February 27, 2006

Review: Diedrich Morning Edition K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 2236Everyone here at Single Serve Coffee.com is always looking for that perfect breakfast blend cup of coffee, because sometimes in the morning you don't want some super heavy cup of coffee but you might want something full and complex. Jim Evans at CoffeeWhiz.com sent us a set of Diedrich K-Cups for the Keurig B-40 Elite, Keurig B50 Gourmet, Keurig B-60 Special Edition brewers and we have been enjoying the Diedrich Morning Edition K-Cups over the past week.

382934But let's talk a little about Diedrich first. The Diedrich Story is as rich as the flavor of their coffee. It all started in 1916, when Charlotte Diedrich inherited a coffee plantation in Costa Rica. The coffee knowledge from owning the plantation passed down the different generations of Diedrichs until they opened a coffeehouse in the 1960s followed by many more. They now have over 30+

Now Diedrich describes their Morning Edition K-Cups as:

A full-bodied, full roast with creamy vanilla sweetness, aromas of leather and spice and a hearty satisfying finish.

What did we think? How satisfying is the finish? We can tell you right now this is a very full bodied cup of coffee that has a sweet yet satisfying finish.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Diedrich Morning Edition K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

February 23, 2006

Review: Black & Decker Home Café One Cup Coffee Maker GT300

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews B000Bhihkc.01-A1Vc38T7Yxb528.Lzzzzzzz-1-1The Black & Decker Home Café System GT300 single serve coffee maker is the update from 2004's Black & Decker Home Cafe system. The older Home Cafe HCC100 system was plagued with issues regarding not being able to open, bad pumps, and a plastic taste to the coffee. There was even several issues regarding the system simply melting from the brewing process (please read the thread here).

Img 2216The Black & Decker Home Café One Cup Coffee Maker GT 300 is supposed to fix many of these troubling issues and seeks out to do so. The Black & Decker Home Café System Generation II has a much improved quality about the machine, features a much smaller footprint, and the coffee pod chamber is also improved over the earlier model (you can read our first impressions here.)

The Home Cafe system from Black & Decker allows you to use coffee pods and specialty pods with a set of three different coffee pod holders. There is a single coffee pod holder, a double coffee pod holder, and the specialty pod holder which is used for cappuccino pods. For use with Home Cafe one cup brewers, you can purchase Millston and Folgers coffee pods. The system will also brew tea pods from Lipton tea and other manufacturers. The coffee pod holders will also work with any 7-11 gram pod in the single pod holder and you can use two 7 gram pods in the double pod holder.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Black & Decker Home Café One Cup Coffee Maker GT300"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (20) | social bookmarking

February 16, 2006

Review: Tully's French Roast & Kona Blend K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 2211 If you own a Keurig B-40 Elite, Keurig B50 Gourmet, Keurig B-60 Special Edition brewer then very soon you're going to be able to get your hands on some of this amazing French Roast & Kona blends coffee in K-cups from Tully's Coffee.

We received this coffee earlier in the week and have been sampling through both the Kona Blend and the French roast - what can we say? The Tully's French Roast knocked us down dead in our coffee drinking tracks and the Kona blend? A very interesting medium roast coffee that also is very good.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Tully's French Roast & Kona Blend K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

February 2, 2006

Review: Mr. Coffee Home Cafe AT 13 Generation II

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

At13

It's been over a year since we tested the original Mr. Coffee Home Cafe. We liked this Home Cafe single serve coffee brewer much better than the Black & Decker Home Cafe. The quality of the Mr. Coffee was a little better and we also felt the coffee it produced was a little better as well.

The new Mr. Coffee Home Cafe Single Serve Coffee Maker - Model AT13 features:

  • Utilizes Pre-Packed Folgers® and Millstone® Coffee Pods, to Bring the Coffeehouse Home
  • Brews Regular/Flavored Pods and Specialty Pods (Cappuccino Drinks)
  • Adjustable Brew Head Prevents Splatters and Allows for a Variety of Mug Sizes
  • Ergonomic, Removable and Rotating Water Reservoir for Ease of Use and Cleaning
  • Brews up to 14 oz. Fresh Cup of Coffee
  • Removable Drip Tray For Easy Cleaning
  • Compact Footprint
  • Lighted On/Off Switch
  • Bonus: 8 Folgers® and Millstone® Coffee Pods Starter Kit & Coffee Pod Storage Container

We've been testing this new machine (check out our first impressions) with various coffee pods from Flava Pods, Baronet Coffee Pods, Cool Beans Pod, and of course even the included Folgers pods. Since the machine features 3 pod holders - a single, a double, and a specialty pod holder the range of coffees you can make is quite broad.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Mr. Coffee Home Cafe AT 13 Generation II"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (14) | social bookmarking

February 1, 2006

Review: Green Mountain Coffee Fair Trade Winter Classic Blend K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews T4031 Large-1Winter is upon us and so our various coffees for our single serve coffee machines touting they'll be perfect for a nice cozy cup of coffee. Fair Trade Winter Classic blend from Green Mountain coffee is just such a coffee for your K-Cup single serve brewer. We fired up our trusty Keurig B60 and sat back hoping this Winter blend would do the trick.

The Winter Classic Blend brings together Indonesian coffee with Central and South American beans. The resulting coffee is intended to bring about a very caramel like coffee with a smooth round taste and finish. We used the 7.25 oz setting on the B60 with water temperature coming out in the 188-189 degrees F range. We also sat back in our big easy chair, put a blanket over us, and proceeded to see how much the Winter Classic Blend improved our "coziness".

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Green Mountain Coffee Fair Trade Winter Classic Blend K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 20, 2006

Review: Gloria Jean's Black Gold K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 2044Jim Evans from CoffeeWhiz.com was kind enough to send us a sampling of Gloria Jean's K-Cups to review. Gloria Jean's has 12 coffees including flavored, plus origins and blends in both regular and decaffeinated, as well as a selection of 7 teas that can be used in Keurig B-40 Elite, Keurig B50 Gourmet, Keurig B-60 Special Edition brewers.

Img 2045We honestly expected to focus our first review on more of their flavored coffees but Gloria Jean's Black Gold K-Cups took us by surprise. Gloria Jean's Black Gold K-Cups are made from a blend of 3 darker roasts coffee (we really wish we knew what all three roasts were) and it comes off as a more medium dark coffee with a very refined finish. This gem of a coffee is nothing short of smoky, interesting, not too dark, and great tasting until the last sip - hot or cold.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Gloria Jean's Black Gold K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 11, 2006

Review: Aerobie AeroPress Coffee & Espresso Maker

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Aero Press 03The staff here at Single Serve Coffee.com have been kicking the tires on the new Aerobie Aeropress for over a month now. Did you notice something about the title of the coffee maker? Yes. The same company that makes the Aerobie flying discs and other fun outdoor products makes the Aeropress. If you've ever thrown an Aerobie you know it really works. The frisbee like rings are much easier to throw than frisbees and go very far. So we had high expectation s for the Aeropress coffee maker from such an ingenious inventive company.

Since this is a little different than other single serve coffee makers we normally review we want to ensure you that it is in fact a single serve coffee maker. Yes - you will need espresso ground coffee from either your grinder or by purchasing some pre-ground coffee from coffee companies like illy but making a cup of Aeropress coffee is very easy and intended to make one cup of perfect coffee or espresso.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Aerobie AeroPress Coffee & Espresso Maker"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (53) | social bookmarking

January 9, 2006

Review: Eight 0' Clock Colombian Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews8Clock SmallJim Evans from CoffeeWhiz.com sent us a set of Eight 0' Clock Colombian coffee pods in both regular and decaf. We can't say we were ever an Eight 0' Clock coffee drinker in drip coffee form but we did welcome the chance to review the Eight 0' Clock 100% Colombian coffee pods.

The Eight 0' Clock coffee pods are a blend of award-winning 100% Colombian coffee beans. Eight 0' Clock coffee claims you can expect a medium roast flavored coffee with a lingering sweet finish.

What did we find? How did these coffee pods fair? How sweet is the finish?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Eight 0' Clock Colombian Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

January 5, 2006

Review: My K-Cup Keurig Reusable Filter

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews MykcupWant to use your own coffee in your Keurig home brewer? Look no further than the My K-Cup Keurig Reusable Filter filter. The reusable K-Cup® filter assembly allows you to use your own gourmet ground coffee in your Keurig® brewer. The My K-Cup Keurig Reusable Filter will work in your Keurig Elite B40 Brewer, Keurig B50, Keurig Special Edition Ultra Elite B60, Keurig B70 Brewer, and the Breville BKC600XL Gourmet Single Cup Brewer.

Images-1-5The reusable K-Cup filter is also now available to the general public via Green Mountain Coffee's web site. You can purchase both the reusable K-Cup assembly and extra filters. We received just an assembly and one filter for testing but can tell if you really wanted to enjoy this for a couple of cups of coffee in the morning having an extra filters will make repeat cups of coffee much easier.

Img 2011We embarked on our first round of testing using Pete's House Blend coffee. We frequent Pete's Coffee Shop in Harvard Square here in Cambridge, MA all the time and know that special flavor you get from any Pete's Coffee. How would the My K-Cup Keurig Reusable Filter do when brewing up a cup of coffee? How hard would it be to fill? What would the mess be like? How hard would the clean up be?

Update: You can now purchase the My K-Cup Keurig Reusable Filter at Green Mountain Coffee Roaster's web site.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: My K-Cup Keurig Reusable Filter"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (98) | social bookmarking

January 3, 2006

Review: Flava Pods Vanilla Hazelnut Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews FlavapodsWe recently discovered Flava Pods - a new coffee pod maker with a bunch of flavored coffee pod flavors for your Senseo, Krups KP1010 Home Cafe, Bunn My Cafe, and other single serve coffee brewers. Flava Pods come individually wrapped and weigh in at 10 grams per pod.

We decided to focus our first Flava Pod coffee pod review on their Vanilla Hazelnut coffee pods. We tend to drink a the more vanilla or hazel flavored coffees and we also like how they mix up with a little cream and sugar.

Category17Other Current Flavors Include:

  • Cinnamon Sticky Bun
  • Hawaiian Macadamia Nut
  • Cinnamon Almond Macaroon
  • Mocha Cinnamon Swirl
  • Chocolate Cappuccino
  • French Vanilla
  • Supreme Hazelnut Delight
  • Vanilla Hazelnut
  • Caramel Nut Crunch
  • Swiss Chocolate Almond

Flava Pods boasts a a true, robust hazelnut flavor for their vanilla hazelnut coffee pods. What did we think?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Flava Pods Vanilla Hazelnut Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Vicki Hardy: The Dark Roast of the Taste of Inspiration K-cups are read more
Richard Sachs: I just purchased the Archer Farms Organic Ethiopian Yirgacheffe 11.5 read more
karen: Lost the orange needle. Too expensive to reorder such a read more
Mark N' Sac: I've been buying GV K cups for about 6 to read more
Nate: After 3 Keurigs we have given up on Keurig and read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy