February 12, 2008

Review: Melitta MES5B Javapod Single Serve Coffee Brewer System

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

p742.jpg

There's a new Melitta One:One single serve coffee pod brewer in town - the Melitta MES5B Javapod Single Serve Coffee Brewer System. It's nice to see Melitta join the rest of the single serve coffee pod world, and offer a brewer with a reduced price and the ability to use any 62mm coffee pod. The machine has been totally redesigned from the earlier Melitta One:One - one of the first coffee pod brewers available in the US, and we think many of the choices in the new design are quite good.

IMG_5411.jpg
The box design and machine are more straight forward than the earlier One:One

One of the big changes is the ability to use a single pod or use the double pod holder. Also the electronics are a bit different - with brew sizes in the 5, 8, and 14 oz range. We wish they would have gone with 12 oz - on the 14 oz size it's hard to get a really good cup of single serve coffee, but overall these changes are nice additions. The hidden cord storage is nice, and the overall footprint of the machine is on par with other single serve coffee makers, but a bit narrower.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Melitta MES5B Javapod Single Serve Coffee Brewer System"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (6) | social bookmarking

February 1, 2008

Review: Wicked Winter Blend Extra Bold K Cups for Keurig

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewswickedwinterkcups_review.jpg

We've been sampling the Wicked Winter Blend Extra Bold K Cups for Keurig over the past week. These K Cups are not only extra bold - but extra sweet in flavor and profile. The Wicked Winter Blend Extra Bold K Cup brings together Indonesian coffee with Central and South American beans. The result is a toasty, very caramelly cup with a chocolate body, and an explosion of nutty sweetness in the finish.

What we like? This is Green Mountain's first-ever seasonal coffee offered as an Extra Bold, with 20% more coffee in every K-Cup, and it' Fair Trade too. And you can really taste the difference in each cup.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Wicked Winter Blend Extra Bold K Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 24, 2008

Review: Clover - The Best Single Serve Coffee Machine for Cafés

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewsclover.jpg

Is Clover the best single serve coffee machine? Well - it's certainly the most expensive at just over $11,000, but it really isn't designed for at home use. The Clover makes a single serve cup of coffee using ground coffee beans, and is based around a 4500 watt boiler that can run on 240 volt service. The idea is that an espresso cafe can set these up to run fresh grounds through whenever a customer orders up a coffee, much like how the espresso machine runs. For full details on Clover you can read our earlier article here.

IMG_5522.jpg
Velouria Espresso - home of the Clover in Jamaica Plain, MA

We ventured out to Velouria Espresso in Jamaica Plain, MA to get a cup or two of single serve coffee from the fabled Clover. Our mission was to sample as many coffees we could, before becoming so wired we could barely handle ourselves. Mission accomplished. Because of the unique nature of the Clover single serve coffee machine, Velouria Espresso had a sampler menu of up to 5 different coffees made from the Clover for just $9 bucks. A typical cup of Clover produced coffee will run you around $2.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Clover - The Best Single Serve Coffee Machine for Cafés"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

January 17, 2008

Review: Black Mountain Gold Moka Java Gourmet Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

We're always looking for a very interesting and rich cup of single serve coffee. Recently we've started to go through many of the coffees offered by Black Mountain Gold Coffee. They have some very distinctive flavors - and one we've found is their Black Mountain Gold Moka Java Gourmet Coffee Pods. This coffee uses a mix of peaberry coffee from the island of Java blended with Ethiopian moka beans. The result is a very balanced, and richly flavored cup of single serve coffee.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Black Mountain Gold Moka Java Gourmet Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

January 11, 2008

Review: Fratello El Salvador Limited Edition Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

Limited edition coffee pods come and go, but we will be sorry to see the Fratello El Salavador Limited Edition Coffee Pods leave our pod brewer anytime soon. We've been testing these coffee pods in a variety of coffee pod brewers and the results have been excellent. The Fratello El Salvador coffee pods produce a very medium, but spicey cup of single serve coffee with caramel notes.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Fratello El Salvador Limited Edition Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

December 12, 2007

Review: Starbucks Africa Kitamu T Discs for Tassimo

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

We've had a chance to sample even more of the Starbucks T Discs for the Tassimo Hot Beverage System. We've been really enjoying the four new T Disc coffee blends, and one of the four that we think leads the pack is the Africa Kitamu. Not only is the Africa Kitamu dark and interesting coffee, it has one of the sweetest flavors we've had in a non-flavored coffee in quite some time.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Starbucks Africa Kitamu T Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

November 28, 2007

Review: Starbucks House Blend T Discs for Tassimo

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews


Starbucks coffee is finally available for the Tassimo Hot Beverage System. We've been drinking the four new T Disc coffee blends over the past week, and thought we'd start with the Starbucks House Blend coffee T Discs. We're pretty big fans of Starbucks on the go, so we're pretty familiar with just about any of their coffees, and we've always enjoyed the House Blend and Sumatra blend coffees they've made over the past years.

The Starbucks House Blend coffee T Discs are supposed to taste just like the Starbucks House Blend coffee you'd make in your drip coffee maker or pick up at Starbucks. How good is it? Is it even close to being as good as coffee at Starbucks or coffee produced in a drip coffee maker?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Starbucks House Blend T Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

November 21, 2007

Single Serve Coffee Maker Reviews

We thought we'd roll up all of our single serve coffee maker reviews into one spot so you can do all your single serve coffee machine research in one place. Some of our recently reviewed machines and machines we think are hot include: the Cuisinart SS-1 Cup-O-Matic Single Serve Coffee Maker - Use Coffee Pods or Ground Coffee, the Keurig Platinum B70 K Cup Single-Cup Brewer, the Breville BKC600XL Gourmet Single Cup Brewer - Use K-Cups and Ground Coffee, and the Nespresso Lattissima - One Touch Cappuccinos, Lattes, and Espresso.

One of our must read articles is: Cost Per Single Serve Coffee Cup: Coffee Pods, Keurig K Cups, Tassimo T Discs, and Nespresso Coffee Capsules. This article will give you the background on how each type of single serve coffee maker compares to the cost of owning and operating it.


564027e-1_2.jpg

Coffee Pod Single Serve Coffee Makers



Keurig K-Cup Brewers



Tassimo T-Disc System



Nespresso Capsule Single Serve Coffee Makers

ArrowContinue reading: "Single Serve Coffee Maker Reviews"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 19, 2007

Review: Breville BKC600XL Gourmet Single Cup Brewer - Use K-Cups and Ground Coffee

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsBreville Keurig Bkc600Xl

Breville is widely known for making exceptional small kitchen appliances, and for producing very attractive small appliances. We were very excited to find out that indeed Keurig and Breville had teamed up this year to introduce a high end Keurig brewer designed by Breville. The results are exceptional - a very polished interesting staineless steel design, with Keurig K Cup brewing technology, and all the features you can get in any Keurig machine - including the reuseable My K Cup integrated into the machine allowing you to use your own ground coffee instead of K Cups, and a charcoal water filter in the tank reservoir.

Update: The Breville BKC600XL Gourmet Single Cup Brewer has been updated to the a newer model with ultra-quiet brew technology. The Breville BKC700XL Gourmet Single-Serve Coffeemaker with Iced-Beverage Function is the updated model.

Here are some previous articles to our review to help round out our thoughts and impressions on the Breville BKC600XL Gourmet Single Cup Brewer:

What do we think about this new Breville BKC600XL Gourmet Single Cup Brewer? Do the new features and design justify the price at $299?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Breville BKC600XL Gourmet Single Cup Brewer - Use K-Cups and Ground Coffee"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (57) | social bookmarking

November 14, 2007

Review: Hazelnut Dark Roast Extra Bold K Cups from Green Mountain

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

We're not the biggest flavored coffee drinkers here at Single Serve Coffee, but every once in awhile a flavored coffee comes into our lives and can change our coffee drinking habits. Hazelnut Dark Roast Extra Bold is just such a flavored K Cup coffee.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Hazelnut Dark Roast Extra Bold K Cups from Green Mountain"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Jean Smith: I am sorry to report I will no longer byuy read more
AO: I would probably stick to a Java Stout or maybe read more
DAngel: Has anyone tried the new Target Market Pantry Classic coffee read more
Thomas Davie: I hunted around and read the Cnet review for the read more
AO: I remember reading about this here a couple years ago. read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy