T Disc Reviews

May 5, 2014

Tetley Orange Pekoe Tea T-Discs Review

Reviewtetleyorangepekoeteatdiscs discs

Canada recently experience something it hadn’t seen for quite a while in the retail scene… a deluge of new T-Disc flavors for the Tassimo system. Today we take a look at the 1st of 2 new flavors that were introduced, namely the Tetley Orange Pekoe Tea T-Discs.

Tetley got its start as a tea merchant business founded in Yorkshire, England back in 1837 by brothers Joseph & Edward Tetley. They later relocated to London and by 1953, the company became the first to sell their tea in tea-bag format in the UK. Fast forward to present day and Tetley is now owned by Tata Global Beverages of India, the 2nd largest tea-producing company world-wide. This has ensured that Tetley has become a household name in many countries.

ArrowContinue reading: "Tetley Orange Pekoe Tea T-Discs Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 7, 2014

Nabob Bold Midnight Eclipse T-Discs for Tassimo Review

ReviewnabobboldmidnighteclipsetdiscsIMGP5755

Named after a lunar eclipse, Nabob intended for this coffee to be as dark and mysterious as its lunar namesake and while we won’t throw in as much of a kitsch factor as they decided to, we’ll admit that this particular flavor piqued our curiosity after we read that the regular ground coffee version won the 2012 International Taste & Quality Institute’s Superior Taste Award (then again, their Gastown Grind flavor also won the same award last year in 2013 and we rather enjoyed its T-Disc version). Today we continue our Nabob Bold series reviews by checking out their Nabob Bold Midnight Eclipse T-Discs. Lets see if this flavor performs as well as the hype that surrounds it. 

ArrowContinue reading: "Nabob Bold Midnight Eclipse T-Discs for Tassimo Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

March 31, 2014

Nabob Bold Gastown Grind T-Discs Review

ReviewnabobboldgastowngrindtdiscsIMGP5742

While some folks would argue that Tassimo machines seem to be more popular north of the border in Canada, that wasn’t always the case. For the longest time, the T-Disc brands/flavors on shelves up there was a pathetic smattering at best. While American Tassimo users got to enjoy the ability to import select European T-Discs via the TassimoDirect.com website, the ability to do this on the Tassimo.ca site was greatly reduced. It appears Kraft has tried to even things out over the past few years, but they’ve unfortunately done so by removing most of the European T-Disc flavors from both sites and geoblocking them within their own respective countries instead while opting to let a few cross the pond only when they feel like doing so. Fans complained and while Kraft decided they’d keep enforcing their geoblocking policies, they did push out a compromise which (while not ideal) seemed acceptable: release new flavors within each country. 

ArrowContinue reading: "Nabob Bold Gastown Grind T-Discs Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

December 18, 2013

Gevalia Peppermint Mocha T-Discs for Tassimo Review

 

Peppermint Mocha Packaging

With the holiday season upon us and the year drawing to a close in a few weeks, we decided to give up on shoveling the near 2 feet of snow in our driveway & check out the 2nd seasonal Tassimo offering which was released, oddly enough, for Fall 2013… Gevalia Peppermint Mocha T-Discs.

Traditionally a Christmas or Winter drink, peppermint mochas are often found at national & local coffee shops in various forms with the most recent spin being white chocolate peppermint mochas. While we don’t get any white chocolate here, we get the originator of the bunch & the drink that started it all… a regular peppermint mocha which has peppermint-flavored milk chocolate as a base and espresso as the mixer.

ArrowContinue reading: "Gevalia Peppermint Mocha T-Discs for Tassimo Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 9, 2013

Gevalia Pumpkin Spice Latte T-Discs Review

 

Gevalia PSL Packaging

We realize we’re a bit late to the party with this review, but what the heck… as we always say: better late than never, right? Today we check out one of our favorite new Tassimo flavors this past Fall 2013, Gevalia Pumpkin Spice Latte T-Discs.

As any Starbucks fan knows, there’s 3 letters that get them excited each October… PSL. Traditionally served between October 1st & Thanksgiving (the American version, for our readers up North), PSL or Pumpkin Spice Latte is a fan favorite which has been growing in popularity & demand each year. We knew we’d definitely see it crop up at Starbucks locations, but we were shocked when we got a Tassimo newsletter that had it featured as their next new flavor. So just how would this T-Disc version stack up to the real deal you’d get at a Starbucks? After all, Kraft did have a rather messy split with Starbucks back in the day when they ceased making Starbucks T-Discs, so we were curious to see the results.

ArrowContinue reading: "Gevalia Pumpkin Spice Latte T-Discs Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 10, 2013

Review: Second Cup Caffe Latte T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeSeconcupLattetdiscs

We come to an end of our Second Cup review series today by finishing with their Second Cup Caffe Latte T-Discs. A trend we've been noticing with new flavors lately is an updated label on the milk creamer T-Discs which makes them look similar to some of the European milk creamer T-Discs. While we've got nothing against sprucing-up labeling, we do however take issue with Kraft using the same color scheme as its European milk creamer T-Discs.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Second Cup Caffe Latte T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 7, 2013

Review: Second Cup Paradiso Coffee T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeParadiso

We continue our Second Cup review series today by checking out a milder version of their Paradiso coffee found in their Second Cup Paradiso T-Discs. Once again, much like the dark roast version, these T-Discs are the size of the old Starbucks T-Discs or more common milk creamer T-Discs. Would this yield a stronger tasting medium roast or make things overly sour due to more amounts of acidity? Let's find out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Second Cup Paradiso Coffee T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 6, 2013

Review: Second Cup Paradiso Dark Coffee T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeParadiso Dark

Second Cup may not be as well-known in America as Starbucks or Dunkin Donuts, but in Canada, they're much like Timothy's & Van Houtte as they've created a Canada-wide franchise chain of coffee shops & cafés which spans from coast to coast and are one of Tim Horton's & Starbucks' primary competitors. The company has had a rather storied past complete with its fair share of controversy. Founded in Ontario in 1975, the company quickly expanded to 150 locations by 1988.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Second Cup Paradiso Dark Coffee T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

May 17, 2013

Review: President's Choice Gourmet Medium Roast T-Discs

Review Single Serve CoffeeReviewpresidentschoicegourmetmediumroasttdiscsIMGP5005

We continue our review of President's Choice Tassimo products today with their Gourmet Medium Roast T-Discs. Unlike their Great Canadian T-Discs, these aren't supposed to be clones or knock-offs of anything, but rather just a regular everyday store-brand coffee.

Brewing these T-Discs resulted in a mix of chocolate & smoky aromas with some faint raisin notes hiding underneath. Flavor was substantially better than their Great Canadian as this time we got stronger notes of smoke & dark chocolate which gave way to stronger sour notes in the acidity while things finished off with some oily notes and hints of mild smoke buried at the bottom end of the cup. Acidity was as we just mentioned, notably stronger with more pronounced sour notes at first sip which lingered around for a while before giving way to the spicier notes in the finish. We're starting to think that President's Choice should have named this roast as their Great Canadian since things were turning out considerably better this time around.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: President's Choice Gourmet Medium Roast T-Discs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 10, 2013

Review: President’s Choice Great Canadian T-Discs

Review Single Serve CoffeeReviewpresidentschoicegreatcanadiantdiscsIMGP4996

President’s Choice is an in-store brand created by Loblaws grocery stores in Canada and they regularly release seasonal products which they’ve developed via their test kitchens, market research/focus groups as well as their team of chefs who travel the world to find source ingredients. They most recently rose to national fame when they introduced a new TV series/content via Food Network Canada called “Recipe To Riches” (currently within its 2nd season) where contestants from anywhere in Canada can submit their recipe to a panel of judges and compete to have their recipe/product featured on store shelves each week.

We expected President’s Choice to come out with a new kind of marinade sauce or snack product but they completely shocked the Canadian single serve world and took us by surprise this past Summer when they announced a partnership with Kraft’s Tassimo system and agreed to release their line of in-house coffees in T-Disc format. This would mark the beginning of Kraft branching-out more often and licensing T-Discs with many outside companies since their split with Starbucks. Unfortunately, Loblaws don’t have any stores in USA, so these T-Discs are uniquely a Canada-only product.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: President’s Choice Great Canadian T-Discs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 15, 2013

Review: Corner Coffeehouse Sweet Caramel Latte T-Discs

Review Single Serve Coffee71jI7TJDO L SL1500

Today we take a look at the 2nd flavor in the Corner Coffeehouse series with their Corner Coffeehouse Sweet Caramel Latte T-Discs.

Brewing these T-Discs resulted in mild caramel notes during brewing along with some of the usual buttermilk notes from the creamer. Again, we were hoping for a stronger aroma, but since it was being concentrated into a 2oz espresso shot, we suppose we were probably expecting for too much. Flavor was a bit better as we detected light notes of caramel up top quickly followed by some of the espresso flavors, then a bit more tinges of caramel followed by sweet buttermilk flavors of the creamer at the bottom. As we neared the end of the cup, the buttermilk flavors & overall sweetness of the drink became more pronounced.

If something has SWEET in its name, you can damn well bet the final results will taste sweet and that is once more the case with these T-Discs. Unlike what we've been seeing lately, we didn't detect any chemical notes in the sweetness and things just seemed like natural sugar overall. At least that's something that Kraft took the time get right. Acidity was pretty much washed-out by the creamer but did yield some bite from the espresso at various points throughout the drink. It helped let the mild caramel flavors come through & would have just washed them out had it been any stronger.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Corner Coffeehouse Sweet Caramel Latte T-Discs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 9, 2013

Review: Gevalia 15% Kona Blend T-Discs

Review Single Serve Coffee71gtpVVS+1L SL1500

We decided to review something today which is somewhat cloaked in mystery much like the Caribou Obsidian K-Cups or the President’s Choice T-Discs. Today we review the Gevalia 15% Kona Blend T-Discs. These T-Discs were not widely advertised and the only place we’ve been able to find them lately was our local Bed Bath & Beyond retail store and the Tassimo Direct website.

It would appear you can also order from the Bed Bath & Beyond website if you don’t have a retail location near you. As far as we can tell, Gevalia 15% Kona Blend T-Discs are only available in USA. Seems a bit odd for Gevalia to be releasing a Kona coffee blend since there are still issues with the recovering Kona crops in Hawaii at the moment which have forced Keurig & others to stop selling Kona blends due to shortages or insufficient supply. Despite this, we appreciate the fact that they chose to incorporate a 15% blend since most blends a few years back were only 10%. It’s not much more, but hey, we’ll take what we can get.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Gevalia 15% Kona Blend T-Discs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

February 12, 2013

Review: Wal-Mart Our Finest Canadian Blend T-Discs

Review Single Serve CoffeeReviewwalmartourfinestcanadianblendtdiscsIMGP5157 

Once in a while, something which can only be described as an oddity comes along and makes you do a double-take while your brain tries to comprehend what your eyes are seeing. It can be something slightly normal that just doesn't seem quite right... like a lime green Lamborghini sporting pink alloy wheels or it can be something completely absurd and off the wall which defies reality... like Gary Busey.

Well folks, we introduce to you today the Gary Busey of T-Discs, something which appears to be a Canadian exclusive sold only in Canadian Wal-Marts under the in-store brand known simply as Our Finest. It's also the most recent officially-licensed Tassimo product to hit Canadian shelves. Today we check out Wal-Mart's Our Finest Canadian Blend T-Discs.

Brewing these T-Discs resulted in very mild dark chocolate aromas with a faint note of smoke, but once the coffee sat in our mug for a few minutes, the aroma virtually disappeared with only the faintest hint of cocoa. Not exactly the strongest or most unique aroma we've ever experienced out of a T-Disc, so things weren't getting off to a good start.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Wal-Mart Our Finest Canadian Blend T-Discs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 29, 2013

Review: Carte Noire Caramel Latte Macchiato T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeCn latte macchiato reg pack 4

Today we decided to review a recent (well, recent on this side of the pond) new flavor from one of our favorite Tassimo brands, namely the Carte Noire Caramel Latte Macchiato T-Discs. Carte Noire has produced some superb products in the past and their espresso was always one of our favorites for quite a while.

Brewing these T-Discs unfortunately did not result in any caramel notes whatsoever which left us a bit perplexed since we were certain the word caramel was surely on the label. When the espresso T-Disc was popped in, we noted the characteristic smoky notes of the espresso along with some earthy notes in the background, but that was it. Odd... where the heck did the caramel go?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Carte Noire Caramel Latte Macchiato T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

 1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5 

next >>

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Jamey Hinds: There is nothing beneficial for the consumer with this new read more
Thomas Davie: One of the reasons (or selling points) for me to read more
Thomas Davie: What benefit do I get from the Keurig 2.0 that read more
AO: No thanks. read more
Gary: Hope the new 2.0 machine does not have the troubles read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy