June 22, 2007

Review: Jetboil French Press Hiking and Camping Personal Coffee Maker

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 3094
The perfect portable single serve coffee maker for camping.

On a rather large clean out and then re-visit of past articles we've yet to publish (yes - we are bad - we know it), we have uncovered the Jetboil French Press that comes with Green Mountain Coffee. We really enjoyed the Jetboil French Pressed coffee last year with our family, so we decided to take it out for another spin and review, and to share some of the pictures we took last fall with some new ones on this impressive product for camping.

What is a Jetboil mini-stove? It's really a personal or group cooking system that has a burner and large cup to make drinks, soup, and other items in. It's very lightweight and compact, with everything you need fitting back inside the cup so you can hike or camp with it.

Img 3096
It's basically a portable gas burner. You can make soup
coffee and other items using it.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Jetboil French Press Hiking and Camping Personal Coffee Maker"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

June 11, 2007

Review: Twinings Chai Tea Latte Tassimo T Discs

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

51Owps7Qfgl. Aa280

We just spent the weekend kicking back with our Tassimo brewing up the Twinings Chai Tea Latte T Discs. We've got quite the crew of Chai Tea Latte drinkers here at Single Serve Coffee. Often, the entire crew will venture out to Starbucks to get what they consider the "best Chai Tea Latte" around. Other Chai Tea Lattes can be had at Pete's coffee, or even at Dunkin Donuts. Each of the Chat Tea Lattes are always a bit different at the various coffee shops. The Starbucks Chai Tea latte is considered to be the most balanced with sweetness and milky goodness and Pete's is in solid second place.

So, this brings us back to the do it at home Chai Tea Latte crowd. The Twinings Chai Tea Latte T Discs for Tassimo consist of a Chai Tea T Disc and a Latte creamer milk T Disc. You combine these two T Discs into one Chai Tea Latte that you can make at home. How does the Twining Chai Tea Latte stack up against our local coffee shops? Does our staff like the Twinings Chai Tea Latte as an alternative to a $4.50 drink at a coffee shop?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Twinings Chai Tea Latte Tassimo T Discs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

May 29, 2007

Review: Fratello Coffee Pods for Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, and other Coffee Pod Brewers

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 4200

We've sampled all of the Fratello coffee pods we received for review over the past week. We picked up a sampler pack by ordering from the Coffee Artisan which comes with five different pods for $2.49. If you don't know that much about Fratello, Fratello has been roasting coffee since 1985, so that gives them a little north of 20 years of experience to put into their coffee pods.

Coffee Pods in Fratello Coffee Pod sampler pack:

  • French Saigon Dark- This popular blend is a sure fire hit for those who love the smoky taste of a dark roast. Never bitter. 100%
  • Columbian Supremo - Premium Colombian coffee - full in flavor. A classic cup of coffee.
  • Columbian Natural Decaf Colombian - Coffee with heady aroma and mellow flavor. - Swiss Water Decaf Process with no chemical aftertaste.
  • French Vanilla - An exceedingly smooth Bourbon Vanilla - one of the worlds most popular.
  • Costa Rican Organic Fair Trade - Strictly high-grown coffee that produces a distinctive brew with vibrant flavor & rich undertones.

These coffee pods will work in your Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, Melitta One:One, simplehuman, Krups 1010 , GPOD, Home Cafe and other single serve coffee pod makers. What did we think? How good are the different coffee pods from Fratello?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Fratello Coffee Pods for Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, and other Coffee Pod Brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 15, 2007

Review: Nespresso C100T Essenza Single-Serve Automatic Espresso Machine

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews B000Fcrlle.01-A3Splr0Msoyz8O. Aa280 Sclzzzzzzz V60868538 -1

You may remember our review of the Nespresso Essenza C90 in 2005, and you may even remember how much we loved this amazing little espresso and single serve coffee machine. What does the new Nespresso C100T Essenza Single-Serve Automatic Espresso Machine offer over it's older sibling and what's the same? In a nut shell - the Nespresso C100T Essenza Single-Serve Automatic Espresso Machine is a really nice update to an already great Nespresso machine. The price point is a bit higher than the older model, but this is a very affordable Nespresso machine at just over $220 in most places online and offline, and the new features are worth the extra money.

Since the main features of the machine and it's appeal are present in our older review, we're going to focus on the updates to the machine and why you might want to consider this as one of the machines in your single serve coffee arsenal. We're also going to give you the impressions of several new Nespresso drinkers who we introduced the machine to at a dinner party recently to get new insights and feedback.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nespresso C100T Essenza Single-Serve Automatic Espresso Machine"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

May 3, 2007

Review: Java Wand - The Single Serve Coffee French Press Glass Straw

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Java Wand

We've spent over two weeks with the Java Wand. What is a Java Wand? For us, it's basically a mini-french press on the end of a large glass straw. You can take your Java Wand just about anywhere, as it comes with a travel case that holds the want and 2 tablespoons of coffee. We didn't travel that far with our Java Wand, but we did have some really amazing coffee using it.

The Java Wand is also not a single serve coffee maker per se, but it is a very nice alternative to making a cup of single serve coffee from a machine. The Java Wand is also very transformational in how it makes you sit back and relax a bit more with your coffee. So as you can see - we do like the Java Wand...but do we like the entire experience of drinking hot coffee through a glass straw?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Java Wand - The Single Serve Coffee French Press Glass Straw"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

April 25, 2007

Review: Oâ Limited Edition Nespresso Capsules

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 3970

Looking for the latest and greatest Nespresso capsule? Look no further than the Limited Edition Nespresso Blend Oâ. Oâ means "to marry" in Swahili, one of the official languages of Tanzania and Kenya. Oâ is the result of two unions - the meeting of the earth and the sky. It's also the unity of two origins; the combination of smooth and intense character of the finest Arabica from Kilimanjaro with fruity notes of sumptuos Arabica grown on Mount Kenya.

We've been sipping a bit of Oâ over the past few days using the Nespresso C100T Essenza (which we will have a full review of soon) to make a cup of Oâ in lungo size. What do we think? How yummy is this Oâ we speak of?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Oâ Limited Edition Nespresso Capsules"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 17, 2007

Review: Nabob 100% Colombian T Discs for Tassimo

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 3942

We've been enjoying the new Tassimo T Discs that just came out over the past week. First up for impressions? How about the Nabob 100% Colombian Arabica coffee T Discs. If you aren't familiar with the Nabob brand, it's based in Canada and loved throughout the country. There is even a rather large page on Kraft Canada's web site detailing the Nabob coffee brand.

In the past we enjoyed Jacobs Kroenung T Discs that seemed to have a similar coffee flavor note. What you're going to find tasting the Nabob 100% Columbian Arabica Coffee is a very light, smooth tasting coffee. This is not for the dark coffee drinker, nor is it for the medium coffee drinker, this is for the morning at the cabin occasional coffee drinker.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nabob 100% Colombian T Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

April 9, 2007

Review: Hot Cocoa K Cups from Green Mountain Coffee

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsHotcocoa-Box-Kcup-1

Yes - the sky has fallen and finally Green Mountain and Keurig have produced Hot Cocoa K Cups. Since the beginning of SingleServeCoffee.com history, there has been a weekly question someone will send in from reader write ins or from the Single Serve Coffee Forums, "Can I get hot chocolate or hot cocoa k cups for my Keurig?" Well - now you can.

From what we've been told, the Hot Cocoa K Cups from Green Mountain have been in development for many years. Green Mountain assures us this isn't because there was ever a doubt they wanted to make Hot Cocoa K Cups, but that they wanted to get it right, and make sure there wasn't any cocoa contamination in the Keurig Brewer.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Hot Cocoa K Cups from Green Mountain Coffee"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (21) | social bookmarking

February 16, 2007

Review: Flavia Fusion Drinks Station Deluxe

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews 1163187665458 Flavia- Web-1

The new Flavia Fusion Drinks Station Deluxe has a slew of improvements over the Flavia Fusion Drinks Station we reviewed earlier last year. We've been testing the machine over the past few weeks and unlike other one cup coffee makers we've reviewed recently, it's managed to stay there for the entire time and have quite a bit of Flavia coffee run through it.

Flavia Fusion Drinks Station Deluxe Features:

  • Stainless Steel Accents
  • Separate Hot Water Button
  • Blue LED Lights
  • No Cleaning Between Drinks Required
  • Visible Water Level Indicator
  • Adjustable cup height
  • Water filter for purification
  • Large Capacity Water Tank

What do we think of this new Flavia? How is the Flavia coffee on a revisit? Do the new features make the new price of $169.99 a bit too high or too low?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Flavia Fusion Drinks Station Deluxe"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

February 2, 2007

Review: Perfect Pod Maker - Make Your Own Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Perfectpodmaker

Everyone always asks, "I like using coffee pods - but can I make my own? How do I use my own coffee?" Up until recently you had two options - the Ecopad, the Refillable Coffee Filter for the Senseo and T Sacs when using a single serve coffee pod brewer. Now there's a new coffee pod maker in town - Perfect Pod Coffee Pod Maker

We first heard about the Perfect Pod Maker last year when it was only available from Coffee Giant. Reviews were mixed at first, with some people loving it and some people sticking to using T-Sacs (disposable tea bags you can fill with coffee and make your own pods) instead. We decided at the beginning of this year that we'd pick a Perfect Pod Maker up, and see how it matched against T-Sacs, and how well the Perfect Pod Maker worked with the various single serve coffee pod machines.

We received the original Perfect Pod Coffee Pod Maker over 3 weeks ago, and have made just north of 30+ cups of single serve coffee with it. The Perfect Pod Maker can create any coffee pod you want from the "hot press" pod maker, using the 40 pod papers that come with it, and any ground coffee you want to put in each coffee pod. The Perfect Pod Maker will work with your Senseo, Melitta One:One, simplehuman, Juan Valdez, Bunn Home Cafe, Mr. Coffee, Hamilton Beach, and Black & Decker Home Cafe single serve coffee machines.

How does it work? Does it work well? Do the coffee pods made from the Perfect Pod Maker fit in most machines? What are the pros and cons of using the Perfect Pod Maker

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Perfect Pod Maker - Make Your Own Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (37) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Semi: And they've just announced about a 5% price hike across read more
Gennady Dodin: I need an instruction manual for Salton Three For All read more
Barry: for those of you complaining about the weak taste: The read more
mom of 3: Actually, I have Cafe Escapes Chai Latte K-cups that have read more
Ron13: It seems like Keurig has taken the tougher route. Needless read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy