October 11, 2004

Melitta One:One Re-Review from Guest Writer Russell Miner

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviews

At Single Serve Coffee.com - we love to have a diversity of opinions. That being said, you can expect that if I can pass along any of the coffee makers and gadgets to other Single Serve readers or friends for their opinion - I will do it.

ArrowContinue reading: "Melitta One:One Re-Review from Guest Writer Russell Miner"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

October 6, 2004

Coffee Pod Canister Review

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewspodcanister.gif
The folks at CoffeePodCanister.com were kind enough to send us along a Pod Canister to review. This canister fits Senseo and Home Cafe pods - so the 62mm pod type that are loose and not single packed are perfect for this coffee pod can.

ArrowContinue reading: "Coffee Pod Canister Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

September 23, 2004

Review: Melitta One:One Coffee Pod Brewer

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewsredmelitta.jpgThe folks at Melitta sent us a red (we called it the Ferrari for the two weeks we tested it) One:One. I have to admit - even though my first single serve machine was a Senseo, the Melitta was in the US market before it.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Melitta One:One Coffee Pod Brewer"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (34) | social bookmarking

September 14, 2004

The Mac Gourmet Reviews Senseo

"I recently acquired a Senseo from my friend Jay. He runs SingleServeCoffee.com, and I had been hearing about these new single or double cup coffeemakers from him for a while. Single serve coffeemakers have been big in Europe, but have now started showing up here in the US too. Rather than buying and grinding coffee beans, or using pre-ground coffee in a canister and measuring it out scoop by scoop, single serve makers use "pods" or "k-cups" that contain vaccuum packed pre-ground coffee. Brewing a cup is as easy as popping in a pod or k-cup, filling the maker with water and pressing your one or two cup selection.

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

September 11, 2004

Melitta One:One Arrives for Review

B0001MXU7C.01.MZZZZZZZ.jpg The folks at Melitta have sent us a Melitta One:One in Red to review. Will this machine be the Ferrari of the single serve coffee and tea category? Who knows? Us. We'll be using this machine over the next few weeks to find out. Stay tuned! VROOOM!!!!!

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 7, 2004

Single Serve Coffee Review System - How We Rate Coffee and Hot Beverages

We rate our coffee reviews based on Aroma, Acidity, Body, Flavor, Mouth Feel, and an overall impression of the coffee or single serve hot beverage. We use a rating of 0-100 and in each of the categories assign points points to each. We don't separate out Roast in our reviews for coffee, but assign the overall profile of a coffee drinker we think would like this coffee and match it to the roast impression we receive.

Note:This is an updated coffee review system we have put in place for Fall 2007 moving forward. Many of our older reviews use a 1-5 star rating or "pod rating" system. At the time we felt this was a good indicator of the overall quality of the coffee or hot beverage delivered, but it missed the nuances and degree of differences in those drinks.

We also consider how good of a single serve product the coffee is - does it work well in the single serve coffee machine? Does it deliver on the promise of being an extra-bold coffee? All of this plays out into what we think the overall score should be and is up to the discretion of the reviewer.

We then assign 0-10 points to each of the categories below, and then use the remaining 50 points to assign the overall impression of the coffee or hot beverage.

Aroma - How great does the coffee smell? Does it have sweet notes? Rich notes? Fruity or flavorful notes? Does the single serve coffee drink have a pleasant or not so pleasant nose?

Acidity - Acidity is both the creator of flavor and the destroyer if too strong of a great cup of coffee. We like our acidity to be on the lower side, and the coffee to have a more round. That being said, some coffees taste great with a very high acid content - bringing an almost wine-like flavor profile. We try and make sure the acidity doesn't overpower the coffee here.

Body - How big is that coffee? Is it light or dark or medium? Is it too heavy? These are all things to consider when tasting different roasts of coffee.

Flavor - What's the overall impressions of the coffee and how does it taste? Does it hit the mark on being a French Roast? Does it remind you of something else? Does it seem to be darker than expected and have a very odd finish? All of this along with how the coffee seems to be playing out is the flavor for us.

Mouth Feel - Though some consider this to be in the "Aftertaste" camp, we consider how rich, thick, and how the coffee plays in your mouth a very big part of the experience. Aftertaste is great for lingering flavors, but mouth feel is how the coffee goes in and rolls around.

Coffee Drinker - We don't assign points here, but we do tell you the type of coffee drinker we think the coffee is for. Is it for a dark coffee drinker? Is the roast very light and perfect for anyone?

Overall Rating

Ratings run from 0-100 and as we score each of the above. The reviewer can also ignore many of the above factors if not reviewing a coffee, and assign an overall score to a hot chocolate, tea, or other hot beverage.

  • 95-100 Excellent
  • 90-94 Exceptional
  • 85-89 Good
  • 80-84 Average
  • 75-79 Fair
  • 70-74 Poor
  • 70 or less Don't Drink

We want to acknowledge CoffeeReview.com as a starting point to our coffee ratings system. We have put our own spin on the coffee rating system for single serve coffee and the other hot beverages single serve coffee systems can make like tea, hot cocoa, lattes, and other hot drinks.

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

September 5, 2004

Review: Black & Decker Home Café from Single Serve Coffee

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewshomecafe_thumb.jpgThe Home Café Brewer from Black&Decker is an interesting addition to the Single Serve Coffee craze. The Home Café has partnered itself with Folger's Coffee - not what you would expect for a "Premium" grade coffee, but I guess when the maker of the machine is Black&Decker it's a good place to start.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Black & Decker Home Café from Single Serve Coffee"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (46) | social bookmarking

September 4, 2004

100% Kona Coffee Pod Review from Single Serve Coffee

Review from Single Serve Coffee.com - Coffee Pod Reviewskonapodreview.jpgThe folks at Aloha Island Coffee were kind enough to send me a sampler pack of their new 100% Kona Dark Roast Pods for Senseo single serve coffee machines.

ArrowContinue reading: "100% Kona Coffee Pod Review from Single Serve Coffee"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (6) | social bookmarking

August 11, 2004

thecelebritycafe.com Reviews the Senseo

CoffeeMachine.jpg

"Senseo The one-cup coffee machine is now a home brewing rage. We’ve reviewed the Keurig, but it seems that there are a few dozen other models just floating around out there. This time we had a look at the Senseo.

Senseo Review from thecelebritycafe.com/

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

August 3, 2004

Home Café Arrives for Review

coverThe folks at P&G (Procter and Gamble), have sent us the Black&Decker Home Café to review! I will be putting this brewer through the paces over the next few weeks. Stay tuned!

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Ruthell Bryson : What is URL: read more
Nate: Weswitched to a Remington iCoffee. They do not claim that read more
Nate: Where is the $5 sample deal? I've clicked everything that read more
AO: I agree with Nate. Keurig is a total joke when read more
Bob Boisen: I solved my K500's white-screen-of-death (aka 'oops') problem by opening read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy