August 9, 2013

Martinson Dark Roast Coffee Real Cups Review for Keurig K-Cup Brewers

 

ReviewmartinsondarkroastrealcupsIMGP5224

We continue our Martinson Real Cup review series today with their Martinson Dark Roast Real Cups. So far we've been reviewing mostly light & medium roast flavors in the line-up, so we were interested to see how their darker roasted flavors would turn out.

Brewing these Real Cups resulted in strong smoky aromas that quickly filled the room and upon closer inspection, we also noticed scents of dark chocolate with an earthy background. Flavor was again a nice mix of smoky flavors blended with dark chocolate notes throughout along with mild cereal notes hiding underneath. Acidity was a lot better balanced than previous offerings in the line-up as you get a very mild sour note on first sip which quickly gives way to the main flavors of the coffee. As a result, the main flavors don't get covered-up by the acidity yet there's enough liveliness going on in the background to prevent things from falling flat.

ArrowContinue reading: "Martinson Dark Roast Coffee Real Cups Review for Keurig K-Cup Brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 30, 2013

Seattle's Best Coffee Medium & Balanced and Smooth Roasted K-Cups Review

Seattlesbestkcups med light

Thanks to AB from Maine we were able to get our hands on Seattle's Best Coffee K-Cups currently being served at Subway. We got to try both the level 1 - Smooth Roasted and the Level 3 - Medium and Balanced Seattle's Best Coffee K-Cups. These K-Cups are Keurig Brewed and licensed for use with any K-Cup Brewer. Both K-Cups were quite good with the Medium and Balanced being the clear winner for us more bold coffee drinkers. 

ArrowContinue reading: "Seattle's Best Coffee Medium & Balanced and Smooth Roasted K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 29, 2013

Solofill SoloGrind 2-in-1 Coffee Grinder Review

Reviewsolofillsologrind2in1coffeegrinderIMGP5490

If you’re like us, you don’t always like the idea of having to pay a premium for licensed K-Cups and with the explosion of knock-off K-Cups being manufactured by 3rd-party companies over the past few years, you’re either left with inferior quality products or outstanding products which can be almost as costly as the licensed versions.

The solution? Solofill’s re-usable filters for Keurig K-Cup & Vue brewers which allow you to use whatever brand of ground coffee you like. The only problem we kept running into was that we’d always end up grinding way more coffee than we intended to use and had to either brew several cups at once or use up the ground coffee ASAP the next day to prevent it from going stale. It wasn’t the best solution for those of us who just wanted to use 1 Solofill serving at a time, so the folks at Solofill decided to work on a solution.

While it’s been mentioned in our forums that this is nothing more than a re-badged & re-branded Mr. Coffee BMX3 grinder, we’ll admit that the appearances do in fact seem pretty similar. We know Solofill manufacture their own K-Cup & Vue Pack filters as well as K-Cup storage systems, but we didn’t picture them as a company that would design a coffee grinder from the ground up (pun intended). We also didn’t deem it necessary trying to confirm if this was indeed a re-branded BMX3 and to be honest, we couldn’t care less... as long as it gets the job done as advertised, that’s all that matters to us. Considering the fact that you get a Solofill-compatible filter holder and a $15 Solofill K3 Chrome filter at no extra cost seems like a pretty decent bargain considering the (on average) $60 price tag. We’ve seen far inferior and less versatile grinders being sold for that price range in-store and online, so we’re happy with our purchase.

ArrowContinue reading: "Solofill SoloGrind 2-in-1 Coffee Grinder Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

July 18, 2013

Snapple Raspberry Iced Tea K-Cups Review

ReviewsnappleraspberryicedteakcupsIMGP5480

As the saying goes, all good things must come to an end and so, we finish our Snapple K-Cup review series today with their Snapple Raspberry Iced Tea K-Cups. We really enjoyed the other 2 flavors in the line-up but this particular flavor caught us off guard as Keurig & Snapple kept it a secret right up until launch date. We can't recall hearing anything about a 3rd flavor in the Snapple K-Cup series, so imagine our surprise when we saw 3 listings pop up on Keurig's site instead of 2.

The ingredients are much the same again with green & black tea leaves/extracts being present along with natural flavors plus the combination of sugar & aspartame. As we noted in our last 2 Snapple K-Cup reviews, aspartame is being used as an artificial sweetener here and thus it brings about a warning for people who are sensitive to phenylalanine (one of aspartame's ingredients) and more importantly, we'd like to warn people who have a genetic condition known as PKU since consuming phenylalanine can cause severe side effects for them. This essential amino acid doesn't pose any risk to people who don't have this condition or who aren't allergic to phenylalanine. We know there's only a small percentage of people who have this condition, but we owe it to them to post some form of advisory anyway just in case they happen to miss the warnings on the labeling/packaging.

ArrowContinue reading: "Snapple Raspberry Iced Tea K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 17, 2013

Snapple Peach Iced Tea K-Cups Review

ReviewsnapplepeachicedteakcupsIMGP5479

We continue our Snapple K-Cup reviews today with their Snapple Peach Iced Tea K-Cups. We quite enjoyed the results from their lemon flavor and thought it was a pretty good substitute for the bottled ready to drink version, so we're anxious to see if this peach flavor will be more of the same.

The ingredients show that again, green & black tea leaves/extracts are being used here along with natural flavors plus the combination of sugar & aspartame. As we noted in our last Snapple K-Cup review, these are the first K-Cups we've seen that use aspartame as an artificial sweetener and thus it brings about a warning for people who are sensitive tophenylalanine (one of aspartame's ingredients) and more importantly, we'd like to warn people who have a genetic condition known as PKU since consuming phenylalanine can cause severe side effects for them. This essential amino acid doesn't pose any risk to people who don't have this condition or who aren't allergic to phenylalanine. We know there's only a small percentage of people who have this condition, but we owe it to them to post some form of advisory anyway just in case they happen to miss the warnings on the labeling/packaging.

ArrowContinue reading: "Snapple Peach Iced Tea K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 16, 2013

Snapple Lemon Iced Tea K-Cups Review

ReviewsnapplelemonicedteakcupsIMGP5471

We’ve seen dozens of coffee brands fall under Keurig & GMCR’s ownership before and that’s nothing new, however, for an already-established ready to drink beverage manufacturer to enter into a partnership to produce their own licensed K-Cups? THAT is most definitely something new! We were shocked when Dr. Pepper Snapple Group announced several months ago that they would be releasing, in partnership with Keurig, new Snapple Iced Tea K-Cups during spring/summer 2013. The time has come and indeed, we’re seeing Snapple K-Cups popping up everywhere. We decided to kick things off today by checking out a classic iced tea flavor with their Snapple Lemon Iced Tea K-Cups.

ArrowContinue reading: "Snapple Lemon Iced Tea K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 26, 2013

GMCR Naturals Lemonade K-Cups Review

ReviewgmcrnaturalslemonadekcupsIMGP5462

GMCR Naturals is a line-up of K-Cups that take 1 thing in mind: Using 100% all-natural ingredients & derivatives. Their Apple Cider was outstanding as a hot drink and over the past several months, the folks at Green Mountain decided they'd try their hand at making an iced drink which was every bit as good. So what could be easily made as an iced drink with natural ingredients? Lemonade, of course! That (plus the recent warm weather) brings us to today's long overdue review of GMCR Naturals Lemonade K-Cups.

A quick look at the ingredients list reveals that they are indeed all-natural as we find Sugar, Lemon Juice Powder, Citric Acid, Reb A (Stevia Extract), Natural Flavor, Lemon Peel Powder & Lemon Fruit Powder. While we're wondering why BOTH sugar & stevia are being used here, we suppose the added sweetness of the stevia was used as a form of natural additive to offset the sour notes of the lemon ingredients while the sugar is what provides the natural background sweetness to the final drink and probably makes up the bulk of the sweetener ingredients.

ArrowContinue reading: "GMCR Naturals Lemonade K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 20, 2013

Peet's Single Serve Coffee K-Cups Review

Peets kcup sampler pack

Peet's Coffee & Tea sent us over a sampler pack to try out of their new Peet's Single Cups that will work in any Keurig K-Cup Brewers. We only had one single cup of each to try out over the past few days and tried to savor each one to make sure we got our thoughts and impressions right. Overall these single cups taste like Peet's from whole ground coffee. The resulting coffee in your single serve coffee cup is rich, intense, and delicious. It's nice to see Peet's join the single serve coffee craze, and these are a welcome addition to the the single serve coffee world.

  • Major Dickason's Blend - this is an everyday medium roast coffee for just about anyone. Yum.
  • Cafe Domingo - Medium roast blend with subtle richer notes. We love the aftertaste that lingers with a little bite on this one.
  • House Blend - Lighter and really good for mornings. 
  • Decaf House Blend - Lighter and for a decaf - yes please.
  • French Roast - their darkest roast and our favorite. It's on par with Tully's French roast coffee.
Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

June 10, 2013

Review: Second Cup Caffe Latte T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeSeconcupLattetdiscs

We come to an end of our Second Cup review series today by finishing with their Second Cup Caffe Latte T-Discs. A trend we've been noticing with new flavors lately is an updated label on the milk creamer T-Discs which makes them look similar to some of the European milk creamer T-Discs. While we've got nothing against sprucing-up labeling, we do however take issue with Kraft using the same color scheme as its European milk creamer T-Discs.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Second Cup Caffe Latte T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 7, 2013

Review: Second Cup Paradiso Coffee T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeParadiso

We continue our Second Cup review series today by checking out a milder version of their Paradiso coffee found in their Second Cup Paradiso T-Discs. Once again, much like the dark roast version, these T-Discs are the size of the old Starbucks T-Discs or more common milk creamer T-Discs. Would this yield a stronger tasting medium roast or make things overly sour due to more amounts of acidity? Let's find out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Second Cup Paradiso Coffee T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
constance rogers: I just purchased the Costco Pacific Blend because in reading read more
Irv S: We've got a Starbucks 10 pack that has the Black read more
Geo: the 2.0 will brew other k cups. Take the foil read more
Holly: I was able to get around this by taking a read more
Joe Bacon: It sure would be helpful if Keurig noted on their read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy