September 16, 2013

Dunkin Donuts Caramel K-Cups Review

Dunkin Donuts Caramel K Cup

Earlier this year, Dunkin Donuts revealed a new flavor to their K-Cup line-up after last year’s new Mocha K-Cups were introduced… Dunkin Donuts Caramel K-Cups. Even though it’s been available for several months, we are just now getting the chance to review it. Better late than never, right? Oddly enough, even though Dunkins advertise these flavors as limited editions, they seem to always be available at various shops whenever we stop by, so we’re not exactly sure what the story is behind that, but hey… all the better (for example, last year’s Mocha K-Cups are STILL currently available at some shops).

ArrowContinue reading: "Dunkin Donuts Caramel K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 9, 2013

Mr. Coffee Single Serve Coffee Brewer Review - BVMC-KG2 Model

 

Mr Coffee BVMC KG2 KCup Brewer

As the only person in my household to enjoy a nice cup of Joe occasionally, I was on the hunt for a new K-Cup brewer that wouldn't take up much counter space, and also make a fresh cup of coffee each time I wanted one. The Mr. Coffee single serve coffee maker fit the bill.

I saw the Mr. coffee machine and it was smaller and more slim line for the counter top so I bought this as an upgrade for my coffee indulgence. A single serve brewer is ideal for me due to the fact that I want to enjoy the rich strong blends available without the hassle of learning where to get them and the correct way to make them.

ArrowContinue reading: "Mr. Coffee Single Serve Coffee Brewer Review - BVMC-KG2 Model"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

September 3, 2013

Mr. Coffee Single Serve Coffee Brewer Machine Review

Mr Coffee Single Serve Coffee Brewer Machine

The Mr. Coffee Single Serve Coffee Brewer Machine has changed how I drink coffee. I've gone from constantly buying it 'to go' to taking the time to enjoy it at home. If you're considering buying this single serve coffee brewer, let me break down the positives and negatives for you:

ArrowContinue reading: "Mr. Coffee Single Serve Coffee Brewer Machine Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 29, 2013

Dunkin Donuts Original Blend Iced Coffee K-Cups Review

 

Dunkin Iced Coffee K-Cups

A few months ago, Dunkin Donuts introduced a new iced version of their Original Blend by releasing Dunkin Donuts Original Blend Iced Coffee K-Cups. With the warmer weather of summer unfortunately coming to an end sooner than we'd like, we decided to check out these new K-Cups while they were still available during a recent stop at a local Dunkins shop.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in the same strong earthy & smoky notes of Dunkins Original Blend which reminded us of walking into a Dunkins shop. Flavor (when taken black) was pretty much the same as well except things seemed slightly stronger than the Original Blend K-Cups. We got the earthy & smoky notes from the aroma and this even remained once cream & sugar were added. While it's not exactly 100% like what you'd get in a Dunkins shop, it's a pretty close runner-up.

ArrowContinue reading: "Dunkin Donuts Original Blend Iced Coffee K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 20, 2013

Woodshed Roasting Company Single Serve Cups Review

WoodshedroastingcompanyIMGP5503

At Single Serve Coffee HQ, we're always on the lookout for local roasters/companies that are getting into the single serve market and often, we're contacted by companies who want us to review their products either before or after they've hit retail shelves. We were recently contacted by a micro roaster based out of Laconia, NH named Woodshed Roasting Company and they sent us some samples of their recent Single Serve Cups for use in Keurig K-Cup brewers. Rather than go with Real Cups or Rogers Family style soft-bottomed cups, they decided to try the new LBP UpShot Solution Cups. These cups are made from 100% recyclable materials and unlike K-Cups or Real Cups, the bottom piercing needle doesn't actually pierce the bottom of the cup as instead, water flows through the coffee and out the sides of the mesh filter.

ArrowContinue reading: "Woodshed Roasting Company Single Serve Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

August 9, 2013

Martinson Dark Roast Coffee Real Cups Review for Keurig K-Cup Brewers

 

ReviewmartinsondarkroastrealcupsIMGP5224

We continue our Martinson Real Cup review series today with their Martinson Dark Roast Real Cups. So far we've been reviewing mostly light & medium roast flavors in the line-up, so we were interested to see how their darker roasted flavors would turn out.

Brewing these Real Cups resulted in strong smoky aromas that quickly filled the room and upon closer inspection, we also noticed scents of dark chocolate with an earthy background. Flavor was again a nice mix of smoky flavors blended with dark chocolate notes throughout along with mild cereal notes hiding underneath. Acidity was a lot better balanced than previous offerings in the line-up as you get a very mild sour note on first sip which quickly gives way to the main flavors of the coffee. As a result, the main flavors don't get covered-up by the acidity yet there's enough liveliness going on in the background to prevent things from falling flat.

ArrowContinue reading: "Martinson Dark Roast Coffee Real Cups Review for Keurig K-Cup Brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 30, 2013

Seattle's Best Coffee Medium & Balanced and Smooth Roasted K-Cups Review

Seattlesbestkcups med light

Thanks to AB from Maine we were able to get our hands on Seattle's Best Coffee K-Cups currently being served at Subway. We got to try both the level 1 - Smooth Roasted and the Level 3 - Medium and Balanced Seattle's Best Coffee K-Cups. These K-Cups are Keurig Brewed and licensed for use with any K-Cup Brewer. Both K-Cups were quite good with the Medium and Balanced being the clear winner for us more bold coffee drinkers. 

ArrowContinue reading: "Seattle's Best Coffee Medium & Balanced and Smooth Roasted K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 29, 2013

Solofill SoloGrind 2-in-1 Coffee Grinder Review

Reviewsolofillsologrind2in1coffeegrinderIMGP5490

If you’re like us, you don’t always like the idea of having to pay a premium for licensed K-Cups and with the explosion of knock-off K-Cups being manufactured by 3rd-party companies over the past few years, you’re either left with inferior quality products or outstanding products which can be almost as costly as the licensed versions.

The solution? Solofill’s re-usable filters for Keurig K-Cup & Vue brewers which allow you to use whatever brand of ground coffee you like. The only problem we kept running into was that we’d always end up grinding way more coffee than we intended to use and had to either brew several cups at once or use up the ground coffee ASAP the next day to prevent it from going stale. It wasn’t the best solution for those of us who just wanted to use 1 Solofill serving at a time, so the folks at Solofill decided to work on a solution.

While it’s been mentioned in our forums that this is nothing more than a re-badged & re-branded Mr. Coffee BMX3 grinder, we’ll admit that the appearances do in fact seem pretty similar. We know Solofill manufacture their own K-Cup & Vue Pack filters as well as K-Cup storage systems, but we didn’t picture them as a company that would design a coffee grinder from the ground up (pun intended). We also didn’t deem it necessary trying to confirm if this was indeed a re-branded BMX3 and to be honest, we couldn’t care less... as long as it gets the job done as advertised, that’s all that matters to us. Considering the fact that you get a Solofill-compatible filter holder and a $15 Solofill K3 Chrome filter at no extra cost seems like a pretty decent bargain considering the (on average) $60 price tag. We’ve seen far inferior and less versatile grinders being sold for that price range in-store and online, so we’re happy with our purchase.

ArrowContinue reading: "Solofill SoloGrind 2-in-1 Coffee Grinder Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

July 18, 2013

Snapple Raspberry Iced Tea K-Cups Review

ReviewsnappleraspberryicedteakcupsIMGP5480

As the saying goes, all good things must come to an end and so, we finish our Snapple K-Cup review series today with their Snapple Raspberry Iced Tea K-Cups. We really enjoyed the other 2 flavors in the line-up but this particular flavor caught us off guard as Keurig & Snapple kept it a secret right up until launch date. We can't recall hearing anything about a 3rd flavor in the Snapple K-Cup series, so imagine our surprise when we saw 3 listings pop up on Keurig's site instead of 2.

The ingredients are much the same again with green & black tea leaves/extracts being present along with natural flavors plus the combination of sugar & aspartame. As we noted in our last 2 Snapple K-Cup reviews, aspartame is being used as an artificial sweetener here and thus it brings about a warning for people who are sensitive to phenylalanine (one of aspartame's ingredients) and more importantly, we'd like to warn people who have a genetic condition known as PKU since consuming phenylalanine can cause severe side effects for them. This essential amino acid doesn't pose any risk to people who don't have this condition or who aren't allergic to phenylalanine. We know there's only a small percentage of people who have this condition, but we owe it to them to post some form of advisory anyway just in case they happen to miss the warnings on the labeling/packaging.

ArrowContinue reading: "Snapple Raspberry Iced Tea K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 17, 2013

Snapple Peach Iced Tea K-Cups Review

ReviewsnapplepeachicedteakcupsIMGP5479

We continue our Snapple K-Cup reviews today with their Snapple Peach Iced Tea K-Cups. We quite enjoyed the results from their lemon flavor and thought it was a pretty good substitute for the bottled ready to drink version, so we're anxious to see if this peach flavor will be more of the same.

The ingredients show that again, green & black tea leaves/extracts are being used here along with natural flavors plus the combination of sugar & aspartame. As we noted in our last Snapple K-Cup review, these are the first K-Cups we've seen that use aspartame as an artificial sweetener and thus it brings about a warning for people who are sensitive tophenylalanine (one of aspartame's ingredients) and more importantly, we'd like to warn people who have a genetic condition known as PKU since consuming phenylalanine can cause severe side effects for them. This essential amino acid doesn't pose any risk to people who don't have this condition or who aren't allergic to phenylalanine. We know there's only a small percentage of people who have this condition, but we owe it to them to post some form of advisory anyway just in case they happen to miss the warnings on the labeling/packaging.

ArrowContinue reading: "Snapple Peach Iced Tea K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Jamey Hinds: There is nothing beneficial for the consumer with this new read more
Thomas Davie: One of the reasons (or selling points) for me to read more
Thomas Davie: What benefit do I get from the Keurig 2.0 that read more
AO: No thanks. read more
Gary: Hope the new 2.0 machine does not have the troubles read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy