January 24, 2007

Review: Gourmet Café Limited Edition Ethiopia Sidamo Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Gclees-1

We've been sampling the Gourmet Café Limited Edition Ethiopia Sidamo from BetterCoffee.com over the past week. Part of the Goumet Cafe Limited Editions, these coffee pods offer any owner of Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, Melitta One:One, simplehuman, Krups Home Cafe, and other single serve coffee pod brewers something different.

The Sidamo growing region is in the southern part of Ethiopia, bordering Kenya. When brewed, these coffee pods produce a coffee that has a bright acidity and fruity flavor with berry notes. Slightly floral in character, it is full-bodied and complex.

What do we think? Are the Gourmet Café Limited Edition Ethiopia Sidamo coffee pods worth buying? We fired up our Bunn My Cafe to find out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Gourmet Café Limited Edition Ethiopia Sidamo Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

January 19, 2007

Review: Java Juice "Black Gold" Coffee Extract

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 3511

The staff at Single Serve Coffee is always open to the world of coffee concentrates and extracts. Recently we hit pay dirt with the Stomping Grounds line of coffee concentrates, and now we've hit pay dirt again with Java Juice Coffee Extract. What is Java Juice Coffee Extract?

Java Juice is a single-serving pouch of liquid coffee concentrate. A pure coffee extract, Java Juice is made from 100% premium, organic coffee beans and triple-filtered water, nothing else. No additives or preservatives. Java Juice® is a pioneering coffee product designed for hundreds of different uses. Use Java Juice® for making superior organic coffee on the go, at home, for cooking, camping and much more. Rip it, drip it, and sip it.

What do we think? Is Java Juice worth trying? Where does it fit into your overall single serve coffee lifestyle?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Java Juice "Black Gold" Coffee Extract"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

December 15, 2006

Review: Seattle's Best T Discs for Tassimo - Henry's and Breakfast Blend Reviews

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsSeattlesbest Tassimo Tdiscs

Img 3318We've all been waiting for a cup of single serve coffee from Starbucks, but we think we can definitely settle for Tassimo T Discs from Seattle's Best Coffee. Starbucks may own Seattle's Best, but the coffees are always a bit different. We love the stronger blends we can often find at Seattle's Best, and they also have that crazy aroma of Seattle in the coffee - rich, a bit darker, and always interesting.

About the Blends:

  • Seattle's Best Coffee Breakfast Blend: Roasted to a deep dark brown, this coffee is medium-bodied and intense with a rich flavor and roasty sweetness and an elegant finish. This blend says, "Ready, set, go!". Packed 16 T DISCS per package. $7.99 per package.
  • Seattle's Best Coffee® Henry's Blend® - Nutty flavor, hearty aroma and a complex, rich flavor are the essence of this medium-to full-bodied blend. It's super-smooth with a long lingering finish. Packed 16 T DISCS per Package. Price $7.99.

What did we really think about these two new blends? What did they taste like? Are they as good as a cup of Seattle's Best coffee right at the coffee shop?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Seattle's Best T Discs for Tassimo - Henry's and Breakfast Blend Reviews"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (6) | social bookmarking

November 30, 2006

Review: Nespresso Variations - Flavored Coffees for Nespresso

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

Img 3311-1

In time for the launch of the Nespresso Boutique in New York, Nespresso has created a set of flavored coffees. We fired up our Nespresso C90 and made both Lungo - 3 oz cups of single serve coffee and shots of espresso of the new flavors.

The Nespresso Variations come in the following flavors:

  • Absolute Vanilla Smoothness
  • Fruity, Spicy Apple and Cinnamon Fusion
  • Cool Aniseed Sensation

Pricing will be $.55 a capsule or $5.50 per 10 capsule sleeve and we received 6 sleeves total to taste. What do we think? What does the licorice coffee taste like?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nespresso Variations - Flavored Coffees for Nespresso"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

November 27, 2006

Cost Per Single Serve Coffee Cup: Coffee Pods, Keurig K Cups, Tassimo T Discs, and Nespresso Coffee Capsules

singleservecoffees_guide.jpg

Readers are always writing in asking the Single Serve Coffee staff how much the different single serve coffee systems cost to own and operate and especially how much each cup of single serve coffee will cost. We think the questions "what's best", or what's "cheapest," or what's "least expensive" all fall under this category of question as well, but starting with what type of coffee you'd like to make and how much it will cost is a good way to find out which single serve coffee maker is the least expensive to own and operate.

Are Senseo Coffee Pods, Tassimo T-Disks, K-Cups or Nespresso Coffee Capsules the best option for you? Which system falls in your price range? Does the single serve coffee maker or system match your coffee drinking habits? These are all good questions that go hand and hand with the price per cup.

The guide below should give you all the detail you need to know on what coffee system may be right for you. Depending on which type of single serve coffee maker you choose, be it coffee pods, k cups, t discs, or nespresso capsules, you'll be choosing the type of coffee you can get per system and also how much per cup your single serve coffee will cost, and how flexible that cost can be, and what types of coffee the single serve coffee maker can prepare.

If you look at the four major type of single serve coffee you can purchase there are essentially 4 main types:

  1. Coffee Pods - work with a variety of single serve coffee makers including: Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, Melitta One:One, Grindmaster, simplehuman, and Krups Home Cafe. Coffee pod brewers are the "open standard" of single serve coffee makers, with the largest variety of coffees available reaching over 250+ varieties of coffee pods.
  2. K Cups - work only with Keurig brewers. Models include: Keurig Elite B40 Brewer, Keurig B50, Keurig Special Edition Ultra Elite B60, and the newly released Keurig B70 Brewer. You can expect to get in the 150+ variety range for K Cup types of coffee as well as tea.
  3. T Discs: works only with the Tassimo line of single serve coffee makers. You can expect to get 30+ different coffees and teas for your Tassimo brewer.
  4. Nespresso Coffee Capsules: works only with the Nespresso line of single serve coffee makers. On average there are 12 regular varieties and 3-4 unique varieties per year.

Given the run down of each of the different types, how much does each cup of single serve coffee cost per system?

ArrowContinue reading: "Cost Per Single Serve Coffee Cup: Coffee Pods, Keurig K Cups, Tassimo T Discs, and Nespresso Coffee Capsules"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (38) | social bookmarking

November 3, 2006

Review: Senseo HD7832 Supreme Single Serve Coffee Machine

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews B000Hwpkag.01. Aa280 Sclzzzzzzz V41406058

It's been over 2+ years since we last reviewed the Senseo line of single serve coffee makers. In those 2 years we've grown the Single Serve Coffee web site to include over 1000+ articles on single serve coffee, and we've featured news and reviews of coffee pods using our blue Senseo for nearly all of them.

There's also been a lot more introductions of coffee pod brewing single serve coffee machines like the Senseo in those two years. We've had the Bunn My Cafe, the Home Cafe line, Grindmaster coffee pod brewers, Melitta One: One, simplehuman, and others. But time and time again, we kept using our Senseo and it has always been a great benchmark for single serve coffee pod makers.

So you can imagine when we got news of the Senseo Supreme Single Serve Coffee Machine we were pretty excited to see if the Senseo Supreme would improve on an already super solid single serve coffee foundation. The big complaints with the older Senseo were the following:

1. Water Reservoir is too small
2. Cup size of 4 or 8 oz isn't flexible enough
3. The ability to fit more mugs under the Senseo spout - maybe even travel mugs

How does the new Senseo Supreme stack up? Does it have the new features you want in a single serve coffee maker? Does it make a better cup of coffee than the older Senseo models with less features?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Senseo HD7832 Supreme Single Serve Coffee Machine"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (11) | social bookmarking

October 20, 2006

Senseo Sumatra Blend Coffee Pods Review

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Sumatra_16ct.jpg

We've been trying various different coffee pods in our new Senseo Supreme single serve coffee maker, and we're very excited to get beyond the Senseo dark roast as our core Senseo coffee pod offering. The Senseo Sumatra blend claims to be a more bold and intense roast than it's counterparts and comes from a higher more mountainous Arabica bean. How does it stand up to it's older siblings?

ArrowContinue reading: "Senseo Sumatra Blend Coffee Pods Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

October 16, 2006

Review: Nespresso Ensibuko Limited Edition Coffee Capsules

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews IMG_3038.jpg

Twice a year Nespresso offers two different limited edition coffee's for your Nespresso single serve coffee system. The new Ensibuko coffee is from Uganda and combines Arabica and Robusta coffees. We just watched the movie last night, "The Last King of Scotland" and it makes this coffee even that much more special. Uganda has been through some pretty terrible times over the past 30 years, and after such a brutal movie, it's nice to have a cup of coffee from the troubled Uganda to remind us not everything is going terribly wrong there.

The Nespresso Ensibuko Limited Edition Coffee Capsules are very rich and dark. We've been using our Nespresso C90 and doing two capsules for a larger Lungo cup of coffee. The coffee produced is also low in acid and has a very rich mouth feel. The crema is thick and creamy and we're really impressed with the overall character the coffee has.

Want to get your own Nespresso Ensibuko Limited Edition Coffee Capsules? You'll only able to get them online at Nespresso or in select Nespresso boutiques.

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 12, 2006

Review: Lavazza Blue Pininfarina Single Serve Coffee Maker

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 2954

Café-Razzi has sent us the Lavazza Blue single serve coffee system and we've really been enjoying it. The Lavazza Blue is really called the "Pininfarina Pro" and is designed with a patented brewing mechanism to match the coffee capsules and assures a perfect cup each time. The machine makes both coffee drinks and espresso based drinks.

Café-Razzi is currently the premier distributor of the Lavazza Blue system and features a coffee club that has a 30 day free trial. We've made a bunch of different coffee drinks including: espresso, cappuccino, and of course a nice tasty cup of single serve coffee. How does the Lavazza Blue hold up?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Lavazza Blue Pininfarina Single Serve Coffee Maker"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

October 9, 2006

Review: Pumpkin Spice Coffee Pods and K Cup Madness!

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 3023

Yes. It's a mad mad mad world. We have received from our good friend Jim Evans at CoffeeWhiz.com - not one - not two - but six different pumpkin spice coffees to try. Three of the coffees are for your single serve coffee maker that uses coffee pods and will work in your Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, and Krups Home Cafesingle serve coffee pod brewers. The pumpkin spice coffee pods are from: Baronet Coffee, Reunion Island Coffee Pods, and Melitta's One: One JavaPods.

The other three are for your Keurig single serve coffee maker in K-Cup form and will work in your Keurig Elite B40 Brewer, Keurig B50, Keurig Special Edition Ultra Elite B60, and the newly released Keurig B70 Brewer. The k cup coffees are: Timothy's Pumpkin Spice K Cups, Green Mountain Pumpkin Spice K Cups, and Gloria Jean's Pumpkin Spice K Cups.

What did we ultimately think of each coffee? How did each of them taste?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Pumpkin Spice Coffee Pods and K Cup Madness!"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
AO: The Aeropress was my best single serve maker purchase ever!It read more
Thomas Davie: I'll always have 2 cups n the morning at home read more
Heather: I've used my frother for a few years now with read more
Joe Bacon: Jay, I bought the VertuoLine and Aeroccino yesterday based on read more
Todd E.: It's nice to see a green option in K-Cups. read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy