March 21, 2008

Review: K Cup Injector for Keurig Brewers - Reuse Your K Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsIMG_5669.jpg
The Handmade K Cup Injector and reused K Cup.

The K Cup Injector allows you to reuse your spent K Cups by refilling them with ground coffee, and then using the K Cup Injector top to seal the K Cup make a cup of single serve coffee. We've been testing out this home-made device for the last week purchased on Ebay, and it works surprisingly well. "Well" however means - a bit of a mess when making a cup of single serve coffee, because with each use you have to clean out coffee grounds, rinse the spent K Cup, and also wash the K Cup Injector.

Now we understand mess for the sake of being a little more eco-friendly, and the K Cup injector does hit the spot. In a way, it's very much like the My K Cup Reusable Coffee Filter, allowing you to just use ground coffee, and now throw out plastic K Cup after plastic K Cup. But there is a price, as we said mess and also cross-contamination of the coffee from the previous cup. Unlike the My K Cup Reusable Coffee Filter, you'll be using the same paper filter with the K Cup, and you'll also have to match the extra-bold K Cup filter or the regular K Cup filter with the grind you want - etc.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: K Cup Injector for Keurig Brewers - Reuse Your K Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

February 19, 2008

Review: Keurig B130 Single Serve Coffee Maker for Hotels and Small Businesses

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

b130brewer.jpg

The Keurig B130 is the most interesting Keurig single serve coffee maker we've reviewed to date. Right up front we want to make sure you know - the Keurig B130 is only available to hotels or similar businesses that want to offer the use of a single cup K Cup brewer to guests, and that's what makes it the most interesting. Getting rid of those terrible small coffee pots in hotels across the country, and having a perfect cup of single serve coffee simple thrills us.

The design is also really interesting. This Keurig brewer is the smallest Keurig available, and the footprint alone makes it perfect for your camp, camping, travel trailer, or at the office on your desk. That's if Keurig ever releases this brewer to the general public and not just hotels.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Keurig B130 Single Serve Coffee Maker for Hotels and Small Businesses"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

February 12, 2008

Review: Melitta MES5B Javapod Single Serve Coffee Brewer System

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

p742.jpg

There's a new Melitta One:One single serve coffee pod brewer in town - the Melitta MES5B Javapod Single Serve Coffee Brewer System. It's nice to see Melitta join the rest of the single serve coffee pod world, and offer a brewer with a reduced price and the ability to use any 62mm coffee pod. The machine has been totally redesigned from the earlier Melitta One:One - one of the first coffee pod brewers available in the US, and we think many of the choices in the new design are quite good.

IMG_5411.jpg
The box design and machine are more straight forward than the earlier One:One

One of the big changes is the ability to use a single pod or use the double pod holder. Also the electronics are a bit different - with brew sizes in the 5, 8, and 14 oz range. We wish they would have gone with 12 oz - on the 14 oz size it's hard to get a really good cup of single serve coffee, but overall these changes are nice additions. The hidden cord storage is nice, and the overall footprint of the machine is on par with other single serve coffee makers, but a bit narrower.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Melitta MES5B Javapod Single Serve Coffee Brewer System"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (6) | social bookmarking

February 1, 2008

Review: Wicked Winter Blend Extra Bold K Cups for Keurig

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewswickedwinterkcups_review.jpg

We've been sampling the Wicked Winter Blend Extra Bold K Cups for Keurig over the past week. These K Cups are not only extra bold - but extra sweet in flavor and profile. The Wicked Winter Blend Extra Bold K Cup brings together Indonesian coffee with Central and South American beans. The result is a toasty, very caramelly cup with a chocolate body, and an explosion of nutty sweetness in the finish.

What we like? This is Green Mountain's first-ever seasonal coffee offered as an Extra Bold, with 20% more coffee in every K-Cup, and it' Fair Trade too. And you can really taste the difference in each cup.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Wicked Winter Blend Extra Bold K Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 24, 2008

Review: Clover - The Best Single Serve Coffee Machine for Cafés

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewsclover.jpg

Is Clover the best single serve coffee machine? Well - it's certainly the most expensive at just over $11,000, but it really isn't designed for at home use. The Clover makes a single serve cup of coffee using ground coffee beans, and is based around a 4500 watt boiler that can run on 240 volt service. The idea is that an espresso cafe can set these up to run fresh grounds through whenever a customer orders up a coffee, much like how the espresso machine runs. For full details on Clover you can read our earlier article here.

IMG_5522.jpg
Velouria Espresso - home of the Clover in Jamaica Plain, MA

We ventured out to Velouria Espresso in Jamaica Plain, MA to get a cup or two of single serve coffee from the fabled Clover. Our mission was to sample as many coffees we could, before becoming so wired we could barely handle ourselves. Mission accomplished. Because of the unique nature of the Clover single serve coffee machine, Velouria Espresso had a sampler menu of up to 5 different coffees made from the Clover for just $9 bucks. A typical cup of Clover produced coffee will run you around $2.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Clover - The Best Single Serve Coffee Machine for Cafés"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

January 17, 2008

Review: Black Mountain Gold Moka Java Gourmet Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

We're always looking for a very interesting and rich cup of single serve coffee. Recently we've started to go through many of the coffees offered by Black Mountain Gold Coffee. They have some very distinctive flavors - and one we've found is their Black Mountain Gold Moka Java Gourmet Coffee Pods. This coffee uses a mix of peaberry coffee from the island of Java blended with Ethiopian moka beans. The result is a very balanced, and richly flavored cup of single serve coffee.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Black Mountain Gold Moka Java Gourmet Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

January 11, 2008

Review: Fratello El Salvador Limited Edition Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

Limited edition coffee pods come and go, but we will be sorry to see the Fratello El Salavador Limited Edition Coffee Pods leave our pod brewer anytime soon. We've been testing these coffee pods in a variety of coffee pod brewers and the results have been excellent. The Fratello El Salvador coffee pods produce a very medium, but spicey cup of single serve coffee with caramel notes.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Fratello El Salvador Limited Edition Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

December 12, 2007

Review: Starbucks Africa Kitamu T Discs for Tassimo

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

We've had a chance to sample even more of the Starbucks T Discs for the Tassimo Hot Beverage System. We've been really enjoying the four new T Disc coffee blends, and one of the four that we think leads the pack is the Africa Kitamu. Not only is the Africa Kitamu dark and interesting coffee, it has one of the sweetest flavors we've had in a non-flavored coffee in quite some time.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Starbucks Africa Kitamu T Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

November 28, 2007

Review: Starbucks House Blend T Discs for Tassimo

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews


Starbucks coffee is finally available for the Tassimo Hot Beverage System. We've been drinking the four new T Disc coffee blends over the past week, and thought we'd start with the Starbucks House Blend coffee T Discs. We're pretty big fans of Starbucks on the go, so we're pretty familiar with just about any of their coffees, and we've always enjoyed the House Blend and Sumatra blend coffees they've made over the past years.

The Starbucks House Blend coffee T Discs are supposed to taste just like the Starbucks House Blend coffee you'd make in your drip coffee maker or pick up at Starbucks. How good is it? Is it even close to being as good as coffee at Starbucks or coffee produced in a drip coffee maker?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Starbucks House Blend T Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

November 21, 2007

Single Serve Coffee Maker Reviews

We thought we'd roll up all of our single serve coffee maker reviews into one spot so you can do all your single serve coffee machine research in one place. Some of our recently reviewed machines and machines we think are hot include: the Cuisinart SS-1 Cup-O-Matic Single Serve Coffee Maker - Use Coffee Pods or Ground Coffee, the Keurig Platinum B70 K Cup Single-Cup Brewer, the Breville BKC600XL Gourmet Single Cup Brewer - Use K-Cups and Ground Coffee, and the Nespresso Lattissima - One Touch Cappuccinos, Lattes, and Espresso.

One of our must read articles is: Cost Per Single Serve Coffee Cup: Coffee Pods, Keurig K Cups, Tassimo T Discs, and Nespresso Coffee Capsules. This article will give you the background on how each type of single serve coffee maker compares to the cost of owning and operating it.


564027e-1_2.jpg

Coffee Pod Single Serve Coffee Makers



Keurig K-Cup Brewers



Tassimo T-Disc System



Nespresso Capsule Single Serve Coffee Makers

ArrowContinue reading: "Single Serve Coffee Maker Reviews"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Scott Glenn: My Keurig 2.0 brewer will finally be as good as read more
AO: The name of the company is actually Grindmaster. Or more read more
Fred: Actually a company called Grandmaster just came out with a read more
Linda Neal: i have the Keurig B130 and i would like to read more
Fred: Hi. I just got a Keurig K550 and decided to read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy