December 24, 2012

Review: King of Joe Dark Roast T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve Coffee

ReviewkingofjoedarkroasttdiscsIMGP4777

Our journey through Joe’s kingdom continues today with the King of Joe Dark Roast T-Discs. One thing we forgot to point out in previous reviews was the work that went into designing the logos on each T-Disc. The subtle use of a coffee bean for the letter o in Joe, the different silhouette head/face shapes for each flavor, etc. All little touches that make us like the brand even more, so hats off to the designers/artists who worked on that.

Brewing these T-Discs resulted in notes of molasses with faint tinges of hickory hiding underneath along with very faint oily notes as well. Flavor was again dominated with notes of molasses & hickory but we also detected very faint bread/grain notes similar to their espresso T-Discs. It’s interesting to see the genesis of a flavor note just starting to emerge here and the longer the beans are roasted, the more the note develops since we know for sure it’s more pronounced in the espresso T-Discs.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: King of Joe Dark Roast T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 21, 2012

Review: King of Joe Cappuccino T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeReviewkingofjoecappuccinotdiscsreviewkingofjoecappuccinotdiscsIMGP4779

We continue our review series of T-Discs today with the King of Joe Cappuccino T-Discs. Now, keep in mind that we’ve already reviewed the King of Joe Espresso T-Discs which are what’s being used here, so all the key points noted below are for the COMBINED aroma, acidity, flavor, etc. of BOTH the espresso and milk T-Discs, not just the espresso T-Discs.

Brewing these T-Discs resulted in smoky notes which were somewhat subdued by the milk creamer’s almost buttery aroma. Things were a lot more toned down compared to the espresso T-Disc alone as we weren’t getting all the original notes as before. Flavor had the same smoky notes with strong oils present, but they were again less prevalent this time around due to the addition of the milk creamer.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: King of Joe Cappuccino T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 10, 2012

Review: Tassimo Tea Bar Raspberry Iced Tea T-Discs

Review Single Serve Coffee

ReviewtassimoteabarraspberryicedteatdiscsIMGP4802

We continue our iced tea review series today with the new Tassimo Tea Bar Raspberry Iced Tea T-Discs. As we previously noted in another review, Tassimo Tea Bar is an in-house brand created by Kraft for the Tassimo. Our main problem with the Peach Iced Tea T-Discs was the sucralose taste. Let's see how it factors in this review.

Brewing these T-Discs resulted in strong aromas of sweet ripe raspberries quickly filling the room and like the peach iced tea flavor, you could also smell some of the black tea aromas in the background. Looking good so far. Flavor this time around was MUCH more palatable than the peach T-Discs. While the ingredients list on the packaging clearly shows sucralose is present, you don't get slammed in the face with it. It's actually barely noticeable. Instead, you get the sweet taste of raspberries bursting forth upon each sip. You can tell there's sucralose lurking around somewhere in the background, but the black tea tannins kick in before it becomes too noticeable. A superb job this time & much more enjoyable overall.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Tassimo Tea Bar Raspberry Iced Tea T-Discs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Tassimo Tea Bar Peach Iced Tea T-Discs

ReviewtassimoteabarpeachicedteatdiscsIMGP4801

We posted this review back in August, and we thought we'd bring it back in time for the holidays to surprise you. :-) Well - it surprised us that we had posted it so we will now bring you the Raspberry review today instead. Our original review of the Tassimo Tea Bar Peached Iced Tea T-Discs is here.

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 14, 2012

Review: Tim Hortons Latte T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeTimhortaonlatteeIMGP5033

A few years ago when Tim's first started selling lattes and cappuccinos in their coffee shops, the big thing they kept pushing in its ad campaigns were that the drinks were made with premium espresso. Well, after our rather dismal experience with the President's Choice Cappuccino T-Discs, we're hoping Tim's wouldn't allow Kraft to produce their namesake products with anything other than premium ingredients.

Brewing these T-Discs resulted in buttery aromas from the milk creamer blending with strong smoky & oily notes from the espresso while also revealing some faint cereal notes hiding underneath. At first we thought that Kraft had decided to use a European milk creamer T-Disc for this drink until we realized it had a buttermilk aroma. Closer inspection revealed that these are just the same latte creamer T-Discs with a new foil label. Acidity was surprisingly balanced given the propensity for espresso to be on the heartier side of the acidity scale. It helped the milk creamer flavors flow throughout the drink without masking anything up yet it was strong enough to keep things from going dull.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Tim Hortons Latte T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

October 16, 2012

Review: Corner Coffeehouse Sweet Vanilla Latte T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve Coffee

tassimo_sweet_vanilla_latte_IMGP4876.JPG

As we've been seeing with the recent Tea Bar & King of Joe T-Discs, Kraft decided it would be best to develop new in-house brands vs. trying to continue importing foreign T-Discs from other countries. While we wish they would have concentrated more on the latter, we're still glad that they're cranking out new products instead of sitting around doing nothing. Today we take a look at another new in-house brand with their Corner Coffeehouse Sweet Vanilla Latte T-Discs.

Brewing these T-Discs resulted in mild sweet vanilla notes during brewing along with some of the characteristic buttermilk notes from the creamer. We were hoping for a stronger aroma, but since it was being concentrated into a 2oz espresso shot, it's no wonder it didn't have time to fill the room. Flavor fared a bit better as we detected light tinges of vanilla quickly followed by some of the espresso notes, then a bit more vanilla flavors and a sweet buttermilk finish with the creamer at the bottom. As we neared the end of the cup, the sweet buttermilk flavor of the creamer became more intense as the vanilla flavors started disappearing.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Corner Coffeehouse Sweet Vanilla Latte T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 10, 2012

Review: King of Joe Espresso T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4776.JPG

Over the past several years, we've been known to complain about the lack of new T-Disc flavors in retail stores, online or elsewhere and were just about ready to think that Kraft had all but given up on the Tassimo since Starbucks left and decided to partner with the competing Keurig machines instead. Ah, but then something strange happened... Kraft & Bosch decided enough was enough and started listening to fans. New machines were being introduced, a major safety recall was handled somewhat efficiently (for the most part) and best of all, after what seemed like ages of inactivity, new flavors were being released.

A few at first, then more, and eventually the levee broke and we were flooded with a tidal wave of amazing new flavors to the point where we almost couldn't keep track of all the new things that were coming out left and right. Could it be? Have Kraft FINALLY listened to our complaints & concerns? It would seem so.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: King of Joe Espresso T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

August 23, 2012

Review: Tassimo Tea Bar Peach Iced Tea T-Discs

Review Single Serve Coffee

teabarpeachIMGP4801.JPG

We decided it was time to review something which has long been missing for the Tassimo machine... iced teas. Today we check out the new Tassimo Tea Bar Peach Iced Tea T-Discs. Much like the King of Joe series, Tassimo Tea Bar appears to be a new in-house brand that Kraft created for the Tassimo. Since this is the first time the Tassimo has seen iced teas, we were interested to see how things would play out.

Brewing these T-Discs resulted in sweet, rich peach aromas quickly filling the room and there was no mistaking that you were brewing a peach flavored drink, plus you could also smell some of the black tea aromas in the background as well. Spot on so far. Flavor is where things went a bit sideways. The first thing you notice is the artificial sweetener taste which is almost to the point of being chemical-tasting. Then, once that dissipates, you finally get the peach flavoring and then the black tea notes buried underneath. We were a bit taken aback by the chemical taste which we were NOT expecting, so we checked out the packaging and found the culprit... sucralose, which is more commonly known as Splenda. Things improved a bit once the ice melted and diluted the drink, but we could still taste remnants of the sucralose anyway.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Tassimo Tea Bar Peach Iced Tea T-Discs"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

February 23, 2012

Review: Carte Noire Long Espresso T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve CoffeeIMGP4465_tassimoreview_022312.JPG

We continue our reviews of new Canadian T-Discs today with another entry submitted by our Canadian Correspondent, SH. Today he reviews the recent Carte Noire Long Espresso T-Discs. A "long espresso" is pretty much similar to a "lungo" whereby you use the same amount of coffee at the same extraction level but increase the final amount of drink volume in the cup. As a result, you get a super-sized espresso with all the same amount of kick. Sign us up!

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Carte Noire Long Espresso T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

January 12, 2012

Review: Carte Noire Americano T-Discs for Tassimo

Review Single Serve Coffee IMGP4471.JPG

The Canadian T-Disc retail scene has been... well, let's just say "unappealing" for the past number of years with only a few minor updates here and there in an mild effort to match what was already being sold in American retail stores. As is usually the case, competition is good and with Starbucks jumping the sinking ship over to Keurig, Kraft finally got the swift kick in the arse it needed to inspire a massive campaign that at long last introduced brand new T-Disc flavors across many countries.

Unfortunately, the powers that be at Kraft still refuse to abandon their country-centric methodology and certain brands remain "geo-blocked" only for sale in their respective countries of origin. It's too bad to see that in an effort to save their sinking ship, they chose to retain the boat anchor that had been weighing them down instead. All gripes aside, our Canadian Correspondent, SH, received a shipment of the new Canadian T-Disc flavors recently and provided us today with the first of many reviews by covering the new Carte Noire Americano T-Discs.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Carte Noire Americano T-Discs for Tassimo"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Thomas Davie: I'll always have 2 cups n the morning at home read more
Heather: I've used my frother for a few years now with read more
Joe Bacon: Jay, I bought the VertuoLine and Aeroccino yesterday based on read more
Todd E.: It's nice to see a green option in K-Cups. read more
Thomas Davie: Have been drinking this interchangeably with Gastown Grind for about read more
SSC Forums

FoodPire

KCup_Ambassador_2.0_Badge-02.jpg

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy