September 27, 2006

Review: Hamilton Beach BrewStation Deluxe Single Serve Coffee Maker

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews47454

The Hamilton Beach 47454 BrewStation Deluxe 12-Cup Coffeemaker may make 12 cups total like a typical drip coffee maker, but it dispenses them one cup at a time. Does this really make the Hamilton Beach BrewStation® Deluxe 12 Cup Coffee maker a single serve coffee maker?

Well alas no. But it does make it a single serve coffee dispenser. The Hamilton Beach BrewStation® Deluxe 12 Cup Coffee maker has all the bells and whistles you'd expect for a drip coffee maker with the convenience of single serve coffee, however the clean up and brewing of the coffee takes longer than what you'd get using a single serve coffee maker like the Senseo or Keurig systems.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Hamilton Beach BrewStation Deluxe Single Serve Coffee Maker"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (8) | social bookmarking

September 13, 2006

Review: Aloha Island Coffee Private Estate Gold 100% Kona Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 2872We like our Kona coffee, but often find it comes in blends instead of being 100% pure uncut Kona coffee. Aloha Island Coffee has been making 100% pure Kona coffee pods for over 2+ years now. Back when we started SingleServeCoffee.com, the Kona Coffee Pods from Aloha Island Coffee were the only other coffee pods you could purchase for your Senseo single serve coffee maker at the time. Now you can purchase these coffee pods for your Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, and Krups Home Cafe single serve coffee pod brewers.

A little back story on Aloha Island 100% Pure Estate Kona Coffee:

When Jim Robinette and Anita Harrington retired to the Big Island of Hawaii a few years ago, little did they dream they would apply all the skills they had gained through careers in manufacturing and technology to the growing of the absolute best Kona coffee.

“We had always admired the flavor of pure Kona coffee on our many visits to Hawaii” says Jim. “But living here, we soon realized this is a very special product that would benefit from the application of time-honored methods of Total Quality Management”.


We love the story of buying some property on Hawaii and making the time honored tradition of making Kona Coffee even better, and we'd also like to point out the Kona coffee used in the Kona Coffee pods from Aloha Island is harvested entirely by hand and pesticide free. YES!

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Aloha Island Coffee Private Estate Gold 100% Kona Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

September 5, 2006

Review: Aeroccino Automatic Milk Frother from Nespresso

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews 00480

We're always on the look out for something to make our single serve coffee experience even better. Last year we ran several articles on products you could get that would bring milk frothing to your single serve coffee and now we're excited to tell you about the new Aeroccino Automatic Milk Frother from Nespresso.

The Aeroccino Automatic Milk Frother is a new, automatic and simple way of creating light, creamy milk froth. You just pour in some cold or hot, fresh skim milk and press the button. The Aeroccino quietly and quickly produces an milk froth, which you can enjoy in many different coffee recipes including lattes and cappuccinos.

To test the Aeroccino Automatic Milk Frother, we used our Nespresso C90 for espresso creation - more in the lungo size. We also tried 1% milk, Skim milk, and 2% milk to see what would happen using the Aeroccino. How did it fair? Does it actually make good frothed milk?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Aeroccino Automatic Milk Frother from Nespresso"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (58) | social bookmarking

August 3, 2006

Review: Timothy's Spanish Sol K Cups

Img 2765It's summer and it's been very hot in the northeast. We've been having what some would call a "heat wave" and it can be difficult with no air conditioning to review coffee all day long, but even a heat wave couldn't stop us. We've just recently received the limited edition Spanish Sol K Cups from Timothy's and they're really good and a perfect coffee in the summer heat.

Img 2767These K Cups will work in your Keurig Elite B40 Brewer, Keurig B50, Keurig Special Edition Ultra Elite B60, and newly released Keurig B70 Brewer. The Spanish Sol K Cups (Spanish Sun) are supposed to be a bit complex and have a nice kick to them.

Spanish Sol will bring your palate alive with its lively full bodied flavor. One sip of Spanish Sol and you can envision a soft sea breeze wafting off the shores of the Costa del Sol. Sweet, Warming, Complex. This will be offered for a limited time only!!


We fired up our trusty Keurig B60 and and wondered how would the description match up with the taste...

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Timothy's Spanish Sol K Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 25, 2006

Review: Nespresso Le Cube Espresso & Single Serve Coffee Maker

Nespresso Le Cube C180 - Arctic White - 1-2

We've always been found of gizmos and gadgets that come in cube form, but rarely have we found them in the form of a single serve coffee maker. Most of the time you find a cube in the form of some avant-garde computer like the Apple Power Macintosh Cube, the new Apple Mac mini, or perhaps something from Shuttle PC. We're very pleased to find that Nespresso will be releasing a cube shaped single serve coffee and espresso maker in the form of Le Cube.

Img 2692Love it or hate it - we have to say we love the cube shape. After reviewing both the C90 and Nespresso Romeo (both great designs) we think the Le Cube design is killer. Originally, when creation of the machine began, the Nespresso Le Cube was targeted to become a machine range for people who favored classic machines and design, and wanted the latest technology. A pure and minimalist design with a very strong direction was the basis for what began to take shape in the form of a cube.

The architectural shape was also a result of the decision to place cup-warming plates on each side of the brewing unit, providing an extra feature for people looking for a super hot cup of espresso. The machine we tested didn't come with the cup warmers (there are two models the Arctic white and the Titanium which has the cup warming features), but we did find putting the cups on the side very convenient.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nespresso Le Cube Espresso & Single Serve Coffee Maker"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

July 20, 2006

Review: Preva xSport Portable Espresso & Single Serve Coffee Maker

793494

Portable espresso or making coffee of any type on the go seems to be coming of age. We've seen the Aeropress, in-car espresso makers, and now the Preva xSport Portable Espresso maker for camping, rv-ing, and backpacking.

Img 2658This ultra-compact espresso maker will make espresso or single serve coffee on the go and is compact, light, and durable. Unlike it's bigger single serve counterparts (see the Senseo for size comparison), we could see this being a pretty good choice for a long weekend hike or perhaps making a double shot cafe Americano on the side of a mountain. We can also see this being a good choice for taking while on vacation and staying in a hotel, where they often have the tiny coffee maker that could provide you hot water to use in your Preva xSport.

Hiking and vacation aside, we decided to put the Preva xSport through the paces here in the Single Serve Coffee test kitchen and see how good of a shot of espresso and how perfect a cup of single serve coffee we could make.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Preva xSport Portable Espresso & Single Serve Coffee Maker"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

June 28, 2006

Review: Nescafe Cappuccino Coffee Pods for Senseo

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 2556Wendy from Typical Dutch Stuff has sent over the newly released Nescafe Coffee Pods with toppings. These new pods are a totally new concept because each box contains 8 individually wrapped coffee pods and 8 individually wrapped toppings. You place the pod in the machine and the topping in your cup. You then stir through the coffee when it is still brewing and enjoy a cappuccino, cafe au lait, or chocolate coffee, for only €0.62 or roughly 0.74 USD a cup before shipping. These coffee pods will work in your Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, Krups Home Cafe, and simplehuman single serve coffee pod brewers.

Img 2555There are four flavors available: Caffe Cioccolato (chocolate), Cappucino, Cappucino Decaf, and Cafe au Lait. The

We've been sampling the three different flavors over the past few weeks and have to say this is much better than the Senseo Cappuccino or the Home Cafe Cappuccino. The toppings are meant to be inserted into the cup prior to brewing. Putting them in at the end of a brew cycle produces less than stunning results. We often found that using the entire contents of the toppings bag was also too much.

We've provided several pictures and a video to show you how the mixture brews up in our Blue Senseo Coffee maker.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nescafe Cappuccino Coffee Pods for Senseo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

June 14, 2006

Review: Carte Noire Petite Dejeuner Coffee T Discs for Tassimo

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 2547We are really excited to see Tassimo US importing new coffees for the Tassimo brewing system for sale here in the US. The new blend is available at the TassimoDirect.com web site and is one of 4 new blends to be brought over from Europe. We decided to start with the Petite Dejeuner because we love a good light breakfast coffee and so far Tassimo had not had much variety in the single serve coffee market in this area.

We also thought we'd include our first video using You Tube for you to hear and see the coffee brewing in the Tassimo. Often we hear complaints on how loud and crazy the Tassimo is while brewing. We don't find this to be the case. It's definitely not in the quiet department, but it really isn't that loud. Since the Tassimo using a pumping method to brew the coffee in the T Disc, you can hear the pump being used while it brews. It kind of sounds like a toy tommy gun from our youth.

How good is the Carte Noire Petite Dejeuner coffee? How does it stack up against other Tassimo coffee or other single serve coffee we've had?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Carte Noire Petite Dejeuner Coffee T Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

June 5, 2006

Review: Timothy's Coffee Sugar Bush Maple K-Cups for Keurig B40, B50, & B60 Brewers

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 2533It's spring and the sap is running and just in time for the limited edition Sugar Bush Maple K-Cups from Timothy's Coffee. These flavored K-Cups have an over the top maple flavor but different than some of the other maple infused flavored k-cups and coffee pods we've tasted.

Img 2535What's different? The Timothy's Sugar Bush Maple K-Cups are full on maple and not a mixture of cinnamon and maple flavors making them different from the French Toast blends. We also find the aroma produced is almost like maple infused bacon or the smell of maple syrup over really hot pancakes.

As we stated earlier these k-cups are for a limited time only - much like the limited time the sap runs in the Spring that makes maple syrup. Having grown up in Northern Maine, we've actually all made maple syrup by carrying buckets of sap to a large boiling cauldron and then watching the sap boil down into yummy maple syrup, so our standards are high when it comes to a maple syrup anything. We also think you might want to know how to make Maple Syrup yourself and How Stuff Works has a great article.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Timothy's Coffee Sugar Bush Maple K-Cups for Keurig B40, B50, & B60 Brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

May 24, 2006

Review: Baronet Jamaican Blue Mountain Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 2522Straight from the magical beauty and lush vegetation of the Blue Mountain range to you comes this rarest of all coffees! Jamaican Blue Mountain and at $2.25 per pod - it had better be good. These limited edition Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee pods will work in your Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, Krups Home Cafe, and simplehuman single serve coffee pod brewers and are available for a limited time at CoffeeWhiz.com.

Img 2525Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee is famous for its clean, refined taste and hint of natural sweetness. It also tends to have an intensely bold aroma and excellent body. Where does Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee come from? This rare coffee pod's coffee from St. Andrews, Jamaica. Also did you know that the Jamaican Coffee grower gets a higher price for his coffee than any other coffee producing country? We're pretty sure we can tell given the price of these coffee pods.

How good was the coffee produced? How does $2.25 per pod coffee taste in your single serve coffee brewer?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Baronet Jamaican Blue Mountain Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Jean Smith: I am sorry to report I will no longer byuy read more
AO: I would probably stick to a Java Stout or maybe read more
DAngel: Has anyone tried the new Target Market Pantry Classic coffee read more
Thomas Davie: I hunted around and read the Cnet review for the read more
AO: I remember reading about this here a couple years ago. read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy