April 18, 2008

Review: Timothy's White Hot Chocolate K-Cups for Keurig

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsIMG_5848.jpg

Timothy's Coffees of the World Inc. recently introduced White Hot Chocolate K-Cups for Keurig. This is the first white hot chocolate K-Cup developed for use in Keurig single cup brewing systems, but not the first Hot Cocoa or Hot Chocolate K Cup. Green Mountain introduced Hot Cocoa K Cups last year, and it has been one of the top selling K Cups for the Keurig K Cup brewers.

We have to say we were a bit shocked when Timothy's decided to go the white chocolate route instead of straight up hot chocolate, but the results are very solid. The hot white beverage which looks like whipped milk, is both sweet and interesting.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Timothy's White Hot Chocolate K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

April 8, 2008

Review: Nabob Café Crema T-Discs for Tassimo

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

nabob_crema.jpg

Nabob has been one of Canada's premier coffee companies since being founded in Vancouver, British Columbia in 1896. The brand is very well known among many Canadian coffee drinkers for its unique range of roasts which are made primarily with 100% Arabica beans. Nabob decided to follow most American coffee companies & recently joined the Rainforest Alliance to help maintain environmental, social & economic sustainability for their coffee farmers & workers.

IMG_0187.jpg
Making a cup of the Nabob Café Crema using the Tassimo brewer.

Much like their 100% Columbian, Nabob's Café Crema has a surprisingly light & mellow taste... to the point where it could be considered one of the lightest-tasting cremas available for the Tassimo. Those of you who are hoping for a long-lasting, thick crema cap will be somewhat disappointed as this variety starts off with a very light one which quickly disappears after only a few minutes.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nabob Café Crema T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

April 4, 2008

Review: Brew-Yet Coffee Disc Maker - Make Coffee Pods from Traditional Coffee Filters

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewsbox_image.gif

The Brew-Yet Coffee Disc Maker allows you to make your own coffee pods at home, instead of buying prepackage coffee pods, to brew your favorite coffee or blend of coffees. How does it work? You simply use coffee filters that you would normally use in a drip coffee maker, and with the Brew-Yet gadget, fold up the coffee into coffee pods.

  • Use your own favorite coffee or blends of coffee without having to be restricted to the prepackaged coffee pod varieties
  • Easy clean up - no holder to clean coffee grinds out of - after brewing your favorite blend - just dispose of the Coffee Disc like you do your coffee pods
  • Economical - Coffee Discs are a fraction of the cost of coffee pods

IMG_5811.jpg
You get the disc maker, instructions, and some filter in the
Brew-Yet coffee pod making kit.

How easy is it to use? Does it work in a variety of single serve coffee machines? How does it compare to other do it yourself coffee pod makers?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Brew-Yet Coffee Disc Maker - Make Coffee Pods from Traditional Coffee Filters"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

March 21, 2008

Review: K Cup Injector for Keurig Brewers - Reuse Your K Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsIMG_5669.jpg
The Handmade K Cup Injector and reused K Cup.

The K Cup Injector allows you to reuse your spent K Cups by refilling them with ground coffee, and then using the K Cup Injector top to seal the K Cup make a cup of single serve coffee. We've been testing out this home-made device for the last week purchased on Ebay, and it works surprisingly well. "Well" however means - a bit of a mess when making a cup of single serve coffee, because with each use you have to clean out coffee grounds, rinse the spent K Cup, and also wash the K Cup Injector.

Now we understand mess for the sake of being a little more eco-friendly, and the K Cup injector does hit the spot. In a way, it's very much like the My K Cup Reusable Coffee Filter, allowing you to just use ground coffee, and now throw out plastic K Cup after plastic K Cup. But there is a price, as we said mess and also cross-contamination of the coffee from the previous cup. Unlike the My K Cup Reusable Coffee Filter, you'll be using the same paper filter with the K Cup, and you'll also have to match the extra-bold K Cup filter or the regular K Cup filter with the grind you want - etc.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: K Cup Injector for Keurig Brewers - Reuse Your K Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

February 19, 2008

Review: Keurig B130 Single Serve Coffee Maker for Hotels and Small Businesses

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

b130brewer.jpg

The Keurig B130 is the most interesting Keurig single serve coffee maker we've reviewed to date. Right up front we want to make sure you know - the Keurig B130 is only available to hotels or similar businesses that want to offer the use of a single cup K Cup brewer to guests, and that's what makes it the most interesting. Getting rid of those terrible small coffee pots in hotels across the country, and having a perfect cup of single serve coffee simple thrills us.

The design is also really interesting. This Keurig brewer is the smallest Keurig available, and the footprint alone makes it perfect for your camp, camping, travel trailer, or at the office on your desk. That's if Keurig ever releases this brewer to the general public and not just hotels.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Keurig B130 Single Serve Coffee Maker for Hotels and Small Businesses"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

February 12, 2008

Review: Melitta MES5B Javapod Single Serve Coffee Brewer System

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

p742.jpg

There's a new Melitta One:One single serve coffee pod brewer in town - the Melitta MES5B Javapod Single Serve Coffee Brewer System. It's nice to see Melitta join the rest of the single serve coffee pod world, and offer a brewer with a reduced price and the ability to use any 62mm coffee pod. The machine has been totally redesigned from the earlier Melitta One:One - one of the first coffee pod brewers available in the US, and we think many of the choices in the new design are quite good.

IMG_5411.jpg
The box design and machine are more straight forward than the earlier One:One

One of the big changes is the ability to use a single pod or use the double pod holder. Also the electronics are a bit different - with brew sizes in the 5, 8, and 14 oz range. We wish they would have gone with 12 oz - on the 14 oz size it's hard to get a really good cup of single serve coffee, but overall these changes are nice additions. The hidden cord storage is nice, and the overall footprint of the machine is on par with other single serve coffee makers, but a bit narrower.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Melitta MES5B Javapod Single Serve Coffee Brewer System"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (6) | social bookmarking

February 1, 2008

Review: Wicked Winter Blend Extra Bold K Cups for Keurig

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewswickedwinterkcups_review.jpg

We've been sampling the Wicked Winter Blend Extra Bold K Cups for Keurig over the past week. These K Cups are not only extra bold - but extra sweet in flavor and profile. The Wicked Winter Blend Extra Bold K Cup brings together Indonesian coffee with Central and South American beans. The result is a toasty, very caramelly cup with a chocolate body, and an explosion of nutty sweetness in the finish.

What we like? This is Green Mountain's first-ever seasonal coffee offered as an Extra Bold, with 20% more coffee in every K-Cup, and it' Fair Trade too. And you can really taste the difference in each cup.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Wicked Winter Blend Extra Bold K Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 24, 2008

Review: Clover - The Best Single Serve Coffee Machine for Cafés

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewsclover.jpg

Is Clover the best single serve coffee machine? Well - it's certainly the most expensive at just over $11,000, but it really isn't designed for at home use. The Clover makes a single serve cup of coffee using ground coffee beans, and is based around a 4500 watt boiler that can run on 240 volt service. The idea is that an espresso cafe can set these up to run fresh grounds through whenever a customer orders up a coffee, much like how the espresso machine runs. For full details on Clover you can read our earlier article here.

IMG_5522.jpg
Velouria Espresso - home of the Clover in Jamaica Plain, MA

We ventured out to Velouria Espresso in Jamaica Plain, MA to get a cup or two of single serve coffee from the fabled Clover. Our mission was to sample as many coffees we could, before becoming so wired we could barely handle ourselves. Mission accomplished. Because of the unique nature of the Clover single serve coffee machine, Velouria Espresso had a sampler menu of up to 5 different coffees made from the Clover for just $9 bucks. A typical cup of Clover produced coffee will run you around $2.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Clover - The Best Single Serve Coffee Machine for Cafés"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

January 17, 2008

Review: Black Mountain Gold Moka Java Gourmet Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

We're always looking for a very interesting and rich cup of single serve coffee. Recently we've started to go through many of the coffees offered by Black Mountain Gold Coffee. They have some very distinctive flavors - and one we've found is their Black Mountain Gold Moka Java Gourmet Coffee Pods. This coffee uses a mix of peaberry coffee from the island of Java blended with Ethiopian moka beans. The result is a very balanced, and richly flavored cup of single serve coffee.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Black Mountain Gold Moka Java Gourmet Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

January 11, 2008

Review: Fratello El Salvador Limited Edition Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

Limited edition coffee pods come and go, but we will be sorry to see the Fratello El Salavador Limited Edition Coffee Pods leave our pod brewer anytime soon. We've been testing these coffee pods in a variety of coffee pod brewers and the results have been excellent. The Fratello El Salvador coffee pods produce a very medium, but spicey cup of single serve coffee with caramel notes.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Fratello El Salvador Limited Edition Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
AO: I use their whole bean Guatemala in my Aeropress. 20 read more
AO: The list of reasons I gave up on Keurig years read more
MTNFUN: Given the DRM I will not upgrade..look at what happened read more
C.Scheets: I recieved the Keurig 2.0 for free from a site, read more
Andy D: EPIC FAIL Keurig! I bought the older version online at read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy