January 3, 2006

Review: Flava Pods Vanilla Hazelnut Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews FlavapodsWe recently discovered Flava Pods - a new coffee pod maker with a bunch of flavored coffee pod flavors for your Senseo, Krups KP1010 Home Cafe, Bunn My Cafe, and other single serve coffee brewers. Flava Pods come individually wrapped and weigh in at 10 grams per pod.

We decided to focus our first Flava Pod coffee pod review on their Vanilla Hazelnut coffee pods. We tend to drink a the more vanilla or hazel flavored coffees and we also like how they mix up with a little cream and sugar.

Category17Other Current Flavors Include:

  • Cinnamon Sticky Bun
  • Hawaiian Macadamia Nut
  • Cinnamon Almond Macaroon
  • Mocha Cinnamon Swirl
  • Chocolate Cappuccino
  • French Vanilla
  • Supreme Hazelnut Delight
  • Vanilla Hazelnut
  • Caramel Nut Crunch
  • Swiss Chocolate Almond

Flava Pods boasts a a true, robust hazelnut flavor for their vanilla hazelnut coffee pods. What did we think?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Flava Pods Vanilla Hazelnut Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

December 6, 2005

Review: LilyPod Microwavable Single Cup Coffee Pod Mug

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews P569-1We've been testing the LilyPod over the past several weeks and we'll say this right up front - results have been varied. The LilyPod Microwave Brew Mug supposedly brews up a nice cup of joe in 3 minutes or and that means less mess and the convenience of using whatever flavor pod you'd like to throw into it. The big factor here is the microwave.

Img 1651-1We have had less than stunning results with the Single Serve Coffee.com microwave but have had better results at our friends house. Each time we use the Lilypod with the exact directions and try a microwave the results have been different. It's like we're making microwave popcorn and not coffee, but we do believe it makes sense the results are so varied.

If you've ever cooked in a microwave oven anything like popcorn, perhaps a Lean Cuisine, or even poached some eggs - you'll know that finding the right power setting and time to cook is important for YOUR MICROWAVE. We have found this to be the case with the LilyPod. We simply could not find a great setting for our Microwave but did find some decent ones with other less powerful microwave ovens. That being said, the coffee produced each time was not great coffee.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: LilyPod Microwavable Single Cup Coffee Pod Mug"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

November 29, 2005

Review: simplehuman Single Cup Pod Brewer

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsP-Coffee-Pod-BrewerIt's nice to see a new company in the single serve coffee game. It's really nice to see a company that has both amazing design and function to every kitchen item they've designed. It's also really really nice to see that company have it's first appliance as a single serve coffee brewer.

If you go to any major department store, kitchen store, or place that has housewares you'll see simplehuman's amazing stainless steel trash cans, containers, dish racks, and other extremely well designed products. We've been reviewing several of their products at Kitchen Contraptions and have found them all to be quite excellent.

We have been using the simplehuman single cup pod brewer over the past two weeks and are quite impressed. The brewer is very compact and also has a striking design. We think the overall impression of the simplehuman single cup pod brewer has been one of quality. Read on to get our moment of truth impressions and our run down and sampling of the coffees.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: simplehuman Single Cup Pod Brewer"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (27) | social bookmarking

November 14, 2005

Review: Senseo Forbidden Fruit Raving Reds Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 1633

Only available in Europe, we received these new Senseo Coffee pods with a fruit twist just last week. We sat down with the coffees over the weekend and decided to focus solely on Raving Reds Sunday morning.

The Senseo Forbidden Fruit Raving Reds comes packed in a bag of 10. Each pod weighs in at 7.5 grams (most likely 7 grams for the coffee and .5 grams for the filter paper). Upon opening the Raving Reds you get the strong smell of something very fruity, very red, and well - very cherry cough syrup.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Senseo Forbidden Fruit Raving Reds Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

November 11, 2005

Review: Green Mountain Fair Trade Gingerbread K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 1611We can clearly remember the first time we laid eyes on a gingerbread house. We can also clearly remember the first time we got to build a gingerbread house with our grandparents and taste the gingerbread, gumdrops, and icing as we built the gingerbread house. Drinking a cup of Gingerbread coffee from these new flavored K-Cups will bring all the memories like these rushing back.
Images-7We fired up our new Keurig Elite Edition B60 and sat back with a cup of Gingerbread coffee. We used the medium setting on the Keurig B60 and also tried the new Gingerbread coffee with a generous helping of creme and sugar.

When testing any new coffee, we like to benchmark it against other coffees we've tried. The entire Single Serve Coffee team has really been enjoying the Hazelnut Creme and the Mocha Nut Fudge K-Cups as well and hoped the Gingerbread would hold up.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Green Mountain Fair Trade Gingerbread K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 2, 2005

Review: Padinies Mocca Mountain Coffee Pods from Single Serve Coffee

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsImg 1575

Wendy from Typical Dutch Stuff sent us in the entire set of Padinies Coffee Pods (they call them pads in Europe). Padinies coffee pods are only available in Europe, but we are always excited to review coffee pods from across the ocean because the coffee flavors are often so different.

Padinies touts itself as "The Universal Coffee" and we are wondering how universal these coffee pods really are. We did find they fit in all the US single serve coffee brewers that take a 62 mm coffee pod and we also found the coffee to be good.

We decided on the Mocca Mountain coffee pods because they had the most un-universal coffee smell of any of the pods. They have an almost hypnotic chicory like aroma when you open the bag.

Currently Padinies has the following coffee pod flavors available:

  • Mocca Mountain
  • Arabica Classic
  • Caffe Lacchino
  • Rooibos Vanille (tea pod)
  • French Roast
  • French Vanilla
  • Arabica Light Classic

Packshots

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Padinies Mocca Mountain Coffee Pods from Single Serve Coffee"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 24, 2005

Review: Nespresso Essenza C90 Espresso Machine from Single Serve Coffee

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsB000B6N23A.01-Abd6L716Mazpn. Sclzzzzzzz -1We reviewed the Nespresso Romeo earlier this year and the great coffee and espresso it produced simply amazed us. The price however at $799 did not. We wanted to review a Nespresso system more in line with the Single Serve Coffee price range of $100-$200 for a typical machine. We called up Nespresso and said - send us a cheaper model but it had better make the same quality espresso!

Update:The Nespresso Essenza C90 has been replaced by the improved Nespresso Essenza C100T. We've tried this new model and love the new programmable cup features and auto off.

Nespresso has answered and sent us their new Nespresso C90-Essenza in orange to review. Coming in at $179.99 at Amazon.com and other online merchants, the C90-Essenza hits the mark we were looking for in price. The C90-Essenza is not a fully automatic machine like the Nespresso Romeo, it features a new handle system and is fitted with a backlit button to manually control the amount of coffee needed to make an espresso or a lungo.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nespresso Essenza C90 Espresso Machine from Single Serve Coffee"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (51) | social bookmarking

October 19, 2005

Review: Baronet Coffee's 12 Gram Dark Kenya AA Monster Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsBaronet Topnav Logo

Things are changing rapidly in the single serve coffee world and the coffee pod has been bearing the brunt of the changes. When the coffee pod first launched with the Senseo it was a nice simple 7 gram coffee pod. You simply used one 7 gram coffee pod for a single cup on the Senseo and then 2 - 7 oz pods for a double cup of coffee. Currently you can get 7, 9, 10, 10.5, 11 coffee pods, and now even 12 gram pods from Baronet Coffee. Are these new 12 gram pods really going to make a better cup of single serve coffee?

Library - 7560We spent the last week finding out if we really thought these new 12 gram coffee pods were better or just about the same as a 10 gram pods Baronet Coffee currently makes. We also wanted to find out whether a 12 gram coffee pod would hold up under the dreaded 10-12 oz travel mug coffee test.

We tested the new Baronet 12 Gram Monster Coffee Pods in our Krups Home Cafe, Philips Senseo, and Bunn My Cafe. We did get the pods to work in the Grindmaster pod brewer, but now without a bunch of trouble and "pop open" issues. The pods are a little big for the podmaster basket at 12 grams.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Baronet Coffee's 12 Gram Dark Kenya AA Monster Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (8) | social bookmarking

October 12, 2005

Review: Hausbrandt USA Espresso Pods for ESE Machines by Single Serve Coffee

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsHausbrandt Logo

Espresso. Yes - espresso. Over the past year each day more and more we love you espresso. When we first started this crazy single serve coffee gig we had no idea how much a part of our life you would become. We're amazed at the shear variety and quality of espresso pods. We shouldn't really be that amazed (the espresso pod came well before the coffee pod) but we continue to find top quality espresso pods like the ones from Hausbrandt USA.

Library - 7454These espresso pods that fit in most E.S.E. (easy serving espresso) machines are superb. The taste of all the espresso we had from them was nothing short of amazing. The coffees all have a rich unique flavor, and we especially liked their Brasil Santos espresso pods.

In order to use any espresso pod you'll need a Francis!Francis! X5 or some E.S.E. certified machine. We used the Grimac provided to us by Baronet Coffee for our tests.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Hausbrandt USA Espresso Pods for ESE Machines by Single Serve Coffee"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

October 10, 2005

Review: Grindmaster OPOD001 Precision Pod Brewing System from Single Serve Coffee

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsLg Opod001-1

We received the Grindmaster Precision Pod Brewing System in mid-September and you may have been wondering - what have they been doing all that time? Why haven't we had a review sooner? Well, we like to put a machine through it's paces and reviewing machines of this caliber takes some time.

However, you may have noticed we've been mentioning and using the machine in several of the reviews over the past month. Some of the reviews included:

Starbucks Coffee Pod Review:

"We fired up the Grindmaster Pod Brewer we are currently testing. We stuck with a 6 oz setting on the Grindmaster with the darker setting (there's a dial where you can pick the level of coffee intensity you want). The Grindmaster pre-saturates the coffee pod for a better extraction, and then brews up a cup of 6 oz of coffee. We've found the 6 oz size to have the right amount of extraction to water ratio for our tasting habits. We then sampled the coffee with and without cream and sugar.
ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Grindmaster OPOD001 Precision Pod Brewing System from Single Serve Coffee"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Pascal : I want to purchase the orange foam needle seal. Where read more
Nancy Randall: love my single serve Keurig coffee maker its my morning read more
Nancy Randall: enjoy my coffee maker its my morning pickerupper read more
Ray Marciano: How do i get my free samples? read more
lou: hello mccafe regular blend,goodbye folgers after 20 years,love mccafe. read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy