April 25, 2007

Review: Oâ Limited Edition Nespresso Capsules

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 3970

Looking for the latest and greatest Nespresso capsule? Look no further than the Limited Edition Nespresso Blend Oâ. Oâ means "to marry" in Swahili, one of the official languages of Tanzania and Kenya. Oâ is the result of two unions - the meeting of the earth and the sky. It's also the unity of two origins; the combination of smooth and intense character of the finest Arabica from Kilimanjaro with fruity notes of sumptuos Arabica grown on Mount Kenya.

We've been sipping a bit of Oâ over the past few days using the Nespresso C100T Essenza (which we will have a full review of soon) to make a cup of Oâ in lungo size. What do we think? How yummy is this Oâ we speak of?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Oâ Limited Edition Nespresso Capsules"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 17, 2007

Review: Nabob 100% Colombian T Discs for Tassimo

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 3942

We've been enjoying the new Tassimo T Discs that just came out over the past week. First up for impressions? How about the Nabob 100% Colombian Arabica coffee T Discs. If you aren't familiar with the Nabob brand, it's based in Canada and loved throughout the country. There is even a rather large page on Kraft Canada's web site detailing the Nabob coffee brand.

In the past we enjoyed Jacobs Kroenung T Discs that seemed to have a similar coffee flavor note. What you're going to find tasting the Nabob 100% Columbian Arabica Coffee is a very light, smooth tasting coffee. This is not for the dark coffee drinker, nor is it for the medium coffee drinker, this is for the morning at the cabin occasional coffee drinker.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nabob 100% Colombian T Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

April 9, 2007

Review: Hot Cocoa K Cups from Green Mountain Coffee

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsHotcocoa-Box-Kcup-1

Yes - the sky has fallen and finally Green Mountain and Keurig have produced Hot Cocoa K Cups. Since the beginning of SingleServeCoffee.com history, there has been a weekly question someone will send in from reader write ins or from the Single Serve Coffee Forums, "Can I get hot chocolate or hot cocoa k cups for my Keurig?" Well - now you can.

From what we've been told, the Hot Cocoa K Cups from Green Mountain have been in development for many years. Green Mountain assures us this isn't because there was ever a doubt they wanted to make Hot Cocoa K Cups, but that they wanted to get it right, and make sure there wasn't any cocoa contamination in the Keurig Brewer.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Hot Cocoa K Cups from Green Mountain Coffee"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (21) | social bookmarking

February 16, 2007

Review: Flavia Fusion Drinks Station Deluxe

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews 1163187665458 Flavia- Web-1

The new Flavia Fusion Drinks Station Deluxe has a slew of improvements over the Flavia Fusion Drinks Station we reviewed earlier last year. We've been testing the machine over the past few weeks and unlike other one cup coffee makers we've reviewed recently, it's managed to stay there for the entire time and have quite a bit of Flavia coffee run through it.

Flavia Fusion Drinks Station Deluxe Features:

  • Stainless Steel Accents
  • Separate Hot Water Button
  • Blue LED Lights
  • No Cleaning Between Drinks Required
  • Visible Water Level Indicator
  • Adjustable cup height
  • Water filter for purification
  • Large Capacity Water Tank

What do we think of this new Flavia? How is the Flavia coffee on a revisit? Do the new features make the new price of $169.99 a bit too high or too low?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Flavia Fusion Drinks Station Deluxe"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

February 2, 2007

Review: Perfect Pod Maker - Make Your Own Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Perfectpodmaker

Everyone always asks, "I like using coffee pods - but can I make my own? How do I use my own coffee?" Up until recently you had two options - the Ecopad, the Refillable Coffee Filter for the Senseo and T Sacs when using a single serve coffee pod brewer. Now there's a new coffee pod maker in town - Perfect Pod Coffee Pod Maker

We first heard about the Perfect Pod Maker last year when it was only available from Coffee Giant. Reviews were mixed at first, with some people loving it and some people sticking to using T-Sacs (disposable tea bags you can fill with coffee and make your own pods) instead. We decided at the beginning of this year that we'd pick a Perfect Pod Maker up, and see how it matched against T-Sacs, and how well the Perfect Pod Maker worked with the various single serve coffee pod machines.

We received the original Perfect Pod Coffee Pod Maker over 3 weeks ago, and have made just north of 30+ cups of single serve coffee with it. The Perfect Pod Maker can create any coffee pod you want from the "hot press" pod maker, using the 40 pod papers that come with it, and any ground coffee you want to put in each coffee pod. The Perfect Pod Maker will work with your Senseo, Melitta One:One, simplehuman, Juan Valdez, Bunn Home Cafe, Mr. Coffee, Hamilton Beach, and Black & Decker Home Cafe single serve coffee machines.

How does it work? Does it work well? Do the coffee pods made from the Perfect Pod Maker fit in most machines? What are the pros and cons of using the Perfect Pod Maker

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Perfect Pod Maker - Make Your Own Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (37) | social bookmarking

January 24, 2007

Review: Gourmet Café Limited Edition Ethiopia Sidamo Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Gclees-1

We've been sampling the Gourmet Café Limited Edition Ethiopia Sidamo from BetterCoffee.com over the past week. Part of the Goumet Cafe Limited Editions, these coffee pods offer any owner of Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, Melitta One:One, simplehuman, Krups Home Cafe, and other single serve coffee pod brewers something different.

The Sidamo growing region is in the southern part of Ethiopia, bordering Kenya. When brewed, these coffee pods produce a coffee that has a bright acidity and fruity flavor with berry notes. Slightly floral in character, it is full-bodied and complex.

What do we think? Are the Gourmet Café Limited Edition Ethiopia Sidamo coffee pods worth buying? We fired up our Bunn My Cafe to find out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Gourmet Café Limited Edition Ethiopia Sidamo Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

January 19, 2007

Review: Java Juice "Black Gold" Coffee Extract

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 3511

The staff at Single Serve Coffee is always open to the world of coffee concentrates and extracts. Recently we hit pay dirt with the Stomping Grounds line of coffee concentrates, and now we've hit pay dirt again with Java Juice Coffee Extract. What is Java Juice Coffee Extract?

Java Juice is a single-serving pouch of liquid coffee concentrate. A pure coffee extract, Java Juice is made from 100% premium, organic coffee beans and triple-filtered water, nothing else. No additives or preservatives. Java Juice® is a pioneering coffee product designed for hundreds of different uses. Use Java Juice® for making superior organic coffee on the go, at home, for cooking, camping and much more. Rip it, drip it, and sip it.

What do we think? Is Java Juice worth trying? Where does it fit into your overall single serve coffee lifestyle?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Java Juice "Black Gold" Coffee Extract"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

December 15, 2006

Review: Seattle's Best T Discs for Tassimo - Henry's and Breakfast Blend Reviews

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsSeattlesbest Tassimo Tdiscs

Img 3318We've all been waiting for a cup of single serve coffee from Starbucks, but we think we can definitely settle for Tassimo T Discs from Seattle's Best Coffee. Starbucks may own Seattle's Best, but the coffees are always a bit different. We love the stronger blends we can often find at Seattle's Best, and they also have that crazy aroma of Seattle in the coffee - rich, a bit darker, and always interesting.

About the Blends:

  • Seattle's Best Coffee Breakfast Blend: Roasted to a deep dark brown, this coffee is medium-bodied and intense with a rich flavor and roasty sweetness and an elegant finish. This blend says, "Ready, set, go!". Packed 16 T DISCS per package. $7.99 per package.
  • Seattle's Best Coffee® Henry's Blend® - Nutty flavor, hearty aroma and a complex, rich flavor are the essence of this medium-to full-bodied blend. It's super-smooth with a long lingering finish. Packed 16 T DISCS per Package. Price $7.99.

What did we really think about these two new blends? What did they taste like? Are they as good as a cup of Seattle's Best coffee right at the coffee shop?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Seattle's Best T Discs for Tassimo - Henry's and Breakfast Blend Reviews"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (6) | social bookmarking

November 30, 2006

Review: Nespresso Variations - Flavored Coffees for Nespresso

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

Img 3311-1

In time for the launch of the Nespresso Boutique in New York, Nespresso has created a set of flavored coffees. We fired up our Nespresso C90 and made both Lungo - 3 oz cups of single serve coffee and shots of espresso of the new flavors.

The Nespresso Variations come in the following flavors:

  • Absolute Vanilla Smoothness
  • Fruity, Spicy Apple and Cinnamon Fusion
  • Cool Aniseed Sensation

Pricing will be $.55 a capsule or $5.50 per 10 capsule sleeve and we received 6 sleeves total to taste. What do we think? What does the licorice coffee taste like?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nespresso Variations - Flavored Coffees for Nespresso"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

November 27, 2006

Cost Per Single Serve Coffee Cup: Coffee Pods, Keurig K Cups, Tassimo T Discs, and Nespresso Coffee Capsules

singleservecoffees_guide.jpg

Readers are always writing in asking the Single Serve Coffee staff how much the different single serve coffee systems cost to own and operate and especially how much each cup of single serve coffee will cost. We think the questions "what's best", or what's "cheapest," or what's "least expensive" all fall under this category of question as well, but starting with what type of coffee you'd like to make and how much it will cost is a good way to find out which single serve coffee maker is the least expensive to own and operate.

Are Senseo Coffee Pods, Tassimo T-Disks, K-Cups or Nespresso Coffee Capsules the best option for you? Which system falls in your price range? Does the single serve coffee maker or system match your coffee drinking habits? These are all good questions that go hand and hand with the price per cup.

The guide below should give you all the detail you need to know on what coffee system may be right for you. Depending on which type of single serve coffee maker you choose, be it coffee pods, k cups, t discs, or nespresso capsules, you'll be choosing the type of coffee you can get per system and also how much per cup your single serve coffee will cost, and how flexible that cost can be, and what types of coffee the single serve coffee maker can prepare.

If you look at the four major type of single serve coffee you can purchase there are essentially 4 main types:

  1. Coffee Pods - work with a variety of single serve coffee makers including: Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, Melitta One:One, Grindmaster, simplehuman, and Krups Home Cafe. Coffee pod brewers are the "open standard" of single serve coffee makers, with the largest variety of coffees available reaching over 250+ varieties of coffee pods.
  2. K Cups - work only with Keurig brewers. Models include: Keurig Elite B40 Brewer, Keurig B50, Keurig Special Edition Ultra Elite B60, and the newly released Keurig B70 Brewer. You can expect to get in the 150+ variety range for K Cup types of coffee as well as tea.
  3. T Discs: works only with the Tassimo line of single serve coffee makers. You can expect to get 30+ different coffees and teas for your Tassimo brewer.
  4. Nespresso Coffee Capsules: works only with the Nespresso line of single serve coffee makers. On average there are 12 regular varieties and 3-4 unique varieties per year.

Given the run down of each of the different types, how much does each cup of single serve coffee cost per system?

ArrowContinue reading: "Cost Per Single Serve Coffee Cup: Coffee Pods, Keurig K Cups, Tassimo T Discs, and Nespresso Coffee Capsules"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (38) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Marie Ziemski: I bought Breakfast Blend Decaf Coffee and although the coffee read more
Donna Loy: I would like one of the clips that I can read more
Becca Howard: Hi, I was looking at the Hey Joe Coffee mug, read more
AO: LOVE this thing! One of my best coffee purchases ever! read more
Rodney Phinney: Have been trying to find this coffee at Sam's Club read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy