May 9, 2006

Review: Coffee People Black Tiger Extra Bold K-Cups for Keurig B40, B50, & B60 Single Serve Coffee Brewers

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 2471Full bodied, earthy, and dark does actually describe the Black Tiger Blend K-Cups from Coffee People. We've been drinking several of their blends over the past few days thanks to Jim Evans from CoffeeWhiz.com. We have found the Black Tiger - GRRR!!! to be quite good and very different. These new K-Cups will work in the Keurig B40, B50, and B60 brewers.

If you aren't familiar with Coffee People we wouldn't be surprised. Coffee People coffee shops mostly reside in the Oregon. It's really nice to see these K-Cups as they're a much smaller coffee company, however they were bought by Diedrich in 1999 so that may shed some light on how these K-Cups came to market.

Coffee People’s roots in Oregon can be traced to the Saturday Market in Eugene Oregon. Small amounts of specialty grade coffee were roasted and offered it for sale at the Saturday Market. The first Coffee People Coffeehouse was opened in 1983 on NW 23 Street in Portland.

In July 1999, Coffee People became part of the Diedrich Coffee Family. The rich authentic coffee heritage of Diedrich Coffee and the product portfolio of Coffee People have proved to be a perfect match. While Coffee People continues its creative, local, and innovative approach to coffee service, Diedrich Coffee, a high end specialty coffee roaster, now expertly roasts Coffee People’s special blends according to traditional Coffee People recipes to honor the heritage of this concept, pioneered in Portland.

What did we think of the Black Tiger coffee from Coffee People?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Coffee People Black Tiger Extra Bold K-Cups for Keurig B40, B50, & B60 Single Serve Coffee Brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

May 3, 2006

Review: Timothy's Rainforest Espresso Coffee Pods for Senseo, Home Cafe, & Other Single Serve Coffee Makers

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 2448Timothy's has been making great coffee in the US and Canada for quite awhile and last year we were very excited to be able to get their coffee at home using K-Cups and our Keurig B50 brewer. Now we're even more excited to be able to use their coffees in our coffee pod brewers. The new Timothy's coffee pods will work in your Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, Krups Home Cafe, and simplehuman single serve coffee pod brewers.

The coffee used in Timothy's Rainforest Espresso comes from 100% Rainforest Alliance certified beans, sourced from a farm in Brazil. Certification protects workers. Certified farms hire locally, pay fair wages, and ensure safe working conditions and access to clean drinking water and proper sanitary facilities. In all, more than 50,000 farm families are enjoying the benefits of the program.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Timothy's Rainforest Espresso Coffee Pods for Senseo, Home Cafe, & Other Single Serve Coffee Makers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

April 25, 2006

Review: Cafepods Buzz Coffee Pods for Senseo, Home Cafe, & Other Single Serve Coffee Makers

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 2425Cafepods is back in the US with a dedicated US store and we're pretty excited. It's been nearly 2 years since we've had many of the blends that we started our single serve coffee journey on. We think back foundly to our original reviews on their Italian roast coffee pods and wonder where all that time went.

We're very excited to have a steady supply of their Buzz coffee pods. Buzz offers a rich crema and more caffiene than their italian blend that we reviewed so long ago. It has a very snappy taste, with a hint of robusta and a very precise flavor that lingers on the sides of the tongue.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Cafepods Buzz Coffee Pods for Senseo, Home Cafe, & Other Single Serve Coffee Makers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 19, 2006

Review: Heifer Hope Blend K-Cups from Green Mountain Coffee

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews No LimitsWe've been drinking the Heifer Hope Blend K-Cups from Green Mountain Coffee over the past two weeks and think these new k-cups are delicious, complex, and have a very long lasting finish. These new K-Cups will work in your in your Keurig B40, B50, and B60 brewers.

Heifer Hope Blend was created to support Heifer International’s fight against world hunger. Green Mountain sourced coffee for this blend from the La Voz Cooperative in Guatemala. While Heifer teaches La Voz farmers ways to diversify their income, Green Mountain helps to supply a stable market for their coffee.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Heifer Hope Blend K-Cups from Green Mountain Coffee"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

April 10, 2006

Review: FLAVIA FUSION Drink Station from Single Serve Coffee

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

Flavia Review Picture

We've been using the new FLAVIA FUSION Drinks Station for over a month now and we have one thing to say, "This machine really does make a ton of different hot drinks." It's nothing short of mind blowing the amount of different combinations you can make with the FLAVIA FUSION. After a month of trying all the drinks we have to conclude - some are very good while others are okay and nothing special, however, we feel any system that can take on single serve coffee, hot teas, iced teas, espresso, lattes, cappuccinos, and other deserves some kudos right out of the box.

Img 2248It's also important to note that FLAVIA has been making single serve coffee machines for the home and office even before Senseo came to the United States. Having had coffee from the Flavia S350 and the FLAVIA sB100 Drink Stations, everyone here was really excited to try the home offering, as the coffee we've had from FLAVIA in the past has not been bad at all.

Img 2376What can the home FLAVIA machine make? The FLAVIA FUSION can make Coffees, Fresh Leaf Teas, LATTES, Cappuccinos, Hot Chocolate and other drinks. They even have a Wellbeing line of teas with vitamins in them. You can even mix up your own "hot cocktail" by Mixing and Matching from they're entire line of syrups and sprinkles you can purchase along with the coffee and teas. We really enjoyed the syrups to accent many of the coffees we've had over the past month. We found a little flavoring in a cup of hot Sumatra to be refreshing.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: FLAVIA FUSION Drink Station from Single Serve Coffee"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

April 4, 2006

Review: Senseo Cappuccino Coffee Pods from Single Serve Coffee

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsB000Bn7Vlw.01. Scmzzzzzzz Do you have a Senseo single serve coffee maker and long for the taste of a great cappuccino each morning along with the amazing single serve coffee the Senseo makes? Then you may have to look a little further than the Senseo Cappuccino Coffee Pods. We aren't saying the Senseo Cappuccino Coffee Pods makes a bad cup of faux cappuccino, but it's not amazing either.

Img 2353Before we get into the nitty gritty of the review - how do they make the cappuccino coffee pods for Senseo? The pod is composed of layer of coffee and powdered milk surrounded by a paper filter. The two layers mix when brewing on the double cup setting to produce a very froth heavy cup of cappuccino. You'll need to use your double coffee pod holder to brew up a Senseo cappuccino as well.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Senseo Cappuccino Coffee Pods from Single Serve Coffee"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (12) | social bookmarking

March 30, 2006

Review: Green Mountain Coffee Roasters Fair Trade Island Coconut™ K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews T4039 Large-1We've spent the last day drinking the new Fair Trade Island Coconut from Green Mountain Coffee Roasters. This new Fair Trade K-Cup for is for your Keurig brewer and we're quite impressed. This is the first coconut flavored coffee we've had here at SingleServeCoffee.com and we think it's quite yummy.

Green Mountain describes this coffee as:

Indulge your senses with this delightfully fragrant, tropical taste treat. We've captured the lush aroma of freshly grated coconut — fruity, fresh, exotic — and blended it with the subtle sweetness of a lightly-roasted, Central American coffee. The result is as refreshing as it is unexpected. Be transported to your own private island paradise with our Fair Trade Island Coconut... it's one sweet destination!

It's a light refreshing cup of coffee. You can almost feel the coconut oil on your tongue after each sip. The coffee has a wonderful aroma of coconut as well - almost hypnotic. Though the coffee is considered light and flavored, we also found the coffee to be bold in the taste category.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Green Mountain Coffee Roasters Fair Trade Island Coconut™ K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 23, 2006

Review: Newman's Own Special Blend Extra Bold K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 2324We first heard about these new K-Cups just over a month ago and we were pretty excited to try out a medium/dark extra bold K-Cup from Green Mountain Coffee and Newman's Own. It's really nice to know Paul Newman donates all of the proceeds after taxes to the products he sells to various charities. What's even better? Drinking a cup of great coffee and knowing you are helping out as well.

The story behind this K-Cup blend of dark and medium roast coffees?

Img 2328"Did we mention that Paul likes his coffee roasted dark? Or that Nell prefers a lighter touch? Put 'em both together and this is what you get... a study in contrasts that satisfies everybody. This inspired blend of medium roasted Central American coffees and darker-roasted Indonesians is rich and robust, with ample body to stand up to all the cream and sugar that you might want to add to the party. Which is precisely how Pa takes his... this is his favorite blend, after all. "For fans of both dark and light roasts."

We fired up our trusty Keurig B60 (these K-Cups will work in your Keurig B40, B50, and B60 brewers, and sat down with a little cream and sugar shots to make a nice hot cup of Newman's Own Special Blend Extra Bold K-Cups. The initial brew before cream and sugar was very dark with a spicy nose.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Newman's Own Special Blend Extra Bold K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 20, 2006

Review: Grindmaster GPOD PrecisionBrew™ Single Cup Brewing System

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Gpod LargeIt's been over a year since we last learned of the fabled Grindmaster Consumer PrecisionBrew single serve coffee maker. We had thought back then it would be only a few months before it came out, but like some consumer products, you just have to wait and the product will come out when it wants to not when you'd like it to.

We're pretty excited to say - the wait was worth it. The Grindmaster GPOD PrecisionBrew™ Single Cup Brewing System has a small footprint, easy to use features, and can make a mild or strong cup of single serve coffee using coffee pods with ease. The machine is both attractive and is one of the best mid-ranged priced coffee pod brewers we've tested over the past two years.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Grindmaster GPOD PrecisionBrew™ Single Cup Brewing System"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (12) | social bookmarking

March 15, 2006

Review: Vanilla Nut Coffee Pods from Pod Pack International

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 2310We've been in a furious round of coffee pod testing all week not letting the new Grindmaster GPOD Single Serve Coffee brewer get a free moment and decided to run a round of the new Pod Pack International coffee pods through it this week as well. Pod Pack International makes over 10 flavors for your for Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, Krups Home Cafe, and simplehuman single serve coffee pod brewers.

Img 2314Pods are sold 18 per dispenser carton with 4 dispenser cartons in a shipping case and you can choose up to 4 different blends for each shipping case. Minimum order is 1 shipping case but pods are reasonably priced at $3.95 for regular flavors and $4.95 for flavored and decaf .

The following flavors are available in 9 gram single packed pods:

  • House Blend Regular
  • House Blend Decaffeinated
  • 100% Columbian
  • Breakfast Blend
  • French Roast
  • Hazelnut
  • Vanilla Nut
  • Guatemala Antigua
  • Irish Cream
  • Sumatra

We decided to go with Vanilla Nut for this review as we've had a craving for something other than the dark coffee we've been testing with all week. The first thing we noticed was the attractive packaging of the One Cup coffee pods from Pod Pack. Each comes individually wrapped and weighs in at 9.3 grams per pod according to our scale. That makes sense as Pod Pack claims 9 grams of coffee in each pod and with the filter you could easily add the other .3 grams into the overall coffee pod weight.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Vanilla Nut Coffee Pods from Pod Pack International"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Heather: I've used my frother for a few years now with read more
Joe Bacon: Jay, I bought the VertuoLine and Aeroccino yesterday based on read more
Todd E.: It's nice to see a green option in K-Cups. read more
Thomas Davie: Have been drinking this interchangeably with Gastown Grind for about read more
marlene cignetti: bought this keurig pot at tj max; and then we read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy