September 8, 2008

Review: Bosch Tassimo Suprema Single Serve Coffee Brewer and Hot Beverage System

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsPicture_tassimobosch_new_review.jpg

The Tassimo Hot beverage system has been out in the US for the past two years, and when it launched was made by Braun. Last year Tassimo decided they needed to update the system, and went with a new partner - Bosch. Even though we really liked the older Braun model, we're glad Bosch got the job. The new Bosch Tassimo is completely redesigned, and the design changes are far reaching. Gone is the annoying loud brewing, the spill back of water after brewing a cup, and the unit heats and brews much faster.

IMG_6921.jpg
The Bosch Tassimo Suprema Hot Beverage system.

Two models of the TASSIMO hot beverage system by Bosch are now available in the U.S. For this review, we tested the TAS4511UC model with an MSRP of $139.99. The TAS4511UC Bosch Tassimo is now available in select specialty and department stores as well as online. There is also a $99.99 Bosch Tassimo that will be available in select grocery and mass merchandise stores. The main difference in the two models is the water reservoir filtration, and aesthetics.

Update: Tassimo is now calling this system a "brewbot". What's a brew bot? The Brewbot (BROO·bot) is an advanced brewing machine programmed to make over seven different varieties of beverages. Brewbots can create coffees, lattes, cappuccinos, espressos, hot chocolates and coffee cremas all at the touch of a button. a.k.a. Roboticus Brewtus. The machines are the same as earlier Tassimo Bosch models above but being marketed as brewbots.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Bosch Tassimo Suprema Single Serve Coffee Brewer and Hot Beverage System"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (48) | social bookmarking

August 4, 2008

Review: Podster - Make Your Own K Cups with Coffee Pods

IMG_5833.jpg
The device is a rivet sleeve, rubber band, and
rivet to puncture the coffee pod.

It's been a long time in coming, but we finally got to spend the last week with a home made device called the "Podster". The Single Serve Coffee Forums have been abuzz with activity over the past year with tales of the Podster, and how it allows you to use coffee pods in your Keurig Elite B40 Brewer, Keurig B50, Keurig Special Edition Ultra Elite B60, Keurig B70 Brewer, Breville BKC600XL Gourmet Single Cup Brewer, and other Keurig K Cup brewers that use the My K- Cup reusable filter.

The Podster is design is very simple, and unlike the Perfect Pod Holster, the Podster requires the the My K- Cup reusable filter. There's also a fair amount of rigging to get everything set in place, but if you do the Podster works great.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Podster - Make Your Own K Cups with Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 23, 2008

Review: Nabob Latte T-Discs for Tassimo

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

IMG_0229.jpg

Our Canadian correspondent S.H. has a another insightful review of Canadian T-Discs for Tassimo...

Nabob uses a combination of their espresso T-Disc (which I recently reviewed) and the usual shelf-stable latte milk creamer T-Disc which is common among most latte varieties such as Maxwell House Latte & Gevalia Latte.

IMG_0238.jpg
You first make a shot of espresso...

The latte milk has a somewhat buttery taste and some may even find it tastes like 2% evaporated milk. Some people hate the taste and claim it's "too chemical" while others enjoy it so much they purchase the discs as stand-alones and use them with other coffee T-Discs or by themselves as a form of warm milk. Personally, I don't dislike the taste but I wish Kraft could improve it somehow. I have yet to sample the European creamer discs which come with the Jacobs or Kenco brands so I'm not sure if those would taste any better or worse.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nabob Latte T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (6) | social bookmarking

June 30, 2008

Review: Nabob Espresso T-Discs for Tassimo

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsIMG_0218.jpg

Our Canadian correspondent S.H. has a another insightful review of Canadian T-Discs for Tassimo...

Nabob has 3 different espresso-based T-Disc flavors on the Canadian market... Espresso, Latte & Cappuccino. The 2 latter varieties both use the same espresso disc I'm reviewing here today with the only difference being the milk discs they include in their packaging. I'll have a review of the Nabob Latte T-Disc soon, but for now I wanted to start off with the most basic of the 3 selections.

One thing which seems to be consistent with Nabob's coffee has been to "expect the unexpected" (maybe they should use that as their new slogan?). Their Café Crema T-Disc surprised me with its mellow taste and bittersweet finish, so much so that I thought it compared well with their 100% Columbian in these regards. I figured to expect the same from their Espresso but once again, I had a unique experience awaiting me.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nabob Espresso T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

June 26, 2008

Review: Keurig Mini B30 K-Cup Single Serve Coffee Maker

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewskeurigminib30brewers.jpg

The Keurig Mini B30 will come in white, black, and red.

Keurig recently introduced the Keurig B130 commercial hotel and office coffee brewer, and we were disappointed it would not be available for consumers to purchase. We are disappointed no longer, as Keurig has revealed the Keurig Mini B30 designed for home and commercial use. The Keurig Mini B30 is very much like the Keurig B130, but it comes in red, black, and white colored casings, and also is My K Cup compatible.

IMG_6227.jpg
We received a red Keurig Mini B30 - can you say hot!

Besides having the smallest footprint of all the Keurig brewers, the Keurig Mini B30 single serve coffee maker is also very quiet. And yes - it's compatible with all K Cup coffees, teas, and other hot beverages including hot cocoa. So are there any issues? Is this brewer priced at $79 for everyone, or should one purchase a larger Keurig brewer?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Keurig Mini B30 K-Cup Single Serve Coffee Maker"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (18) | social bookmarking

June 9, 2008

Review: Fair Trade Organic French Coffee Pods from Baronet Coffee

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewsbaronet_photo.jpg

We received a sleeve of the Baronet's latest coffee pod - Fair Trade Organic French, and we've been drinking this coffee over the past "hot" weekend, both iced and hot. This blend of specialty Fair Trade Organic coffees is dark roasted, and has a smoky flavor with a rich finish. It's also Fair Trade which makes this coffee both sustainable and environmentally friendly.

We fired up our Bunn My Cafe, and found the coffee produced from these coffee pods surprisingly good.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Fair Trade Organic French Coffee Pods from Baronet Coffee"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 28, 2008

Review: Creampad - Make Cappuccinos Using a Coffee Pod Brewer

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewscreampad-middengroot2.jpg

We've been featuring a innovation for coffee pods brewers as of late - the Creampad. The Creampad is a disk allowing you to add milk and then place a coffee pod on top to create a cappuccino using your single serve coffee pod brewer. The Creampad is designed to work with your Senseo single serve coffee pod brewer, but you may try it in any coffee pod brewer that features a double pod holder like the Melitta MES5B Javapod. We did our trials with the original Senseo, and even though the Creampad might work in other brewers, it will work in any Senseo with a double pod holder.

How well does it work? What are the results like when making a cappuccino this way? What coffee pods can you use with the Creampad?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Creampad - Make Cappuccinos Using a Coffee Pod Brewer"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 18, 2008

Review: Timothy's White Hot Chocolate K-Cups for Keurig

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsIMG_5848.jpg

Timothy's Coffees of the World Inc. recently introduced White Hot Chocolate K-Cups for Keurig. This is the first white hot chocolate K-Cup developed for use in Keurig single cup brewing systems, but not the first Hot Cocoa or Hot Chocolate K Cup. Green Mountain introduced Hot Cocoa K Cups last year, and it has been one of the top selling K Cups for the Keurig K Cup brewers.

We have to say we were a bit shocked when Timothy's decided to go the white chocolate route instead of straight up hot chocolate, but the results are very solid. The hot white beverage which looks like whipped milk, is both sweet and interesting.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Timothy's White Hot Chocolate K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

April 8, 2008

Review: Nabob Café Crema T-Discs for Tassimo

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

nabob_crema.jpg

Nabob has been one of Canada's premier coffee companies since being founded in Vancouver, British Columbia in 1896. The brand is very well known among many Canadian coffee drinkers for its unique range of roasts which are made primarily with 100% Arabica beans. Nabob decided to follow most American coffee companies & recently joined the Rainforest Alliance to help maintain environmental, social & economic sustainability for their coffee farmers & workers.

IMG_0187.jpg
Making a cup of the Nabob Café Crema using the Tassimo brewer.

Much like their 100% Columbian, Nabob's Café Crema has a surprisingly light & mellow taste... to the point where it could be considered one of the lightest-tasting cremas available for the Tassimo. Those of you who are hoping for a long-lasting, thick crema cap will be somewhat disappointed as this variety starts off with a very light one which quickly disappears after only a few minutes.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nabob Café Crema T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

April 4, 2008

Review: Brew-Yet Coffee Disc Maker - Make Coffee Pods from Traditional Coffee Filters

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewsbox_image.gif

The Brew-Yet Coffee Disc Maker allows you to make your own coffee pods at home, instead of buying prepackage coffee pods, to brew your favorite coffee or blend of coffees. How does it work? You simply use coffee filters that you would normally use in a drip coffee maker, and with the Brew-Yet gadget, fold up the coffee into coffee pods.

  • Use your own favorite coffee or blends of coffee without having to be restricted to the prepackaged coffee pod varieties
  • Easy clean up - no holder to clean coffee grinds out of - after brewing your favorite blend - just dispose of the Coffee Disc like you do your coffee pods
  • Economical - Coffee Discs are a fraction of the cost of coffee pods

IMG_5811.jpg
You get the disc maker, instructions, and some filter in the
Brew-Yet coffee pod making kit.

How easy is it to use? Does it work in a variety of single serve coffee machines? How does it compare to other do it yourself coffee pod makers?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Brew-Yet Coffee Disc Maker - Make Coffee Pods from Traditional Coffee Filters"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Jamey Hinds: There is nothing beneficial for the consumer with this new read more
Thomas Davie: One of the reasons (or selling points) for me to read more
Thomas Davie: What benefit do I get from the Keurig 2.0 that read more
AO: No thanks. read more
Gary: Hope the new 2.0 machine does not have the troubles read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy