July 16, 2013

Snapple Lemon Iced Tea K-Cups Review

ReviewsnapplelemonicedteakcupsIMGP5471

We’ve seen dozens of coffee brands fall under Keurig & GMCR’s ownership before and that’s nothing new, however, for an already-established ready to drink beverage manufacturer to enter into a partnership to produce their own licensed K-Cups? THAT is most definitely something new! We were shocked when Dr. Pepper Snapple Group announced several months ago that they would be releasing, in partnership with Keurig, new Snapple Iced Tea K-Cups during spring/summer 2013. The time has come and indeed, we’re seeing Snapple K-Cups popping up everywhere. We decided to kick things off today by checking out a classic iced tea flavor with their Snapple Lemon Iced Tea K-Cups.

ArrowContinue reading: "Snapple Lemon Iced Tea K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 26, 2013

GMCR Naturals Lemonade K-Cups Review

ReviewgmcrnaturalslemonadekcupsIMGP5462

GMCR Naturals is a line-up of K-Cups that take 1 thing in mind: Using 100% all-natural ingredients & derivatives. Their Apple Cider was outstanding as a hot drink and over the past several months, the folks at Green Mountain decided they'd try their hand at making an iced drink which was every bit as good. So what could be easily made as an iced drink with natural ingredients? Lemonade, of course! That (plus the recent warm weather) brings us to today's long overdue review of GMCR Naturals Lemonade K-Cups.

A quick look at the ingredients list reveals that they are indeed all-natural as we find Sugar, Lemon Juice Powder, Citric Acid, Reb A (Stevia Extract), Natural Flavor, Lemon Peel Powder & Lemon Fruit Powder. While we're wondering why BOTH sugar & stevia are being used here, we suppose the added sweetness of the stevia was used as a form of natural additive to offset the sour notes of the lemon ingredients while the sugar is what provides the natural background sweetness to the final drink and probably makes up the bulk of the sweetener ingredients.

ArrowContinue reading: "GMCR Naturals Lemonade K-Cups Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 20, 2013

Peet's Single Serve Coffee K-Cups Review

Peets kcup sampler pack

Peet's Coffee & Tea sent us over a sampler pack to try out of their new Peet's Single Cups that will work in any Keurig K-Cup Brewers. We only had one single cup of each to try out over the past few days and tried to savor each one to make sure we got our thoughts and impressions right. Overall these single cups taste like Peet's from whole ground coffee. The resulting coffee in your single serve coffee cup is rich, intense, and delicious. It's nice to see Peet's join the single serve coffee craze, and these are a welcome addition to the the single serve coffee world.

  • Major Dickason's Blend - this is an everyday medium roast coffee for just about anyone. Yum.
  • Cafe Domingo - Medium roast blend with subtle richer notes. We love the aftertaste that lingers with a little bite on this one.
  • House Blend - Lighter and really good for mornings. 
  • Decaf House Blend - Lighter and for a decaf - yes please.
  • French Roast - their darkest roast and our favorite. It's on par with Tully's French roast coffee.
Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

June 10, 2013

Review: Second Cup Caffe Latte T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeSeconcupLattetdiscs

We come to an end of our Second Cup review series today by finishing with their Second Cup Caffe Latte T-Discs. A trend we've been noticing with new flavors lately is an updated label on the milk creamer T-Discs which makes them look similar to some of the European milk creamer T-Discs. While we've got nothing against sprucing-up labeling, we do however take issue with Kraft using the same color scheme as its European milk creamer T-Discs.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Second Cup Caffe Latte T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 7, 2013

Review: Second Cup Paradiso Coffee T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeParadiso

We continue our Second Cup review series today by checking out a milder version of their Paradiso coffee found in their Second Cup Paradiso T-Discs. Once again, much like the dark roast version, these T-Discs are the size of the old Starbucks T-Discs or more common milk creamer T-Discs. Would this yield a stronger tasting medium roast or make things overly sour due to more amounts of acidity? Let's find out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Second Cup Paradiso Coffee T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 6, 2013

Review: Second Cup Paradiso Dark Coffee T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeParadiso Dark

Second Cup may not be as well-known in America as Starbucks or Dunkin Donuts, but in Canada, they're much like Timothy's & Van Houtte as they've created a Canada-wide franchise chain of coffee shops & cafés which spans from coast to coast and are one of Tim Horton's & Starbucks' primary competitors. The company has had a rather storied past complete with its fair share of controversy. Founded in Ontario in 1975, the company quickly expanded to 150 locations by 1988.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Second Cup Paradiso Dark Coffee T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

May 30, 2013

Review: Brown Gold 100% Colombian Real Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeReviewbrowngold100colombianrealcupsIMGP5439

We continue our Brown Gold Real Cup review series today by checking out the 3rd flavor in their line-up... Brown Gold 100% Colombian Real Cups.

Brewing these Real Cups resulted in a pleasing aroma overall, comprised by lightly smoked notes of caramel with very faint hints of spices & raisin hiding underneath. Billed as a medium roast, flavor seemed more balanced overall compared to the previous flavors in the Brown Gold line-up as we noticed some slight sour notes at first which quickly gave way to notes of caramel, molasses, chocolate & more faint notes of spices in the background blended by a touch of smoke on the finish.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Brown Gold 100% Colombian Real Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 29, 2013

Review: Brown Gold 100% Peruvian Real Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeReviewbrowngold100peruvianrealcupsIMGP5431

We continue our Brown Gold Real Cup review series today by checking out the 2nd flavor in their line-up... Brown Gold 100% Peruvian Real Cups.

Brewing these Real Cups resulted in mild smoky notes appearing with subtle notes of chocolate throughout with some faint earthiness in the background. Billed as a medium roast, flavor seemed on the sour side as the first thing you notice is a strong sour bite which seems to linger for a bit, but it eventually gives way to more smoky & chocolaty notes buried underneath.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Brown Gold 100% Peruvian Real Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 28, 2013

Review: Brown Gold 100% Costa Rican Real Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeReviewbrowngold100costaricanrealcupsIMGP5425

We couldn't find much info on Brown Gold's website to describe the company's history or beginnings, but the site does go on to mention that the goal of their Single Origin coffees is to allow tasters to experience the pure, untouched and unmodified flavor of the namesake region's coffee beans so that you get an idea of what that particular country/region has to offer since you're getting only coffee from that specific region... it's not blended with anything else. Today we check out the first flavor in Brown Gold's Real Cup line-up... Brown Gold 100% Costa Rican Real Cups.

Brewing these Real Cups resulted in light smoky notes blending with some very mild hints of cocoa & molasses buried underneath. Billed as a medium roast, flavor seemed more like a light roast as it was very mild & light tasting. We detected some light sour citrusy notes of oranges paired with some slight smoky flavors which had chocolate & molasses in the background. Acidity was more on the lighter side of things and was mostly noticed shortly after each sip then quickly dissipated to reveal the main flavors.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Brown Gold 100% Costa Rican Real Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 17, 2013

Review: President's Choice Gourmet Medium Roast T-Discs

Review Single Serve CoffeeReviewpresidentschoicegourmetmediumroasttdiscsIMGP5005

We continue our review of President's Choice Tassimo products today with their Gourmet Medium Roast T-Discs. Unlike their Great Canadian T-Discs, these aren't supposed to be clones or knock-offs of anything, but rather just a regular everyday store-brand coffee.

Brewing these T-Discs resulted in a mix of chocolate & smoky aromas with some faint raisin notes hiding underneath. Flavor was substantially better than their Great Canadian as this time we got stronger notes of smoke & dark chocolate which gave way to stronger sour notes in the acidity while things finished off with some oily notes and hints of mild smoke buried at the bottom end of the cup. Acidity was as we just mentioned, notably stronger with more pronounced sour notes at first sip which lingered around for a while before giving way to the spicier notes in the finish. We're starting to think that President's Choice should have named this roast as their Great Canadian since things were turning out considerably better this time around.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: President's Choice Gourmet Medium Roast T-Discs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Thomas Davie: What benefit do I get from the Keurig 2.0 that read more
AO: No thanks. read more
Gary: Hope the new 2.0 machine does not have the troubles read more
Jay Brewer: Yep. You are correct. We were fooled by the fancy read more
M: I've seen the Millstone a lot around Seattle. (Drinking a read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy