October 7, 2005

Review: Starbucks Coffee Pods for Senseo & Home Cafe from Single Serve Coffee

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsLibrary - 7621Premium Pods.com sent us their Starbucks House Blend coffee pods for Senseo, Home Cafe, and other 62 mm single serve coffee brewers to review. Premium Pods.com doesn't make coffee pods, but resells only the best coffee pods they can find.

Library - 7623We have to say we are still wondering where these pods come from given Starbucks itself doesn't sell coffee pods yet (except for espresso pods). All that being said, we were excited to finally try some Starbucks coffee packed into a coffee pod for our single serve coffee brewer.

Update: It looks like Premium Pods.com as either pulled the Starbucks Coffee pods or run out of them. They are no longer available on their web site. We'll keep you posted if we find out anything more

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Starbucks Coffee Pods for Senseo & Home Cafe from Single Serve Coffee"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

October 4, 2005

Review: Brugo Self Cooling Coffee Mug

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsWhen we first heard about the Brugo Self-Cooling Coffee Mug we couldn't have been more excited. Our current crop of travel mugs are a mixture of success and failure. We often burn our mouth or tongue from a very hot cup of single serve coffee in the morning when we aren't patient. Also - we often spill our coffee using the travel mugs we have when we forget to close the top. The Brugo Self-Cooling Coffee Mug has none of these issues.

Brugo Mugs

Topofmug-1The promise of the Brugo Self-Cooling coffee mug is that you don't have to worry about burning your mouth or spilling coffee. The Brugo Self-Cooling Coffee Mug has a "Temperature Control Chamber" at the top which measures out a drinkable portion of coffee. It then cools it down to 150-170°F., which provides optimum taste at a comfortable temperature.

The lid has three settings:

  • "Tip and Cool", which allows you to drink using the Temperature Control Chamber
  • "Sip" which bypasses the Chamber allowing to drink like a normal cup
  • "Lock", which closes the cup.

We started off our experiment picking up a friend at the Airport yesterday morning at 6am. If you're like me, the ability to be rational and make good coffee drinking decisions at 6am is sparse. How did the Brugo Self-Cooling Coffee Mug hold up?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Brugo Self Cooling Coffee Mug"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (71) | social bookmarking

September 26, 2005

Review: Timothy's World Coffee Rainforest Espresso Extra Bold K-Cups

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsLibrary - 7538Timothy's World Coffee has sent us their new Timothy's Rainforest Espresso Extra Bold K-Cups for us to review. We've also been trying out various other Timothy's coffees over the past few weeks and have to admit how much we've enjoyed them all.

Timothy's Rainforest Espresso Extra Bold K-Cups are in the new Keurig K-Cup format that has up to 25% more coffee packed into a single K-Cup. At an 8 oz setting you can truly tell the difference in a cup of Keurig single serve coffee versus a traditional K-Cup without the extra coffee.

The Rainforest Espresso Extra Bold K-Cups have 15% more coffee than the regular Timothy's Rainforest espresso blend. We like the extra amount of flavor this cup of coffee packs. Right away you can smell the coffee and we also mixed our 8 oz cup of Rainforest Espresso with milk and a little sugar to bring out the sweet flavors the Rainforest Espresso delivers.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Timothy's World Coffee Rainforest Espresso Extra Bold K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

September 21, 2005

Review: Baronet Coffee One Cup Pumpkin Spice Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsLogo Baronet-1Face it. It's Fall. The days and nights are getting cooler and you need the perfect cup of single serve coffee to evoke memories of apple picking, Halloween, and of course eating Grandma's Pumpkin Pie. Look no further! Baronet Coffee has a terrific treat for your single serve coffee machine - Pumpkin Spice Coffee Pods!

Pumpkin Spice-1We have to say, we aren't usually a big flavored coffee kind of person. We like our Dark Kenyan, or super dark chunky French Roast. But the fact remains, every time we fire up the Baronet Pumpkin Spice Coffee pods - we really feel happy and relaxed.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Baronet Coffee One Cup Pumpkin Spice Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

September 19, 2005

Review: Lavazza Espresso Point

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsLavazza Espresso MatineeIn our continued commitment to review all the Single Serve Coffee systems, we bring you the Lavazza Espresso Point. When Single Serve Coffee started early last year, the Lavazza Espresso Point was one of the first single serve coffee machines we ran news on.

We received the Lavazza Espresso Point from Lilli at Aromacc.com. They run a web site called Aroma Cafe Culture that features many of the products you can get from Lavazza. Lavazza is a very old and very established Italian coffee brand and the Lavazza Espresso Point is a very unique hot beverage system.

The Lavazza Espresso Point uses prepackaged, gas-flushed cartridges, combined with Lavazza's proprietary machine technology. In a world where we have coffee pods, K-Cups, T-Discs, Espresso Pods, Coffee Capsules, it's quite amazing that there is yet another type of coffee cartridge or format in the single serve coffee world. But the fact remains - how good is the coffee from the Lavazza Espresso Point system and what are the details behind this system?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Lavazza Espresso Point"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 6, 2005

Review: Green Mountain's Fair Trade Rain Forest Nut K-Cups for Keurig

Library - 7412 Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsWe decided to kick off the after Labor Day review season with a K-Cup we've been enjoying and it's flavored! Green Mountain's Rain Forest Nut is quite good. We have been drinking it in the 8 oz size when using the Ultra B50 Keurig single serve coffee brewer with a little cream and sugar.

Green Mountain's Rain Forest Nut has a rich flavor - almost a strong vanilla like note, and of tastes of caramel as well. By itself and without the cream, you get a hint of the flavor, but by adding cream and sugar the Rain Forest Nut flavors really come out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Green Mountain's Fair Trade Rain Forest Nut K-Cups for Keurig"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 30, 2005

Review: Tassimo Hot Beverage System from Single Serve Coffee

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews We received Tassimo earlier this month to review and are feeling good about this new offering in the Single Serve Coffee arena. The machine is manufactured by Braun, however Tassimo was designed by Saeco and Kraft. Tassimo will launch in the US this Fall.

Update: Tassimo has two new brewers from Bosch. Check out our reviews of the Tassimo Bosch Brewers:

Also check out our continued updated Tassimo and T-Dics area of articles.

Update: Tassimo is now calling this system a "brewbot". What's a brew bot? The Brewbot (BROO·bot) is an advanced brewing machine programmed to make over seven different varieties of beverages. Brewbots can create coffees, lattes, cappuccinos, espressos, hot chocolates and coffee cremas all at the touch of a button. a.k.a. Roboticus Brewtus. The machines are the same as earlier Tassimo Bosch models above but being marketed as brewbots. Please check out our review links of the current lineup of Tassimo machines.

Updated Bosch Tassimo Review: Read our review of the new Bosch Tassimo hot beverage system here.

Tassimo - 09The Tassimo does not use coffee pods, ESE espresso pods, or K-Cups, but utilizes a new hot beverage brewing system in the form of T-Discs. Each T-Disc has a bar code on it to tell the machine how the hot beverage of your choice needs to be prepared, and the brewing of the coffee happens inside each T-Disc as water is pushed through it. Tassimo can make single serve coffee. single serve crema coffee, espresso, lattes, cappuccinos, tea and best of all - HOT CHOCOLATE.

Tassimo is also the first single serve coffee system to have liquid milk instead of powdered milk to make cappuccinos and lattes. You don't have to keep the milk T-Discs cold either, as they are shelf stable and ultra-pasteurized. By using milk T-Discs to make a latte or cappuccino, the Tassimo eliminates the need for a complicated steam wand or frothing attachment.

Update: You can now order Tassimo at Amazon.com.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Tassimo Hot Beverage System from Single Serve Coffee"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (166) | social bookmarking

August 15, 2005

Review: Krups 1010 Home Cafe Pod Brewing Machine

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews P2070396DtThe Home Cafe line of single serve and one cup brewing machines has been in need of an update since launch. Many readers and myself were disappointed in the first offerings in the Home Cafe line of single serve brewers. Readers reported and continue to report many issues with the Black & Decker line of Home Cafe machines, and this hasn't helped the entire single serve coffee phenomenon.

Last Roll - 23It's too bad the Home Cafe line didn't have the new Krups 1010 Home Cafe Pod Brewing Machine at launch. We will cut right to the chase here, this machine is light years ahead of the former Home Cafe pod brewing machines and we think overall Krups has the start of something very promising in the Home Cafe line.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Krups 1010 Home Cafe Pod Brewing Machine"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (33) | social bookmarking

August 8, 2005

Review: Nespresso Romeo Single Serve Espresso Machine

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsNespresso Romeo - 07We are very excited to review the Nespresso Romeo before it launches this September. The machine is part of a new "Top Line" from Nespresso, and utilizes their coffee capsule loading system and is aptly named Romeo, as the coffee capsule is placed on a small balcony.

If you're not familiar with Nespresso, they like to divide their uniqueness into what they call, "The Nespresso Trilogy": the hermetically-sealed, iconic capsules with the large variety of Grand Cru ground coffees (their own specially picked coffees), the state-of-the-art, easy-to-use, sleek-looking coffee machines, and the Nespresso Club which offers unmatched personal service for ordering Nespresso Capsules.

Update: You can now purchase the Nespresso Romeo at Amazon.com

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Nespresso Romeo Single Serve Espresso Machine"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

July 27, 2005

Review: Community Coffee Dark Roast Coffee Pods

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod ReviewsLibrary - 7000We're having a cup of dark roast single serve coffee from Community Coffee this morning and really enjoying it. If you don't know Community Coffee, you should. Community Coffee is the largest family-owned retail coffee brand in the U.S. The company’s roots grew from a small country store in Baton Rouge where more than 80 years ago, founder Henry Norman 'Cap' Saurage brewed his popular coffee.

The coffee became so popular that he named it Community in honor of his loyal friends and customers. The owners eventually turned their attention away from the grocery store and devoted all of their time and energy to making coffee. And now Community Coffee is making Single Cup or Single Serve Coffee pods and will they be as good as their other coffee?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Community Coffee Dark Roast Coffee Pods"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Pascal : I want to purchase the orange foam needle seal. Where read more
Nancy Randall: love my single serve Keurig coffee maker its my morning read more
Nancy Randall: enjoy my coffee maker its my morning pickerupper read more
Ray Marciano: How do i get my free samples? read more
lou: hello mccafe regular blend,goodbye folgers after 20 years,love mccafe. read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy