March 20, 2006

Review: Grindmaster GPOD PrecisionBrew™ Single Cup Brewing System

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Gpod LargeIt's been over a year since we last learned of the fabled Grindmaster Consumer PrecisionBrew single serve coffee maker. We had thought back then it would be only a few months before it came out, but like some consumer products, you just have to wait and the product will come out when it wants to not when you'd like it to.

We're pretty excited to say - the wait was worth it. The Grindmaster GPOD PrecisionBrew™ Single Cup Brewing System has a small footprint, easy to use features, and can make a mild or strong cup of single serve coffee using coffee pods with ease. The machine is both attractive and is one of the best mid-ranged priced coffee pod brewers we've tested over the past two years.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Grindmaster GPOD PrecisionBrew™ Single Cup Brewing System"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (12) | social bookmarking

March 15, 2006

Review: Vanilla Nut Coffee Pods from Pod Pack International

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 2310We've been in a furious round of coffee pod testing all week not letting the new Grindmaster GPOD Single Serve Coffee brewer get a free moment and decided to run a round of the new Pod Pack International coffee pods through it this week as well. Pod Pack International makes over 10 flavors for your for Senseo, Bunn My Cafe, Krups Home Cafe, and simplehuman single serve coffee pod brewers.

Img 2314Pods are sold 18 per dispenser carton with 4 dispenser cartons in a shipping case and you can choose up to 4 different blends for each shipping case. Minimum order is 1 shipping case but pods are reasonably priced at $3.95 for regular flavors and $4.95 for flavored and decaf .

The following flavors are available in 9 gram single packed pods:

  • House Blend Regular
  • House Blend Decaffeinated
  • 100% Columbian
  • Breakfast Blend
  • French Roast
  • Hazelnut
  • Vanilla Nut
  • Guatemala Antigua
  • Irish Cream
  • Sumatra

We decided to go with Vanilla Nut for this review as we've had a craving for something other than the dark coffee we've been testing with all week. The first thing we noticed was the attractive packaging of the One Cup coffee pods from Pod Pack. Each comes individually wrapped and weighs in at 9.3 grams per pod according to our scale. That makes sense as Pod Pack claims 9 grams of coffee in each pod and with the filter you could easily add the other .3 grams into the overall coffee pod weight.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Vanilla Nut Coffee Pods from Pod Pack International"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

February 27, 2006

Review: Diedrich Morning Edition K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 2236Everyone here at Single Serve Coffee.com is always looking for that perfect breakfast blend cup of coffee, because sometimes in the morning you don't want some super heavy cup of coffee but you might want something full and complex. Jim Evans at CoffeeWhiz.com sent us a set of Diedrich K-Cups for the Keurig B-40 Elite, Keurig B50 Gourmet, Keurig B-60 Special Edition brewers and we have been enjoying the Diedrich Morning Edition K-Cups over the past week.

382934But let's talk a little about Diedrich first. The Diedrich Story is as rich as the flavor of their coffee. It all started in 1916, when Charlotte Diedrich inherited a coffee plantation in Costa Rica. The coffee knowledge from owning the plantation passed down the different generations of Diedrichs until they opened a coffeehouse in the 1960s followed by many more. They now have over 30+

Now Diedrich describes their Morning Edition K-Cups as:

A full-bodied, full roast with creamy vanilla sweetness, aromas of leather and spice and a hearty satisfying finish.

What did we think? How satisfying is the finish? We can tell you right now this is a very full bodied cup of coffee that has a sweet yet satisfying finish.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Diedrich Morning Edition K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

February 23, 2006

Review: Black & Decker Home Café One Cup Coffee Maker GT300

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews B000Bhihkc.01-A1Vc38T7Yxb528.Lzzzzzzz-1-1The Black & Decker Home Café System GT300 single serve coffee maker is the update from 2004's Black & Decker Home Cafe system. The older Home Cafe HCC100 system was plagued with issues regarding not being able to open, bad pumps, and a plastic taste to the coffee. There was even several issues regarding the system simply melting from the brewing process (please read the thread here).

Img 2216The Black & Decker Home Café One Cup Coffee Maker GT 300 is supposed to fix many of these troubling issues and seeks out to do so. The Black & Decker Home Café System Generation II has a much improved quality about the machine, features a much smaller footprint, and the coffee pod chamber is also improved over the earlier model (you can read our first impressions here.)

The Home Cafe system from Black & Decker allows you to use coffee pods and specialty pods with a set of three different coffee pod holders. There is a single coffee pod holder, a double coffee pod holder, and the specialty pod holder which is used for cappuccino pods. For use with Home Cafe one cup brewers, you can purchase Millston and Folgers coffee pods. The system will also brew tea pods from Lipton tea and other manufacturers. The coffee pod holders will also work with any 7-11 gram pod in the single pod holder and you can use two 7 gram pods in the double pod holder.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Black & Decker Home Café One Cup Coffee Maker GT300"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (20) | social bookmarking

February 16, 2006

Review: Tully's French Roast & Kona Blend K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Img 2211 If you own a Keurig B-40 Elite, Keurig B50 Gourmet, Keurig B-60 Special Edition brewer then very soon you're going to be able to get your hands on some of this amazing French Roast & Kona blends coffee in K-cups from Tully's Coffee.

We received this coffee earlier in the week and have been sampling through both the Kona Blend and the French roast - what can we say? The Tully's French Roast knocked us down dead in our coffee drinking tracks and the Kona blend? A very interesting medium roast coffee that also is very good.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Tully's French Roast & Kona Blend K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

February 2, 2006

Review: Mr. Coffee Home Cafe AT 13 Generation II

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

At13

It's been over a year since we tested the original Mr. Coffee Home Cafe. We liked this Home Cafe single serve coffee brewer much better than the Black & Decker Home Cafe. The quality of the Mr. Coffee was a little better and we also felt the coffee it produced was a little better as well.

The new Mr. Coffee Home Cafe Single Serve Coffee Maker - Model AT13 features:

  • Utilizes Pre-Packed Folgers® and Millstone® Coffee Pods, to Bring the Coffeehouse Home
  • Brews Regular/Flavored Pods and Specialty Pods (Cappuccino Drinks)
  • Adjustable Brew Head Prevents Splatters and Allows for a Variety of Mug Sizes
  • Ergonomic, Removable and Rotating Water Reservoir for Ease of Use and Cleaning
  • Brews up to 14 oz. Fresh Cup of Coffee
  • Removable Drip Tray For Easy Cleaning
  • Compact Footprint
  • Lighted On/Off Switch
  • Bonus: 8 Folgers® and Millstone® Coffee Pods Starter Kit & Coffee Pod Storage Container

We've been testing this new machine (check out our first impressions) with various coffee pods from Flava Pods, Baronet Coffee Pods, Cool Beans Pod, and of course even the included Folgers pods. Since the machine features 3 pod holders - a single, a double, and a specialty pod holder the range of coffees you can make is quite broad.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Mr. Coffee Home Cafe AT 13 Generation II"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (14) | social bookmarking

February 1, 2006

Review: Green Mountain Coffee Fair Trade Winter Classic Blend K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews T4031 Large-1Winter is upon us and so our various coffees for our single serve coffee machines touting they'll be perfect for a nice cozy cup of coffee. Fair Trade Winter Classic blend from Green Mountain coffee is just such a coffee for your K-Cup single serve brewer. We fired up our trusty Keurig B60 and sat back hoping this Winter blend would do the trick.

The Winter Classic Blend brings together Indonesian coffee with Central and South American beans. The resulting coffee is intended to bring about a very caramel like coffee with a smooth round taste and finish. We used the 7.25 oz setting on the B60 with water temperature coming out in the 188-189 degrees F range. We also sat back in our big easy chair, put a blanket over us, and proceeded to see how much the Winter Classic Blend improved our "coziness".

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Green Mountain Coffee Fair Trade Winter Classic Blend K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 20, 2006

Review: Gloria Jean's Black Gold K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 2044Jim Evans from CoffeeWhiz.com was kind enough to send us a sampling of Gloria Jean's K-Cups to review. Gloria Jean's has 12 coffees including flavored, plus origins and blends in both regular and decaffeinated, as well as a selection of 7 teas that can be used in Keurig B-40 Elite, Keurig B50 Gourmet, Keurig B-60 Special Edition brewers.

Img 2045We honestly expected to focus our first review on more of their flavored coffees but Gloria Jean's Black Gold K-Cups took us by surprise. Gloria Jean's Black Gold K-Cups are made from a blend of 3 darker roasts coffee (we really wish we knew what all three roasts were) and it comes off as a more medium dark coffee with a very refined finish. This gem of a coffee is nothing short of smoky, interesting, not too dark, and great tasting until the last sip - hot or cold.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Gloria Jean's Black Gold K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 11, 2006

Review: Aerobie AeroPress Coffee & Espresso Maker

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews Aero Press 03The staff here at Single Serve Coffee.com have been kicking the tires on the new Aerobie Aeropress for over a month now. Did you notice something about the title of the coffee maker? Yes. The same company that makes the Aerobie flying discs and other fun outdoor products makes the Aeropress. If you've ever thrown an Aerobie you know it really works. The frisbee like rings are much easier to throw than frisbees and go very far. So we had high expectation s for the Aeropress coffee maker from such an ingenious inventive company.

Since this is a little different than other single serve coffee makers we normally review we want to ensure you that it is in fact a single serve coffee maker. Yes - you will need espresso ground coffee from either your grinder or by purchasing some pre-ground coffee from coffee companies like illy but making a cup of Aeropress coffee is very easy and intended to make one cup of perfect coffee or espresso.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Aerobie AeroPress Coffee & Espresso Maker"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (53) | social bookmarking

January 9, 2006

Review: Eight 0' Clock Colombian Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews8Clock SmallJim Evans from CoffeeWhiz.com sent us a set of Eight 0' Clock Colombian coffee pods in both regular and decaf. We can't say we were ever an Eight 0' Clock coffee drinker in drip coffee form but we did welcome the chance to review the Eight 0' Clock 100% Colombian coffee pods.

The Eight 0' Clock coffee pods are a blend of award-winning 100% Colombian coffee beans. Eight 0' Clock coffee claims you can expect a medium roast flavored coffee with a lingering sweet finish.

What did we find? How did these coffee pods fair? How sweet is the finish?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Eight 0' Clock Colombian Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Ruthell Bryson : What is URL: read more
Nate: Weswitched to a Remington iCoffee. They do not claim that read more
Nate: Where is the $5 sample deal? I've clicked everything that read more
AO: I agree with Nate. Keurig is a total joke when read more
Bob Boisen: I solved my K500's white-screen-of-death (aka 'oops') problem by opening read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy