January 3, 2013

Review: Club Coffee Inca Trail Single Cup Capsules

Review Single Serve CoffeeInca trail

We continue our review series of Club Coffee Single Cup Capsules today with their Club Coffee Inca Trail Single Cup Capsules.

Brewing these Single Cup Capsules resulted in mild smoky notes at first gave way to mild earthy notes tinged with faint cocoa hiding underneath. Things were starting to slightly deviate from the norm with previous Club Coffee flavors we've tried to date, so we started hoping flavor would yield something slightly different as well.

Despite being billed as a medium roast, body was dark reddish-brown & almost wine-like in color with small hues of yellow & orange which had a hard time piercing through when held in front of a light source. Acidity was pleasantly balanced and was smooth overall with light spikes of sour notes in the middle.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Club Coffee Inca Trail Single Cup Capsules"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 2, 2013

Review: Vitamin Burst Strawberry Pomegranate K-Cups

Review Single Serve CoffeeReviewvitaminburststrawberrypomegranatekcupsIMGP4866

We continue our Vitamin Burst review series today with the 2nd flavor in their lineup... Vitamin Burst Strawberry Pomegranate K-Cups. We were absolutely floored with their Acai Berry flavor last time, so we can't wait to see if these K-Cups are just as mind-blowing or not.

Brewing these K-Cups resulted in LOADS of strawberry aromas filling the room with hints of pomegranate slightly present in the background, but it was almost buried by the massive strawberry scent. Flavor was thankfully PACKED full of huge strawberry notes up front with a nice mild tartness of the pomegranate underneath. Again, the main notes were strawberries and we had to really search around a bit to find the mild pomegranate notes hiding in the cup. We were also detecting some other berry notes but couldn't quite put our finger on what it was until we checked the packaging and noticed dried black currant puree was listed in the ingredients. If we had to pick between these K-Cups and the Acai K-Cups, we'd say we probably enjoy the strawberry flavors a bit more than the acai, but just barely.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Vitamin Burst Strawberry Pomegranate K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 24, 2012

Review: King of Joe Dark Roast T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve Coffee

ReviewkingofjoedarkroasttdiscsIMGP4777

Our journey through Joe’s kingdom continues today with the King of Joe Dark Roast T-Discs. One thing we forgot to point out in previous reviews was the work that went into designing the logos on each T-Disc. The subtle use of a coffee bean for the letter o in Joe, the different silhouette head/face shapes for each flavor, etc. All little touches that make us like the brand even more, so hats off to the designers/artists who worked on that.

Brewing these T-Discs resulted in notes of molasses with faint tinges of hickory hiding underneath along with very faint oily notes as well. Flavor was again dominated with notes of molasses & hickory but we also detected very faint bread/grain notes similar to their espresso T-Discs. It’s interesting to see the genesis of a flavor note just starting to emerge here and the longer the beans are roasted, the more the note develops since we know for sure it’s more pronounced in the espresso T-Discs.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: King of Joe Dark Roast T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 21, 2012

Review: King of Joe Cappuccino T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeReviewkingofjoecappuccinotdiscsreviewkingofjoecappuccinotdiscsIMGP4779

We continue our review series of T-Discs today with the King of Joe Cappuccino T-Discs. Now, keep in mind that we’ve already reviewed the King of Joe Espresso T-Discs which are what’s being used here, so all the key points noted below are for the COMBINED aroma, acidity, flavor, etc. of BOTH the espresso and milk T-Discs, not just the espresso T-Discs.

Brewing these T-Discs resulted in smoky notes which were somewhat subdued by the milk creamer’s almost buttery aroma. Things were a lot more toned down compared to the espresso T-Disc alone as we weren’t getting all the original notes as before. Flavor had the same smoky notes with strong oils present, but they were again less prevalent this time around due to the addition of the milk creamer.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: King of Joe Cappuccino T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 10, 2012

Review: Tassimo Tea Bar Raspberry Iced Tea T-Discs

Review Single Serve Coffee

ReviewtassimoteabarraspberryicedteatdiscsIMGP4802

We continue our iced tea review series today with the new Tassimo Tea Bar Raspberry Iced Tea T-Discs. As we previously noted in another review, Tassimo Tea Bar is an in-house brand created by Kraft for the Tassimo. Our main problem with the Peach Iced Tea T-Discs was the sucralose taste. Let's see how it factors in this review.

Brewing these T-Discs resulted in strong aromas of sweet ripe raspberries quickly filling the room and like the peach iced tea flavor, you could also smell some of the black tea aromas in the background. Looking good so far. Flavor this time around was MUCH more palatable than the peach T-Discs. While the ingredients list on the packaging clearly shows sucralose is present, you don't get slammed in the face with it. It's actually barely noticeable. Instead, you get the sweet taste of raspberries bursting forth upon each sip. You can tell there's sucralose lurking around somewhere in the background, but the black tea tannins kick in before it becomes too noticeable. A superb job this time & much more enjoyable overall.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Tassimo Tea Bar Raspberry Iced Tea T-Discs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Tassimo Tea Bar Peach Iced Tea T-Discs

ReviewtassimoteabarpeachicedteatdiscsIMGP4801

We posted this review back in August, and we thought we'd bring it back in time for the holidays to surprise you. :-) Well - it surprised us that we had posted it so we will now bring you the Raspberry review today instead. Our original review of the Tassimo Tea Bar Peached Iced Tea T-Discs is here.

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 6, 2012

Review: Club Coffee Imperial Blend Single Cup Capsules

Review Single Serve Coffee

Imperial blend

We continue our review series of Club Coffee Single Cup Capsules today with their Club Coffee Imperial Blend Single Cup Capsules.

Brewing these Single Cup Capsules resulted in faint notes of chocolate & molasses hiding underneath. We were starting to wonder if most of the Club Coffee lineup was using the same aroma or if our olfactory senses decided to go on vacation during the past few Club Coffee reviews.

Imperial blendIMGP4739

Body was medium reddish-brown in color with more shades of red when held in front of a light source. Acidity was slightly sour at first but disappeared shortly afterwards in to milder more citrusy notes throughout the cup. Flavor started off with faint notes of chocolate with more citrusy notes in the background. Very faint hints of smoke hiding underneath. Mouth feel seemed smooth with a slight oily feel in the finish but was borderline on the watery side. Aftertaste was rather dry with faint smoky notes.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Club Coffee Imperial Blend Single Cup Capsules"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

December 4, 2012

Review: Eco-Fill Reusable Coffee Filter for Single Serve K-Cup Coffee Brewers

Review Single Serve Coffee51ClE3vXyXL SL500 AA300

We received the Eco-Fill Reusable Coffee Filter for Single Serve K-Cup Coffee Brewers just over a week ago, and the resulting coffee and ease of use is excellent. The Eco-Fill allows you to use your favorite coffee with your Keurig, Cuisinart, Breville, Mr Coffee and other single serve Brewers that use K-Cups, by allowing you to fill the Eco-Fill filter with any coffee you choose. 

It's as easy as 2 simple steps:

  1. Fill with your favorite gourmet coffee
  2. Close the lid and brew. 
ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Eco-Fill Reusable Coffee Filter for Single Serve K-Cup Coffee Brewers"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 27, 2012

Review: Verismo Single Serve Coffee and Espresso System by Starbucks

Review Single Serve CoffeeVerismo Matte Black 580 

Starbucks recently sent over the Verismo Single Serve Coffee and Espresso System which besides VIA instant coffee is their first single serve coffee and espresso system. Currently there are two models of the Verismo - the 580 and the V-585 larger model. The Verismo will make a variety of cafe beverages by using a combination of espresso Verismo pods and milk pods. You can also brew fresh coffee by using a Verismo coffee pod that has a freshness foil on the bottom of it you need to remove to reduce the pressure in the pod while brewing a single serve cup of coffee.

Versimo system machine

We received the Verismo 580 machine and it's very sleek and not very heavy. We like the fit and finish of the machine, and the overall design on the machine for us is one of it's strengths. If you're going to spend $199 for the 580 and $399 V-585 Verismo the machine had better be appealing. The water reservoir was easy to fill, and the lever to insert the Verismo pods was also easy to use repeatedly. We like the catch basin and multi-tier design of the cup stand allowing you to use larger or smaller cups, and you can even rise the cup stand high enough to use a shot glass for espresso shots.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Verismo Single Serve Coffee and Espresso System by Starbucks"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 26, 2012

Review: Starbucks Christmas Blend Single Serve Coffee K-Cups

StarbucksxmaskcupsIMGP5082

 

When we first reviewed their Anniversary Blend K-Cups a few months ago, we were cautiously optimistic that those would be the first in a line-up of seasonal K-Cups and it turns out that we were correct. We really liked that previous K-Cup, so we couldn't wait to see what Starbucks Christmas Blend K-Cups (the 2nd flavor in the series) would be like. Once again, Starbucks have gone all-out by creating nicely decorated packaging with festive artwork as well as a bright red reflective foil K-Cup lid (Ooh, shiny!) which proved quite the difficult item to photograph.

We also liked the addition of the year on the foil lid. They did this with their Anniversary Blend as well and we think it adds a certain collector's appeal much like you'd get when collecting wine vintages. We can already foresee asking guests if they'd like a 2012 vintage Christmas Blend K-Cup a few years from now (providing we have any left by then).

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Starbucks Christmas Blend Single Serve Coffee K-Cups"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Thomas Davie: This granting of Keurig licensed to previously unlicensed (and I'll read more
Jean Smith: I am sorry to report I will no longer byuy read more
AO: I would probably stick to a Java Stout or maybe read more
DAngel: Has anyone tried the new Target Market Pantry Classic coffee read more
Thomas Davie: I hunted around and read the Cnet review for the read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy