficult to tell the difference between organic and non-organic products… certain organic baked goods yield obvious differences in taste while organic fruits & vegetable often times taste identical to their non-organic brethren.

ArrowContinue reading: " Review: Emeril's Organic French Quarter Roast K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

January 7, 2009

Review: Emeril's Vanilla Bean BAM! K-Cups for Keurig

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

IMGP3131.jpg

Distributed by Timothy's World Coffees, Emeril's Vanilla Bean BAM! is one of 2 new Emeril's K-Cup flavors recently introduced to the single serve coffee market (we'll be reviewing Emeril's Organic French Quarter Roast in the coming weeks). Known mostly for his cooking shows on the Food Network and various food products available at most grocery stores, the coffee scene is a relatively new one for Emeril and his goal was to introduce a coffee which stood out among the rest as having a richer, heartier taste & character. This new vanilla flavor marks the first time he's gone with a medium roast vs. his usually darker varieties.

IMGP3133.jpg

We chose the 5.25oz brew size on our Keurig one cup coffee maker to extract the full flavors, and were greeted with a strong French vanilla scent which seemed stronger than any other vanilla K-Cup we'd tried before. As a result, we were expecting a stronger vanilla flavor from this smaller brew size but were surprised at how subdued & mild it was. The sweet taste of vanilla was present but was struggling to balance the sour nature of the acidity. We thought there would have been more "BAM!" (so to speak) in the flavoring overall and it left us wanting to throw in a few dashes of vanilla extract. We understand some people will likely prefer less flavorings in their coffee, but when a product is marketed as "having enough BAM! for Emeril himself", the final result is rather disappointing.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Emeril's Vanilla Bean BAM! K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 5, 2009

Review: Keurig Milk Frother for Single Serve and One Cup Coffee Makers

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewsfrother_hero_ssc.jpg

Up until recently the only other automatic milk frothers were from Nespresso - the Aeroccino and Aeroccino Plus. We love our Aeroccino, but we're also ready to have some more alternatives to milk frothing companions for our single serve coffee. The Keurig Milk Frother is another stand alone frother that you can use with any single serve coffee system, but will make an amazing companion for your Keurig Mini B30, Keurig Elite B40 Brewer, Keurig B50, Keurig Special Edition Ultra Elite B60, Keurig B70 Brewer, Breville BKC600XL Gourmet Single Cup Brewer, and any other Keurig brewer.

IMG_7504.jpg

We've been using the Keurig Milk Frother over the past two weeks, and have to say it's easy to use, clean up, and makes great frothed milk. You'll need only one essential ingredient - great skim milk for frothing. If you want to use other milk fat levels - you won't get great froth, but you will get whipped hot milk. There are two levels as well 150 ml for froth using skim milk, and 250 ml for hot milk. Both of these measure levels are marked inside the frother.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Keurig Milk Frother for Single Serve and One Cup Coffee Makers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (11) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
James: EVIL COMPANY hates the environment and wants to make as read more
Hank: I have been using this machine for 2 months using read more
AO: I just took apart the Keurig we have here at read more
Thomas Davie: Perhaps because there is no need for this? 1) Rip read more
SH: There won't be any issues with "flavor remnants" transferring between read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy